Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors And Their Role In Child Birth

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Doctors And Their Role In Child Birth

Why do some Doctors wait until a woman has used up all her energy trying to push out the baby before they recommend CS?....by then it is too late!

Good Morning Madam Stella, how is family?

SDK, Am typing this mails in tears because am sad and scared at the same time for me, mothers, sisters, children, parents that have lost their loved Female members during child birth ......i fear for all the women in Nigeria.

Stella, within 2 weeks, Someone close to me lost two ambitious, hardworking,God fearing, wonderful, nice women through IVF  and CHILD BIRTH all through the negligence of our so called medical skilled personal (DOCTORS).

Please when will Nigeria Women stop dying through child birth?
 when you as a medical Doctor no that a woman cant give birth naturally, why allow them go through the stress and excruciating pain of child labor for days before recommending Operation....WHY ??

Am pained and sad, how these women's lives are being wasted, how children are made motherless, husbands made wifeless and oh the parents (that phone call, that painful message),siblings and friends, I can't stop crying.

The most painful aspect of the whole situation is that, the doctors and nurses are not being questioned, penalized or prosecuted.

I think when doctors and especially those wicked and heartless nurses start going to jail for negligence then they will sit tight and start being more observant. 

For example, I read about a hospital where almost the whole medical staff in the hospital  (can't remember the country) are being sued because they lost two women to childbirth in two years under the same circumstances and I thought to myself, if this were to happen in Nigeria, almost all our medical staff will be in jail. 

98 comments:

1. The likes of dr okechukwu...a patient will be writhing in pain in d hospital n he'l be here commenting on a sex post

1. lmao...Dr Oke please come oooo

2. bitchplis pls are you from ilaje??????

3. Hahaha, you just cracked me up with your comment. Is the guy a medical doctor for real or just blog name?

About the post, my research have shown that many women see CS as a taboo and shameful experience so may not agree initially when the medics suggest it.
      Personally, I don't believe in the Nigerian medical system. I wount even trust them to treat a minor wound effectively not to mention severe medical conditions. Most Nigerian doctors who studied in Nigerian medical schools are half baked. Can't trust anyone who studied in a Nigerian medical school to treat me.... Too many scary stories of people's experiences. IMHO though....

4. Mydear sometimes it is the women oh and their mum,insisting that their daughter wld never give birth through c.s. Some of them come 2the hospital with alphas,and pastors praying and shouting that they must give birth through normal delivery most nigerians feel,wen a woman gives birt through c.s na witch do am.a lady was trying to give birth she was advice that an operation, shld be carried out befor u know tha family came tuk her away to a local woman dat delivers babies she deliverd fine but dead babies. Two dead boys(twins) plz nigerians should know that c/s is not a taboo

5. While I may be inclined to defend my noble profession, I cannot speak for Doctors as I am not NMA.

Delivery is usually handled by midwives under the supervision of an OBGYN except where there are complications such as breach and a few other issues that requires surgical intervention. The OBGYN should monitor the progress of labour and decide when to call in the surgeon. In very rare cases, the doctor goes straight for a CS because the baby or mother may not survive a natural birth.
      Some women and their family come into labor room with a "Church" mentality that they must give birth naturally and in many cases, the hospital has no resident surgeon which makes it hard to get one when there is need. In some cases in Nigeria the GP or family medicine doctor or OBGYN attempts the CS.

SURGERY IS DONE BY TRAINED SURGEONS.

We need to leave Church for pastor and hospital for Doctors. God heals but we care. Let us do the caring while God heals.

My sincerest condolences to the bereaved.

Ps. Most people have negative feelings about CS. And it is expensive. Medicine is generally expensive but when people want cheap stuff, you get quacks.

6. @ Pola , May God bless u o....Nigerians are so daft nd too religious....When doctor says CS they start speaking nd tongues nd binding , pls don't get me wrong here I'm a christian but let's also knw dat God gave dis doctors knowledge to save lives.

7. God bless u Dr.oke, very ignorant tins....I reali don't care how d baby comes out o provided baby nd mother re in gud health abi who do CS no go enter heaven?

8. Anon 10:27 ilaje bawo?...am not o

9. Stella please stop giving doctors and nurses bad name on for you to get comments.In the cause of practice, there are some thing that can happen esp. if things go wrong and you know you did your job perfectly well ,that you can't explain how it happened. NO DOCTOR OR NURSE WOULD WANT TO WATCH HIS OR HER PATIENT OR CLIENT DIE. If a capenter or mechanic can give you medical attention , please kindly go to them.Don't go to the hospital to disturb doctors and nurses , because no matter what they do for you,you can never be pleased.

