Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians Warned To Stop Boiling Unwashed Eggs With Rice

Wednesday, September 30, 2026

Nigerians Warned To Stop Boiling Unwashed Eggs With Rice

Registered dietitian-nutritionists have warned Nigerians to stop the common practice of boiling unwashed eggs in the same pot as rice.

The experts cautioned that cooking unpeeled, unwashed eggs together with rice could pose serious health risks as the eggshells can carry harmful bacteria such as Salmonella and E. coli, which can transfer to the rice during the warm-up phase before the water reaches a full boil. They explained that this increases the chance of cross-contamination and foodborne illness, even if the food eventually gets cooked.
They advised that eggs should be properly washed and boiled separately or the rice and eggs cooked in different pots to avoid contamination.

I am guilty of this but i always wash the egg before putting it in

32 comments:

1. I wonder o. Dos and donts no come too much? Why would a sane person not wash eggs before boiling let alone put in rice.

2. I always do this but I will stop it.
    I know better now.

3. I wash my eggs with salt before I out in the fridge, and I don't even do this.

1. Abegii, on top your own health. Later you will blame govt.

5. Something I was doing many years ago. The way I dislike it now ehn. Even for noodles, i boil the eggs first before cooking.

1. Yea, I do it that way Aby. If you boil with noodles it will not be cooked properly.

6. Guilty as charged! Henceforth I will boil my eggs separately

7. UK and European regulations prohibit washing egg shells to avoid damaging it's protective barrier. Instead of washing the outside of the shell, laying hens in the UK are widely vaccinated against Salmonella to ensure safety from the inside out

1. And Nigerian regulations? Oversabi .

2. Have you seen the amount of salmonella and ecoli cases that UK and Europe continue to experience since the start of the year? I follow a food safety blog and it is staggering how much unsafe food is out there. Do not always go by what they say, use your own critical thinking and commonsense.

8. Chimo! And I did this this morning o. Though I wash eggs carefully.
    Thank you so much Stella dear 🙏

9. You must wash your eggs before putting inside the rice even though I don't like cooking it together

10. Same people who but ogbono from the market and throw in the pot without washing?
    Lolllllllll

1. Like I don't understand. When u buy ogbono you wash it before you grind it?

11. I wash the shell well and place in the rice.

12. I did it this morning . I wash & boil d egg during d parboiling stage of my rice, say 3 to 4mins max bcoz I prefer half done, then I wash my rice for d final stage. Good to know thought. We learn everyday.

13. How can salmonella survive water that has reached boiling point.? Yes not washing your egg is wrong but if the rice is boiling. Then no bacteria can survive that
    They should speak like scientists abeg

14. I wash before I boiling with rice.

15. I'm guilty as charge. But I always wash it thoroughly before placing it inside

16. I used to drop my eggs right into the rice pot to save time, even after washing them, but someone set me straight on food safety so I stopped

17. I could never do this, maybe if water is hard to find or some extreme event is going on, but on a normal day cooking eggs with rice, boiled eggs that are one of the most smelly foods on earth, if one of those eggs break by accident the who rice will smell like fart. I'll pass on this culinary delight.

18. I always always boil my eggs separately l. Before I boil or fry my eggs, I soak in water and wash gently with a sponge. I get irritated easily.

19. Me I wash my eggs with washing up liquid before putting it in the fridge. And when I want to cook it I still rinse it before putting it in the rice if I am cooking rice.