Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Thursday In House News

Thursday, August 14, 2025

Thursday In House News

Hailings ........

THURSDAY MEMO

I hail everybody....
Una wey dey Naija dey enjoy ooooh...One of my friends arrived Naija a few days ago and says that the weather in Lagos is so nice and not hot but fresh,cool wind and almost like harmattan, which is like AC compared to the summer weather that will roast your skin whether you like it or not....
I used to think the pineapple grows under the ground like yam, the first day i day it on top, i was quite shocked eh..
How did you think pineapple grows?
Can you make a meal from yam?I hope you know that potato can also pass for yam? I use potato in place of yam and it is even better!
what do you think?
Enjoy the rest of the day!

My madam sorry oh..i no plan to late, na phone talk delay me...

###############

DEAR WOMEN
 If a man cannot afford your bills, you need to find a job—not another man.

Let’s be honest: being in a relationship should not be your financial strategy. If a man cannot meet your financial needs, the solution is not to jump from one man to another, hoping to find one who will. The real solution is to find a job, build your skills, create multiple streams of income, and become financially independent.

Your bills are your responsibility first. It is not fair, wise, or sustainable to expect a man to shoulder all your financial burdens, especially when you are perfectly capable of working and earning for yourself. Love is not supposed to be a transaction, and relationships should not be built on financial dependency.

There is a difference between a supportive partner and a financial sponsor. A man can support you emotionally, encourage your growth, and even help out when he can—but he is not an ATM. If your lifestyle is expensive, then your hustle needs to match it.

The most empowering thing a woman can do is to take charge of her life. Work hard, chase your dreams, and let any relationship you enter into be based on love, partnership, and shared goals—not survival or financial desperation.

Respect yourself enough to stop seeing relationships as a way out of your financial challenges. A job will give you income, but self-respect and independence will give you peace. 

Copied 

###########

WHAT IS YOUR OPINION ON THIS??????

Ideally, you are not supposed to answer or adopt your great grand parents names', grandparents names', or the names of generations before them as a surname. Your surname is supposed to be your direct father's name. For instance, if your name is Okey and your father's name is Aliyu, your name should be "Okey Aliyu" and not your grandfather's name.

But for some reasons, I understand people from influential and well-to-do families choose to adopt their forefathers' names just as a trademark to give them a push. Just like adopting Dangote, Otedola, and the rest, it gives their children pride adopting such names.

But I feel concerned seeing people answering and adopting some kind of funny names they know nothing about simply because their forefathers answered the name. Not like the name is attributed to wealth, trademark or whatever. But for some reasons best known to them, you see someone answering a name, and when you ask them for the meaning, they either tell you they don't know or give you one meaning that they themselves aren't sure about looking confused.

Name is an identity. Every name was either gotten from inspiration or circumstance surrounding the person bearing such name. Now, imagine you answering a name you know nothing about the person that first answered it and the circumstances around them simply because you want to romance your forefather's lineage.

Biblically, no one answered their grandparents' name in the genealogical order. It is James the son of Peter, Peter the son of Moses, Moses the son of Kunle, etc and not James the son of Moses who happens to be his grandfather or Kunle his great grand father. Also, fathers tend to lose their own identity as most people are directly attributed to their forefathers. Like, this is Okey, the son of Okoye. Whereas, Okoye is my great-grandfather whom I might not even know, but because I adopted his name. There are people I know there grandparents that I don't know their own parents, because once they mention their names, I already have a mental picture of their fore parents and won't even bother to ask about their own parents

So, when you give birth, let your child answer your own name, while you answer your father's name and your father should answer his own father's name. No one should be forced to answer another name that isn't their direct father's name. Even if Seyi Tinubu's children decides to answer Watermelon today, it still won't change the fact that they are grandchildren to Tinubu.

Kill that idea of saying you are preserving your name and lineage. Some of you are preserving Unoka and poverty all in your quest to carry on your forefather's name. Most people don't know the genesis of names they bear and it's worrisome. But you still have the right to answer any name you like. E no concern me.