10. Bitchplis......doctors do have a life you know.and no sane doctor is on blogs while he is working on a patient. The fact that someone is a doctor doesn't mean he is working 24hrs straight neither does it mean he is always on call.a doctor still has free times to use as he or she pleases

11. And to you @bitchplis, sex during pregnancy is very important. Infact in the final stages, it helps.

Sex is a covenant activity. Read and you will learn.

For CS, I do not want to be seen to be advocating rampant use. In a recent medical seminar I attended in San Antonio, we were informed of a research which showed that there are some essential bacteria in the birth canal which children born via CS miss which leads to them developing allergies.

There is still a lot science doesn't know so lets not discount some knowledge. But please if the labor is protracted and the mother and/or child becomes at risk , operate.

And poster please elaborate on how someone died doing IVF.

12. @Kpakpando u dont make sense what a stupid excuse.@dimples all us haa work but when doctor comment on every issue then there's more to it. Either he is nurse or fake doctor. Doctor okechukwu face your work

13. Dr Okechukwu, you've said it all, nothing else to add. Poster, before writing to blogs and blaming doctors and nurses, find out what really happened. May their souls RIP.

14. I'm no doctor but most friends and family I know are deeply and ignorantly rooted in the advice of pastors and church clinics. Pastor screams, you will deliver like Hebrew women and you scream amen! It's good but in the labour room some things get out of hand, when Dr recommends CS, the woman insists on a pastor. All because the pastor prophesied that she will deliver like Hebrew women. Just cos your name is Ruth abi Hannah doesn't mean Ur Hebrew. I'm a solid xtian but I'm "terribly" realistic. A woman was in labour for about 18hrs and still no birth, the next thing they did was to take her to that Church at Ijesha b/stop gaan gaan and they started praying. Yet the pikin no drop. What ignorance! After about. An additional 6hrs they took her to the hospital, that woman suffered, I'm like they could have just shot her also. My 5dollars!

15. I have seen a case where the nurses on duty told a woman in labour not to push because doctor was not on duty/around nd my foolish sister inlaw obey and when in pain and did not push before the doctor came the baby as already drank birth water in d womb Cus she was almost out before she was instructed not to push.

16. Anon 2.08 you are so stupid. Identify your hopeless self . It is your type that go to chemists for drugs and when you want to die to rush to hospital looking for doctors and nurses to blame. EWU ANONIMOUS FOOL. Stella post this comment.

17. Anofia kpakpando so u have a name? U are ignorant like u just typed in that name. Whats ur difference between anyone with aanon name create email on ur stupid name and self u even answer sunshine so where is ur local name from? Foolish breed. Rather than see the wrongs of doctors u re here talking trash about stella post on doctors. If u want us to bring it on be ready. Zombi

2. C/S NOT A SHAME!15 March 2014 at 09:44

Good question! Also when will Nigerian women learn that CS is not a death sentence! Yes stella, while I agree that some medical practitioners could be unprofessional and go wrong, some patients aren't helping matters too.

Imagine a woman who perceives CS as shameful as opposed to normal delivery. Years back, I lost a distant aunt at child birth cos she believed her 'God would do it for her' and refused CS even when the baby was TOO BIG!(And her hubby wasn't close) Our fore mothers did work that were more exercise-like, but modern woman with little exercise wants to push to avoid being called less-woman.

I equally read a story of a woman who refused blood transfusion cos of her religious inclination, some of her family rejected it too and she finally died!
    Seek a second opinion if you want before EDD, if CS is the answer, so be it.
    *RIP to the dead!

1. My dear u are so right....some women will be like cs is not my portion even when d doctor makes it clear dat its d only option for them may be due to their condition...some pregnant women can b stubborn Stella...most tyms its not d fault of d doctors...cs is not a bad thing, may God help us all and rip to d ones dat died

2. My aunty travelled here to have her baby, I had to follow her cause her husband couldn't make it. She was in labour for so long and kept telling the doctor she didn't want CS.

I called her husband in naija come and see how they were all rejecting CS in Jesus name. Trust doctors here they didn't waste time in performing the CS against her wish cause they had to put the baby's life and. Hers first before they listened to her argument.

I think we should blame the silly pple who keep asking what sort of delivery you had instead of congratulating you and moving forward.

Nosy naijas be like oh was it natural or CS? Are you doing exclusive ot breastfeedin? Abeg mind you biz. I've always said mothers will always be mothers. I've never seen a situation where they categorize good mothers based on what type of delivery they had so doesn't matter if it was natural or cs.

