.jpg)
When it comes to learning a craft(skill) I often advise people to put in their very best effort to learn the nitty gritty of any skill they are going into in order to become professional in the field of work. Making a sustainable living through skill work is the goal; being passionate about what you do is the driving force in achieving great results. Passion on what you do to make a living should come first before monetary interest. That's the only way to be good at what you do. Passion leads to innovations and productivity.
Last year, I was contracted by someone who got a job at Ughelli, Delta State. I didn't know this guy, he was connected to me by the man whose shop he had gone to buy the materials for the job here in Port Harcourt. I knew the seller very well for I do buy chemical and oxides for my jobs from him.
He called and enquired if I'm free? Which I said yes. He said I should come over to his shop and meet someone that need my service. Also I should prepare my equipments, for I'm likely to travel after the meet. I got my bags ready and met with them. After discussion, I accepted the sum of N280,000 he insisted on paying me, saying it's just an assist I will be rendering to him on the job.
We left Port Harcourt and got to Ughelli at night. I was given a room to stay for the period of two weeks which was the estimated time duration for the job. The next morning, I came out and saw the square metre he told me for the job wasn't true. It was more than what I was told. Ordinarily I wouldn't have accepted that amount. I kept quiet. When it was time to commence work, I watched to see him throw the level and to my greatest surprise, this man who brought me all the way from Port Harcourt don't know much about the job, yet he said I'll be assisting him.
Obviously, he tricked me into accepting that amount. At best he would have sublet the job to me and I'll engage one or two of my boys to go along with me.
I set the range and level. We began work proper. I noticed he didn't even know how to handle the tools. First he lied on the square metre. Secondly, from I'll be assisting him, I'm now the one doing the main job. "I have a plan" I said to myself. I worked for three days and decided to stop. I parked my things and was ready to leave. I was given N100,000 the first day we started the work as part payment. I told him to keep the balance, I'll be leaving to Port Harcourt. I hate deception and I can't work this way.
As I was about leaving, a young guy whom I later found out was the owner of the house called me and pleaded I shouldn't go. He told me he saw all that happened and how I was the one doing the job. He asked how much I was paid? I told him 280,000 but had only received 100,000. It was then I learnt the guy who brought me took the job for N3.4million naira. Coldness ran down my spine. I shivered for some seconds. Do you now see the greed in an average Nigerian?
He pleaded I continue, he'll add some money on what I was offered by the contractor and a promise of connecting me to jobs. This he did at the end of the job by giving additional money to me. Equally, I've gotten two referral jobs through him which I was so grateful for. The last one he connected me last December was really beneficial to me at the time I must say.
Just be good and professional on what you do. Be innovative, creative and humbled, you'll go places and far in life. Above all, be responsible and trust worthy.
Teejay I’m curious to know what happened to the 3.4 million naira the homeowner gave the trickster
ReplyDeleteI hope he took his money back?
I don't think he paid him all of that money. He almost wanted to stop him from the work. I was the one that told him to leave him so it won't be that I took the work from his hands.
Delete©️ TEEJAY
I understand that you were desperately in need of a job at the time. But 2 things I want to point out here for you that was really big mistake on your part are this;
ReplyDelete1, you don't just follow people that you don't know just like that, It's very risky.
2, when realized that the guy tricked you, the right thing to do was to stop and renegotiate before doing any work.
Even the owner of the house just happened to be a good person, if not, what was the meaning of, "don't go I will add something for you"?? Instead of telling you how much he's going to pay you for the job?
Please be more careful and always have a standard for the job you do.
Person wey know your worth go still come for you.
May God bless the work of your hands .ππππ
Thanks.
DeleteI understand your point. When it comes to my job, I'm very careful. I have turned down jobs that didn't meet my price. I have worked for senators and ex governors. My jobs are mainly referral from people I know very well and I'll confirm from them as well. I traveled with that young man was as a result of the person who connected him to me. He guaranteed me of my safety and I needed the money at the time. The least my job entails is from 2m and above all depending on the square metre.
©️ TEEJAY
Hmmmmm@2million and above. Make I no talk wetin dey my mindπ
DeleteAll I see is " my job, my job". What exactly do you do???
DeleteAnon 17:22,
DeleteI don't think you understand or know the nature of job I do. When you know, you'll see there are jobs I put in 8m as quotations. Do you know there are jobs I'll use over 150 bags of cement to work on. Do the calculations of 11,500 a bag times 150bags and see what only cement consumes. Sand and chippings aren't included yet. Chemical and oxides not included. Then labour. I hope you know how much 30tons of chippings cost and in two deliveries.
How much do you think construction of swimming pool and water fountain cost? I charge swimming pool nothing less than 6million. I'm a professional in this field; a good installer. You'll marvel when you see my jobs. Some bvs who have seen my jobs can attest to that. The only challenge about this job is that, it doesn't come all the time. So pls always ask questions in what you don't know about.
©️ TEEJAY
Ah ah, boss TeeJay, first of all, you are doing well sir, more jobs!
DeleteSo you dey construct pool and you never connect me? I dey maintain swimming pools o
@ Mystlc HFH,
DeleteYea, you have said that before. Don't worry when it comes up will get you in touch. Especially the ones close to your location. Port Harcourt is too far for you unless if the pay is very good that can accommodate your transportation.
Blessings bro.
©️ TEEJAY
Teejay, it is so easy to gaslight/rile you up. You dont have to respond to every comment about you - ignore them. All of us dont have to reveal our lifr's activities here.
DeleteSome did this and I locked up and ensure we were all paid same amount because no be go work and still take same payment so everyone did it to the best of our capability
ReplyDeleteTeejay are you a tiler or brick layer?
ReplyDeleteI'm not a tiler or bricklayer.
DeleteIncrete stamped flooring(Those beautiful polished designed ground work in a compound)
Swimming pool and water fountain. That's my specialisation.
©️ TEEJAY
I'm old enough to know that setting boundaries to many of our human alliances, has its way of controlling, containing, and resolving many expected issues.
ReplyDeleteThe contractor operated from a scarcity mindset - secure the job, conceal the facts, control the labour. That behaviour is not unusual. In loosely regulated markets, information is leverage. He kept it to himself because transparency would reduce his margin - typical shallow selfishness.
But professionalism is not a skill. It incorporates negotiation. When the square metre changed, that was the moment to reset terms. Continuing silently shifted the power dynamic. Though, walking away three days later corrected it, earlier clarity would have preserved both time and leverage.
The homeowner’s response shows another truth which is uncommon, eventually, competence exposes deception. When value becomes visible, the market adjusts. He intervened because he recognised who was actually delivering the work.
Greed is easy to criticise. But it is harder to design systems that prevent it. Written scope. Verified measurements. Clear payment structure before mobilisation. Those are not signs of mistrust; they are signs of maturity.
Being good at your craft will open doors - true. But protecting your worth keeps those doors open. And that's why passion alone will only sustain effort. Whereas, structure protects the income it brings.
You are doing well.
This is profound π
DeleteThanks.
©️ TEEJAY
Weldone Teejay please always be careful.. more wins.
ReplyDeleteThis was particularly annoying. Glad he got found out.