Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: IPOB Suspends Nnamdi Kanu As Leader Over Security Concerns

Friday, June 19, 2026

IPOB Suspends Nnamdi Kanu As Leader Over Security Concerns

The proscribed Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB, has announced the suspension of the Office of its Leader, Nnamdi Kanu, as well as the position of Director of Radio Biafra.

In a statement signed by Mazi Chikadibia Edoziem, Head of the Directorate of State (DOS), the group said the decision followed a full-house meeting where intelligence reports on communications allegedly coming from Kanu inside Sokoto prison were reviewed.

According to IPOB, the Directorate of State will now take full control of the organisation’s affairs. The leadership stressed that IPOB was “formed and nurtured by Biafrans in the Diaspora, not by any single individual,” and that no one person has the authority to dissolve the DOS.

The group said it acted after becoming “mindful that certain unguarded communications from Sokoto prison have led to unnecessary arrests and deaths of IPOB members in Biafraland.”
IPOB also raised concerns about DSS surveillance on Kanu’s visitors and warned about alleged plans by unnamed individuals to form a new militia, which it said could trigger fresh violence in the region.

The suspension, it said, is meant to prevent reckless actions, unauthorized directives, and further loss of life, adding that IPOB will no longer take responsibility for criminal activities carried out in the name of the suspended office.
The development comes a day after reports claimed that Nnamdi Kanu dissolved the 3rd Administration of the DOS and appointed US‑based Mazi Chris Nwaọgụ as head of a newly inaugurated 4th Administration.
Spokesperson Emma Powerful said Nwaọgụ was instructed to assume immediate control of IPOB’s day‑to‑day operations under Kanu’s authority.
The DOS, created by Kanu in 2012, has previously been led by Dr. Justin Akujieze, Mazi Uchenna Asiegbu, and Chika Edoziem, who took over in 2017 during Kanu’s earlier detention.

5 comments:

1. IPOB is putting it out that Kanu may have been compromised. But considering that the man choose to serve a practical life sentence, this makes little sense.
    This power tussle appears to be one that can blow up drastically and further cause unrest in the South-East as emerging factions will begin to claim they are acting on Kanu's directives. Kanu being who he is, will not accept the dissolution of his office. He will fight it with everything available to him. Being a charismatic leader with a near cult following, he still has countless foot soldiers willing to stick their necks out for him.

I get the sneaky feeling though that this may be the handwork of state agents to destabilise the South-East as the elections approach.

1. You just penned down My thoughts 💯

2. U guys will never cease to amaze someone with your self induced rofo-rofo fight.Una go soon should tinubu now on this suspension

2. He should decamp😂.

3. Where is TJ? Your leader and saviour has been suspended. Did you attend the meeting that took this decision? You must have fought the other members