He explains the dangers of an unregulated digital space where defamatory content can spread unchecked, damaging reputations without consequence and is advocating for a National Assembly bill that would require social media platforms like TikTok to register in Nigeria, establish local offices, pay taxes, and assist in tracking criminal activities.
He believes this would not only hold platforms accountable but also create jobs, facilitate technology transfer, and ensure data sovereignty, reducing the need for costly foreign lawsuits. The bill aims to mirror regulations applied to traditional media, questioning why social media should remain exempt.

The apologising errant content creator should still be used as an example as far as the law permits. Scapegoating is a part of law enforcement. That is why the British Government refused to grant the application for the former SP's return to Nigeria to serve the remainder of its correctional sentence. The British Government made clear in its statement it wants to prove a point about its seriousness in enforcing its law breached.
ReplyDeleteTruly,social media should be regulated.
ReplyDeleteThere should be sanctions and stiff penalties for those who defame others all for cruise.
Hmmm
ReplyDeleteHonestly, someone will just post some fabricated stories and destroy someone image just for content..
ReplyDeleteHe should be arrested and jail for this..
Looser is crying wolf because social media did not favour your atrocious deeds, child marriage and child abduction.
ReplyDeleteWhy you want ppl to pay taxes for jobs you didn’t open for them? All the insecurity going on in the country and its content creators you want to control? Students, business ppl, government officials, priests, grandmas and grandpas living in fear of being kidnapped and butchered, or their communities razed and it’s TikTokers you want to focus on. False accusations are not new, it’s a crime that existed long before the emergence of social media. Have the laws on the ground eradicated crime? Mtsscchhwww
ReplyDeleteIt is not the job of any legislators to open any jobs for anyone including lazy youth who are so entitled in their thinking that they have lost all sense of responsibility or creativity. No one "opened" jobs for those in real estate, remote jobs, artists and crew members, craftsmen, tradesmen entrepreneurs, advertising, marketing, parts of banking and finance, private teaching, hospitality etc and this boy's brain is too porous to be in the professions so let's chill.
DeleteAre ground provisions ppl paying taxes, priests, imams, water carriers, school ground vendors, hair makers? No! So, as we see there are a great many ppl doing jobs that are not being taxed, leave content makers who opened their own opportunities for themselves through platforms created in other nations. Many of these so-called lazy youth as you term it would be stuck in abject poverty if not for these social media platforms that allowed them to have a better quality of life never before attained by anyone in their lineage. Some of you love to see suffering and have young ppl to push around doing low paying jobs so you can have someone to feel superior to, the same ones willing to employ a ten year old and fashion themselves as helping them and doing good for the society, they will shout about lazy youth. Mtsscchhwww.
DeleteThe gig economy and social media is what is allowing many to survive today. Thank God for them. This was one idiot content creator but politricks is full of idiots.
Abeg abeg...we have better regulations & bills to pass.
ReplyDeleteInsecurity everywhere, na SM we dey think?
I don't believe someone would come out to say this about Ned. Na lie oga dey lie.