Copied

############

The Three Stages of Wealth 

Step One: Making Money
The first milestone is earning income. Whether through a job, business, or investments, this is the foundation.

Step Two: Managing Money.
Earning is meaningless without control. Budget wisely, track your spending, and protect your assets.

Step Three: Multiplying Money.
This is where the real transformation happens. Investing smartly, creating multiple income streams, and letting your money work for you is the ultimate game-changer.

Wealth isn’t built overnight—it’s crafted through smart decisions, discipline, and vision.
#copied

####################

WEIRDFACT

-----The longest a person has gone without sleep is 11 days and 25 minutes, a record set by Randy Gardner in 1964. We do not recommend trying to beat it.

-----Your brain generates about 12 to 25 watts of power. That's enough to power a low-wattage LED light bulb.

##############

165 comments:

1. How do you do it myself angel
      Greetings my dear

2. Pinky, we need gads ask her o🤣

3. Pinky man oya bring your ears closer make I whisper the secret inside for you😆😆

Hello Chee❤️

Greetings from my side my darling Mor baby 😘

Hello Mariam darling ❤️

My darling chikalicious chika ❤️

My darling SMB😘

My beautiful Altuage 😘

My beautiful sis mi Arike ❤️

My darling Jules baby 😍

Emerald darling if I tell pinky he go tell you🤣🤣

My darling MercyBee ❤️

4. Poster on your opinion article -
      They used their grand father's name, 12 tribes of Israel still connect to their root o. Dont follow people that don't have root to talk yeye, those born in the city that don't know their village will be writing and stiring empty debate online and they will looking for people that will agree with them. Do investigations on some them or their spouses and see for yourself. #JacobIsrael

Check what's happening in America today, the deportation going on, some can't connect to their root as a result of their names.

Weather is cold

2. Me as a surgeon:
    Oga breath first, e be like say I don cut your lungs o🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️

3. Hello beautiful people 😍
    It's TBT 🎉
    So, I am planning to travel to my hometown next week to spend two weeks with my family. I just remembered my discussion with a colleague last year when I could not attend the school resumption meeting.. She asked me why, I told I was not around cos I traveled...
    She was perplexed, like how will I leave my home for two weeks!
    It's so wrong! I am pushing my husband outside bla bla bla...
    Normally, I don't go home often, and I only get the opportunity during holidays...
    My husband does not mind, infact he asked me when I was leaving last week... But anytime I remember my colleague reaction, I just just feel like I am doing something something wrong...
    It's it advisable for a married woman to travel that long to her hometown???

#confused#

1. If your husband allowed it , travel. I don't see why you shouldn't mingle with your family because you want to keep kpekus for oga. Doesn't he travel too?
      An undisciplined person doesn't need an excuse. Even under your nose, he would chop and clean mouth.

2. A man that will stray will stray even when you are under the same roof. Travel home and enjoy time with your family biko.

3. Huh! Pack all your load and travel that travel! What kind of nonsense talk is that one saying? 2wks that you will rest and reset your life and brain is what you want to allow someone confuse you. When you come back sef, love will want to finish you guys😩😩

God abeg!

4. Is your marriage based on gbenshing alone? food alone? Your hubby cannot surive without you in the house? thats not nice...Travel and leave him, anything wey e wan do make e do am...e go still do am whether u travel or not if e dey him body..

5. Bags packed 👍👍👍
      Thank you everyone 😊😊😊

6. How often do you get to spend time with your family?? Abeg go o. Ignore that nonsense your colleague said.

7. Marriage has finished some people, how can someone be saying leaving your home for just 2weeks will push your husband outside? As a baby that he is or what? A woman don't have life again outside marriage. Please travel your travel and have a breath of fresh air and bond with your family.

8. Marriage has finished some people, how can someone be saying leaving your home for just 2weeks will push your husband outside? As a baby that he is or what? A woman don't have life again outside marriage. Please travel your travel and have a breath of fresh air and bond with your family.