My friend chose to have her 2 kids by elective CS, she said she 00ouldnt be bothered with going thru all the pain, she chose the date to have her babies and didn't feel any pain. One of our other friends criticised her and asked eeyah so you didn't feel the joy of pushing your kids into the world.nigerians need to start minding their biz.

Sorry I'm ranting but I'm tired of pple asking me if. I'm beaby is exclusively fed or bottle fed. Abeg breastfeeding doesn't make me a better mom

3. My aunty travelled here to have her baby, I had to follow her cause her husband couldn't make it. She was in labour for so long and kept telling the doctor she didn't want CS.

I called her husband in naija come and see how they were all rejecting CS in Jesus name. Trust doctors here they didn't waste time in performing the CS against her wish cause they had to put the baby's life and. Hers first before they listened to her argument.

I think we should blame the silly pple who keep asking what sort of delivery you had instead of congratulating you and moving forward.

Nosy naijas be like oh was it natural or CS? Are you doing exclusive ot breastfeedin? Abeg mind you biz. I've always said mothers will always be mothers. I've never seen a situation where they categorize good mothers based on what type of delivery they had so doesn't matter if it was natural or cs.

My friend chose to have her 2 kids by elective CS, she said she 00ouldnt be bothered with going thru all the pain, she chose the date to have her babies and didn't feel any pain. One of our other friends criticised her and asked eeyah so you didn't feel the joy of pushing your kids into the world.nigerians need to start minding their biz.

Sorry I'm ranting but I'm tired of pple asking me if. I'm beaby is exclusively fed or bottle fed. Abeg breastfeeding doesn't make me a better mom

4. You are so right. Most times it's not the doctors fault.
      I marvel when people look at you like you are crazy if you say you are opting for CS. Some even cast and bind it, rejecting CS for you in Jesus name even when they have been told the woman can't push.
      My friend nearly died during child birth 2 yrs ago because her hubby refused she should have a CS even when it was clear the baby was too big for her to push out. She was in labour for 2 days. The man was busy praying, saying that God forbid, that his wife must deliver the natural way,that CS is a taboo, bla bla bla (and he is educated o) He even called his pastor and all the prayer warriors in his church to assemble at the hospital and pray for his wife.
      I know with God, nothing is immposible but at the same time we shouldn't tempt God.
      We had to start calling my friend's relatives to let them know they are about to lose their daughter and sister. The man had to be threatened before he finally agreed.
      The baby weighed 6kg at birth. Which woman can push out such baby? First pregnancy for that matter.
      I tire for some people's mentality.

5. I pray I av twins. And once an USS detects dt, I'm so going for an elective CS.
      I can't risk having a baby with a low APGAR score.
      That's why u see some twins, one will be very brilliant while the other will be a dunce.
      And itz all due to poor exposure, seriously our women need to be more exposed, some women don't even register for antenatal in hospitals anymore bekz dy believe once u register in a hospital u definitely will av a CS.
      A CS is not a curse, infact I see it as a blessing in disguise. U go in and dn d baby is out, like nothing happened. And the mortality associated with CS is very very minimal (dtz if done in centres with trained doctors).

6. Well said.

CS is not a crime and permit me to say that your VJ stays intact.

Brand New.

7. @ Genny, what was your friend eating that her baby weighed 6kg at birth. Thank god for cs

8. @Gennybaby Are you serious? What happened to the woman's autonomy? Was she incapacitated that she could not make decisions for herself? If that was the case then she was really lucky that her husband made the right decision in the end.
      If she was alive, well and of good mental judgement and was allowing her husband to dictate life/death decisions for her, then she is truly stupid. People need to take their own health into their own hands. Nobody is going to die with you. We can only pray for you.

9. @LuliGrace, it's not always what you eat that makes baby big. Some are genetic. Some families are known for having big babies.
      @Sam, true talk. We all will die alone. Thank God all went well for her finally. They have all learnt the hard way.

3. I weep for my country Nigeria. pregnant women are dying every day out of Neglect and the government don't care because their wifes and family members travel out to have their baby.

Stella the cost of child birth is another thing. I heard some hospitals charge more when you have a baby boy and CS cost a lot too.

1. So the cost of having a baby is different from the cost of having a baby girl! Na wah o! Naija idiegwu!

2. Yes I paid 350k when I delivered my baby thru cs in abuja..

3. I paid 200k n 300k for cs in 2004 n 2006 in a private hospital. I can imagine how much it will be now. Govt not helping, govt hospitals are not well equipped, not well staffed n d few staff not motivated yet d hospitals are always overcrowded

4. Abujas own is really expencive, take nisa premeir for example...I know how much we paid
      Its a really good hospital though, ild say totally worth it

5. Had my baby 2weeks ago in NISA though expensive but it was worth it. I had a normal delivery but if it were necessary that I did CS I wouldn't opt out. My life and d baby's r very important.
      Soso

4. That's naija doctors for you....even if you want to have your baby through Cs,they won't listein to you...they will force you to have your baby normally....thank God am done with child bearing....can't deal mehn...

