Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Protest Ongoing in Southern Sun Hotel ikoyi

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Protest Ongoing in Southern Sun Hotel ikoyi

Southern sun staff are protesting seriously this morning, they demand to meet with the C.E.O and also demand that the Human resource manager should leave office (BE sacked).
According to them,the women are not entitled to maternity leave,no benefits, and salary is bad.

I hope they all dont end up losing their jobs oh.

112 comments:

1. They dare not!
    Benefits/Grants are employees entitlement. Those in the HORECAS sector are not left out.
    Why treat them like slaves?
    mtchew!

1. Nawa o. They should respect them na. Staff is staff

2. They think is government work or state work, that they want entitlement, make them sorry oooo, they will end up been sacked, if the work is not paying u enough, pls go look for another job.

2. I hope so too,, stella why can't we do a post where people can go under anonymous and mention our bf names,to know whether we are all dating the same guy,pls ste ste

1. You must be a fool. ...why not turn stella into ur FBI. She will help u people get boyfriends, also help u people with ur financial situations, also give u relationship advice when needed...but that is nt enough for u, she should also help you investigate your men. Anuofia!

2. Hahahahahahahahahaha....
      Nice initiative....
      Stella,look into this matter...
      Just for fun...

3. You wan quarrel here
      Welldone. Pls think of sumthing more Educative

4. You are so stupid, your stupidity is astounding!!!Woww, are you usually this stupid or today is just different! If your Bf is cheating can't you take a walk, are both of you co-joined at the hip or head?Asin Siamese twins?Lady common give yourself prestige and brain, all the advice given here and you can't have the decency to act right?

5. Hian!e don reach that 1 ni?double hian!!

6. Hehehehehe....u dey fear??? I like this babe. Correct!!!

7. Bwahahahahahahaha.......

Anon u like wahala Abi?

8. Why? Re you that insecure or you dnt trust him?

9. Hhahahahahaha,dt will be fun...so we'll know our girlfriend in laws...lmaoooooo
      Nice suggestion...Anon 10:47

10. I concur with you. The likes of Henry Imolehin

11. Phahahahahahahahahahahaha; funny suggestion.

12. Lmao!
      Bitchplis you dey fear? Lol.

13. Pls oo! So many act of violence going on in the world , and you want to add wold war 3 to it, though I know you were thinking about the fun aspect, but sweety there would be deadly repercussions.

14. Lmao.
      Please Stella , take this idea into consideration.
      I'll so love this.
      Please. Please.

15. My mrs,u'l love this?really?
      @bloglord,I no dey fear o.I can't just imagine someone dropping my real name on a blog ni

16. Lmaooo. This babe just reminded me of...
      'let's play daddy and mummy' lol lol. So so juvenile.

OK my own is, let's do phone conversation recording game btw Bvs. Where Stella will post the recording on IHN for us to hear the 2 bvs gisting. Not dating o. This could be btw 2 ladies and vice versa. Just to pin a voice to the monikers here.
      Ahahah my own suggestion come mumu pass this aunty own abi?. But it will be fun though. Lol ok bye bye

3. My thoughts exactly. The day I get dissatisfied with my job, I'd call it quits, rather than being sacked. . QED

4. My thoughts exactly. The day I get dissatisfied with my job, I'd call it quits, rather than being sacked. . QED

1. Yomi, Yom! Yom! You've made me remember my SS school days with this QED remark.

Mathematics and proving theorems ending with QED.
      Proof 1: Prove that square root of (a2+b2) = c.
      Solution: a2+b2
      QED!

5. Ok I finally have the other spelling. It's "Ifada ko ebo na di". Pls igbo people help me translate. That may not be the right spelling but that's how it sounds. Thanks

1. I think it's yoruba. Lol. Doesn't make sense

2. Ahn. It's...Ofada ko, eba ni. meaning no be only Ofada rice, eba sef go join. Abi?

6. Its gonna be something like that. And to think that southern sun is one of the five stars hotel in ikoyi!

7. Lol! Stella, I was just going to say this is like a blessing in disguise, God forgive me. But, it is common sense 2figure that not all of them will keep their jobs at d end of this protest even if they endup looking into their complaints. I think this a good job opportunity for BVs in need of a job. What're you still waiting for? Hurry up and go apply......never say never!

