Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Slave Trade In Globacom???....Read This.

Tuesday, July 09, 2013

Slave Trade In Globacom???....Read This.

The Chilling Inside Account of how Globacom Subjects Nigerian Employees to Slave Labour

*Adenuga’s Daughters Bully, Harass Employees
*Indian Expatriates Displace Nigerian Staff

Global System of Mobile Telecommunication (GSM), a technology that was introduced into Nigeria at the turn of the 21st century, with its attendant commercial viability and propensity for job creation has been widely acknowledged as probably the best thing to happen to Nigeria in the last 12 years.

However, all the glitz and glamour that characterize the lifestyle of the privileged staff within the swishy confines of companies in Nigeria’s telecommunication industry may be a façade after all, as latest discovery by PSN suggests that Globacom Nigeria Limited, one of the major operators in the GSM business has been running a labour camp.

Patrick Agbator (real names withheld), a graduate of Mass Communication from the  Lagos State University, had for five years been in search of a blue collar job until late 2011 when fortune smiled on him courtesy of a contractor who has a business relationship with Globacom Nigeria Limited. Through the contractor, Agbator was employed by Globacom as a Customer Service Agent.
Two years into the job, Agbator whose pay monthly salary was hardly enough to enable him meet his domestic responsibilities and assistance to retinue of dependents, decided to seek a better paying job elsewhere. He actually got what he wanted, but what he thought was going to be a smooth transition from one job to another turned out to be a nightmare as the management of Globacom insisted he would have to remain with the company for one more year or buy out the extra year to facilitate his exit.

Agbator was not alone. Mosunmola Arobieke (real names withheld), another employee who had served Globacom for seven years, but recently got an offer of employment from a bank, wrote to the company informing them of her desire to resign her appointment. She was shocked to hear that she had signed a bond and cannot leave. According to her, “I protested and I was informed that I will need to pay the sum of N2 million for me to leave. My monthly salary is less than N80, 000 a month, where do they want me to get N2 million? This is inhuman and modern slavery”.

Agbator and Arobieke’s accounts are just two of the numerous similar incidents of alleged manipulation and exploitation of unsuspecting members of staff by Globacom, a company owned Dr. Mike Adenuga, one of Nigeria’s richest men who also have big stakes in banking and oil and gas.

Investigations by PSN reveal that Globacom through illegal tactics force employees to sign bonds in order to keep their jobs. Nearly 60 percent of its staffers, it was gathered, have fallen victim to “forced labour”, trapped in jobs which they were coerced or deceived to take and from which they cannot leave easily.

“The communication company,” said Agbator, “has increased the condition that gives rise to work place abuse, debt bondage, discrimination and other forms of slave labour and modern slavery. Most of the staff transferred from Customer Service to Glo World or Warehouse are made to sign bonds ranging from three to 10 years.”

“The victims,” he added, “are the most vulnerable men and women forced to endure work place bullying and abuse, perpetrated by children of the CEO, Chief Micheal Adenuga, especially by his daughters, Miss Abimbola Michael Adenuga, and Mrs. Bella Adenuga-Disu.

The Employment Bond, it was learnt, is basically an agreement which the company and the employee enter into, which amongst other terms states that “In consideration of the training given to the Employee and the money spent by the company in imparting such training, the Employee will remain in the services of the company for a particular period. In case the Employee breaches the provisions of the Agreement, the Employee will be liable to pay a certain sum of money, be it the expense incurred by the company in training of the staff”.

A preponderant of staff affected by the said bond claimed they did not know that they had signed a bond contract until they were about to quit Globacom.

“We were never informed that we will pay a penalty fee for leaving Glo,” said yet another staff who did not want his name in print. The act of inducing recruitment by fraud is against the labor laws of Nigeria. According to the Labour Act, “No person shall by fraud, falsehood, intimidation, coercion or misrepresentation induce any worker to enter into a contract under this Part.”

The case of Mercy Nnolum(Real names withheld), is a bit different, according to her, “ I have been a staff of Glo for 4 years, suddenly one morning, a document was handed to me to sign, by my supervisor, and a top management staff”. “ I was informed it was a bond, and it only guarantees my job, they flipped to the signature page, asked me to sign and off they went with the document”. 

“I was not allowed to peruse through the document, neither was I given a copy, so I don’t even know, how much am supposed to pay, should I want to leave”.

PSN also gathered that employees of Glo are mandated to give a three-month notice to resign or depart from the company or pay another financial penalty, which contradicts the labour law that specifies a minimum of one week written notice. According to a Lagos human rights activist and attorney, who pleaded for anonymity for fear of alienation by the promoters of Globacom, “this revelation, if true, is certainly criminal and constitutes an infringement on Nigeria’s labour laws”.

“I don’t have a copy of the labour laws where I am...I would have cited the relevant provisions for you. But it’s certainly wrong and unlawful. Please tell the affected persons to come out and tell their stories,” she added.

Away from the issue of slavish employment terms, Globacom has emerged as a work place where bullying and abuse of employees have elevated to the status of official corporate policy.  The Adenuga sisters, Miss Abimbola Michael Adenuga and Mrs. Bella Adenuga-Disu, are said to relate with their father’s employees in a manner that intimidates, humiliates, threaten and abuse their dignity.

"Nothing can prepare you for living or working with a sociopathic serial bully. It is the most devastating, draining, misunderstood, and ultimately futile experience imaginable." - Tim Field

PSN gathered that the duo of Abimbola and Bella, magistrate over the Glo Empire with the arrogance and temerity of a Roman consul presiding over a conquered people.

