Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian citizen,Ejiogu Ikechukwu To Die By Lethal Injection In Vietnam.

Monday, October 28, 2013

Nigerian citizen,Ejiogu Ikechukwu To Die By Lethal Injection In Vietnam.

The news that Nigerian  Ejiogu Benjamin Ikechukwu is currently on the waiting list of Vietnamese execution squad is not new. What is real news is that with recent changes in the law, he would be one of those who fall prey to the nation’s new law  silencing drug dealers  through lethal injection.

The use of  lethal injection to kill criminals only came to effect last August when the first victim was killed through the process.
 According to informed sources, more than 10  Nigerians may have been secretly silenced by  the Vietnamese government for hard drug offenses and other related offenses in the past year.

Vietnam in 2011 suspended public Execution by firing squad  as it has always relied on carrying out capital punishment to deal with all criminals flouting her drug law.
According to sources, the country had a gap of two years from 2011 during which they perfected all plans for the new law on lethal injection and during the time, made efforts to  procure chemicals for lethal injections production.
Only last August, Vietnam executed its first prisoner by the method.

In 2011.an appeal by emn-news.com to the Federal government of Nigeria to enter into negotiation with the government of Vietnam so that erring Nigerians in the country could be spared of incessant execution was never taken seriously.

The appeal followed the pending execution of one Michael Ikenna Nduanya, another Nigerian youngster who was committed to death for drug trafficking in Vietnam. Michael’s Vietnamese wife, who was an accomplice in the drug deal, was sentenced to life imprisonment.

Michael fell prey to the first group of drug pushers who was killed by lethal injection.  But briefly after his sentence was handed, the new law was put forward for deliberation and his fate was then suspended because  the law changed since  July of that year. He was sentenced in March of that year as deliberations were on-going on the use of lethal injection.
It was the contention of the government that lethal injection would be  a more  dignifying death for drug criminals than firing squad.

As news of Nduanya’s death sentence broke out in 2011,  Nigerians across the world  called on the Nigerian Federal government to make concerted effort to negotiate his life with the communist government of Vietnam.
He was then described as one of the victims of Nigerian government’s youth neglect with millions wasting away due to unemployment and lack of motivation for self-employment  due to non-provision of infrastructures.

Responding to the call for a more caring attitude by the Nigerian government towards the citizens outside the country, the Senate leader, David Mark said then that Nigerians who engage in  criminal offenses outside the country deserve to die because of their act.  His view was seen by many as an act of contempt towards the nation’s constitution as it preserved the live of Nigerians both home and abroad. Many even pointed out to the fact that power nations always protect their own especially considering the image tainting such situation might bring to the country.
culled EM-News

*sad sad sad!

86 comments:

1. Truly sad. Y can't people just do legitimates business especially when you know you aren't in your own country. If only Nigerians will learn from this...
    EKA

1. Yeepee!!! I have tried so many referral websites but they haven't been real. But this one I joined a month ago is realistic. Just earned my first monthly payout via western union..http://MonthlyJobPay.com/?id=iheoma

2. IHEOMA, go n look 4 a decent job....
      @d subject matter, why do d police people all look lik ladies????

3. Eeeeyah!
      Do people now agree with me that we Yorubas are just too cool!most of us are reasonable ☺

Has anyone else noticed that when the post is about Ibos or other tribes doing something bad,no "Tribalistic card" is played.
      SO its obvious who the tribalistic people are!

On the Dilly mottors post,no tribalistic person showed face,now I'm waiting, the two names mentioned here are peculiar to people of the said tribe,which is the "host" of the largest population of these Tribalistic maggots,yeye people...hypocrites!

As for these guys and many others that were not reported,I hope u make heaven!sorry,I know people have different levels of endurance and they turn to crime,but they should think of the end game!

Our govt is useless sha,gosh!

4. @ fearless, u obviously have a small mind cos all you salvaged from this post is about tribe. Smh 4 mediocre Ppl like u

5. Yes u yorubas are too cool nd resonable... Hw much did dt add to ur account. Mscheww ...

6. Dear anons,ure still missing the point!

Is it true or not?

Be open minded and not biased,its only a fool that will see a superior argument and not agree!

FYI,your approval of my observation is not needed!