9. Fidel Yummy mummy, have been missing you 😘

10. This comment has been removed by the author.

11. please go and enjoy yourself, leave your husband so that you can have some fresh air. Do not allow someone tell you anything about how you should manage your home or what to do. As long as your husband is not angry about it, please travel. If you like stay with him in the same house, room, toilet, everywhere if he want to cheat no cap he will cheat oh. Relax your mind and enjoy your holidays.

12. Seriously marriage will be the end of most Nigerian women ! Because what’s this ? So what if you had to go to school outside of Nigeria for two years , you won’t go because you will push your husband into another woman’s hands ? What if you were hospitalized for 6months ?
      Nigerian women really tire me ! Ha

13. Travel and spend time with your family. Nobody will be here for ever.

14. When Madam traveled one month, Man was refreshed, prayed more then. So long as she is known to be with her family, full rest and flex at home all days.

Marriage has its place, but is very much overrated in this corner of the world just as its men's quest for extra-marital gbensh is over-hyperboled.

15. If he approves it, pray and travel.
      Anything a man wants to do, he can do it whether present or absent. If you are afraid of his *** straying, use prayer cage it and travel.

4. Our last born, pin him account number for our family WhatsApp group.🤣🤣

1. Shot fired at my fellow comrade🤦‍♀️🙄 but I’m not like this tho⁉️ y’all should leave last Norns alone abeg

The devil was once an angel 😒😒 what a quote

2. make una no talk say i don't have your aza i would i have send you something lol

3. 🤣🤣 do we have the same last born 😄? Just That ours is a female

4. SMH. These children. My sister ll do the same if it occurred to her

5. Potato can never take the place of yam in my taste bud. Matter of fact I no even send potatoes especially sweet potatoes.

Who else have noticed that sweet potatoes are no longer sweet again. The taste is bland

1. I've never liked sweet potatoes. Its sweetness turns me off. And oh! You're right about the absence of that organic sweetness of sweet potatoes that used to be obtainable back in the days.
      The ones obtainable these days are so bland. Maybe as a result of fertilizer and all what not.

But you see Irish potatoes 🥔!!?The absolute love of my life😋. I love French fries a lot!😄

2. I noticed it too. Not so sweet anymore.

3. Not only bland...They get so bad easily these days....The sweet potatoes I know growing up can stay for weeks...

4. Stella no offence, but the way I hate potato eh, except irish

5. You are not alone.
      May be the fertilizer reduced the sweetness..
      The one I bought last week was not sweet..

6. I nor kuku like am before so I wouldn't know @ potato

7. potato types are a lot and very yummy...that's how i used to think until i got here, i make the best potato meal...Potato has many types oooooo, there is red potato and yellow potatoe....several types and i have never for once seen anyone here called ''IRISH POTATO''
      that name was coined in Naija oh..

hahahahahahhahah

8. I’m with you Chi 💞 how can yeye potato takes the place of my all time delicious yam? Nah❗️I eat both but potatoes doesn’t even come close to yam..how can I enjoy a fluffy smooth pounded yam with potatoes? Not possible

9. i guess the fertilizer they are using or the soil they are planted is what has removed the sweetness from sweet potatoes. Sweet potatoes is no longer sweet. Potatoes can never replace Yam no matter what, one is heavy meal while the other is light.

10. Exactly what I typed before work stopped me from publishing it. Sweet potatoes are no longer as sweet as they used to be. Those days of primary school, eating boiled odukun with pepper and bogo. Abeg joor. Irish still dey try small.

11. I love yam. Potatoe can never take the place of yam.

12. Hei, thank you Chi. To think I was still thinking of asking this question about how bland potatoes taste these days unlike when we were growing up. Then, I can ear potatoes without adding anything but now, add every every it's still same bland taste. Thank God yam is coming out again small small

6. Nice weather for you know what !!!
    Something really cute happened yesterday 😍 ☺️

Meanwhile i feel like some chronicles are just for cruise cos how can someone be so greedy .