1. Please stop making stupid comments there's no doctor that will choose a vagina delivery over c/s especially because there's financial gain associated with a c/s plus it also saves the doctors time,elective c/s has always been a choice and in respect to the original poster we don't have all the facts,sometimes a previously uncomplicated vagina delivery can go terribly wrong as any trained medic can testify,most Nigerians are scared of surgeries especially because of the anaesthetic risks involved,while some simply want to give birth like Hebrew women...Each patient is treated as an individual find out the details before you pass judgment

2. Linda kindly stop making comments that lack facts. There is no place a doctor would force you to opt for a particular method of delivery they can counsel you to opt for cs if the need arises.in some private hospitals though it's wrong they would even want you to have a c section because you pay more

3. Both of you shut it!I had my baby in DEC and yes in naija.told my doc I want cs cos my last scan showed my babies was weighing 4.3kg and I told him I won't be able to push out the baby.he advice against it and said as a Christian he is disappointed in me and started preaching about faith et al.He said he even wants to help me save money.I disturbed him,cried over it before he now called in a senior surgeon who looked at my scan result and my medical file and booked me for a cs the next day!so don't be quick to shush someone cos the person May be writing out of experience.

4. What u hv just said is a lie....there is no doctor dt will suggest dt

5. Anon 1:13,you had to lie to buttress your point.. NO DOCTOR would start preaching for you that you shouldn't do cs when he can see your scab result.

6. Linda Eze! U can yarn dust jare. Small time u'll say ur husband's mouth can smell for Africa. Mscheeew! Aproko housewife. Btw smtimes ur comments make me laff and by laff I mean, it makes me laugh at ur stupidity!
      One luv!

5. Govt hospitals are the ones fond of this rubbish,they should be cautioned criously and address this myopic mentality that CS. Is for the weak and a sort of bad last resort,meanwhile in developed countries women determine their child's birth date by just going in for a CS.
    My colleague almost lost her son cos of this!she had to shout,cry,threaten them before they could take her to the theatre.imagine fa?this rubbish has to stop abeg

1. Well, in my case I laboured from 12; 30am to 11am the next day. I had screamed till all the people in the hospital came to see wat manner of woman I was.On the long run my strength and voice were gone.I gathered every thing in me to plead the DR for a CS.And in two hours, I was out with my baby. No sitting on hot water, no pressing of tummy with hot water. It's been three weeks now and I'm hale and hearty, going abt normal biz.To me I think CS is better just that it's damn expensive.

6. Is it medicine dt itz been practised in Nigeria?.
    Most of our teaching hospitals are now like primary health care centres.
    How can a whole teaching Hospital OAUTHC not av light for more than a week, even theater sessions had to postponed bekz of light factor.

Itz really frustrating, no fulfilment in d job anymore.
    Once I get d slightest opportunity na to jand, jst dz husband factor now.

1. My sentiments exactly BD! Medical schools, teaching hospitals, medical lecturers in Nigeria? Most are half baked!
      As per husband things in jand, my dear doesn't matter where you are, it's God that gives husband. If it's by location, there wount be any single matured sister in naija. Come jand if you get the opportunity jor. With the right education, legal documents that permits you to work, nd right certification, you will get a corporate job. All the best....

7. So sad but most times some of this medical staff behave so mechanical in doing their job. Na God go save us for this country.

8. Poster let me say this,I am no doctor but sometimes,doctors are not to be blamed. Infact,doctors like performing CS because they make more money thru that means buy Nigerian women don't like CS because the feel its not the normal way to give birth.

The day I gave birth,when the doctor came into my room to check on me and the babies,he told me there is a woman who has been in labour dot over 9hrs and they have been asking she gives birth thru operation but she has refused. The called the husband to come and sign and he left the hospital without signing.. The woman was in serious pains,she was only 4cm dilated since 9hrs and she refused to be operated. Doctors can't operate her until there is a consent from one party and none of them where willing to. They have been begging her for 4hrs and yet she refused. I went to her room and tried talking to her cos she was just opposite my room and she still said no. The doctor came in and checked the hrt beat of the baby and it was dropping.they told her she is going to loose the baby if she doesn't do something fast. Her bp was so high and if nothing was done,she could die too. It was at that point she consented and they carried out the operation. If she hadn't consented,the doctors where ready to write down on a paper that if she dies,its no doctors fault buy gets cos she didn't consent to operation

so don't say doctors neglect,they don't,if you don't consent to operation and sign the papers,they wouldn't do anything . Most Nigerian don't even want to hear the word operation,so before they convince them to consent,its already to late. I know of a Jehovah witness woman that died because she refused to sign saying its het husband that would sign and the man said no,that they don't believe in operation in there church,that she would have a normal delivery. After so much pain,she died,is that the doctors fault?

