Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Charles Novia's Tweets His Opinion Of Dorobucci Music Video

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Charles Novia's Tweets His Opinion Of Dorobucci Music Video

Mavin records most anticipated Dorobucci music video has finally dropped and there has been a lot of side talk...

The video features the boss Don Jazzy, Tiwa Savage, Dr Sid, D’Prince, Reekado Banks, Di’Ja and Korede Bello.
Controversial movie director Charles Novia has tweeted what he feels after watching the Dorobucci music video...

I have watched the video and i like the sound of the music and the attitude put into it by the musicians,especially the female but i swear down that i do not understand what the word 'Doro' means thus the music makes no sense to me.I am not hating,just stating that i do not understand what 'doro small,doro big,doro me,doro you,Doro Stella....and co means.

What is your take on the song itself and the released video?

That said,if you havent watched the video,please go watch and support Nigerian music...One love!

108 comments:

1. i watched the video and i thought of the same thing Charles said. The song is a nice song but the video was not all that. All those white chicks they put in there spoilt the video. They shoud have used some african girls with a lot of dancing. This a naija beat and requires some african moves. I think they should redo the video. My opinion though.

1. Stella I think the hidden meaning of Doro is DICK..., prick.., Amu..

2. OMG, ever since I watched dat video, av been dreaming of Korede Bello, dat guy tuk my breath away... He is so handsome.. He is like my dream guy....I wanted to die when I watched dat part where he winked.. Av been watching dat part again and again.... Am dieing slowly... Oh God!!! Am falling in love

3. Phrinkles, he's my coursemate. Do you want me to link you up with him?
      No jokes.
      No POS transaction though.
      CAPTAIN'S BOO

4. Prinkles lik seriously?

5. Thirded but syl put your hands down.

6. I would love for them to redo the video. I anticipated it would have a lot of ethnic dance step with a modern day twist to it, but was a bit disappointed watching it. It's such a beautiful song and I totally agree with Mr Charlie. Hmmm....Korede Bello is such a cutie and a tease.

7. I too lov d video,it jst dat ders no african dance,I lov dat korede and swt tiwa part,I don't care to no doro meaning,d video is best.dorosweet,doronice,dorogood,dorobestvideo,dorook,dorofine,dorodonbaba,dorokorede,dorotiwa,doroGbam.

8. Somebody please give oga Charles one of those Stella chairs with massive dick cos the one he's sitting on is makin him see double.

9. I loved de song and de video but I expected serious dancing make I learn. Not bad sha. I still love Don baba J.

10. @ phrinkies. U read my thoughts. Some1 serve me some korede Bello. Stella pls do Hottie alert on d dude.

11. The vid lacked originality or is it cos we expected so much of it?too many random pple(dats aside d crew) doing nothing,Charles was right,even d supposed team seem confused and overwhelmed,everything was happening too fast like Don Jazzy was in a hurry so as not to miss his flight!
      Well,thank God dias something that is helping to keep a vague memory of d vid in our minds:d korede Bello's signature wink,and it's trending now amongst d gals,hehe!!even dou he said d wink was a mistake,dat makeup got into his eyes,dat mistake is wat has saved d day for d Dorobucci video.

12. Korede is d cutest but his lyrics didn't make any sense @ all.... all I got out of it was "beef" and "fish"... Doro... catch fish and Doro... chop beef. He shouldn't try releasing any album with such rubbish lyrics o!

13. Koredes bit in the vid was the most composed abeg. Dijas styling was awful I kept going "adonbelieveit" cos her verse was the next best. And what was the white house connection? :S As for Don Baba who breaks out in song in the middle of an important meeting???

2. I didn't like the video too

1. I saw the video 2 days ago and I loved it.

2. IYALAJE OF SDK BLOG27 July 2014 at 16:58

Truth b told.... Dat video ain't all dat but hey! Its Dondorobucci u never know what's next.

3. I guess the one mtn even used in their ringtone video advert is better than this. Maybe they should redo it like Davido did in his skelewu.

4. Truth be told; the video lacked concept. It shd hv had an African theme. Those white girls dancing in the background murdered d video. In this one, I support Charles' opinion.

3. I have not watched the video but I love the song.

When I saw Charles Novia's name,i already thought he was going to be negative until I read his tweet...He doesn't sound like someone bitter,probably constructive criticism...Didn't know he is equally a music critic. lol.