1. Cheers 🥂 🥂. I love goodnews🎉🎉🥳🥳

2. Choco beauty, my ear dey ground o, at your first paragraph 😊. I like gist.

3. Hola hon ❤️ may good things continues to happen to you 🥰

4. Choco baibay, spill the really cute gist na. 😁

5. My beloved ♥️ ❤️ how are you darling!!!

@Emerald 😂😂 it's just something small but really cute you know im a lover girl lmao 🤣

Stellar Stella how are you de boo

My lady in Paris 😊☺️a big Amen to your prayers

My candycane 😂😂 you'd laugh at me just something fancy 😂😂

6. I'm very well Jewelu m❤️☺️. Trust you're doing good too

7. Choco baibay, I'm just happy you're happy. 😘😘😘

8. Choco baibay, I'm just happy you're happy. 😘😘😘

7. If snow fall for naija presently aswear. It won't shock me.. I will definitely miss this weather.
    Mesef see say ihn delay for 2minutes😊.

1. Snow for 9ja? Maybe only J -town sha

New movie
      My mother’s wedding … starring Scarlet Johansson, Sienna Miller
      In the hand of Dante .. starring Al Pacino, Jason Momoa

2. Thank you Paris, God bless you. Will check it out 😊

8. IHN in brief......

me just dey weak for shop bayii..Ojumi ri 345square metre

9. Good afternoon y'all
    Busy week for me.

10. Good afternoon everyone.
    I thought pineapple grows underground too.

11. I actually thought there's no inh news today,I had to refresh and reload
    Weather is so cold and funny
    Greetings my people

12. IHN
    Good afternoon everyone 🥳

"It's not about perfect, it's about effort. Believe you can and you're halfway there."

13. My father is the only one among all his siblings that did not allow his children bear his father's name...
    Growing up, I used to wonder why our surname was different from my cousins, I now understand and I am grateful for that...
    Meanwhile, my children surname is their Family name, every member of the family bear the same surname.. That's their identity and I also adopted the name in my NYSC certificate...

14. Yes, I like the weather. It has been so cool which helps one sleep so well at night.

I don't like sweet potatoes. It's just too sweet for me, yam is better but it's not easy getting good yams these days.

1. I dont like sweet potatoes too, I could manage it when fried though.

15. As you try to level up every day, the number of people silently waiting for you to fall is shocking. Here in Nigeria, circumstances can easily make you feel like you’re not doing enough. Sometimes, they’ll even cost you opportunities.

But please, don’t give up. Just keep putting in effort. I genuinely believe life has a way of rewarding effort. You don’t have to be the most hardworking person in the world, but at least do something. Get up, move, try, even in small ways.

Somehow, things will still work out. Time has a way of proving that. I know it’s not easy, trust me, I know. But it’s often at the exact moment people expect you to fall that you have to keep standing. ~ Copied.

16. Hello My People 🥰
    Wellcome In Houseeeee Newssssss

17. Hiyaaaa my darlings😘😘😘😘. The weather is cold o, but I am craving ice cream. 😁.
    Yeah Stella, you can make a meal from yam. I prefer yam (old and dry) to potatoes. There's yam pottage (what we call porridge), Onunu (yam and very ripe plantain, pound together), yam and egg sauce or stew. Omo yam is IT, abeg.

1. Yam is really the deal. When some people say they don't like yam, it surprises me.. I love yam especially with egg sauce or fish sauce.

2. Emerald dearie, yam and egg sauce is my twin fav meal. For me, fried yam and egg sauce, ah your head will scatter. 🤣
      MercyBee, correct yam is IT o. Now I am craving yam. 🤣🤣
      Choco baibay, you sabi better thing. 😁

18. Good day everyone, faithful God 🙏🙏🙏🙏

19. That name post:
    My husband insisted that our children must answer his first name and so it is.
    They all bear his first name, this makes them different from their cousins who answer their forefather's name. It makes me have mixed feelings sometimes.