7. @fearless u re guilty of the same tin u re complainin abt, u jst played d tribalistic card,at d same tym callin dem maggot, yeye.. Dis Yoruba/ ibo war, I wnda wen it will stp. I wnder wen we ll strt seein each odas as Nigerians, nd nt dt or ds tribe.. Even until tmrw no Tribe is superior. Its abt u nt ur tribe, if u re cool u re cool..if u re a criminal u re a criminal.its nt a tribe tin.

8. @ AnonymousOctober 28, 2013 at 7:10 PM

Kindly read with understanding,don't just read!

9. @fearless,u r fearlessly stupid obviously!tribalistic maggot

2. Diz serves him better!i hope others learn...

3. If u can't do the time don't do the crime.

1. The lethal injection fits the crime!
      Just as he who kills by the sword should die by the sword,so should he who kills' with the drugs,die by the drugs!

4. So sad! Stop pushing drugs pple! But u guys get mind. We all know that Asians has zero tolerance 4 drug trafficking, but u pple still go there n do that, knowing when u r caught no miracle will save u. Our govt r busy settling themselves by looting n u want them to go n fight 4 Nigerians abroad. See how this young men life will be wasted. Sad!

5. Aunty Stella, this kain news on a monday morning is saddening o...I will cast the blame on the people and the government o...if they are good welfare for the youths, the will never engage in such an act of peddling hard drugs..but that is not enough reason to carry drugs into those communist nations because they hate and harbor it...he should just commit his life to Christ...as He is our hope to glory...

1. The best welfare system in the world is America and Uk and yet their citizens still push drugs. In as much as the Nigerian govenment is not living up to expectation, to commit crime is a personal choice that is always prompted by greed. A lot of people in Nigeria suffer from abject poverty and cannot even afford two good meals per day and yet they didn't go into crime. Let's not blame the governent for anyone's free will and choices. I really feel sorry for him.

2. @ Dr Pinch......Well said.

6. He did kill anybody na! All he did ws deal in drugsm i dont think d crime is commensurate with d punishment

Deevee

1. Nd d drugs didn't kill anybody Abi????

2. See rubbish talk. So hard drugs don't kill abi?

3. Its obvious,you're dumb. Don't u know that ppl die from overdose of drugs.

4. It is clearing written on the Visa most especially the Malaysian Visa but they wouldn't listen.

Sad.

7. This is Said,the price he's paying is toohuge for that crime, I'm Sad

8. u went to carry drugs in a place like vietnam, as far as im concerned u wanted to die. nigerians dont learn. things are hard everywhere, not only in nigeria.im in d uk, looking for a job everyday, does not mean i will resort to carrying drugs because i just know it is outright stupid. its just so sad that wen it comes to drug peddling and kidnapping, our igbo men are at d forefront.. really really sad!

1. Stupid comment and ur yoruba tribe don't carry drug here in london and commit credit card scam. U guys will live the real issue and divert to tribal card. Every Nigeria tribe got issues with crime so what the d f..k re u talking abt? So the kidnapping that is committed in lagos by ur bros re committed by ibos right? Nonsense lousy people.

9. Well, that is what happen's when you go to another man's country and break their laws, i don't feel sorry for this people at all.

1. Pls soften ur heart,its not their fault.its get rich or try dying syndrome.some people believe wots the point of living without money.the govt cantt help anybody but them selves n pockets.I feel sad.

10. Drug pushing is one of the most terrible crimes one can commit. If one looks at the effect of drugs on the users, you'll know that death is an appropriate penalty for anyone involved in it. It destroys families, renders the users useless to themselves and their families and eventually kills them.

I don't feel sorry for these men. They were simply being greedy and wanted a short cut to becoming rich. There are more dignified, though difficult ways of making money and that is the path people should tow.

1. Thank u jare. And dey will be forming rich man when dey come bak home. Nonsense! Drugs? 4 wat na? Atleast others will learn

11. What is making you sad SDK? Because it happened in another country? If he was caught dealing drugs in 9ja and sentenced appropriately would you be sad? Stop feeling sad for criminals of Nigerian decent because they feel justified with your sympathy. The Edo State government executed a man a few months ago. His crime? Entered into the home of a business women, robbed her, raped her, then inserted a bottle deep into her virgina, killing her. You expect me to feel sorry for such a bastard? Please don't feel sorry for Nigerians who never learn from the mistakes of others and go out there becoming really stupid. The more we condemn this act, the more sensible they'll be.