Abimbola, introduced to the company little over a year ago as a Director, pays regular visits to stores and offices of Glo nationwide to ensure quality assurance. However in the discharge of her oversight function, Abimbola has imbibed verbal abuse and naked bullying of subordinates as veritable work tools.

Concerned members of staff of Glo World are unequivocal that, “Abimbola is a bully; she uses different forms to abuse us -verbal, non-verbal, psychological, physical abuse and humiliation”.

One of the employees said: “She came to our store recently on one of her routine visits. We have complained to the management severally that we are understaffed; we do all necessary customer service chores, paper work, cleaning, selling, and everything and we are only two.

“My colleague was pregnant at that time. After standing and working for several hours as our store was very busy, I told her to rest a bit because of her condition. It was in the process of resting that Abimbola entered the store in company of a policeman; she rained abuses and insults on this staff who is over 10 years older than her. Efforts to explain to her and have her see the woman’s condition fell on deaf ears as she recommended her for two weeks suspension without pay.”

Further checks by PSN show that most of the bullying and harassment perpetrated by Abimbola seems to conform with the hidden established rules and policies of the Globacom Management, because even when employees report incidents to top management they are unable to call her to order.

Another staff told PSN that, “in our store early this year, during one of those times of the day that we were busy, and we had a long queue, a certain lady came in hurriedly without joining the line and went straight to the customer agent’s window. We promptly advised her to join the line, she refused and stated that she was in a hurry and must be attended to right now. This development sparked a wave of protest from customers that have been standing in the line and we refused to attend to her. Curiously, she grabbed her phone and called Abimbola. She reported us to her, and stepped out promising us that we will all be dealt with.

“The next day, the attendant and the store supervisor were placed on two weeks suspension without pay.”

Abimbola, according to aggrieved staff of Globacom, curses and uses derogatory remarks on employees at will. A few months ago during her visit to a store on the Lagos Mainland, she was alleged to have rained abuses and invectives at an employee for failing to clean the back room end of the office after pest control companies completed a fumigation of the store. The employee, it was said, explained to her that it was unsafe to go into the room, having been advised by the pest control experts to stay off for some time to allow the heavy smell of the industrial insecticide evaporate before going inside the room.

“But Abimbola continued to insult the lady and called the Human Resources to suspend her for two weeks. The Staff has since been transferred to the Glo headquarters in Victoria Island after serving the prescribed punishment,” said one of the Globacom employees who witnessed the incident.

There was also the story of an employee of Glo, who last year went to an electronic store in Lagos owned by a friend of one of Dr. Mike Adenuga’s children. The Glo employee, PSN gathered, purchased an item, but unfortunately on getting home found out that it wasn’t working properly, so he decided to return it to the store for exchange. On getting to the store, the management refused to change or fix the item, and consequently he demanded for full refund of his money.

The Director of the electronic store demanded to know some of his personal details, and the vulnerable staff informed him that he works at Globacom. Right there the Director made a phone call to Bella Adenuga, another daughter of the billionaire businessman, informing her that a staff of Glo is in his establishment and causing trouble.

The Glo staff (namewithheld) was shocked the next day, when he was told upon arriving work that he has been placed on one month suspension without pay by Miss Bella Adenuga.

The Children of the Globacom boss use repeated, health-harming mistreatment, verbal abuse, and conduct which threaten, humiliate, and intimidate employees.

Miss Abimbola Adenuga, who PSN gathered is a daughter of one of the concubines of the Billionaire owner of the communication giant, suspended an employee for two weeks, merely because the employee was a dissatisfied customer at Diva Accessories, situated at the Palms Mall in Lagos. Apparently the owner of the store was Abimbola’s friend, who rather than satisfying the customer, called Abimbola and got the poor lady suspended.

The bullying attitude of Dr. Mike Adenuga’s children, PSN gathered is laced with humiliation and hazing rites, most often framed as protocol in the best interests of employee development and coaching.

A source within Globacom, disclosed that another disturbing trend in Glo is the influx of Indian expatriates that are gradually taking the positions of Nigerians.

The Indians, it was revealed, are now supervisors and managers at Glo World and most of Globacom’s call centers. “The Indians have subjected Glo Nigerian employees to various work place abuse and degradation, sacking them and replacing them with their Indian friends and family members,” said the source.

He added that, “The Chairman, Dr. Adenuga himself is not left out of the mess, he has a history of hurling abuses at his employees. He is also quick at regaling his employees with tales of how he made it early in life when they disagree with him on official matters”.

Efforts by PSN at getting representatives of Globacom to react to these allegations proved abortive, as none of the company’s officials contacted including Arinze Anapugars, the company’s spokesman was willing to comment. 

RESEARCH BY PSNMEDIA.

*hmmm and they give out so much money to brand celebs?I am confused here.

118 comments:

1. I dnt believe these stories! Ms posh

1. Why would u believe the story when u never worked there. After 5yrs in customer care glo I left with nothing but my health and life intact. All I can say is I would never send my enemies there... Indians are snakes

2. Indians ke? Dut it was a nigerian, thing, the only thing I know is you have to wear a short dress or shirt to Glo if u are going for interview.

3. It's very true. Worst than this self in rivers state.

2. Am very tempted to believe this story because of the way I have bin treated by glo customer care. When I call, they act as if its their right for the network to be bad. There network is horrible here; most time, we have to try calling a number almost ten times or more before getting thru, some times the calls never sail thru. I tweet @glocare. They never responded. I had to mail cpc nigeria before I could get a call from customer care almost a month ago. The network has returned to its worse. I wonder what is the work of NCC in nigeria!!!