This forefather's name issue in my opinion is good in a way, it makes you identify with your folks in any part of the world.
    For instance, if I am Fresh Petals from Ede in Osun state and I meet someone bearing Cute Petals in Enugu, I ask her where she hails from and she tells me she hails from Ede in Osun state, we connect and start sharing other things, in the end we end up being cousins or related in other ways. This can prevent relatives from getting married to themselves as it is a taboo in my place.

1. Ehen Fresh petals, good afternoon. I just read your recipe for black soup. And I have 2 questions.
      1. Do you wash the bitterleaves first before blending with the scent leaves?
      2. Is it necessary to steam your proteins with curry and thyme?

Thank you very much.

2. No Fidel, don't wash the bitter leaves, just use bitter leaves that is 1/3 the size of scent leaves so that ithe soup won't be too bitter. As in, the size of bitter leaves will be scent leaves divided by three.

As for your second question, you can steam your meat with any spices you like or with just seasoning, onion and salt. As long as it comes out tasty.

20. Lagos weather right now isn't good for me, it's too chilly and making me feel sick, especially in the evening down through out the night.

I was a young adult before I knew pineapple doesn't grow in the ground, just one on top, per plant.

I can make several meals from yam, but I prefare yam in most food than sweet potatoes.

Goodafternoon everyone.

1. Mariam, wotsup with your phone, good now?

2. Emerald darling, I fixed the screen and it fell inside water the same day I fixed it, I dried it up but it's acting up again....
      Honestly, I am tired of the phone but most new phones are above my budget.
      Thanks for asking.

3. Good afternoon beautiful sis, sorry about your phone

4. Awwwwn so sorry about your. Fell in water same day, sorry. I tell u, phones are expensive. God will provide for you.
      You're welcome.

21. Thursday's In-house News unscrolled🗞️ 📰.

Yam is one type of food that is versatile. By that, I mean It can be consumed in various ways.

Even though in its absence, its brother cocoyam can stand in or even its cousin, potato, but they do not play its role as much as it would😁. Yeah, I'm talking about palatability😄😄. Yam takes it glory all by itself 😁

Yam can be prepped and savored in these ways:

- Boiled
    - Roasted
    - Fried
    - Dipped in egg and fried (Yamarita)
    - Pounded yam
    - Porridge /pottage
    - Soup thickener etc.

Stella, I've always known that pineapple grows outside the ground, because I used to see crowns of them way back when I was a kid whenever we travelled to my Villa.

Have a great day y'all 🥂 ✌🏻

22. It's a cold afternoon from the ancient city of Ibadan.
    Yam can be used to make a meal like:
    Pottage yam
    Yam pepper soup
    Yam and bean pottage
    Yam cake (ojojo), it goes with pap or garri.

Hello fam💖

23. Sweet potatoes, beans and unripe plaintain porridge combo is da best.

24. Concerning the WHAT IS YOUR OPINION ON THIS?????? POST

I watched recently from a Yoruba culture lecturer that before the white men came, every individual had their personal name, the family name and your own ''Oriki'' (My Yoruba people please correct me)....And your Oriki is what makes you unique....In a family for instance, the father can bear Lagbaja Owonikoko but the son can bear Ajala Apala....Even a woman was not obligated to change name when she gets married because that is what makes her unique and can be easily traced to her maiden family...

In my opinion, choose a name that will open doors for you and your generation; one that will leave an indelible mark. Build value around that name. Nobody will care whether your surname came from your grandfather or an ancestor; what truly matters is whether your name carries influence and what you have done to leave your footprints in the sands of time......

1. The change of name is a western thing. My grandma goes by her maiden name after over 60 years of marriage to my grandpa and that goes for most old women in my place.

25. Good afternoon lovelies ✨ i
    The weather is sweet today

26. Growing up, we used to use yam to make a kind of dish that looks like akara

Ingredients; water yam also known as isu ewura in yoruba, pepper,onion,salt,seasoning cubes, vegetable oil.