Some people don't even die as a result of operation or whatever,some people after giving birth,there bp rise and they die. Now doctors come and monitor bp after delivery but what if between the time they came and when next they are to come something goes wrong?

Women should be more than prayerful during pregnancy is all I keep saying. Pray hard. Meet pastors to also put you in there prayer. Whether we like it or not,there are evil forces,even the bible say we wrestle not against flesh and blood but against principalities and powers,so for those who don't believe in all these things,try googling the would JUJU and you would see what it brings out.

1. Thanks for this intelligent reply

2. 1000 likes for dis comment...some women are just too stubborn even when d doc tells them dat their life is at stake if they dnt go 4 cs...there is nothing wrong with cs...

3. I'm nt a doctor either but abt bp rising after child birth no be juju...it is Nigerian medical system. That's ehy urine are usually monitored while pregnant to be sure there is no protein in it. So checking bp alone will nt do the magic. Someone who is going to have bp issues during birth would have shown d symptoms if all checkups are done properly.

4. I didn't say bp rising is caused by juju,I just meant people need to pray cos you don't know of the witches in the village are at work at that moment.. And yes,some people don't show any signs of bp rising during pregnancy and then after giving birth,there bp rises..

5. @Qutie,true talk. U ve said it all.

6. I agree with all u said except d Jehovah witness part. We don't have any problem with surgery of any kind as long as its bloodless. Meaning we don't take blood. I had my baby thru CS and dere are countless witnesses dat have had same.

9. Thanks for bringing up this issue. It's a not-so-funny issue at all. Dare to ask for an epidural and the nurses will reprimand you for not wanting to birth naturally without being concerned on your pain threshold level. We need many reforms in the medical sector beginning with accountability for lives. It is not enough to tell me my loved one didn't make it,i want to know why they didn't in detail, could it have been averted, were all possible remedies sought? Also patients should be enlightened on all possible routes pertaining to their issue. I have heard of overly religious pregnant women chanting 'I will deliver like the Hebrew women' when the solution is CS. Another one is how Cancer patients are neglected and written off as dead even before the tumor gets to the invasive stage. The attention of those in authorities should be drawn to it so it doesn't end up ALL TALK and NO ACTION

1. Thank you, I've heard the chant I'll deliver like an hebrew woman. Over and over again. A lady pastor once told me she has simply concluded that the bible doesn't mean that the hebrew women didn't experience pain, it illustartes that they had their babies beofre the midwives arrived.

2. Exactly, d hebrew women went through pains as well.

3. Only in Nigeria will a nurse reprimand patients.

Those nurses are totally shaming, smearing, and destroying the hardwork of Florence Nightingale ( Nursing Pioneer) who was so compassionate, loving, comforting and tolerant of all patients.

Nursing professions are not for thugs and bullies in disguise.

Sad.

4. A lot of people misinterpret the 'delivering like hebrew women' verse. from my understanding of ex 1, 17, the midwives that were ordered by pharaoh to kill baby boys of hebrew women LIED. They only told d king dat those women delivered before their arrival because they didn't want to kill d baby boys like d king ordered. A lot of people dat quote this bible verse need to read and understand the preceding verses

10. stella dats veri bad..bt sumtyms sum womenfolk are responsible 4 der problems..i kno of a woman who died sumtym ago during childbirth b'cus her pastor told her dat she wil deliver 2ru IVF while d doctor advised her 2 go wit CS cus she lack d strength needed..bt she went wit d pastor's fake claims n durin d childbirth she died. so sumtyms is nt always d doctors fault.

1. Please educate me on how a woman can die through IVF,I'm totally lost!

2. anon 10:09am u clearly dont know the meaning of IVF

11. Its a painful situation and it really hit me as u mentioned IVF. Let me add here that women should pls go to @ least a govt hospital where maternity fee is cheap if they can't afford top hospitals. A woman in my area has been moving around with a catheter inside her vagina for almost a year now after suffering complications while giving birth @ the hand of one auxiliary nurse @ home. Abeg make we wise up.