12. Anonymous 8:57am , Yes he may not have killed anyboby with his physical hands but those drugs have destroyed a lot of good life and even killed some because these drugs were made available on the streets by people like him.

I'm not condemning him. I pray he doesn't get to die that way, hope the Govt can do something for him soon.

1. My question is this....u accuse drug peddlers, drug kills and all dat...dem force person to use drugs? If parents don't give solid moral training to their children and youths learn to enforce self discipline and will power over such vices den drug peddlers go close shop. Let's be objective here and quit de self judgement os de drug peddlers. For the convicted guy, my prayer is that you find peace with God and repent before de injection does its job...

2. My question is this....u accuse drug peddlers, drug kills and all dat...dem force person to use drugs? If parents don't give solid moral training to their children and youths learn to enforce self discipline and will power over such vices den drug peddlers go close shop. Let's be objective here and quit de self judgement os de drug peddlers. For the convicted guy, my prayer is that you find peace with God and repent before de injection does its job...

3. My question is this....u accuse drug peddlers, drug kills and all dat...dem force person to use drugs? If parents don't give solid moral training to their children and youths learn to enforce self discipline and will power over such vices den drug peddlers go close shop. Let's be objective here and quit de self judgement os de drug peddlers. For the convicted guy, my prayer is that you find peace with God and repent before de injection does its job...

13. Stella my dear do you know that selling of pure water.gives a lot of money.? But people will not want to try this weeeeell.if one fails to plan definitely he/she is planning to fail. NIGERIANS LET'S WISEN UP

14. Please people I beg of you,Irrespective of the crime no one has the right to say he deserves to die. What he did was wrong I agree but it is not our place to say he deserves to die. Politicians steal money every day, roads are bad people get into accidents and die, the aviation industry is shit,planes crash due to people looking the other way and taking envelops under the table.Are these people any better than him? Ibori stole billions and I mean billions that could have been used to send people to school, provide health care. People die everyday from poor medical care can u say Ibori deserves to die? A friend of mine was in kuje prison over the weekend and met a man who has been there for over 2years awaiting trial because he stole a goat..Yes a goat. Prisons are there to reform people. Nigerian Government is blind,Nigerians are blind. No one is more righteous.We need to be purged in our hearts.

1. Thanks for this comment, I pity people who say they deserve to die. If it was there sibling or child would they not plead for mercy.

2. I swear I am also deeply saddened for them. Yes they did wrong, but looking at him makes me think....if Jesus were here present, this is the time He would have interjected and perhaps pleaded Mercy for them. He would have mediated for pardon...

However, in the days of Jesus, a lot died by the sword. Matter of fact the killings that took place, as recorded in the bible, was always merciless. Instant judgment, no sentiments..pronto pronto. Which was the same judgment that nailed Jesus to the cross .

Baba Suwe and his colleagues should thank their stars that the corruption in their country (Nigeria) is why they walk free today. See this one now, who will he bribe??

But the problem I have with EVERY drug dealer, Nigerian, American, Briton..etc...is that they don't know when to STOP. They never do...and more amazing is that the ones that choose to stop often die soon after. People, HARD DRUG is a spirit itself, just like money. Its is very tempting and its the vice that comes btw friends, relations, countries, etc. People who deal in drugs are never compassionate. They are always hardened. Otherwise why would any sane person swallow drugs to transport it when they are aware of the risks, which can take their own lives should anything go wrong?

For these ones I plead mercy from God. And I hope that a miracle will prevent them from this pattern of execution so soon.

3. Na wa o! When anything happens in dis country its always d govt we blame. Evryday I see my country pple workin nd sweatin I pray 4 dem nd wish dem well but som pple just want quick shapshap illegal money nd u think d govt is at fault. Are dere no nigerians in d same country struglin to make ends meet legally? Pls let us b realistic nd take responsibility of our actions faaaaaaaa

15. This comment has been removed by the author.

16. dis is realy sad.i dnt blame d young guy@all.y wnt people go in2 crime and all wen all our govt knw is 2 embezzle.i knw NIGERIA will b a beta place wen we av d right people in govt..m a patriotic Nigeria n i so much blieve in My country.i dnt bliev i av 2 travel 2 a foreign land2 make a living.i knw 1 day,mayb someday Nigeria will b a country we all dream of.2 d young guy i'll say RIP in advance

1. Why do u write like this? What the hell is wrong with u youngsters for Pete's sake??? I am tired of seeing this rubbish construction of English Language in the name of being "hype socially"

Go back to nursery school child and learn basic sentence construction and proper writing

2. na wa for ur pic. r u advertising? u wont get the right man.this way

3. Jossy.please note that it is a masters degree not "master".You need to edit your profile and also write like someone who is well educated all the time

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. Anon 2:06 I guess ur new here.u shld knw I av a policy of nt replyin faceless p'ple .if u realy wnt my answer get ursef a beauriful face n then holla back.