1. Gbam what is the work of NCC? Network providers can try that trash here you even get compensated for trashy network. NCC wake up and do your job

2. Don't blame the customer care attendants, it's the situation they find themselves.
      Believe you me, you don't want to work with glo unless you are a manager where you can also manipulate and humiliate others.

3. In oda 2 run a successful biz u hav 2 be uptight, the adenugas might jus be a lil strict wit deir employees, and dey wanna pull dem down. God wil judge

1. Experience, they say is the best teacher. I don't wish my enemy to work with Glo, but you can give them a trial.

4. It's so true. My sister works there, I have friends also, and d complaint is endless. Globacom is a slavedriver. It's really sad.

5. THe story is very true... Believe it or not... i hate that organisation with passion... Nobody is pulling anybody down... Must yu bully some1 or rain curses before yu can get a result or b4 u can correct some1... Visit multi-nationals and yu will apr8 wat am talking about..

6. dont forget zenith bank

7. I went to school with Bella and she was a sweetheart and very humble. I guess in their eyes they are everyone's bread and butter not remembering that in life anything can happen. If it is true then their time is soon coming. LAW of KARMA.

1. Bella? Humble ke? The Bella that was in QC was anything but humble. She was not a troublemaker O! but definitely not humble. Maybe she changed when she went to VF.
      The only different one out of them all seems to be Jide.

8. Stella, another reason why you are my all time favorite blogger. Dealing with and exposing core issues in society! What's wrong is wrong. This company should be taken to court, but in a society where corruption has made its way to the courts, I am not sure if justice will be served. But thank you for your stand, they should be exposed!

9. That is how most Nigerians treat their workers.

10. Frustrated bitches! *spits*

11. Why is it that Nigerian employers can't treat their staff with a little decency? Most of these people schooled abroad and are open to global best practices, yet they return home and become tyrants. I blame our toothless government that cannot enforce laws and provide an enabling environment. Rubbish and nonsense!!!

12. A company "owned" by a family, I hate that set up. Put up with it or find a new job. These stories have been going on for years. Paddy was the one I heard of before.

13. Nigerians it is time to show those money miss road Billionaires the way things are done in 21st century...we can't keep silent on this issue,i have heard such story before from my sister but this time this company must not go free from this...

14. Stella u have too many agony tales. Yes am a man

1. people should wise up9 July 2013 at 22:48

Agony tales you say? Well this is not a post about half naked women or under aged children. So why should you be interested?

These and many more stories are real in Globacom.

You doubt... then go have a taste. none of siblings/people would ever venture there. That place is a cesspool.

15. All our rich men are thesame,stella thumb up for this,love u,cos u no send,u r ready to expose anybody,n thats a rare thing in naija,anyway i believe the story,cos same thing(slavery by indian,and nothi to write home about salery)is happening here in dangote cement.pls stella lets expose dangote too,his MD,an indian called edwin is so wicked

16. All our rich men are thesame,stella thumb up for this,love u,cos u no send,u r ready to expose anybody,n thats a rare thing in naija,anyway i believe the story,cos same thing(slavery by indian,and nothi to write home about salery)is happening here in dangote cement.pls stella lets expose dangote too,his MD,an indian called edwin is so wicked

17. I had to pay back a month salary when I wanted to leave. Then u can't have a baby/go on mat leave untill u have spent 2yrs on d job. The HR man even told me dat during the interview wen he discovered that I was married. Its a terrible Job. I tell u

18. I work in the mtn call center unit,tho we dnt earn more than 86k,but I'm enjoying my job,thr is no critisism at all.I have a frnd dat works wit glo in the call center,and same thing she tells me,psn is very correct

19. Hi Stella I've never commented on your blog, but this post deserves a "well done".
    Such practices are common and are usually the norm, other bloggers cannot post as they are scared of the Adenuga Dynasty. I keep saying this, bloggers cannot afford to be friends with these movers and shakers as it hinders their objectivity.

20. When u were offered d job,why did u sign d bond?
    It happens all over the world.
    On the issue of insults,same thing in all family business.

1. Did u read d part of the ladY who said she wasn't given time to read d paper given to her?

2. Did u read d part of the ladY who said she wasn't given time to read d paper given to her?

3. Is d lady dumb? how can she sign a paper she didn't read? That can't be true pls.

21. THIS REPORT IS A DISGRACE TO JOURNALISM. THE NIGERIAN UNION OF JOUNRNALISTS, THE NIGERIA GUILD OF EDITORS AND THE NIGERIAN MEDIA COUNCIL SHOULD URGENTLY DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE ETHICS OF JOURNALISM PRACTICE BEFORE HALF BAKED BLOGGERS LIKE DIMOKO COMPLETELY DESTROY THE REPUTATION OF THE NOBLE PROFESSION.

1. Bella is dat u????

2. Oh, just SHUT UP or GO AND HUG TRANSFORMER......meanwhile, SDK isn't registered in all those unions u mentioned.....so she can blog about celebrities and not about the rich? Mtcheww......yeye de smell

3. Oh, just SHUT UP or GO AND HUG TRANSFORMER......meanwhile, SDK isn't registered in all those unions u mentioned.....so she can blog about celebrities and not about the rich? Mtcheww......yeye de smell

22. I hope this isnt true sha..

23. Nothin una no go complain about! Big hiss, if u dnt like d place u f off jo.

1. Ur brain don't seem to understand. They don't lik d place. They want to f off the job.......well guess wat? They are asked to pay N2m!!!!
      Is it clear now???