12. You are so wrong for this, I am a medical doctor and most of the time it's not our fault, when they come for antenatal and you tell them that they should sign for an elective cesarean operation due to some circumstances, most of the Nigerian women even the very educated ones blindly refuses,and as a doctor u can only counsel not force anyone, some of them don't even come back to the hospital again, they go somewhere else but then come back when the situation is worse, yes some doctors are careless, bt as a doctor working in Nigeria, most of the time, it ain't our fault.
    But I understand, we all need someone to blame when the going gets bad, and doctors are the easiest catch.
    Sorry for your losses.

1. I tell u; they come when itz already too late and they xpect the doctors to perform a miracle.

13. You are so wrong for this, I am a medical doctor and most of the time it's not our fault, when they come for antenatal and you tell them that they should sign for an elective cesarean operation due to some circumstances, most of the Nigerian women even the very educated ones blindly refuses,and as a doctor u can only counsel not force anyone, some of them don't even come back to the hospital again, they go somewhere else but then come back when the situation is worse, yes some doctors are careless, bt as a doctor working in Nigeria, most of the time, it ain't our fault.
    But I understand, we all need someone to blame when the going gets bad, and doctors are the easiest catch.
    Sorry for your losses.

14. Stella most times its not always d doctors fault...

15. I'm sorry about your losses but puhleasee its Mostly the other way round, a doctor will tell a woman during antenatal that her baby is breached or too big and that she should be ready for CS, this women would rather fast and pray( which works for some BTW) than agree to be cut open OR if its a private hospital they accuse the Doctor of deliberately recommending CS for personal gains because CS means more money for the hospital or some would go and see an "Orere"(local Mid wives) and after rubbing and rubbing they still end up in the hospital after its almost too late.
    I've not seen a situation where an Operation is really necessary and the doctors shy away and rather allow the women suffer in pains b4 taking it out surgically, infact even if the mother is strong and the doctors notice that the babies hearbeat is getting faint they suggest srgery immediately.
    This accsation iis not just fair, we know Nigeria is cirrupt but in this case the patients are usually the stubborn ones oh, I've heard where the mother of a pregnant woman refused signing the necessary forms required before surgry claiming that the doctor is always too quick to suggest surgery that her daughter will deliver naturally.
    Maybe those women didn't get there on time. The only ish I know is general hospitals are usually rude to women in labour even beating them when the wailings become too much and making annoying comment like "open am joor, shey u open am when una dey do am"lol

16. Everybody wnts to watch the ladies private;Nobody by her head side at least to clean-off sweat...Funny....osho-free

1. They are probably on training, husbands or nurses clean sweat. How can they learn by by studying her head..pervert...lol

2. Anonymous. It's good to think before typing.wiping sweat of the head of a woman in labour and watching the privates to know when and where to give adequate episiotomy to prevent perineal tear and possible urinary incontinence which do you think is most important?
      My dear if you don't have an input to an issue it's best you read and learn.

17. This is a topic close to home for a lot of nigerians; sorry for ur pain poster. I think one of the problems is d lack of adequate medical facilities and personnel. A lot of hospitals don't have equipments to adequately monitor a woman through pregnancy and child birth. Therefore it is usually too late when problems are detected. Another issue is dat a lot of people don't have d means to seek proper medical help; some don't even go for periodic scans, antenatal, etc. So they only find problems (which could have been found earlier) during delivery. Another issue is d spiritual aspect..... hmmm

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, Cheers

18. Hhhmmmm......there are so many factors to this thing o.
    -RELIGION: Nigerians are religious people who would rather call their pastor or imam in such cases, forgetting the fact that faith without work is a wasted effort.
    -PHOBIA FOR CS/IGNORANCE: most nigerian are scared of this stuff. And some are not properly enlightened since majority are illitrates and live in rural areas.
    -POOR MEDICAL PERSONNEL/FACILITY: some of these nurses and doctors are not good enough!
    PSYCHOLOGICAL FACTOR: some of these women are not motivated before this operation. You must give them reason(s) to fight on.
    The factors are so many!
    But research has shown that a woman who is happy in her home with little or no family problem, who is constantly shown love will most likely survive complicatons during child birth because she has a reason to stay alive. IMPROVE THE STANDARD OF LIVING IN NIGERIA AND ERADICATE HARDSHIP AND THERE WOULD BE DRASTIC CHANGES CONCERNING THIS STUFF.
    Paragon7ven.

19. Most Nigerians hate Cs, they are still ignorant when it come's to that.

20. When i wanted to put to birth my first child, my doc said the only option i had was c/s and i asked to be induced but was seriously warned against becos by doing that my baby will come out dead and the baby was already stressed. In less than 2hours we were out of the theater, most women don't like c/s.

