Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Graduate, Kehinde Lateef Allegedly Hacks Sterling Bank Lagos Island's Database, Steals N53.6M

Friday, April 24, 2015

Graduate, Kehinde Lateef Allegedly Hacks Sterling Bank Lagos Island's Database, Steals N53.6M

A 31-year old graduate, Kehinde Lateef who served his one year internship with Sterling Bank Plc, Lagos Island, has been arrested for allegedly hacking the bank's database and fraudulently withdrawing the sum of N53.6 million naira from the accounts of two customers of the bank.

The police at Lion Building Division, Campbell Street, Lagos Island, who arrested the suspect alleged that Kehinde conspired with three others now at large to hack into the system of the bank a few days after he completed his one year service with the bank and withdrew the sum of N49.1m from one account and N4.5m from another account and escaped.

Kehinde was arrested after the management of the bank reported the money stolen.

According to PM News, a police team led by Inspector Elegbede Oluranti, after one year of manhunt for the suspected scammers, tracked down Kehinde Lateef at his residence on Ishawo Road, Ikorodu, Lagos, and arrested him, while others escaped.

Lateef was arraigned before a Tinubu Magistrates’ Court, Lagos on a three-count charge of felony, after due investigation. 

The accused, however, pleaded not guilty to the alleged crime in the open court and Chief Magistrate A. O. Awogboro admitted the accused on bail in the sum of N2 million with two sureties in like sum.

Awogboro adjourned the case till 6 May, 2015, while the defendant was taken to Ikoyi Prison till he's able to fulfil the bail conditions.

***original reportage by PM News, rewritten here*

This story sounds somehow

42 comments:

1. Badt Guy!! Oboy your were too greedy na, Nawa oooo..
    .NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

2. Badt Guy!! Oboy your were too greedy na, Nawa oooo..
    .NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

3. Abegii, this man doesnt look like someone that has been in possession of that kind of money for a year. Shooo bank check well before the law sends an innocent man to prison.

1. 99days 4 the thief.............
      Bail?
      He needs to do another 10yrs internship in jail.

2. My dear, some people have this sort of look such that even where they have millions, they will still look hungry and poverty stricken.

3. @mimi he looks rich, u need to see a multi-millionaire friend of mine.

4. @mimi lol. This picture was probably taken before he took the money or after the police arrested him. But I'm kinda impressed, if he is really guilty. Peeps be bringing oyibo tins to naija. Hacking bank database to steal money. Smh

4. Just like that? Am in doubt, unless the mgt of the bank is that porous to ve allowed a corper gain such access n mastermind a transactn for huge sum of money.

5. Onye oshii!
    God punish you there

6. I thought it's only medical student that do internship...or is it industrial training??...

Bail?just like that?...
    He is suppose to serve a jail term afterall he is a thief...
    Oriegwu!!!..

1. Which IT is for 1 full year?
      They should throw him in jail just like that? Really??? Has he been found guilty? You all just rush here to drop the first thing that comes your porous minds without thinking it through

7. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    What a shameful act!!,stupid tif...
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

8. Young man, wouldn't you rather have a banking career dan ordinary 56m dat u will finish spendn when. Dat money is not even enuf to buy a property in a good area in lagos.
    The bank cld have retained you, you cld have built a career in another BANK. wld you not have earned dis kind of money eventually with patience.
    Now ur life is wasted, who wld employ you when ur out of prison.
    If na even 1bn u steal now, 56m and still share wit 3ppl......mschewww.......FOREVER 16

1. Wet in dey for banking career? They use you and dump you,am not supporting the guy but 56mil can change your life and you can get a land in a good area or even a house and you will still have plenty left covers,so get informed my dear. Bank work is slavery and a lot of traders make more money than bankers,also for him to earn that money working in a bank it will take him many years,by then he would have been kicked out and replaced,if he gets someone to put in 200million in a bank,them go employ am sharp,they may not allow him handle sensitive area but he will be employed,in 9ja anything goes. The guy must have been in bondage all these while next time you no go steal,if you must be a millionaire in a short while without stealing, then go into business ore join politics.

2. Not to condone the theft here, but my dear, some people can make a life out of ordinary 10million naira. If spent judiciously. Ah 56M is even too much for some people to have a huge turn around. You can get a house, car, and a business started in 56m.. and still have left over sef.

9. Is the the lack of jobs in naija that led him to this?

#BabatundeRajiFasholaForFCTMinister

1. Is he an indigene? Hausa go agree? E go good.

2. Let me correct this misconception most people have. Abuja originally belonged to the gbagis before it was made the capital and they were relegated to the background. It doesn't belong to the Hausas. Moreover it isn't stated in the Constitution that a Hausa man must be FCT Minister. Any tribe can fill the position.

3. So why not give it to the gwaris,una pursue them from the land,una no still want make dem rule, Nigeria will never be good as long as minority is being oppressed.and rubylicious,I pray Gid gives your position to someone else then you will stop saying any tribe can be fct minister.

10. Is the the lack of jobs in naija that led him to this?

#BabatundeRajiFasholaForFCTMinister

11. Stella, where's Ur 'allegedly'??? Cos I didn't read up there that he's been found guilty.

And so if someone pays d sum of two million as bail, abeg if he's found not guilty, will he be refunded????

1. Lol....I wonder where bail money goes to really.

12. Wow!!! Did he really do it? Or his boss is putting this on him. We never can tell. But if he did, then may he go to jail

13. Hmmmmm !
    N53.8M Not Guilty .... bail of 6million (2m each for him and his two sureties) and someone was jailed for 263 years for stealing 8million

Innocent until proved Guilty... !
    The more one steals the lesser your punishment.

1. Way to go jaare! Why steal 8m when there's 50m out there to be stolen.
      If u wan chop frog, chop beta one

14. He went to sch to learn how to rob bank. Desperate guy u try o.

15. IT Savvy Guys Fear them, not all the greedy none God fearing ones.
    They can do anything .... .... ...

16. Madam, the story didn't sound somehow, ask.me why?? The ogas in the banking sector are too busy to discharge their duties,they give to intern and corpers to do for them. Have worked like that before and I can tell you, if I didn't have the fear of God in me, I would have gone away with first bank customer's ATM and pins. I was given access to the two at the same time.

1. The money could have been stolen in connivance with one top oga sef.

17. kai,the way the curses and swears are flying in this blog,i fear my head.nawao!

18. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    If to say na five million he withdraw nobody for don catch am but greediness kill am.... Mumu.....

19. This story sounds too porous for my liking.
    Maybe he is just being entangled in something bigger than him because they know he doesn't have the resources to fight back.
    Stella please don't forget he is innocent until proven guilty so don't forget to use the word"alleged "when next you are doing a story of this nature. Love you lots.

1. Lol @ too porous for my liking
      Hahhahaaha

2. In Nigeria, u are guilty until proved innocent o.

20. I tire for her! She comes across as very uncivilised and quite irritating.

21. 2nd hacker story I am reading this week...the govt should make use of them by revealing the secrets about hacking and how to block loopholes..like.the movie white collar.
    Nitty

22. 8million = 266year jail...........53million = 6m bail..........OBJ release 200million dollars in is possession to FG = praising him............pls if u want to steal,dupe,hack etc think wel and catch the big fish.