Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola And Going Back To School On Monday September 22,2014.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Ebola And Going Back To School On Monday September 22,2014.

Schools have been mandated by the Federal government to resume on Monday September 22,2014 and the Minister of health Mr Onyebuchi Chukwu has announced that there are no current Ebola cases in Nigeria.....His press statement reads...

''Minister of Health, Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu on Wednesday released an update on the status of Ebola Virus Disease (EVD) in Nigeria.
Chukwu said "as of today, the total number of confirmed cases of EVD in Nigeria stands at nineteen (19), fifteen (15) in Lagos, four (4) in Port Harcourt.

The total number of deaths from EVD in Nigeria stands at seven (7). Five (5) of this died in Lagos, one (1) in a private hospital, the index case Mr. Sawyer, and the other four (4) in the isolation ward in Lagos State.

Two of the seven (7) died in Port Harcourt, the medical doctor who died in a private hospital and the contact, a patient in the hospital at the time the doctor was also on admission, who died in the isolation ward in Rivers State."

He further stated "the total number of patients who have been successfully managed and discharged is now ten (10). The latest are the sister of the Port Harcourt doctor who was discharged from the isolation ward in Rivers State on 7th September 2014, and the wife of the same doctor who was discharged from the isolation ward in Lagos State on 9th September 2014.  (Please note that the ten (10) patients successfully managed and discharged are among the total number of twelve (12) survivors of EVD in Nigeria).

At present, there is no single current case of confirmed EVD in Nigeria. However, a suspected case of EVD from Ile-Ife, a university student who had contact with the late Port Harcourt doctor at a naming ceremony in Port Harcourt has been quarantined and is being investigated.

Regarding contacts currently under surveillance, Lagos now has 16 contacts under surveillance. A total of 350 contacts who were previously on surveillance have been discharged having completed 21 days of observation”.

*Now let me ask this....Are there any Parents or anyone out there who is still scared and will not be sending their kids to school on Monday September 22,2014?
I think the Nigerian government and Lagos state governor especially did a beautiful job of containing the virus and deserve a standing ovation.
This is the first time in the history of Nigeria as far as I know that an emergency was QUICKLY and successful contained to yield positive results.

What do you honestly think about the resumption date for schools?

Monday September 22,2014 or not?

104 comments:

1. Selfish lots. All dia kids are schooling abroad with the loots. Wicked bunch. I decided to relocate back to nigeria wit my family only for dis govt to force innocent kids to go back to school. When nigeria as a whole has not fully contained ebola.

1. dats a lie. chukwu has really young twins and they live in abuja

2. Yes parents are still scared cuz like u said is d 1st time they' ve eva seen nigeria respond quickly 2 an emergency. So dey shud extend it or stick 2 d former date.

2. I think one month isn't too much to make sure. if just one child gets it, half the nigerian children will have it,not to mention,their parents.

1. I can see that 55 percent of females on this blog are mothers tho ,respect to you all and those looking for the fruit of the womb aswell.I heard a lady saying she was going to rub olive oil on her kids and send them to school, from a distance I just nodded my head and whispered the words Ignorance is Bliss.
      Mothers if you are not comfortable with the date please don't send ur child to school .

Mr Lyca

3. Hell no.... My junior ones are not resuming... We all know dese people are liars.... Am not taking any risk... To hell with deir sept resumption

1. I sincerely hope they postpone resumption to October so that we can be absolutely sure that there is no more Ebola in the country.
      It's true they have done a good job in containing the virus but I'm not yet totally convinced we are safe.
      I and hubby were even discussing it last night. We are scared and may not allow our kid and ward to start school this month.
      Anyway, by 22nd we will know what to do.
      For now we pray it's all over.

2. My only question is what if ebola is not wiped away after 13th oct,wouldnt children ever go back to school?
      I think the govt should be more concerned in putting up measures to control and prevent it in schools rather than shifting dates up and down!

3. Well of course parent ll be careful about this and won't want dere children resuming, cos children ll get this faster than adults

4. i think they should really confirm if no case is hidden like that of the PH doctor's before the kids can resume

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

5. How exactly were they able to successfully manage these people? Fill in the gap.

1. Doesn't it boggle the mind? What exactly gaaaann gaaan are they using to miraculously cure these people?? Why can't they say? Is it trado medicine. Why is that aspect being kept mute? Why? Why? Why?