4. I don't care what anyone says, that song is the bomb! And that guy's wink wey dey make all Dem gals go robo robo dey give me #dorofever

5. Charles novia, u Jes can't mind ur business. Must u always criticise?

1. I wonder why he likes drinking kaikai for every toper! Whatever doro means, I don't know! But sometimes you just have to overlook somethings and mind you business! Keep your thoughts to yourself! Warum?

Pepper ose oku!

2. Like he said, that is his opinion. Voice yours and move on. If the truth be told.

6. Make me self go find the video watch...would be back with MY own opinion too...lol.As for the song,even though I also don't know what 'Doro' means,I love it!

7. I agree with him but I like d video

1. Yea, I agree with him too , and I appreciate the fact he scored the cinematography (9) bc they get that part well...but due to the fact that, we don't know the meaning of doro, we can't understand the concept. And Tiwas' visual part was the most boring to me but me like the colorful video and dat nigg@s' smile...'korede' or what? Aint sure of his name.

8. Don Jazzy can do no wrong in my eyes..
    Mr Charles Okpolo eyes please can you shush it already well its your opinion,that video is dope and I love it...
    Djazzy,more grease to your elbow...

1. Opkolo eyes better than ur hubby with sewage mouth.... He can do no wrong does not mean his work will not be reviewed so shut up bitch....

9. A very beautiful Sunday 2 all Sdkers, I can't agree less on his tweet, the song "Doro" is a hit cos it has more of an original 9ja vibe, thus makin it danceable 4 all...but hey! wen I saw the video, I was like wht's ds??? Why not hv the video shot home wt a pure 9ja flavour and dance steps. It's a pure reason why "Aye' by Davido stands out. The video makes a lot of sense, wt a lot of local flavour. Donbabajay, pls go bk 2 the drawing board, u got ds wrong ds time.

1. True....... some real naija dance steps would have hyped the video

2. Then what you shld have written shld be 'I can't agree more with Charles Novia'..... not I cant agree less. Doro English.

3. I went to watch it and agreed with Novia. It is a danceable song, that needed nija moves.
      BTW, why don't our artise produce musical videos in nija again?

10. Nah real Doro this and Doro that. It make's no sense. To me it make's zero sense. Nigerian music, nah so so gbam gbam gbam. mtcheeeeew.

11. A very beautiful Sunday 2 all Sdkers, I can't agree less on his tweet, the song "Doro" is a hit cos it has more of an original 9ja vibe, thus makin it danceable 4 all...but hey! wen I saw the video, I was like wht's ds??? Why not hv the video shot home wt a pure 9ja flavour and dance steps. It's a pure reason why "Aye' by Davido stands out. The video makes a lot of sense, wt a lot of local flavour. Donbabajay, pls go bk 2 the drawing board, u got ds wrong ds time.

12. 'Doro' is the most ratchet word I've ever heard, absolutely meaningless and sounds very razz. This songs can't last for 8months and that's it. We need to start producing meaningful songs that wud be enjoyed even after 30-40yrs.

1. @Swerve uve said it all. Chop kiss. As soon as anoda song is released dis dies down. Infact seen Tess 4 a bo2 of 50cl pepsi

2. Agree with you swerve.

13. What I understand in their music is 'sound' most of them don't make sense in their lyrics. What I understand in naija music is, once d sound is ok, forget d lyrics. #followthesoundnotthelyrics#

14. That video gave me life, watched it over n over n over....... again. Korede bello in particular is one to look out for. Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrriliant!

1. Anon 12:32PM, Gbam!! Well said... Dat guy kills me slowly with luv anytym I watch dat video... Wish I could kiss his lips

2. Haa! Na lips u wan use break the fast?

15. I looove d song.esp d Doro Part.Havent watched d vid yet.i think Doro in dis song was just coined.

16. The song is nice jor, Koredo Bello got me drunk in love #doromega #dorosuper #dorostar #doromegasuperstar.
    Don Jazzy is a BOSS *drops mic*

1. Chai.... I think say na only me don fall for dat boy.... Gals are not smiling oooooooo

17. Stella good morning, pls I dont know who to talk to but what I withness at ikeja mall is crazy. With all these Boko wahala, shoprite ikeja is always crowded, u walk in nd out freely, no one scan or screen to see what u have in your bag, I went to the cinema upstairs stella is worst, they dont search u, stop u or even see what u ve in your bag. I was so angry, i had to confront the security guy at the cinema entrance nd he asked me to come do the job by myself, A guy that sat next to me has 2back packs with him, he brought dominio pizza out nd started eating in middle of a movie. A girl next to him was eating sandwish. Pls stella help tell them to be more cautious about the security there especially at the cinema......biko am scared tragedy might hit them soon.

