Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of A Person Living With A Positive Status

Saturday, January 03, 2026

Chronicle Of A Person Living With A Positive Status

Someone commented on my post that she can feel I'm always scared and nervous
The person is right......

There's this constant fear in me  and I don't know how to shake it off, maybe it comes with the mentality of knowing you carry such a virus.

Few years ago, I used a shaving stick and I forgot to discard it ,kept it by the window only for my son to cut himself with it, he said he was looking for something and he didn't know the shaving stick was there despite the fact that I knew there's almost zero risk of transmission cos hiv can't survive for hours not to talk of days,I was so scared. 

The fear lived in me for years till I was able to face it and took him for hiv testing again.
Even despite the fact that it's almost non existent for my husband to contact it from me, I'm still not at ease . I'm always telling him to protect himself cos I wouldn't forgive myself if I infect him, but he seems to be at ease more than me...

The fear has kept me away from making friends,so as to avoid gossip. You never can tell who knows who or what. The other day one of the women at the care center saw me in my shop and decided to come and greet me only to find out one of her sisters lives close to my shop,it makes me feel so uncomfortable whenever I see the sister cos I don't know if the sister has told her anything.
That's why most people take their treatment far from their town, some even go as far as other states for their drugs so as to avoid gossip.

Since you are always scared of someone talking about your status, why dont you go out of town to be getting it?

12 comments:

1. Instead of been scared or feeling uncomfortable always why not change location of where you normally pick your drugs.
    Weldon my dear 🥰

2. I will advise you change your location or change your care center. You shouldn't be in constant panic every now and then. Even sanitary pad, I don't buy from my area. Because these days people don't mind their businesses.
    Everything will be fine. E-hugs 🫂🫂

3. Please change the location where you pick your drugs. I will recommend you use NGO health centers instead of government hospitals as they are more discreet and less rowdy. You are doing amazing,sending you e-hugs

4. You have already beat the virus. Don't let it control your life. God bless you.

5. Please, follow Stella's red pen.Trust God and let not your heart be troubled, as you do your best

6. Next time if you have such scare, even if it's ALMOST zero percent risk of transmission, especially for a child, please can you start PEP?
    I'm just saying...

7. I am sending you a warm hug. i salute your courage.

8. I have a friend who is positive, she was the one that disclose it to me, according to her , I'm the only one that knows. She is telling because I'm educated and she trust me.by God grace, I have never disclose it to anyone in our area.
    Our house is closed to FMC and that is the place she collect her drugs and she is from here too.
    I advise her to go to another state and be collecting her drugs before her matter go reach town hall. E go think say no body dey see, while eyes full ground.
    Na another state she dey go now and according to her na six months drugs them dey give her.
    You can do the same .

1. She even told you sef. She try. If na me, na between me, God and my partner

2. I was surprised too, if na me I no tell myself too, because I no trust myself.

9. Just be at ease with yourself.
    People come from different state to take their medication in a friend's workplace. So you can change your location if you can afford traveling monthly to get it.

10. Fear is not healthy, it steals joy and a fulfilling life experience. But as humans we are not yet at a place in our consciousness where we do not stigmatize illnesses. Many ppl still view hiv as a punishment from God for practicing seckual immortality, and those with it are automatically judge; so I get your cautiousness and not just for yourself but also your children who would likely also get shunned by other children whose parents would tell them not to play with them. I get it!

Truthfully, that employee should not have approached you and spoke to you. This is something you can speak to the clinic’s matron or administrator to remind staff not to approach or get into social conversations with patients outside of the clinical setting. You do not have to tell her who approached you. Anything that could pose a conflict of interest is always avoided in some professions and healthcare is one of those professions. She may have done it with the best of intentions, but it was 100% unprofessional, because patients’ privacy must be protected at all times.