Method; peel your water yam and grate with your grater
    mix other ingredients like akara.
    Put your oil in the pan,when it's hot ,you can start frying till golden brown. Ojojo can be eaten with pap,garri,agidi etc.

Lol, I used to think pineapple growns in the ground too

27. Potato can replace yam in many ways but there's a secret.
    When it's done, drain the whole water, put back in the pot and steam till skin is dry. It won't be mudgy.
    This is special when baking with it.✌️

🧠 watts.
    I think mine is 35 fa. Ifve erike 😂🤭

We dey a Lekki like place in Ivory Coast. Small dollar and your family catches cool summer ⛱️ coconut 🥥 groove. Ndi ocha boku from all continents.
    That Lagos breeze stretches up to Sierra Leone, Liberia too. It's in the news. It's across the coast.
    Chocolate,coconut, fresh sea food, freshly made yoghurt na water.
    We're leaving here with eyes clearer than snow. I sweardan. *Belches*

Apartments are damn expensive, na Paris level, it never reduced over years? Lord!
    Thanks to Popsie mi, Igbo man with vision. Crib is small but it's "cribbing".
    Gratitude to late Ikenna Nnewi, Ojukwu mbu na abo. Who pushed the moves way back.
    Try make Ivorien friends if you are Igbo.
    Your Nwanne dey here.🤭😉

Name.
    In my home zone, name is a big issue, everybody guarding theirs seriously.
    I'm miss Chinwe Okeke, from Nnewi.
    You hear , "oh wow, so which of the Okekes are you?"
    That's because many families are bearing it there and are all like A BRAND.Hold your identity.
    It is mkpacious.

Xhlrted P
    ✌️🥰

28. The weather here today is really good. Up and about as usual. My birthday month. Lord please bless all August born

29. I wish we had known this issue of surname adoption since. Now I’m stuck with some ancient of day surname that I can neither make head or tail of its meaning. And to think my father has a really nice name oh 😭😭😭.

This was one of the reasons I was so waiting for marriage so I can drop the surname and even that didn’t work out for me (in terms of name change) 😂

30. Movies to see this weekend
    Materialist
    My Oxford year
    Normal woman
    Eddington
    28 years later (please don't watch this movie alone)

31. Good afternoon everyone 💞
    I made potato with egg source yesterday very sweet 😋

32. Bv Adunni.

Please, the asamagwa seed, can you describe it?
    There's an itsekiri woman selling 9ja spices, she has warehouse in Adjame kawaii, can you also list the spices, she's asking for good reasons because courier money here fit build house.

For groundnuts I buy half done.
    Some say it gives catarrh when used in soup because it won't fry well again? Na true?

All of you typing okpenye and ugwu leaves in this blog.
    Try type ewedu as ENWEDU leaves make e balance 🙄😤

That post set.
    When are we learning cooking tips?
    No fried meat sweet reach Yoruba party beef.
    Make una give tips biko😘

Xhlrted P

33. Nigerians are so funny...

You dey post outings, you dey inside boat, you order delicacies at fancy restaurants, cinemas and all and I no talk o

Now I post my normal regular selfie, You text me say you need financial help

As how???

34. My sister and I bear our grandfather's name while my other siblings bear our father's name. Everybody in my husband's family bears their family name so I'm sure our kids will answer it too.
    Me I'm already used to my surname, this new surname has refused to stick so I kuku introduce myself everywhere as Hannah Adamu. I no fit shout.

35. The only time I like potatoes is when it's fried. Other than that, I won't eat it. So yam cannot take the place of potatoes for me.

My hubby and his siblings bears their father's name, same thing with my children.

This weather is so cool.

How are you all my people?

36. Good afternoon,yes I know about pineapple,
    I love both sweet potatoes and yam,anyone can serve.

37. Good afternoon beautiful people

38. No, they won't find a job, they will be broke shaming men everywhere, while on the queue like some almajiri, begging for as little as 5-10k to cook soup.