21. Pls o I have questions what will make a baby too big? Does age have anything to do with complication? Is it true dt giving birth through CS can limit the number of children one can have? Is true that CS is more painful that the pain is usually after child birth? Pls I need answers

1. People say its what you eat that makes a baby fat,but I don't really think so,cos I ate alot and my babies came out small enough to push 2 of them out without tear but I think too much sugar can cause that,and if you are on the big side or your husband.

For the age stuff,I don't know if it has anything to do with complication but I know that for those who are 30yrs and above,they give them special care during antenatal,they go thru lots and lots of test to be certain the child isn't coming with any complication.

with Cs,you can have only 4kids. They normally say 3,but it can't exceed 4.
      Cs is painful when you wake up o. I see the way the cry in pain after the whole thing. It takes at least 5days to get yourself a little before they would allow you go home. And the pain is so excruciating cos I saw the way people in the hospital were behaving. But normal delivery,the pain is disappears after the baby comes

22. The blame is on both Doctors & patients. Some are so clouded by religion that CS is out of it "my God is nt the God of Ops" .

My late dad was a gynaecologist , trained abroad. He believed so much that a woman should not be in labour for too long, cause eventually if she has the baby thru normal delivery, there is probability that the child can turnout to be an imbecile or retard.

I ve seen a lot of times while growing up, where my daddy will begging the hubby to sign on behalf of his wife. Sometimes he will have to carry out the ops without them paying a dime. Some hubbies often abandon their wives & babies, so it isn't about their belief alone the financial parts too.

I had a personal experience, after waiting on the lord for years & 2 failed IVFs. I conceive naturally, during my ante natal visit it was discovered that my baby was breech & placental prevail. I was told at about 5mths that am delivering by CS. I had my self prepared. My prayer point was God pls deliver me safely. I had the CS, 3 days after am up & about. Friends & families that came visiting didn't know. Unless I tell them.The 2nd baby , I had elective CS.

In other word some doctors are just damn greed, all they want is the financial gain. There was a quack doctor arrested few years ago operating in a suburb of lagos , that just open every pregnant woman up without reason for CS. He met is waterloo & was arrested, that was when it was discovered that he was all dis ward maid in a general hospital before he was sacked.

That least Lagos state government is working hard to reduce mother-child mortality. What is our Federal Government doing?

Sorry for my Epistle. Just wan add my comment too.

23. 80% of Nigeria deaths are prevantable, you can only compare Nigeria doctors to those in Afghanistan and Pakistan. 80% of Nigeria doctors are half baked doctors and half backed treatment. They can not even point bad dripe to original one yes because my ex was given more than 15dripe in space of 2weeks during preganacy but all was fake until she travelled to london before she got better treatment. Our medical schools are zero because even lab they learn is not good for animals. Most of our doctors that travel to Us and Europe south africa end up failing board exams when they fail they return back to Nigeria to continue their killing practice. Doctors like okechukwu is an example because he practically spend most of his time here than patients. You can comment on issues but when u have time to comment like linda eze on all topic then you have problem. Our doctors need to go back to school to get used to new technology and practice.

24. @ d anonymous searching 4 Ilaje,dat's Miss fearless!!
    ~•.•SDK ADDICT•.•~

25. The only thing I want to know about this CS thingy is what the weight loss process is like after delivery cos I'm seriously considering it as my delivery method but I heard its very difficult to drop the pregnancy weight as compared to spontaneous vaginal delivery probably because they can't be as active and engage in certain exercises due to the surgical incision.
    The most troubling one I heard is that its difficult to acheive orgasm after CS because some important nerve responsible for that is affected during the proceedure. Na that one make me pause o because I no dey play reach that side,Hian!....NewBie

1. You can loose weight drastically after CS cos first and foremost, you won't eat for three days till you go to toilet. After that, your appetite would have dropped and in the next few days you won't be able to eat much.Tho later, ur appetite will be back but you'll ve to watch wat u eat and how you eat. If you can, avoid cold things too for three months so ur wound will heal and it also helps ur tummy reduce.For me, I was breastfeeding and dieting tho it wasn't easy cos once I breastfeed, I'll be sooo hungry again. I sha watched what I ate and reduced from 85kg to 70kg no gym. I'll start that soon tho so I can get my 65kg back.

26. What does when expect when we have the likes of Pastor E A Adeboye repeatedly giving testimony How his wife managed to give birth to their last born via natural birth and not CS as the orhers. Such utterances stigmatise CS.

27. I have two girls and had them by CS. On both occasions, I would have lost them if I hadn't listened to the doctors. CS is not a taboo.It's a safe and surer way to have your babies.let's stop this foolishness and embrace it.