6. Hmmmm Stella, I honestly think Schools should be shut till the last suspected case or patient is certified free of the virus. These kids are not studying to get a degree, I don't see why the government should be in a hurry to send them back to school. As for me 'NO TO SEPT 22'

1. well said"my kids r nt resuming with them now. menh only me & my God knw how i manage 2 get pregnant.

2. @ kenny...Word! You have said it all. Much ado about nothing. Oct 13 is still fine by me. As a parent, my son will go to school when i think preventive measures has been put in place in his school. Before, one outbreak will take one by surprise.

Btw, what's the update on d OAU student?

3. Spot on Kenny. Say no to 22nd Sept

7. NMA has said it's not safe for children to resume sch on d 22nd of sep. So let d fed govt adhere to their advice. It's also not safe for d fed govt to say we'v successfully contained ebola. New cases keep springin up by d day. But truth be told d govt has done a great job on dis one, but let them postpone d resumptn date

8. I dnt think my son wuld resume sch o,how do u teach a 3yr old boy to b careful at sch,anyways his sch has called for a PTA on sat make I go hear wetin dem won talk

9. What standing ovation Stella? You fail to see through the charade of these nonchalant politicians. The real truth is EVD carriers from affected countries will hardly ever be allowed entry into countries that will effectively contain and treat this disease so they have no choice than to make Nigeria their safe haven. Do you actually think that if EVD had a cure we would witness such class in their performance so far?

10. extending the date from 22nd by 2 more weeks will make everyone safer and will obviously not cost us anything compared to the EVD.

11. May we not experience another outbreak in Nigeria o. Resumption should be postponed at least until we're sure Ebola has been totally contained. These children are better alive than dead and I believe parents living children to 'educated but dead' ones.
    God bless Nigeria

12. Sincerely speaking, the kiddos wahala for house don tire me. They are always chirpy from morning till night but I don't feel comfortable with that 22nd of a date.

Mid-October is better for all to be sure that the Ebola issue has been properly dealt with.

Stellahipsy, Ebola nor know Federal government, whether rich or poor. That's why they acted fast. Nor be say our government nice reach like that. *chews bitterkola*

13. Stella to b absolutely honest wt u,I don't trust nigerian government! Let's wait a little more time 2b completely sure! The resumption is 4children who don't undersand control...

14. If b4 then there is no new case then d kids can resume on d 22nd.

15. mothers in the house mr onyebuchi has thrown the kpako ball in ur court...it's either placard or peace pact.

16. mothers in the house mr onyebuchi has thrown the kpako ball in ur court...it's either placard or peace pact.

17. Until those under observation are discharged, my children are not going to school period! no shit.

18. Good job but as for me,I am the fed.gov.and min.of health of my home,no school for my kids this term.
    #mindmadeup #toavoidstoriesthattourch.

19. I still think they should postpone the resumption date till oct n try to watch things a little bit first, in ph here 300 ppl re still under surveillance, what would happen if they turn out +ve. If I had a child this term won't kill him or her, would gladly kip them at home till am satisfied they ve truly contained it, I feel they don't want parents to panic that's y they said they have fully contained it.

20. A standing ovation for governor Fashola and the Federal Government, i still urge the federal government to put the necessary facilities in place in our various schools to protect our children against the deadly ebola before the resumption date. It is well with Nigeria.

21. I won't allow my child resume school come sept 22nd, until all under surveillance has been cleared. Though I commend d FG n Lagos state govt for their efforts so far. But what is worth doing @all is worth doing well. In a proper setting, before u will declare Nigeria as Ebola free, all under surveillance must be declared free of EVD, even to d last person under surveillance, then I as an individual will feel safe sending my child back to school.

1. Fact! U just spoke my mind! My children are going no where.

22. You can not trust Nigerian politicians. My daughters will resume 2wks after, by then we don sabi who carry am or not.

23. they should wait until they have zero case

It's like Nigeria football they will be playing very well at the end they loose

I think is to early because some people have not come out to say they have it

May God guide and protect our children
    In JESUS name Amen

24. Wot on earth is wrong With These people?
    No current case of Ebola?
    Dese people are jokers!

The Général and I agreed à long time ago dat d kids wont be starting school anytime soon(even before d FG gave dat intial October resumption date).and dere is no going back...
    My kids wil be home til mid October..lets see how it Goes first
    Selfish,insensitive and clueless people!