1. E pain am🤣🤣. Keep crying up and down. Don't face front.

People are doing things for fun, you're there crying. Take handkerchief and wipe your running nose. You'll be fine

2. 15:06. I have heard you, while I wipe my running nose, keep begging, you can even get on the street to continue your begging. It's obvious you aren't the one to liberate your lineage from generational begging, so keep at it while the siege continues.

3. People are begging for fun? Wow that's a new one, when will they give for fun? Maybe they are also scamming for fun like ummu. Weldon anon 15:06

39. Hello my people, how una dey naa?
    God has been faithful?
    No matter what life throws at you, just be grateful.
    God has a bigger plan for us all Amen.

WE MOVE!!

40. I agree with the surname narration that someone should be bearing his or her father's first name, my siblings and I are bearing our forefathers name, a very popular surname that Yoruba people call AMUNTORUNWA, but funny meaning, I always lied to people that I don't know the meaning because of it's funny meaning.
    Most of my brothers' friends even prefer to call them by their surname, they even customize it for them.
    Yam can be cooked in plenty ways: ordinary boiled yam or fried yam, eaten with fried egg, fried stew, egg sauce, fish sauce, and vegetable soup(efo riro).
    yam pottage, yam frittata, pounded yam and yam can also be used as thickner for soups.
    Potato can also be fried, boiled, and also can be eaten with anything as yam, it can also be cooked as pottage but I prefer yam to potato most of the time.
    I know some ladies that always say they've never used their money to buy phones since they've been using phones, and they will or can never use their money to buy phones, that they will rather not use phones if their man can't buy it for them.

41. Me I don't like sweet potato for anything maybe when fried sha I can manage..
    Yes one can make a meal from yam
    Fried yam, yam pottage, yam+beans with sprinkles of scent leave 😋, yam+ egg, yam for ikokore ijebu etc..

First weird fact, nobody should try that, I repeat do not try dat bcos na die be dat 😯

42. This comment has been removed by the author.

43. I prefer yam to sweet potatoes

I love yam (old yam)
    New yam I can only eat it,if the yam is Onitsha yam or Anam yam..

44. 11 days and 25 minutes without sleep 😲
    How!!???

1. are u surprised..

i could remember when i was working as a driver. I have gone on a trip for a week without sleeping. from destination to hotel, from hotel room to bar and we flex till 3am. once u enter to sleep, the oyinbos don wake up and we take off to another destination..

45. Good afternoon bvs

madam Stella very soon you will enter winter and our end will be hot. let's enjoy the cool season while it last

where is shooter gyal my love. Always commenting under my comment.ebi like say I dey enter your eye abi. you dey use your ID make i notice you. no wahala.

About this surname issue. i still bear my grandfathers name as surname. maybe because he is great man that impregnated 12 women without marrying them or that he is a great farmer in those days with plenty farm land. My children are bearing my name directly. not even my father's name

enjoy your day

1. Funny enough, I have a friend who bears his fathers name but changed his daughter's surname to his name. his wife also bears his own name as the surname.

now, he will be at the receiving end for having different surname when it comes to traveling document

2. So, if married man wan enter Shooter gyal eye, e go be you? You as in YOU?! I laugh in kilishi. Keep dreaming

3. Hungry scavenger, are you okay in the head??? Scallywag!

46. Good afternoon everyone
    I only love potatoes when fried and it cannot take the place of yam abeg
    How is the day going?
    Enjoy the rest of your day

47. The heat here sef dey make person behave like something i can't describe

48. Stella, you can make plenty meal with yam oh:
    Yam porridge
    White yam with sweet or pal oil
    Yam with egg suage
    Fry yam (you can have it with anything of your choice)
    Yam pepper soup (Ji Mmiri Oku)
    White yam with tomatoes sauce
    You can boil yam with the back and have it with local sauce (this na my favourite combo with yam)
    Potatoes can never take the place of yam.