24. Culled from Eminem ''what goes up must come down.Anyone who go up must come down''*
    Guys,don't wori much.Their shoulders wl soon drop.My oga is stl owing for last month and hv sed he won't pay until next wk.His shlder wl soon drop.

25. Dear Stella, I am tempted to regard this as a pure fabrication because it lacks basic ingredients of professionalism. This seems like fiction writing, not journalism which trades only with facts. A piece of advice: You can only rival the likes of Bella Naija and Linda Ikeji if you dwell more with facts and less with figments of imagination. Good luck.

1. Dear goat did u take out time to read this thing to d end to see that my sterra isn't the writer?this was someones research work.
      Did u also see the question mark sterra put on her headline?how dare u compare her blog to linda?linda does not peddle lies?u must be deaf,dumb,blind and stupid. I ported from linda becos of too many false stories. Bella is ok,she sits on d fence but hey that's ok.
      How dare u come here to talk trash?get off that junk u r typing with,take some aspirin and go to sleep and hey don't come back here.
      And just in case u work for glo,sorry for u!
      Stella next time don't enable such rily annoying comments pls,I don't know why u do this. Hissssss.

2. Kingslave 8:56, shut d hell up! Who says Linda Ikeji don't run false stories? Were u in a coma when she did a post about Paul Okoye accepting Elshama d baby mama? Shut ur shit hole and go bathe on a transformer. Linda's bootlicker...mtcheew

3. Kingsley, something is definitely wrong with you. How dare u compare Stella wit Linda? D same Linda who peddles lies, half-baked stories ? The same Linda who doesn't take corrections and posts only what would please celebs she wnts 2 b in their gd bks?
      Bang ur head smwhere n u will b fine, trust me.

4. Abeg nobody sud bring Linda here biko, cause Linda takes stories from other blog. Abeg Stella u sud not enable comments like that. We love and appreciate u for who u are Stella. You are to real, and straight to the point, your stories keeps me coming for more. Ignore the hater u hear. Lol. Butterfly.
      Meanwhile I voter for u, thank me later

26. Linda Ikeji? Like she deals with facts? Shut up and fuck off back there.

27. Stella, nothing can be farther from the truth than this posting. I have a friend who has been working in Glo for the last 9 years and his life has been transformed significantly. I also know that Glo staff are paid well. I see the type of quality cars they ride and the kind of upscale life they live. The Adenuga dynasty deserves thumb up for the huge value they have added. They have definitely reduced unemployment in Nigeria. Just imagine how many people will be roaming the streets unemployed without Glo, Conoil etc. Girlfriend, wake up. Don't be a destroyer! Be a builder. What you are trying to does ungodly. God will judge you.

1. Shut up! Its d staff who started at d inception of glo dat r paid well- abt 200k or so. The new staff r paid btw 50-60k and they do d same job.(call centre agents) Y won't their morale be low? No promotion, no salary review!

2. What she is "trying to does" isn't ungodly. Glo staff are paid well? Jeez, are u in nigeria? Ask around then. Yes, we thank God for the employment Adenuga created but he shouldn't turn people to slaves. F.Y.I, its not even stellas research...the question mark at the begining shows that she's also asking if these allegations are true

3. It is not enough to put a question mark at the end of the story. Stella is as guilty as the guy who wrote the story. She should beware of libel! Why try to vilify the Adenugas who have no blogs to defend themselves? In jounalism, you must balance your story. Did Stella seek the other side of the story?

4. Pls ask your friend well. I don't think his money is pure if Truly he works with glo. Or he might be among those frustrating people's life. Some graduates in glo earn 30k. graduates with 2:1earn 75k even after 4 years with them.

28. Dis story is so true, d adenugas r just priviledge, they should not nw use dat one to opress oda people. Globacom is d wrongest place to work but what can we do, no job in naija. They pay their customer kia agent 40k, per month. Mordern day slavery,God is watching all of u.

1. Pls verify your facts before you go public with them. Glo pays customer care staff far more than that. Glo pays as much as and even higher than other telecom operators.

29. Mr. Anonymous, that's where you missed the point. The story is published on Stella's blog. The buck stops on her table. She is the editor and publisher. It does not matter if she is the writer or not and putting a question mark on the story is not enough reasons for publishing falsehood. I advise that you enlighten yourself about the ethics of journalism. Lastly, it is obvious you are far from refined, otherwise, you will never have used the type of gutter language you used. By their utterances, we shall know them. Kindly imbibe the decorums expected of a public commentator. Lovely evening.

1. Sharrap jor!!wit ur senseless comment.u can c people who av worked there commenting bout d inhumane treatments and u stil talking rubbish!if u dnt av anytn constructive 2 say do us all a favor n fall into a coma!bootlicker oshi!!

2. I understand your plight but weda or not it's unethical for her to have published this, the fact remains that most of us identify with it as true. Its really humiliating to work with glo. I don't know how to convince you further. Its even worse if you are a contract staff... you don't want your enemy to have such experience especially if you have a boss like the one I know.

30. This story about intimidation and humiliation by Bella Adenuga is so true. Years ago when I used to work as an I.T staff at Glo, she forgot her password and I was asked to go unlock her computer by fire, by brimstone. So I asked her to try and remember anything about the password. But instead of cooperating, the obviously daft Bella just hissed at me and said that if I cant figure out her password, that I should get out of her sight? Can you beat that? If I figured it out without asking her any questions, na so she for report me to police again, say I be hacker. Thank God that just 2 months after this incident I was elevated to a fantastic place of work in an Oil Multi-national. Stella, post oh, cos that's how you didn't post my comment on Kate Henshaw's trip on that private jet, when I also made ref to Genevieve.