1. Exactly! My kids are resuming mid-October too!

25. Thaqnk God my kids are not back. Hubby suggested i left them with family when coming back saying he would pick them up when the whole thing goes away.. So we still have plans bringing them back firat week of next month...

I am glad the whole thing was contained but what about that ife situation?

26. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Schools should resume plz, but the govt should provide enough sanitizer for government schools cos i know private schools can take care of their own.

1. What are u saying?? Sanitizers for kids abi??

2. What is ANGELRAY talking about. Mind u sanitizer kill germs, No amount of sanitizer kills a virus. Should incase u don't know.

3. U must b a very selfish and unreasonable person. I'm sure u don't have kids that's y u r spouting rubbish.

4. Angelray.....are you for real??? how do u explain the use of sanitizers to kids ??? I sprayed a little sanitizer on my 2yr old daughter's hands and she just rubbed it on her hair before i could even illustrate what she was supposed to do. Aside from that,,,havent u read that sanitizers cant kill d virus and d best option is frequent washing of hands???how do u tell kids to wash their hands often??? abeg,,,make resumption rest for now joor.

5. Please know this

EBOLA IS NOT A BACTERIA THAT CAN BE KILLED WITH SANITIZERS,ITS A VIRUS.. SANITIZERS DO NOTHING TO EBOLA

6. Ignorance at its peak. So with all the awarenes about Ebola, u r still talking of sanitizers. Does sanitizer have any effect on the virus? Pls read about Ebola virus very well before coming here to write rubbish

27. So long as the virus has been successfully contained, the kids can return to school. There is no need keeping them at home for too long.

28. As for me o they should still give this whole Ebola thing time to rest. Better safe than sorry. After all school is for the living
    what's a few more weeks to possible deaths? October is not as far as they imagine o. A word is enough for the wise.

29. I don't agree with d 22, they should consider extending d date to oct/longer to avoid sorry story. Let's not forget that this virus has no cure, and as long as our neighbouring countries still have some cases, we r not free yet. We need to be extremely careful.

30. God job done no doubt..but a very big NO to September resumption...October is fine...we still need to monitor the situation further...

31. They should at least wait till October. .what's the hurry I ask again. .selfish interest from some people. .

32. I agree with u Stella,I think most parents can send their kids off to school without too much worry. it was handled fairly well. pls visit my blog Liflblog.WordPress.com

33. They should resume on the said date, postponing makes no difference. So thry should postpone resumption to january? Nah
    Parents go to your kids schools to find out what measures they have in place for your kids protection against ebola.

34. I'm still scared o0 cos children cannot survive isolation. I think we should b very sure b4 reopening of d schs. U know not everybody that had contact wit infected person will come out to say so but wit time it will manifest. I can't imagine a child being infected and isolated wit d parents told not to touch them, arrgggghh

35. I need to kiss fashola, he has really done well. #FasholaFor2015

36. I am a parent; I would rather know my children are returning to a safe environment than to rush back and be faced with an epidemic.

Please we are okay keeping them at home even till January until this situation is resolved. Kindly inform the President and Minister that we do not want them to be pressured into resumption especially by school owners who are more interested in the money.

37. 20 GBOSAs for Naija & Lagos State governments!I am beyond impressed

I was totally convinced that Ebola was going to explode in Nigeria when Patrick Sawyer brought the dreaded disease into the county but I have been proven wrong. Naija government did EVERYTHING to contain it. This means that Nigeria is capable of progressing and addressing issues when things are done correctly. Let us hope that this is the beginning of a new dawn. The survival rates are quite impressive too.

UNA DO WELL O!

1. Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa, Gbosa

38. 20 GBOSAs for Naija & Lagos State governments!I am beyond impressed

I was totally convinced that Ebola was going to explode in Nigeria when Patrick Sawyer brought the dreaded disease into the county but I have been proven wrong. Naija government did EVERYTHING to contain it. This means that Nigeria is capable of progressing and addressing issues when things are done correctly. Let us hope that this is the beginning of a new dawn. The survival rates are quite impressive too.

