Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former President Obasanjo Says Picking Atiku As VP Was His Biggest Mistake

Saturday, August 01, 2026

Former President Obasanjo Says Picking Atiku As VP Was His Biggest Mistake

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo has openly said that choosing Atiku Abubakar as his running mate in 1999 was the biggest mistake he made while in office.
He made the comment on Friday, July 31, 2026, during a fireside chat with entertainer and activist Charles Oputa, popularly known as Charly Boy.

The talk took place in Lagos at the launch of Charly Boy’s memoir, 999: A Memoir in Tribute to Late Justice Chukwudifu Oputa. When asked about his biggest mistake as president, Obasanjo replied that no leader serves without making some errors. He then pointed to his choice of vice president. “The man I picked as my running mate, my number two, if I had known him as I came to know him later, I would not have picked him,” he said.

He confirmed he was talking about Atiku. Obasanjo added that he is thankful Atiku’s actions did not overwhelm him or pull his attention away from Nigeria. “There is no bitterness, because he did things he believed he should do, and God did the things God had to do,” he explained.

Obasanjo and Atiku won the 1999 election on the Peoples Democratic Party ticket and worked together until 2007. Their relationship later grew strained over political differences.

16 comments:

1. In my father's native tone "what is my kwasign?" Mtschew.

2. Haaaa!
    This bickering has stayed for too long.

3. Petty old fags

4. Let it go baba, this longstanding feud had stayed for too long.

5. Obj is the divine weapon fashioned against Atiku.

6. Baba should rest now. What is this vindictiveness. Always looking for how to throw Atiku under the bus. It seems he has made Atikus matter his life work, carrying the man matter on his head like Gala. You wrote a book and in it you called him a thief and even did so publicly. What else? Every opportunity to drag Atiku he jumps on it. It has kuku been said that he is vindictive . Why dont they ask him about all his family issues which are in the public space.

1. He is doing indirect campaign for his candidate Peter Obi, so keeps attacking Tinubu and Atiku.
      January is almost here na, PO will come third again,

7. Sebi two of you no dey service again, what's it again?

8. Baba, pls free your mind & let this end. Don't burden your heart ๐Ÿ™

9. Bwahahaha๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

10. Every election season this man will come out and start talking all sorts of nonsense as if he isn’t part of Nigerias problem. Bro you and Atiku issue na 1999, this is 2026 and we don’t care.

11. Na waoh oooo ๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ˜”๐Ÿ˜”

12. What an immature way to pass his point across.