Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Three‑Storey Students’ Hostel Collapses With Several Feared Trapped

Tuesday, July 28, 2026

Three‑Storey Students’ Hostel Collapses With Several Feared Trapped

A three‑storey private hostel housing students of Federal Polytechnic Oko has collapsed in Amokpala, Anambra State, leaving several occupants feared trapped under the rubble.

The building, known as Elite Five Star Lodge, reportedly came down late Sunday night, trapping an unknown number of students.
Emergency responders including the police, fire service, and SEMA rushed to the scene and rescued some injured victims who were taken to hospital. Efforts are ongoing to reach others still trapped.

17 comments:

1. Sad. I pray and hope the people trapped inside are safe ๐Ÿ™

2. This is heartbreaking ๐Ÿฅบ
    May God send divine rescue ๐Ÿ™

3. This is what we get when owners are desperate for the money without proper planning.

God have mercy and save those trapped inside the rubbles.

DOZZYBEST.

4. Good lord. Why do buildings in Nigeria just collapse at such frequency. Even in other countries with similar populations this phenomenon rarely happens, if ever at all. Those young ppl seeking an education shouldn’t be in this situation.

Something ain’t right in the land. I don’t care what nobody says something ain’t right with the energy of the land. Buildings collapsing, phantom fires that cannot be explained, freak accidents, strange snakes, not to mention all the evil things humans are doing.

1. Meanwhile buildings constructed in the 60s and even before are still standing strong.
      Meanwhile, buildings made even last year are crumbling like stale biscuits. What a pity.

5. But how will people see a house with cracks on the wall and still live there.
    May the souls of the dead RIP.

That was how agent showed me a fine new 2 storey building and after paying for rent, I went to the backyard, the house cracked from the fence, passed through from the ground and to upstairs.
    Landlord give me back my money, I'm not staying again and the landlord was asking me if I know how many rods he used to build the house, that it will not fall.
    Oga landlord, the number of rods is not my business, give me my damn money.
    Agent said it will not fall, that it is small crack that cement will cover it.
    I sha collected back my money from all of them.

1. You're lucky you were able to collect your money, but what a pity for the incoming tenants.
      Also, good that you were so observant.

2. Lol ๐Ÿ˜Š you did well. Many have gone through bad buildings

6. This is so sad. I pray they rescue all those trapped in there ๐Ÿ™

7. Tiring..this whole system is tiring..saw this news yesterday and was like OMG ๐Ÿ˜ณ..Only Jah' mercy!!

8. I hope those still trapped under the rubble are rescue alive. This is a pitiable situation.

9. Watching the videos, it was really heartbreaking. Rest in peace to dead

10. Lord please have mercy on those trapped.

Bv God's Favor

11. My heart goes out to the students, their families and everyone affected ๐Ÿ’”