UNA DO WELL O!

39. Sdk the one in PH nko? I believe the power of private owned schools made this happen. Anyways....parents will make their own decision. Errrrmmmm.....pls who knows some gud dancing hits suitable for a wedding reception. Pls drop song name and artist. Thank y'all.

1. Why me by D'banj.
      Dem mama by Timaya
      Ashewo remix by Flavour
      Johnny by Yemi Alade.
      Don't thank me. What are BVs for?

2. JayEm, U nor well aswear. LMAOOOO!

Viva Ciara, contact any good DJ naa, abi.

3. D Jets-make it real,
      West life-world of our own
      Kc n Jojo-all my life
      Bryan Adams-heaven
      Maxi Priest-close to you
      Maxwell-get to know ya
      Chris DeBurgh-lady in red
      Berlin-take my breath away
      Kenny Thomas-thinking bout ur love
      Rick Astley-neva gonna give u up
      Lisa Lisa-wonder if I take u home
      Billy Joel-oh what a night
      London Beat-have been thhinkin bout u
      Gregory Abbot-shake u down
      Sister Sledge-frankie
      Erasure-i wanna be with u.
      U Welcome...

4. M.beenta...thnks lemme check those out. Manna bee who is ur gud Dj abeg. Jayem I don tell u thanks already.

5. Magajisoinsoin you be real old school besides she said dance tunes

6. Who says u can't dance to em?some are slow dance and some fast,she def has to do one or two slow dance with her hub na.Guess what?my younger brother is in his early 20's and he knows the above classics and more,does that also make him an old sch?

40. Please it should be moved to december or January..Kids are vulnerable n are prone to contact the virus easily.They aint even aware of how deadly the virus is.

Fed govt should pls sit and ponder on this issue more,making sure no cases or trace of the virus before sending kids back to the classroom....

If a child contacts the virus,we all know wht dat means,all kids won't be save..Think twice!!!

41. They really deserve a standing ovation 4 dis.i wish this was the kind of approach the Guinea,Liberia and Sierra-leone govt. Used during the outbreak of EVD,they would av triumph over EVD. Kudos!

42. May God protect our children.

43. The OAU suspect, had contact wit d doctor @ a naming ceremony!!! WTF!! Jst picturing a naming ceremony. Abeg oga minister, let all those under surveliance(which frm stories I hear, r walking about freely) complete their observation dates and get a clean bill. U cn then snd a special medical team, wit d vaccine or watever u r using to treat dis virus to each Local govt. Ejor, biko, dan- allah, mbok... Kay says so!

44. Abeg make e be dat 22nd o....cos I don already calculate my money down!!! Tunder fire u ebola!!! Nor try me ooooo!!!......................OKIJA WIFE

1. Money over Lives???!!
      Like seriously?!
      SMH!

2. TGW, u de mind that illiterate??

3. Iyawo public general toilet....nor let me face u for dis blog oo!!! Oponu oshi!...................OKIJA WIFE

4. Money ke? Guess u own a sch. Smh dis is wot kills nigeria. Money money money is all we care about. Wot abt d lives of pupils at stake? Hmnn na wa o. I'm dissapointed

5. You own a school and you talk like this?!
      SMH!

6. May God ve mercy on u okija wife. SMH

45. The Ebola point is noted. On a funny note however, this conversation is principally between School Proprietors who earnestly desire the fees on resumption and some parents that are yet to fully save their kid's fees.

The appropriate question then will be, on the resumption/fee divide,where do you belong?

1. What is this one talking about? Some parents that are yet to fully save their kids fee? U re down right funny, cos this is not d 1st time children are resuming school. There have never been a single complain about children not resuming school in sept, but with d current Ebola issh that what I as a parent n an individual is against. I for one paid 80% of my child's school fee since Aug to balance up on resumption n that is the day I usually do it right from time. My daughter is entering pry 5 when school resumes, so what is the talk about parents that have not save up their kids school fee? How have they being paying before d advent of Ebola? Oh pls stfu.

2. *resumption day* *that is the way*

46. Well done to the government if Nigeria but please watch the situation and give more time before allowing the kids go back.