31. To think i pay my fucking driver 50k, and he's a big fuck up.

32. @ H29, like in every organization in the world, I learnt people earn different salary packages in Glo ranging from the N40,000 you talked about per month to millions of naira depending on your level and contributions.

33. That first picture is Bella. However the second picture nah Oyin, who is the first daughter. And she doesnt work for her father!! They are fighting. I know of Bimbo. (Bella dem half sister)But i am shocked at all these accusations. She just started getting along with daddy recently now. She use to work for Mako Alabi at Lagos Signage whatever.... before Mako was sacked.Pray all these stories are not true. Inherited things. At least, they are not bastards.

34. I advise workers( esp those in private companies) read" You can't talk to me that way" by Bell. You will know how to deal with abusive bosses, verbal abuse etc. Never for any reason sign a document without reading it, politely but firmly tell your boss you need to know what you are signing.
    I believe most of these atrocities are saiking through because of our ignorance and indifference to things. Be bold and confident at what you do and make sure you exhibit full confidence and have proof of any abuse. Use your smart phones to record Trust me these bosses wont get away with all these

1. Well said. We lack confidence that's all.

2. It's not as easy as you are saying it. Just yesterday someone that politely responded to his colleague that insulted him in public almost got sacked becos that his colleague is close to his boss. He was told by his boss that he can be spoken to anyhow as long as he is a contract staff.

35. Dear Kingsley and all d anonymous cussing out @ Stella. Its either u re blind or explain stupid cos she wrote exactly where this story was lifted from. Read with your common sense. Dear Linda Ikeji fan, u re as fake as d blog u mentioned. This is a blog, no story is printed 2 harm or destroy. Rather for people to learn, correct and defend themselves

36. I believe the story. my friend worked there briefly. at the time, she jus got married and was pregnant. when they found out she was preg, they gave her conditions that she was'nt meant to get pregnant until two years into the job but since she was already pregnant, she will be let off for just two weeks to deliver her baby and then resume back to work. she called in sick and left for good.

Companies (both private and public) are beginning to capitalize on low employment rate in Nigeria thus producing very unfriendly working policies for staff.

they cut down salaries for no reason, retrench a staff for little or no good reason, staff remain on a particular job group level for yearssss, no promotion, no salary increment....

modern day slavery. sad

37. I won't conclude on this issue until the other party speaks cos no story is truly complete wtout both camps participating. But here's a quick one, this oga ta, oga o ta attitude amongst ppl need to stop. (dunno if I got that right, im ibo tho) lol

38. who ever compiled this story got it all correct especially the Indian part i work with Glo so i'm a witness can't testify about the daughters but have heard enough stories from my collages to know they couldn't have cooked up d story. the dept i'm in the Indians rule and are driving us crazy i hope someone who has the chairman's ears will read this and talk sense into him.

39. This is so true, I was offered a job at Glo but luckily for me i read the contents of my contract letter, acknowledged the part about bond and repaying the organization back for training, so i quietly left and went back to manage my 70,000 naira job. Its high time organizations like this are held accountable for their actions towards their employees, i mean if Zenith bank cld do it, others definitely can.

40. I can only blame all you Nigerians who are slaved stolen from cheated abused used and you still do nothing with the population you have.
    Power belongs to the people and you all need to put everything down and protest like Egypt!
    The rich get richer as the poor get poorer, now what will happen to your kids in 20 years when they are working at glo?
    You all know how to complain and abuse on blogs and do nothing! Kindly stay like that and keep complaining with no action!

Kenyan babe

1. This one is 'reporting' from Kenya of all countries? Gimme a big break!!

2. Commenting to be precise! And no where in this blog is written it is only for Nigerians! Grow up and write comments that add value to the post instead of looking for cheap publicity that no one really cares about!
      Go give yourself a break, seems you need it! Your stupidity is embarrassing!

Kenyan babe

41. Its true about the indians! Jameel, Chalakudi Ramnath, Izaac and the rest of the indians. Life was good until they invaded Glo. They made management slash salaries with poor or no staff welfare or respect for workers. Its a Master, master- Slave world. No hope for salary increment at all...I've been here for 6 years now

42. As for me, my gratitude goes to the likes of Adenuga, Dangote, Jim Ovia, Tony Elumelu etc who have provided job opportunities for millions of Nigerians in spite of all the challenges of our society. This story is obviously exaggerated and unsubstantiated. One truism of life is that no single individual is perfect. We all have our excesses. The writer may even be worse than the Adenugas he is criticizing if he has the means. We must encourage those who provide means of livelihood for our people, rather than hack them down. There are constructive and destructive criticisms. The objective of this story is to destroy but fortunately, no one can destroy what God has built. My advice to those whom God has blessed in the society is to also go the extra mile and treat their workers with love, affection and care.

1. Crap! They are not providing job opportunities but slaving the poor only to get richer! Don't think like a slave! Million jobs yet people can barely make ends meat?

Popular saying: when the poor have nothing left to eat they will eat the rich - anonymous

Kenyan babe

43. That doesn't look like Oyin.

1. It is Oyinda and not Abimbola in the picture. If Abimbola is the focus of this topic with Bella why is her picture on there? Stella you do better than this. You need to take her picture down and put Abimbola's picture up.