My Opinion for the surname: One is expected to answer that father's name and not their grandfather's name. The grandfather has played his part by birthing their father and is now time for their father to take up their name from their own children. I started using my father's name when i was in primary school, my class mates could not pronounce my grandfather's name that i was using then as surname. I changed it myself and told my parents that i cannot answer the surname they gave and before i got to secondary school, all my siblings has changed their surname to my father's name lol.

My children will answer their father's name and not their grandfather's name who id don't know. If your grandfather's name is great and you want to continue using it, nothing is wrong just your choice but remember your name will be gone.

49. Stella, yam can be made into different delicious meals.
    We have yam porridge
    Yam and beans
    Fried yam with tomato sauce, vegetable sauce, fried eggs, etc
    Boiled yam with Palm oil or any of the above sauces.
    Pounded yam
    Etc.
    Potatoes can never come close.

50. Good afternoon from this side.

Rainy thursday here.
    How are we doing ☺️?

51. I love this write up. Answering your father's name is better imo.

I'm not a fan of boiled yam. I prefer it fried. Potatoes too. Fried than boiled. I can eat yam cooked in Pepper soup though.

52. Good evening everyone
    I love yam especially old yam when cooked or fried, I love sweet potatoes too especially the fried ones.

53. @Dear women, while the message appears to single out women, perhaps worryingly - it is not far from the truth. Even though both genders are guilty, the ratio is alarmingly high, arguably rooted in cultural expectations and long-standing societal norms. Men culturally but self-servingly marry down, for grooming and control in most cases.

But from adolescence, many women are taught, subtly or openly, that a “good” relationship is one where a man provides financially. This conditioning makes dependence seem normal, respectable, even aspirational - especially in family structures where independent economic sustainability is barely viable.

54. Even though, the narrative has gained traction across cultures, becoming a way of life. Yet the principle is universal: no adult, regardless of gender, should view a relationship as their primary financial plan. That is why such a message rarely bears fruit, because it demands extensive reconditioning and the reorientation of a new generation. In today’s climate of rising costs and unstable incomes, financial self-reliance is no longer optional - it is paramount.

Ideally, mutual independence fosters healthier, more equal partnerships. But reality paints a different picture: more people now use relationships as an escape route, leveraging a partner’s financial strength to break even - sometimes willingly trapped, other times voiceless in dependency - at the mercy of someone's benevolence. A few have even made it a formalised trade, which is beautiful.

55. The theme rightly challenges the outdated notion of using romance as a survival tool, stressing personal responsibility and economic empowerment. The line between a partner and a provider is worth defending; dependence often fuels power imbalance, resentment, and the quiet contempt of subjugated abuses.

While some may argue for traditional roles, modern relationships thrive best when both partners contribute mutually to their agreed capacities.

So this call should be for both men and women to align their lifestyles with their earning capacity, viewing a partner’s support as complementary, not essential. This is practical, liberating, and protective of dignity. It reduces vulnerability and nurtures healthier, more respectful unions.

56. Sadly, society has long undermined the female gender with gilded offers - Greek gifts - that attractively fuel dependency. And too often, our own greed colludes with the laziness born of moral indiscipline.

57. @WHAT IS YOUR OPINION ON THIS?

The real question is not whether a person uses their grandfather’s name, but whether that choice is intentional, meaningful, and aligned with personal, family, or religious values - rather than driven by empty prestige or unquestioned tradition.

Without prejudice, it is worth noting that some ancestral names are tied to negative legacies; linked to deities or carry trado-spiritual connotations from the family’s lineage. In many cases, these names may have outlived their relevance - unless their meaning still aligns with one’s values or purpose.

Times are changing, and naming customs are evolving with them. My husband bears his father’s first name, while my siblings and I all bear our father’s first name - not our grandfather’s. Like with many other families, my grandfather’s name appears only as my father’s surname. Coincidentally, my own surname happens to be my husband’s first name, which means I now carry the same maiden name as my husband’s. Our children, in turn, now bear his first name as their surname.