1. Hmmmm u still go.to the cinema, me i dont o,cos of the insecurity,i.will never try it or advice anyone to

2. All these security are so dumb,just avoid dt place biko leave them with their wahala,i cnt stand crowd,with this ebola sef is enough to be scared of crowd

3. It is best to stay away from the mall. I stopped going to the mall when the mall in Kenya was attacked. Because my dear, all they will get is mass burial. I buy my movie sit in room & watch it. If I want cinema effectn I pull the curtain, turn off the light & increase the volume, make my popcorn, balance in a comfy chair & enjoy my movie.

I am even more scared now that Ebola virus is in Nigeria. We have no security is Nigeria everything is taken with levity & you hear people casting & binding. I am covered with the blood of Jesus. Jesus will not come down & help you. Protect yourself.

4. I went to the cinema on Monday and the security was very tight. Dey were searching our bags wen we wanted to enter.

18. I watched d video 4 d first tym yesterday afternoon. The video is a big FLOP cos i expected more...the only thing that caught my fancy was that winking Korede guy and nothing more.

1. Chi you're so right. Mehhn...that wink Korede made was the ish for me...better than the wink by LAX in the caro video (I liked it too though. Bad boy kinda wink).

2. @ Chi, dat wink na die.......

3. How do I see this video abeg,I really need to see dis wink abeg.
      Na only me waka come for this video. Chai

Mrs Chi Ude

4. Winking is now d new trend abi? Watch out for more winks in upcoming videos. I was disappointed in d video tho. Was expecting something like the "sekem sekem" video.... dat one was very original and we could all relate to it. when will these artists leave all these white video girls and embrace our naija babes.

5. Awon aunty agbaya.

19. Catchy beat and tune, but meaningless song. No message. I don't even understand what they were all saying. But its danceable for those that like this kind of music

20. I don't like the music... Don't know what it means either, but I know Doro is a name of a street in Warri.

21. My exact thots too...not too impressed with d visuals...maybe I was expecting too much...a simple naija dance video would hav done it!...

22. I like the video, I'm actually tempted to start saying doro now tho I felt like shooting people who kept saying it before.

23. Charles is so on point,senseless song,and over hyped video. EVE E UME

24. Even that cute girl on PLRTV said it yesterday.

25. I agree with charles novia joor
    Why shoot the video in SA?
    The choreography was not up2 expectation...the new Mtn advert(with Doro as theme song) is more interesting 2watch....dt guy can dance
    Most 9ja hit songs no get meaning, so groove 2d beat
    Don Baba Jay pls re-shoot

26. That's what happens when a song becomes a hit list. People expect much of the video same thing happened to skelewu. The become confused on how to satisfy the fans.

27. The song isn't great. And 'Dorothy' won't catch on. It's a stupid semi-word. The video!!! Same as all don jazzy videos - horrible! Why can't don jazzy put in as much energy into bringing his songs to live visually. They all always look hurriedly shot, nobody bothers about the interpretation of the song. It's just a joke.

And for Dr Sid - the most useless of the bunch. Never ever professional. He has been in this industry for many years but always looks like he is just starting. I tire for the guy. If he leaves Mavins today.....nothing for him o! Nothing at all - which is a real shame!

28. Rubbish song, rubbish video. I hate that song. It has no meaning, was made a hit cos its Don Jazzy.
    Dorowack, Dorononsense, Dorotrash
    By d way, I'm sooo in love with Eric Donaldson. Can't seem to get enough of his songs #SingingMoreLove

1. DoroLyndy, Dorostupid, DoroDie

2. Is that u Don Jazzy or Korede Bello? Lmao...keep singin trash

29. Well said! I was expecting more than that . The video does not match the song.i was disappointed to think I had been waiting for the video.

30. Which naija song has a meaning. Afrobeats is mostly about the beat, Davido won the BET and the song skelewu says absolutely nothing but the beat is cool. And you must not understand the words of a song to enjoy it. My humble opinion...

1. Den u don't knw wat music is all about. If u feed ur soul wit music ull neva eva listen 2 any naija song except 4 a few like Asa, some of Tuface's n some of banky's.

31. I like the Video, I liked Koredo's part, I don't know what was going on with Tiwa's make up, that other Mavin girl with red hair I don't like her.