1. They forget its a private Organization. Choi. No be Govt job oooo. at end them go loose their jobs

2. Baby, you should apply too, for the post of a butler. Bag things
      You done serving shey?
      For you to pray for such, you must be JS.
      Jobless and searching.
      Love you loads

3. Evilshine, how market? Found someone to hijack his name and flaunt allover d place even without him endorsing you yet? Ugly Muche-che. Even if I were a lesbo, I wouldn't want to date ur overused watery blackass. So get off my case, bitch.

4. Evilshine, how market? Found someone to hijack his name and flaunt allover d place even without him endorsing you yet? Ugly Muche-che. Even if I were a lesbo, I wouldn't want to date ur overused watery blackass. So get off my case, bitch.

8. For them to protest Am sure communication failed.

9. These guys should have known that now is not the time to stage better pay etc protest. The countries economy is struggling and a lot of companies will be reducing their work force. Na wa

10. These guys should have known that now is not the time to stage better pay etc protest. The countries economy is struggling and a lot of companies will be reducing their work force. Na wa

11. They can't all end up losing their jobs,once there are no rats amongst them,they will achieve all or parts of their demands... just let it be devoid of violence.

Refusing to allow women go on maternity leave is plain horrible!! Our cleaners here are entitled to 3 months maternity leave.

A woman losing her job or resuming after few weeks of delivery is pure evil!

1. @iphie dearie and u think they will ans them, who give monkey banana, if the work is not paying, they should just look for another one, dis their parade will make d management sack other pple that did not participate in d protest, it is not fair, but what can they do, the only option is to look for other job, than been unhappy or miserable.

2. Even if it's a private entity, do they not have a union that covers every employee in nigwria!? They should come to their aid if after the protest they lose their jobs. Who knows what the company contract entails, which they must have signed ignorantly.
      Those fine prints that we all ignore but sign anyway, without first reading through... The labour union or whatever it's called should wade in jare

12. MR EDDY said.
    If una loose una jobs shebi una eyes go clear.
    ^
    ^
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

13. At least you people are still alive find another job#jesuis Baga# Jesuis Northern Nigeria

14. I pray they don't get sacked
    But hw can they not give maternity leave monkey they work baboon they chop

15. ah southern sun?? unbellyvable!

16. I have said it before this morning, Nigeria is not that civilized yet for all these. We don't take these protests seriously unlike in America nd co...so I too hope they all don't end up losing their jobs. Cos many people are searching for anyhow jobs now!!

1. It starts from u and me. It's called CHANGE

17. Dunno why some CEOs are like this.
    They use people anyhow and would refuse to pay.
    Was at this hotel to cover Chidi Amuta's book launch.
    I didnt know my way to the convinience so i asked a staff, the kind eye wey she gimme, i knew instantly that she is a victim of bad salary.
    I pray they dont.

1. Shut da fuckup!! Lying bitch. Beggie beggie olosho was at a hotel to get used for peanuts and was still too dumb to find her way to d booked room. Guess, d babe cudnt wrap her head around ur stupidity.

2. Y are u fooling urself camisole? U are lashing out at sunshine cos she told u d truth? Typical Nigerian. Thank goodness she ignored u. Let out all the bitterness hun

3. U went there to do runs but it didnt pay abi? Who will even shagg an ugly musheshe like u..see ur black face like d back of prick..aunty agbaya..Fool!

4. WOW lolz its good to be back. LOLZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

18. don't know what to say.

19. Wow..a whole southern sun?
    I hope it dont backfire cos this protest thingy might not work..i wish them goodluck!

20. All this one man business ..nawa

21. Before nko...no be 9ja.....hotel management can like to use their staffs as slave....

That is why u go to hotel and u see their staff very rude to u...they steal ur belongings.... When they are not well paid

Initiatives are stifiled......

No encouragement
    No benefits
    No incentives

22. God please save us in this country...hian..#theprison

Son of Solomon

23. if they stand together as a group; they will get what they want; because the hotel can't go against the entire staff and if they do; na bad market for them. they will have problem if they don't stand united and speak with one voice.
    pay your workers!!!
    pay them their entitlements!!!
    give mothers Time to nurse their babies!!!!