47. The person dat tested positive on Monday nko? Hw com no one is saying anything abt him or her?

48. Another clear case of govt insensitivity of the peoples plight. God help us.

49. They should resume when it is safe to resume, i don't want anything bad to happen to our children.

50. As a typical Nigerian mother, I think the date should be extended. It is understandable that we want our children educated, but we need to be reminded that we can only educate the healthy and living. Ebola virus in
    Nigeria is an unprecedented occurrence that has be handled as such. “Better safe than sorry” should be the motto here. So far, we have been blessed in the manner that no child has contacted the disease.
    Children play indiscriminately with one another. A child of what age can be guaranteed to identify the symptoms of the Ebola and keep away from it? How many times do we have to remind our children not to put their hands in their mouths and cover their mouths when they yawn, cough or sneeze? How do
    we tell them not to play with their friends as they are used to or not to show concern if one of them gets hurt and is bleeding? How can we really be sure that our 3 to 16 year olds would be safe from Ebola in a place where we cannot control who they come in contact with; a place where they share toilets, eat and play with others. How about our babies at crèche who we can’t even attempt to explain this to and who cannot verbalize their day at “school”?
    In a country where a Doctor treat Ebola patient secrectly, cotacted d virus, still went about his business putting people @ risks. Nurse/people escaping from been quarantined. We don't know how many hidden cases that will surface. Let's wait for the people under observation to be completely free!

51. The federal government should excercise more patience pls. I don't think we have heard the last on this Ebola issue in Nigeria.

52. Lots of talks abt extending the resumption dates of school. Lil or no talks abt precautionary measures these schools are going 2 put in place for these children. I wonder! I really wonder

1. Please tell them.. postponing resumption isnt the issue because there would probably always be a new case, so they should keep postponing resumption even if it's for a year? Hell no..going to our kids various schools to ensure adequate measures are in place is what's more important.

2. Anon 12:42PM, I say resumption should be extended to put precautionary measures in place. Like training one or two teaching or non teaching staffs on how to handle any Ebola case should such occur ( though no one prays for it, but it's d reality on ground) as earlier proposed by the health ministry. Equipment for detecting high temperature which is d no 1 symptom of Ebola should be distributed to all schools both private/ public schools. @least 3 for each school. That way we know we are getting somewhere. This way d initial plan, how come they want to bypass this safety measure n allow schools to resume? For what? With all the monies that have been gotten from d govt/ individuals/ organisations etc? Naija, which way?? People in authority should do d right thing for once. Should anything happen u see everyone running helter skelter shouting God o, God o!! When God has given us brains n sound mind to know what to do @all times. The resources n man power is available in Nigeria, they should do d right time before these young ones go back to school. I am a concerned mum, like I commented earlier, there are still people under surveillance, they should be certified Ebola free also b4 ds kids can go back to school.

53. No way,! My son ain't going nowhere at least for another month for me to be very sure no more suspected case.

54. No way,! My son ain't going nowhere at least for another month for me to be very sure no more suspected case.

55. No way,! My son ain't going nowhere at least for another month for me to be very sure no more suspected case.

56. @ego lag...keep been disapointed u hear?? Bt as far as am concerned,ebola cannot come close to any of my schools ooooo!!! Yes! Am saying it wit authority.........................OKIJA WIFE

57. October October October October October October October October October October October October

58. Well for me my siblings ain't going nowhere until am sure the situation has been contained. I can't imagine sending my 2yr old sister to school. This is a very precarious situation that should be threaded with caution. Infact it all comes to corruption, who knws perhaps private school owners ve bribed a top official in govt. #just saying#

59. My children are NOT resuming September 22nd.

Heaven help those who help themselves.

60. My children are NOT resuming September 22nd.

Heaven help those who help themselves.

61. Why the rush?abeg they should chill first

62. PLS! WHAT DRUG DID THDY USE TO TREAT ALL THESE NIGERIANS. WE ALL KNOW THAT THESE POLITICIANS AND GOVT OFFICIALS LIE. ALL THE PRIVATE SCHOOL OWNERS SHOULD CONSIDER THE KIDS AND NOT THEIR POCKETS AND BANK LOANS.

63. Resuming on october won't help us.. It'l actually affect the school timetable and affect the new students going to a new class.. What will we be stayinq at home for??.. Except parents will provide us with home-lesson tichazz..PerioD.! And stop beinq self-centered pity us the children