44. Dats how employers treat their employees in Nigeria,I tink its bcos of d low employment rate

45. Dats how employers treat their employees in Nigeria,I tink its bcos of d low employment rate

46. Dats how employers treat their employees in Nigeria,I tink its bcos of d low employment rate

47. It is a known culture that when a company trains his staffs, the staff is made to sign an undertaking to stay with the company for a numbers of years before going away, who is that man/woman who will spend thousand of Naira in training a member of staff and let him go awaay after 1 years job, so I see no danger in what Glo did, if Mercedes, BMW and other world known companies, it is illegal to work with them and take a job elsewhere after two years. For signing a bond, where the staff forced to do so or it was mutually agreed? Leave GLO alone

1. Ur case is dat of sheer stupidity. Ask Globacom how many times they conduct training for their staff? Whatt stupid training are they referring to??? When real companies like Exxon mobil and d likes send their staff abroad for quality training, where has Glo sent their staff to?. The highest training conduct in GLO is at their pent house in d customer care building. With those their unintelligent mgt staff as the facilitators. Now tell me, y den are u referring to d wasting of money on the non- existent training dey claim to have???And if you must know again for months GLO did not have HEALTH POLICIES for their staff not until recently cos d DAMN coy was Owing MULTISHIELD(former HMO for GLO) millions of naira. Asides all these things. GLO is an unrepentant debtor. They owe their staff salaries and even their contractors their payments.

2. I understand but the amount is outrageous and the staff pay is too low. And it should be don with the clear consent of the employee. They all said the were not aware of what they signed for and we're told it's to guarantee their job. They were deceived. Although it's negligence on the employee's part not to have gone through it.
      Most importantly some superiors in glo treat their subordinates as animals and every subordinate wants to get his boss' approval by worshipping him.

48. Abeg make una ask Globacom which training dem dey give their staff. Is it purposeless training dey conduct every once in a 'green'(no longer blue) moon at the usual venue at the pent-house customer care building at Ahmadu bello way V.I? Take it from me all the things said about GLOBACOM in the write- up above is 101percent VERY TRUE!and am saying this true . God almighty is my witness.Have been in Glo getting to 4yrs and everything gets worse by the day. The Org is highly unstructured and so many other things wrong with the place. Sincerely pple on d outside will find this story hard to believe, but wen u become an employee you will realise dat Globacom is worse dan HELL!dey are so many things about dat coy I can't put down in text. Buh d truth is I am leaving the place very soon and even if am offered 30million as monthly salary there I will neva go back dere. And for all those taking sides with Glo and saying this story is Fabricated. I pray one day the tides will turn and the Adenuga family will be exposed for what are and they will one day be at d receiving end of all their atrocities. They shud know that nothing last for ever!!

49. Abeg make una ask Globacom which training dem dey give their staff. Is it purposeless training dey conduct every once in a 'green'(no longer blue) moon at the usual venue at the pent-house customer care building at Ahmadu bello way V.I? Take it from me all the things said about GLOBACOM in the write- up above is 101percent VERY TRUE!and am saying this true . God almighty is my witness.Have been in Glo getting to 4yrs and everything gets worse by the day. The Org is highly unstructured and so many other things wrong with the place. Sincerely pple on d outside will find this story hard to believe, but wen u become an employee you will realise dat Globacom is worse dan HELL!dey are so many things about dat coy I can't put down in text. Buh d truth is I am leaving the place very soon and even if am offered 30million as monthly salary there I will neva go back dere. And for all those taking sides with Glo and saying this story is Fabricated. I pray one day the tides will turn and the Adenuga family will be exposed for what are and they will one day be at d receiving end of all their atrocities. They shud know that nothing last for ever!!

50. Here us my little two cents on how how to make the adenugas fill the pain for all they have done!
    1) spread the word and story to get the masses attention
    2) get university reps to spread the word around campass
    3) arrange a date that everyone mad about glo will know
    4) lastly everyone should break their glo SIM cards and migrate! If even 10000 do this it will be a loss to them and the greedy pigs will fill the pinch!
    5) if properly arranged with the population in Nigeria you can get at least 100k to do this!
    6) that will make them them panic and change working laws in glo and trim the horns of the cruella sisters!

That's my little two cents from kenya!

Kenyan Babe

1. 2cents frm a coconut head! I can't even believe a living thing wrote ths shit u wrote! 2cents kor, 5naira ni!

2. Clearly your stupidity speaks for itself through your comment! All can do is abuse and take no action! Such a pity your all so brave on blogs but in reality cowards that will be enslaved forever!

You abuse yet you don't offer a solution to the problem so what is your comment?

Stupidity is really free but try also reject the free lunch... You think how our enslavers want you to think! I pity you.

Kenyan Babe

51. I work with Glo and I must say...its a very useless company.highly unstructured.pple doin same jobs but with different pays.well I dint sign any bond.maybe those in customer care signs bonds!thankGod for dis exposure

1. Resign n see what d going rate is for jobs! Lemme tell u, there r no jobs out there! Ungrateful lots! Go and start ur own coy n see how easy it is! Lazy pple!

52. this story seems fake. the managers are only doing her job. nigerian workers are very disrespectful, lazy, and have no passion. all they want is salary.

1. Shut ur dirty trap! Nigerian workers r lazy??? How dare чσu? Чσu're obviously one of the stupid, silly indians! Ode oshi! Is it indians that r hardworking and respectful and have passion? Why ddnt anyone complain about Maria Svenson? Stupid smelly indian!