1. If they have a union that oversees all this tins, their demands might b met

24. Why should they lose their jobs for collectively fighting for their fundamental work rights? Its sad that the typical Nigerian employer will milk his/her employees of all they have to offer and still brazenly pay them peanuts. This has to stop! I hope the southern sun staff stay unified and strong enough to see this through. Lets see if the management will sack all of them. Nonsense and ingredient

25. Replies
    1. Sips jik ke ? Abeg ooooo. Lol.

26. The management should look into this matter

27. They will loose their jobs for this protest,dats unarguable!but is it supposed to be so?why can't an employee get his rights so that he can in turn serve the organisation well?smh
    ....they will employ a new set of jobless graduates waiting.thats d fallback of how hopeless our system has become.

28. Na wa o.

@iyke via Airtel SIM

29. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Fight for ur ryts nothing do una......
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

30. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    They won't loss their jobs jawe,desperate times calls for desperate measure,its obvious they've been suffering in silence ever since and cant seem to bear it any longer....the manager is an hinderance to their promotion and should be unseat.....Dear lord,biko may ΐ not jam sux enemy of progress in my life oO...
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

31. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    They won't loss their jobs jawe,desperate times calls for desperate measure,its obvious they've been suffering in silence ever since and cant seem to bear it any longer....the manager is an hinderance to their promotion and should be unseat.....Dear lord,biko may ΐ not jam sux enemy of progress in my life oO...

32. THELMA ENEMUWE said...

33. Hotel staff too do protest in Nigeria?Lol...Maybe they have another job else where waiting for them. Smh, It will take like forever for some people to wisen up.

34. Work ethics in Nigeria is so poor.

35. Replies
    1. Come to think to it, do we have labour laws in Nigeria or we have but they aren't implemented? Someone enlighten me please. Thank you.

36. Stella they can't loose their job. Who will run the place, when there is no workforce. The management will rather look into their complaints because it will cost them much more to employ and train new staff within a short period.

If its actually true that these employees do not have or enjoy employee benefits, then that's too bad. Atleast give them the very basic. Wont be surprised if the said HR manager is a Nigerian. Used to have a supervisor like this. The main would suggest something that will benefit the staff, but this woman will sit on it and refuse to implement it as if the company belongs to her father.
    It is well

37. It is about time we stand up for our rights. Working like slaves, and nothing to show for it. Taking advantage of people who need jobs to support their families. I bet the ceo and the hr manger live like king and queen, while the common man suffers. God Nigeria so need stronger labour laws

38. I a sure the HR person must have collected enough bribe from the management to treat the staff this way.Nigeria Labour Congress I can't see your handwork,you people just completely ignore private companies,thAts why the staffs suffer like their is no tomorrow.Pls look into private companies.Hijay

39. CEO and Management please look into this ooo. Not good to bring you out like this to the outside world

40. Southern Sun? and where the hell is Markloxey

41. How ridiculous is that?..the women are not even entitled to maternity leave. How some people sleep at night knowing they are tormenting others just because they are higher on the social ladder beats me.
    Maybe they should have all decided not to show up at work, all of them. Then management will realise how important the lower level staff are when they have to be running around like headless chickens. Shame!!

42. naija which way

43. Not fair na

How can you expect people not to be dissatisfied with their jobs, when they do their part,but don't get what they deserve?

If was a governmental organization now, everyone will blame our leaders.

What about now that it's not?

44. I think its high time people like Cornelius (HRM), Francis(Financial controller), Cliff (AGM) resigns and go back to their african countries, these people have been the mastermind of the bad treatment staff gets while working in Southern Sun. They subject to hard disciplinary rules, deductions as much as 70% of your take home, all in the names of discipline at the end the money ends up in their own pocket. These happens even when they know that 80% of their staff are family men & women who have people to feed & take care of.
    There you get rules likes;
    - if a guest should make a bad comment about you, you get a query and 30% deduction. if it happens 3 times, you will be sacked.
    -if you come late 3 times in a month, you get a warning letter and 30% deduction, more than that,just resign or you get sacked.
    -if you absent, 30% deduction and a warning letter.
    -staff working at front office and barmen are subjected to routine cash check and search, you must not have more than the money you sold, even the tips given to you must not be seen with you unless you inform your manager about it before the search.
    - this is a place where staff do the job of a manager and the manager takes the glory and pay.
    Staff get sack after having fancy wedding, cos they feel he or she stole from them to carry out such.
    all this happens while the foreign managers enjoy fat bonuses, vacations and sleep with lose female staff.

1. To be honest, there is nothing wrong with these rules. All employees like to take advantage and either start work late or not even show up. If the mgmt can not control them, then their business goes under.