17. I dont feel sorry for them but for their family and friends who will miss them. I always tell them that everybodys luck is never the same so stay away from drugs as there is no pardon for the crime when you are caught.

18. Well this serves as a lesson to others in dz same kinda business. A word is enough for d wise

19. Don't they ever learn? Mtchew.

20. get rich or die trying..... nwanne d dice is cast. the hustle continues. all of u condeming him, if 4 say him succeed carry that drug pass,come buy the last benz girls go admire him pass jesus self, guys go want to be like am. guys its nt easy. i finished serving since 2011 till now no job, i'm on my masters program now. make them create more jobs. who no go, no go know.

1. U finished serving since 2011, and u are still waiting for job in Nigeria, dude get something doing along your masters so you can produce jobs for people, i am a final year student of a university and i am already training people to be proffessional makeup artists and event planners, i also design clothes too including the ones i wear. Nigeria is going to get better, it ll start with us

2. And for your information, not all babes fall for guys who earn their living illegally, so get that into your head

21. I dont understand why the federal govt should intervene. these guys dont learn and they wont stop, he needs to be hung drawn and quartered for the heinous crime. it is simple, dont peddle drugs in our territory, if you do, you die. it is clear and outhere in black and white.

22. They know the consequences of their actions na.who does know that death awaits anyone who is caught doing drugs in Asian countries? He should go and enjoy his millions on the other side. Hissssss

23. @ fearless u jst spoke my mind, if it was to be a yoruba man u will see hw they will be flexing their muscles,bt I don't blame them, Yoruba pple have gone far above them, dats Y they are pained, as long as u keep hating the pple ahead of u, u will never be progress in life.
    And its not as if they even love themselves o. Awon alainilari Jaguda baba ole gbogbo . SDK If u like don't post my comment

24. @Fearless, you trying to start something? No one mentioned anything. If I were you, I'd just think it and let it go. Mentioning it and then insulting them (thereby stooping to the level of a tribalist makes you a...yep, you got it!)

As for the post, I have nothing to say but may God have mercy. The whole thing ma don tire me. I blame no one. Young men and women, please stop chasing wealth that can lead to your death. Heck, everything is a risk but this path is just nonsensical. Unfortunately, we have too many that made it through and they are living the life in Naija....employing these young boys to try out their luck. So sad.

1. I noticed it on a lot of posts before commenting okay!

And enough with the sanctimonious attitude,I'm not and I don't intend to start anything,just stating the obvious!

I believe u probably don't take your time to form your own opinion of something,that's why you think my opinion will start something!
      ​​​​​​​​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ÂºLmaoº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​°Âº‎​=))

Sorry to disappoint you dear,I read stories and observe things before talking,I don't just follow the crowd,

I advise you learn that too!

25. anywhere u r, respect the laws. rip ikechukwu. people should be law abiding citizens regardless of where u r or where u come from. shikena.

26. @AnonymousOctober 28, 2013 at 12:29 PM

God bless you! That is just the truth you just spoke here!

27. Stella keep blocking d comments dat didn't favor d igbo peeps ok!, at least u read them,

28. He did not comite a crime by doing drug,and 4or d racord drug dont kill,drug abuse kill,it just like food if u abuse food u bc obase leading to heart problem.and he didn't force any body to take d drug he is just a bussines man ~x connet. prodly drug pusher~

1. Who are u? U need to be electrocuted for this comment. Bad child.

29. I just hope he's not Ikechuckwu Ejiogu Prof Ejiogu's son. Prof was a DG of National orientation agency n lecturer @ d faculty of Edu, University of Lagos.

30. Igbotic business men and women. Igbotic business sense. Igbo people abeg call village meeting. thousands of your young men are awaiting death sentence in Asia. Too bad and sad.