53. For those of you at GLO complaining about not going for training abroad etc etc,wht dont you resign?millions of people like you,even better qualified have been unsuccessfully looking for jobs and you are there running your mouth.Leave the place and go to exxon na?ah ah! Try being unemployed for 1 month and you'll know what i'm talking about.

1. You won't understand becos it seems u are privileged. Its not only abt the salary, some company pay less but you have peace. Glo is such that they sap the peace off you and your superior is ur lord. Can do whatever he likes with you. He and he alone have a say over you. If he does not like you, nothing you do will ever count. He And he alone appraises you and you can never object his decision or action.
      It's very bad my dear. I want to believe you are a management staff or you know a top person in glo. Pls help us call the management's attention to these. All that has being said is true. Pls believe me.

54. Don't know what to believe anymore, but that employees should sign bonds to get additional expertise or training shouldn't be what any sane mind would dwell on for this long. It is a standard procedure in any top class organization that protects its IPs jealously. U can't resign from coca cola and take up an appointment immediately with 7up! The claim that Staff are coerced to sign bond is very unbelievable too considering d fact that the staff in question can read and write! so why sign what is not favorable? or were they blind folded? On the issue of abuse, that is not so cool if true.

1. Did u not read the part where it is said that the employees were not given the chance to go thru the context first before asking dem to sign. Abi you are having great difficulties in reading and comprehending things???

55. The other day it was GTBank, today its Globacom! A commentator mentioned Zenith Bank... Hmmmm! Not justifying anything here, n not to sound funny, I work too and Nigerian worker really love their employers to be grateful to them for working! Do ur Fucking job and go home!!! All these written about the Adenugas happen in every organization in Nigeria! All of them! If u r not happy wit ur job then go home n sleep! D lady who signed a doc n said they didn't let her read it is just daft! How can u say they didn't let u read it? Who does that?? Who? Ur so stupid! U insist!!! How can u sign any dotted line without reading first?! It's ridiculous! Also want stress that nothing comes easy in life! The Adenugas, the Zeniths, The GTBANKS, the diamond Banks etc didn't attain their positions wit smiling faces! Just work n go home!! And shut up already wit d "I want gratitude act"

1. Point of correction. This does not happen in every organisation in Nigeria. I did a 2 yr stint at Etisalat and the experience was world class compared to other orgs I had worked for in the UK.

I have heard a few stories about Glo from ex-employees and the truth is that employees are the backbone of ANY organization and if they are not happy, it'll lead to problems.

Everyone can't be lying just for the sake of pulling Glo down. Nothing is ever hidden under the sun.

B

56. I don't usually believe hearsay but i believe this story cos my boss daughter had a short working stint with Glo a while after graduation and these were exactly her reasons for leaving Glo. Today, she runs her own coy which is still growing and doing well. Nothing lasts forever. Be firm but nice to people who work for you.

57. vex make me write epistle10 July 2013 at 18:26

Some Hard Facts

1. It is stoopid to sign ANYTHING without reading its contents. If you are required to sign a document, take the few seconds necessary to read it, do NOT allow anybody intimidate you to sign what you dont understand. Your signing means your consent and you will loose in a law suit. Ignorance is not a defence in the law courts.

2. Working in a one man owned company is awful, imagine renting a property where the landlord reside. Real Hell. Just put up for a bit till you get a better place or start your own business. That suggestion up there of us destroying our sim cards will end up with even more of these staff bullied or sacked to make up the losses.

3. The number of people unemployed is extremely high, and many empolyers use that opportunity to bully and harrass their staff reminding them that they have millions others dying to take their position. I should think this is normal in any second-third world company where unemployment and corruption rate are high and the govt has no regard for its citizens. PLEASE LOOK AT CUBA, THEY TAKE CARE OF THEIR CITIZENS, SO TEY IF YOU ARE ILL, THE DOCTORS COME TO YOUR HOUSE TO TEND TO YOU. Same as some countries in the middle east NO ONE CAN FUCK WITH THEIR CITIZENS

4.Globally, the excuse given for indians,chinese, polish and russians taking over most workplaces is usually that they offer their services at a much cheaper rate. But I guess in inferiority (oyibo is better than me) complex Nigeria as usual its the opposite. I work in an establishment where indians and pakistanis work, their pay is much higher and (in dollars) they are catered for 24/7, they are snobbish/patronising to some workers (but I know who I am and do not take crap from them) plus their residence is in the high brow hotel with 24 hr security detail, the arguement given for expending such amount on them is that they are expatriates, BUT STELLA there are young Nigerians who have the training and experience to carry out the tasks these Indians do, so for the life of me I do not know what the fuck these racists singh, najeeb, patel,sanjay are doing here when you cant get away with that crap in their country.

To the poor Glo employees, the only solution I can see is either you put up and grind your teeth or organise yourselves, gather evidence of harrasment, etc in your smartphones or laptops and take them to court in a mass action suit. This is what workers did in the UK and parts of USA that made their working conditions a bit better. They did not mope around lying it is well or saying religious anectdotes, they took action. It will be a first for nig but just do it, bloggers will blog and twit abt it, media will be forced to carry it. Whether the law suit win or fails or huge settlements are made, The adenugas and their likes will be shaken a bit and be forced to change for the love of their brand.