28. I hv a friend that refused to hv cs until d baby died and d cs was eventually done to bring out d dead baby boy,it was later discovered that she had an inadequate pelvis and can never hv a vaginal birth, fast forward, she has 3 girls now all thru cs. Till today she regrets d loss of d baby that might hv been her only son. I hv told her to be grateful,some don't hv any.

29. I have 2 boys thro cs, but my problem is this big tommy after cs, pls SDK make this a topic, i want have other mothers manage it, cus am about have my 3rd baby and i need a flat tommy after this.

1. The big tummy is probably wat ur eating.. i had my baby via cs 7 wks ago nd my tummy is flat due to me cutting out carbs nd immediate exercise once my doctor certified me at my 6 wks check up altho I had started takn long walks by the 3rd week post-op

30. My doc checked me well to no if I wld be able to give birth normally,.doctors make money from cs,2 of my friends cldnt bear d pain any longer and opted for CS,dy were booked. Pple with dia own experience anyway,never heard of doctors refusin CS on dia patients.I find it difficult trusting GOVT HOSPITALS,Thank God for God and for the hospital I birthed my child,if not for the quick response I wld have been dead by now. My dota weighed 3.65,and dey no tear me. I honestly was so happy. Mehn e no easy o

31. My mum lost our last born cos of this stupid logic of our health practitioners. Being a nurse she knew something was wrong and told her midwives to get d doctor that it can't be a natural birth. For where? The nurse kept saying push push and never went for the doctor. When she eventually did, the doctor came and was like cs the way to go but the baby too weak by now had suffocated n died. I don't wish this for anyone.

32. @qutie, pls get your facts right...
    I had my baby through CS, although outside the country, I didn't suffer any pain and I was on my feet the next morning. My tummy shrunk on its own
    Watch what you eat and hit the gym once the doctor says it's ok. Stop feeding people with ignorant facts, there is absolutely nothing wrong with CS as long as you don't visit a quack doctor.

33. @Qutie, let me educate you. Have you heard of preeclampsia?
    Most woman develop it during pregnancy and one of the symptoms is HBP, a woman with such condition is usually advised to go for CS. If not detected, a woman can die because of complications.
    Am not a doctor but I read books, googled stuffs and asked questions when I was pregnant.
    Ignorance is not an excuse, there is nothing wrong with CS.

1. U obviously dont read the right books. Preclampsia is NOTan indication for cs

34. I HAD ALL MY CHILDREN THRU CS AND I CAN TELL YOU THAT ITS NOT A TABOO TO CHOOSE TO VE YOUR KIDS THRU CS,AND AS FOR THE WEIGHT LOSS,I LL ADVICE YOU GIVE IT TIME COS EVENTUALLY,YOU LL LOSS ALL THE WEIGHT. MAY GOD HELP ALL WOMEN PUT TO BED SAFELY,BE IT NORMAL OR CS.

35. What is all this rubbish about blaming pastors for people's issues? What is the Christian faith if not to live in faith and keep confessing the word? Some people have prayed and even when they were told they will have CS they delivered naturally......if people abuse a thing how does that rubbish the talk of faith? Some people confess things without actually knowing God for themselves and studying the word...before you claim anything by faith you need to be sure what you are holding on to.....there is no pastor that will tell you not to have CS cos it is against the bible, his job is to help build your faith and pray......my sister whose husband is a pastor had her baby by CS cos her blood pressure suddenly rose up and the baby had to come out......we all gathered to pray and proclaim the word but she still had the CS.....that does not in anyway make me feel God does not answer prayers or will ever stop me from confessing his word......I know people that God had given a prophetic word not to have CS and they did not cos the devil was going to use that to take their life.......that does not mean I will tell all women not to have CS cos that person is an individual case and having the CS would have helped the devil achieve his aim but God stepped in.....whether we like it or not God still does miracles.......stop generalizing and making myopic blanket statements.....some people abuse the faith walk does not mean all pastors do.

36. Shut your mouth......pastor adeboye has a right to give a testimony about his life and if people choose to walk in ignorance whose business? Did you ever hear pastor adeboye tell anybody not to go to hospital? His job is to teach you how to build your faith and he does it well....fools like you will just come and spew rubbish......do you know there is a clinic at the camp where delivery take place almost everyday? To the glory of God most of the women who give birth there do so naturally.....next time before you talk do a brain check and stop saying what you don't know......whether you like it or not without faith it is impossible to please God so if at anytime in your life u have not confessed faith then u have not started to live a true Christian life.....ur job is to believe and it's Gods job to answer how he deems fit....adeboye will continue to give his testimony and whether u like it or not it has birthed many more testimonies...