31. No wonder Vietnam has refuse issuing visas to Nigerians-
    Please drug traffickers have mercy let people who have worked hard for their money enjoy by travelling to beautiful ountries.
    Abeg o!
    i am itching to see Halong bay, Hoi An, Saigon, Hanoi et al.
    Making the Nigerian passport a curse is not funny!
    Na wa o!

32. Singing....;Jerusalem on high
    my home and city is..............................Father pls forgv his spirit and accept him.
    Story that touches

33. You guys all attacking fearless are stupid. Is he or she lying? if this post were about a yoruba man commiting crime and dying, mostly igbos would come on here condemning the WHOLE tribe for soiling naijas name and not feeling sorry for the man that is being killed or even commenting on the fact that a NIGERIAN did wrong. It would have been about the WHOLE yoruba tribe. Anyways yourbas are too accomodating and nice i swear cos i dont know why they keep tolerating the ibosAnnoying tribe oshi....

1. Gbam! Chop kiss 4 dis comment *mmmuuuuaaahhhh! A dara fun e

2. When will yoruba people grow up ..........wit everything u forefathers stole to make Una better and less bitter still. Una no get sense!since u claim u r accommodating and all that y still bother wat ibos think abt u.....itz because u all know u r no good....cowards!

34. Pls Nigeria fight for ur people. When it's an American their whole nation fights for their life. Are we so worthless or what??? I pray for his life to be spared.

1. Fight 4 gini? Abegi......are they babies? Don't dey know d consequence of their actions? Since our govt is nt capable again oyinbo pple will continue to help us punish d offenders naa. Don't do or sell drug na simple english!

35. these people didn't create the punitive punishment form drug smuggling out of hatred for Nigeria or foreigners,i have not been to that region before but anyone who has been there including a BBC documentary showing children as young as 11yrs old already hooked on drugs many with brain damages will realise the impact.

drugs have destroyed a whole generation and starting on the next generation in the vietnam,indonesia,malaysia e.t.c destroying hundreds of thousands.

anyone familiar with chicago drug situation of the 1980s and 1990s knows the destruction drug smuggling caused in the ghettos and black community till today more than 20years they are still reeling from it.drugs doesn't only destroy people it destroys a whole community

.anyone who justifies drug smuggling with the situation in Nigeria should ask themselves if death by firing squad or lethal injection is a better alternative.

36. Vietnam hate igbo people too, just like Fashola... why? maybe because Igbos have the mansion and businesses in Vietnam. God dey sha

1. Whaaaaaaat! Upon all d issue wey dey ground na mansion and business u sabi talk? So drug trafficking is a legitimate business abi? Well I am nt too surprised

2. Madam catherine kleist, u need to use ur drugs, sorry ehn and pls get well soon, tribalist oshi

37. Fearless's ex fan28 October 2013 at 22:45

Fearless for a regular here I'm thoroughly disappointed by your comment, superior argument? Haba! How is calling folks from a certain tribe "maggots" superior? Why call them "fools" too? For someone who looks forward to reading intelligent comments from you most times, all I've got to say is "Walahi" you fall hand! I'm still shuddering at the thought that someone that sounds as smart as you do would deal the "tribal card" *shudder*

1. That clearly shows hw low yorubas reason .....even d very intelligent ones.......

38. @ Catherine, you are obviously not a "Catherine Kleist"

39. Drug dealing is bad, especially going to country that do not tolerate drug. I am sure those country that do not tolerate such act have high margin if drug dealing materialize. The people of Vietnamese more likely love drug use. On the other side, most of these guys caught in the act were sent by someone else or whatever might be the case. I ask the government of Vietnamese to rather ship them back to Nigeria and if they happen to come back to do the same business. They can do whatever they want from them for not learning the first time. I ask the Gov of Vietnamese to easy up on first offenders. Lastly, Would like to use this opportunity to ask the Nigerian especially the Ibos to take easy on their unhealthy way of looking for this green paper. Lets educate our people that there are many other way to make money legit money. I am Ibo and understand what those victim are thinking or what might have pushed them to such act. Igbu ozu is old news guys. Do it in healthy way. Please Gov of Vietnamese please have mercy and ship them back to Nigeria instead of killing them. Please.

40. To all of you who claim that these men have committed an act equivalent to murder, I have one question. If these men are selling a dangerous product and deserve to die for it, what of the people who sell cigarettes, alcohol, and guns? Surely you ought to call for all their deaths, lest you should be seen as hypocrites.