As for bar staff and front desk, yes, the cash on them should not be more or less than they sold and supervisors should be aware of tips.

Nothing wrong with these rules. Only a lazy person or a thief will have issues with it

2. Well spoken 14 January 2015 at 14:07. Truth be told some Nigerians have a FALSE SENSE OF ENTITLEMENT. They want to behave as if its a government job. Get off your lazy ass and get back to work if you still have one. If your female colleague wants to sleep with anyone its her damn biz. It happens everywhere even in banks so dont make a noise over nothing.

Why should guests keep complaining about you? something is wrong with you then. Nigerians can be rude sometimes even the so called customer care peeps. Listen i've worked on the tills before and we were routinely checked for stolen money too. I didnt get angry at it. We were also stopped and asked (from time to time) some questions required of us by law. If you fail the questions, they record the failed questions inside book and watch you closely. If your till is short of some money or EVEN OVER some money, they pull you out and ask you questions too.

Listen dont let me talk here. If you are given tips place it somewhere and tell your manager ASAP.

Why should you regularly come to work late? Dude shut it up, if its the maternity thing then you have a case. If its other things that you didnt state then fine. If na only wetin you write GET BACK TO WORK!!!

45. They shld all start looking for a new jobs bcos Naija employers dnt listen to complains

46. If they try to sack any of them, then the CEO will be in trouble. Human rights lawyers will just decend on them lyk amadiora

47. This is really not fair...where's the motivation to even work hard without their due entitlements accorded to them?
    Pls visit my blog
    Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

48. They should try and treat them better. I also hope they won't be sacked.

49. Beware of working for South Africans. As with other nationals they are riding roughshod over us in our own country. Yet una president is seeking re-election whereas his pple are being tampled upon by foreigners in their own land. Big shame.

50. Didn't they read terms and agreement before accepting the job? At least each organisation have a handbook guiding them everything shd be in the book. The staff can only protest if the management is not complying with what is in d handbook. As for maternity leave no organisation without maternity leave...the period all depends on the company's policy which is in d hand book. I belive this protest is due to breakdown in communication. The human resource manager is there for the staff welfare and shdnt be against the staff. My candid advise is for it to be amicably resolved so that the staff won't lose their jobs as a result of this as there are so many people on streets of lagos looking for this job. So pls the human resource mgr shd kindly meet with the management in order to have it resolved rather than protesting.

51. It is not possible they sack everybody.....na fear dey make us not to fight for our right....They are entitle to good condition of service.

52. The conditions anonymous stated are too harsh man!!!!( if they are true o)
    If you work in a hotel on the island asides southern sum please state yours so we can compare and contrast

53. The conditions anonymous stated are too harsh man!!!!( if they are true o)
    If you work in a hotel on the island asides southern sum please state yours so we can compare and contrast

54. Southern Sun: Manage this prayer while i go to sleep: May your children and grandchildren get jobs that won't give them the opportunity to go on maternity leave and may their employers treat them the same way you are treating your employees IJN!!!! DO I HEAR A BIG AMEN!!! I guess not.

Karma is a bitch

***Anonymous chielo***

55. Anonymous.........
    We got what we agitated for. One voice. Southernsun staff you guys ROCK!

56. Annonymous 12:08 it's very obvious you have never worked abroad. These are the same conditions or at least similar when you work in customer-facing jobs abroad. You even get fake customers come in to check your services. Lateness gets a query, Ik leave too gets queried if it's more than 5 times a year, absences without approvals are no-nos. the only thing that is bad is lack of maternity leave but I doubt that really is the case in Southern Sun.

Nigerian workers can be lazy, tardy at work and rude to the people paying money to keep the business running. Customer service is something the average nigerian worker doesn't understand. They feel they can "beg" and all will be forgiven! Let this serve as information for all you nigerian people that want to live "abroad". Come rain, snow or shine, you must WORK for every damn penny or cents that you earn.

57. Mark Loxley, cornelus, Francis bring back our N400k from ikoyi/beta and the 75% of our benefit from southern sun b4 d hotel was bought by Tsogo. Ona mama, now our eye don tie, our eye don open. All the expatriate shd be deploy dis nija, we need our pple to rule nt foreigners behaving lik king in our country. their mama.

58. Some of these foreign manager should be throw out of southern sun especially cliff, who has be sleeping with married and unmarried lady promising them of increase in salary and promotion, Zimbabwe bastard.