58. All dis comment are true o!!! Presently am working in glo and am goin thru HELL d only reason y ave nt resigned is kos of the monthly contribution am doing, dts d way ave bin makinfg ends meet o I dop ESUSU!!! If not na to dey wrk like elephant and get paid like an Ant. Oh and d salary has bin increased from 40k to 60k now adupe. Ave bin telling my colleagues to let us rally or go on strike so dt our popint go hit dem, buh naaahhh everyone dey fear. God will help us o

59. People need to sued period, for spreading false statements, clearly some bitter staff is out to try and ruin reputation. the bottom line is as said in some comments, if you are unhappy and feel you can do better leave, move on, adenuga worked hard for his money, didnt get there just collecting salary, my take? if you aint happy with Glo, migrate, the company wont shut down or close, it will only get better, there is a saying in yoruba. KO SI OGBON TO LE DA, KO SI IWA TO LE WU, KO SI ONA TO LE MO, TO LE FI TAIYE LORUN OO.. simply means no matter what you do in life, you can

1. Ahhh but u are senseless oo,as in mumu of life!can't u read dat dey av 2 forefeit sumtnz b4 dey can leave?or wld u agree 2 b a work no pay?u r writing useless adage dia malu!eni ti o ba gbo ibi ti egbe e ti la o ma sa ere ku nii.meaning pple lyk u who dnt no wat u ought 2 do 2 progress n prefer licking d boot of d rich wld run till death!

60. Please if you know of any one that works for GLO, both now or in the past that was subjected to illegal employment bond, work place bullying, harassment, abuse of any form and modern slavery. Kindly refer them to email info@persecondnews.com

As the International Labour Organization, ILO in Geneva has stepped in to this matter, and help is on the way without any direct reprisal or punishment from anybody including GLO.

61. I so believe this story, someone needs to remind abimbola where she is coming from and Bella should stop bulling staffs, she should go back home to her lazy and jobless husband to insult and bully him, after all she pays his salary directly, she should stop putting her frustration on her staff but deal with it. Let me also add that we should not blame them they are so frustrated one way or the other. They are just what we call (the rich also cry) gbam!!!!!!!!

62. I so believe this story, someone needs to remind abimbola where she is coming from and Bella should stop bulling staffs, she should go back home to her lazy and jobless husband to insult and bully him, after all she pays his salary directly, she should stop putting her frustration on her staff but deal with it. Let me also add that we should not blame them they are so frustrated one way or the other. They are just what we call (the rich also cry) gbam!!!!!!!!

63. You are an idiot!

64. Globacom is a fraudulent company, I am a staff and I am not just making false comments, there are many companies not registered that operate in Globacom. No one apart from the family mebers is a staff every staff is registered under one fictitious company or the other.

65. Every1 that is reading this, i am not just confirming only this, Also The Adenuga`s daughters especially one so called Bimbo, they all take bribes and commission to give out contracts or recommend proposals to their GLO, CONOIL etc. This is very sad. rich men`s daughters will continue to have while the poor ones will continue to lack.. Her favourite resturant is chinese resturant (wungtang) around this popular street of plenty of Zenith banks asking people to pay for her food. while she negociate and deceive people all around. BIMBO ADENUGA U ARE SCAMMER!!!!

66. All these talks NO BE LIE O, Just last week i had to lend a good friend almost a million Naira to add to money he had to pay to get his reference letter after he resigned from Glo. No Payment no signature . To resign wahala, to get reference letter ijogbo. its always about money. About paying celebrities for branding na camouflage.

67. Its one thing for this to be exposed and its another for action to be taken, in all modesty maybe Dr Mike Adenuga in his own right does things to bring standard to his business but i'm sure the children only try to impress their Dad and moreso try to gather thier own personal riches while fronting to be strict.
    But atimes we need to address issues from the roots, a big question is "How many managerial courses and trainings has Bella and Bimbo the so called children been to? Therefore they can only run the bisuness like a common buying and selling style of business. So maybe they need to be retrained to understand what man management entails in a multinational standard type of company.

68. Stella, you have distinguished your self as being different from the rest. You dance where other fear to thread. This is a topic that has bothered me for ages. The treatment of Nigerians by telecommunication companies. Operators of other telecom companies might be reading this and smiling but they are all the same. They treat Nigerians as slaves and nobody is complaining.
    I did a little research on this trend and i discovered that the telecom companies, having understood Nigerians, now take advantage of our corruption infected leadership. Why our government officials, members of NASS, and other politicians turn the other way when we complain is because these telecom companies recharge their phones with sums close to N150,000 every month. They do not feel what we feel. Our complaints sound like noise to them. They also recharge the phone of most of our editors in both print and electronics media. That is why we never read or hear about these complaints. For the GLO daughters, i advise them to keep it up. It is just by accident of birth that they found themselves in that household. Instead of glorifying God, they prefer to abuse Him. Their cup will soon be full and Nigerians will hear their story.

Please follow this matter up not just with GLO, extend your searchlight to other telecom companies and expose their wicked, heartless and unprofessional practises. God will keep you safe.

69. Bunch of losers! Why not leave and go work somewhere else? Nigerians are very horrible workers with zero level of commitment and very fraudulent character! Coming here to complain about GLO, other time it is MTN and AIRTEL!

70. Frustrated?......pleassseeee

71. David, na lie go kill you.

72. Life is funny,Glo own na slavery abi?what do we call d case or DAAR communications(AIT / raypower) dat don't pay workers for as long as 12months. Imagin working without pay for 12months? Some CEO's are heartless though.. May God judge us all.

73. Shut the fuck up!!!!
    You are one of dem... Fool!!

74. What a research, with no name, no real reference...this will pass for gossip...a good one at that. There might be some facts...exxagerated ones even...by don't call this research...pls