Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Minister Uche Nnaji Resigns After Fake Certificate Scandal

Wednesday, October 08, 2025

Nigeria's Minister Uche Nnaji Resigns After Fake Certificate Scandal

Geoffrey Uche Nnaji, Nigeria’s Minister of Innovation, Science, and Technology, officially resigned on Tuesday October 7, 2025, after damning allegations of certificate forgery.

A two-year investigation by Premium Times revealed that Nnaji submitted forged academic and NYSC certificates during his ministerial confirmation in 2023.

The University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) and the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) both disowned the certificates he presented.

The investigation showed that Nnaji never completed his degree at UNN and was still trying to re-sit a failed terminal course when he claimed to have graduated.

President Bola Tinubu has reportedly accepted the resignation and thanked him for his service.

19 comments:

1. Ekperima. School no be scam o. Something that happened before I was born, he has been wandering around instead of going back to school

2. As it should be. An honorable thing to do when caught. He should register in an Open university and obtain one if he do need it. After all Obasanjo got one at old age. Someone I know didn't resign from office rather he hired lawyers to defend his forged foreign certificate.

1. That's not how it's supposed to be.He's supposed to be sacked & prosecuted and not allowed to resign.

3. You know you have political ambition,and you didn't work towards getting your papers since?
    I don't understand you guys,you have the money,the resources the everything at your table,why didn't you go back to school?Shebi na Unimaid I dey when Atiku been do him course.I hope you know it's someone very close to you that exposed you.

1. May be he didn’t know that later in life he would be holding public office.

4. Honourable thing to do.,..

5. My comment is to be chronicle poster of some months ago whose brother didn’t want to do NYSC, i hope you and him have come across this story. I can tell you that may be this guy never knew that at some point in his life he would be given a political appointment. See the opportunity it cost him. Even if he was living abroad, people come home all the time and hold office and then go back abroad when their term of office ends. So please let ur brother use the experiences of all these people as a lesson, let him do it and just keep the certificate, it is better to have it and not use it than not have it and an opportunity shows up for only those that have it. I wish him all the best.

6. Someone that's supposed to be sacked and the so called Dss and the National Assembly that cleared him.🙄🙄🙄

7. Good decision,no need for long stories

8. He had all the time to do the right thing.He worked with that certificate from 1985-2025 which is 40 years in juicy positions and never cared to get a genuine certificate in that field.Nobody should blame village people here o

9. Na olodo. They don't have the brain to read and write exams
    What do you mean thanking him for this services?
    Isn't he supposed to be arrested and jailed for forgery