32. Stupid song... It's amazing how someone like tiwa who has written amazing songs for international artist will come to naija and become mediocre with songs that have no meaning beats me..... Till we begin to ask for better standards all we will get is the rubbish they churn out everyday..... I will rather an artist sing in vernacular or pidgin and give me lyrics that make sense than just use words that have no meaning.... Music is more than the beats, and honestly that's the only thing we have going in naija......

33. Smh! Don Jazzy n crew is making money, u re here judging them! Piisssh! Have u paid ur debts?

34. Hey guys,plssss don't hate d player,hate d game..Alot of words were coined by great minds and over time found their ways to d dictionary..4 me "DORO" is an original and don jazzy has given u mofo's d meaning many times but again haters gonna hate no marra what...Anywayz me love me some don jazzy and d crew but Korede is a pure fresh breed talent,I'm loving him like diamonds..great song,great video,great people but d new acts stole d show,rekadoo,dija and Korede...but I give KOREDE 50000 stars.watch out wiz kid.....stella I taya 4 u o....u fall my hand bashing our very own don jazzy??hes faultless and even though i feel d word DORO is over used and nay make no sense to people,let's give jazzy some credit for coining a name that fits d bill for loads of people.i don taya to type abeg,mavin crew dey smile to d bank,I dey hear dey preach long sigh....

1. When they were saying "twerk" all over the place,shei e make sense? Why Doro no come make sense na??Don Jazzy is talented!

I need to look out for this Korede guy everybody dey talk about..hope he is talented tho!

35. Dorocharles, doronovia, dorowhat, dorois, doroyour, doroproblem? Anyways u said ''IMO''.
    As for me i'm unofficially Korede Bellover 1. The dimples and that wink almost made me cray cray.

MissSomerhalder.

36. Dorocharles, doronovia, dorowhat, dorois, doroyour, doroproblem? Anyways u said ''IMO''.
    As for me i'm unofficially Korede Bellover 1. The dimples and that wink almost made me cray cray.

MissSomerhalder.

37. @ Phrinkies, na for man mata u wan die put?
    Hian! Man, sex, can sweet u for Africa...
    Where's Tony btw?

1. @ Bunny, no mind me jare... I too like dick.... Tony Is fine ooooooooo......

38. Abeg ki ni Charles so. Shut up jo

39. This 1 na una own opinion

40. Me I loved the Reekadoo guy and Dija I love the most cos she sang my fave part of the song. That said,hiphop/dancehall songs rarely make sense,not only in Naija,it's the same allover,if you wnt sense,go for RnB,Blues.

41. Charles on point this time,I expected more from dorobucci video. The video no be am at all but I still love my mavin anytime. Happy Sunday Stella and all Sdkers.

42. Dija and Korede are the best of the lot.

I don hear Phrinkies. Don't come and tell me about Korede and his wink. Lol.

Lmao @ the overused Osuofia house in Enugu.

43. Doro Stella! Shines teeth like burnt goat, lol I like d song it's nt bad, they just need more 9ja vibe. Dats all.

Doro fliky! Wink like u knw who

44. The video would have been better if shot in Naija, haba, our girls would have rocked the song wella but those white girls were looking clueless and confused.

45. All of u judgin and saying bullshit...charles nd Stella inclusive..UNA DON CHOP? dese guys r smiling to d bank,una dey hia dey rate video..una doh oh!...tell me one naijja song that makes sense? dts y it's afrobeats we all about d beats!

1. You know better than to ask that question here. This is not a blog frequented by hungry people.

We have accomplished people here: Professionals at the peak of their career, captains of industries, comfortable students sef. And if you don't know Stella is smiling to the bank even from your posting a comment, you don't know anything. Because she no dey post pictures of designer labels and village mansion?

2. Lol.. goldscent has fired shots

3. Lol@village masions......

46. The song makes sense sha..still one of my fav for this year.but the video is a NO! Korede and dija are going to be the next big thing in the industry. Another video pls.

47. i agree. Love the song. the song is the bomb but the video bombed

48. Doro is jes a slang , it's a nice music cz each time I listen to it I'm always happy. Korede killed it. The wink part is great, as long as the song is entertaining... What do we need the meanin for????

49. The video was just there to me,but hey its don jazzy I still love him....

50. ITS TRUE. LOVE THS ONG, BUT THE VIDEO DIDNT LIVE UP TO EXPECTATION.

51. @d queen and boss of this blog its u linda eze if u like change ur name onemillion times we kw its u.watin bring okpolo eye here charles reviewed d work and gave a very reasonable opinion. Which I think don jazzy shld look into and ure hear talkin rubbish abeg no let me enter u o!ur hubbys stinking mouth shld be enough problem for u already