Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Jigawa Governor, Sule Lamido, And His Two Sons Sent To Prison

Thursday, July 09, 2015

Former Jigawa Governor, Sule Lamido, And His Two Sons Sent To Prison

Former Jigawa State governor, Sule Lamido, and his two sons, Aminu and Mustapha, have been remanded in prison today.

Accused of fraud and money laundering by EFCC, they were arraigned today for receiving N1.35b kickback from a government contractor and have been remanded in prison custody in Kano till September 28.

Delivering a ruling today at the federal high court in Kano, Justice Evelyn Anyadike ordered them to be remanded in a Kano Prison Custody.

The defence counsel, Mr. Effiong, had argued that remanding them in prison would amount to trampling on their fundamental human rights and pleaded they be sent to either of EFCC facilities in Abuja or Kano. 

The counsel to the EFCC, Chile Okoroma, however objected to the plea, saying EFCC facilities were full to capacity both in Kano and Abuja. 

The case was adjourned to September 28 for ruling on bail applications.

What an Embarrassment!

47 comments:

1. Naija judges don vex o!more of dis plllssss!

2. There's time 4 everything, time to eat & time to vomit. Time to eat don vamoos.

2. They should ask them to refund the money as bail to them. Remanded in prison with good beds to lie on.

Nigeria no dey carry last.

3. Serves them right.

4. This is serious
    All the politicians just want to eat from the national cake

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..

As they come so they will go... Nobody will be jailed and thats a fact....

6. May they rot in jail
    Thieves!!

7. Was it not this Lamido that Obasanjo was courting to take over from Jonathan before?

They should enjoy their time in prison.
    They are coming out soon.

8. Nobody is above the law..ask Tafa balogun

9. Gosh. Too bad o.
    Prisoners will have a field day.
    Oya,3 of u line up,oya bend over.
    Gosh

10. Damnnnnn, shit keeps getting real in Nigeria lol

11. Waooh...Nigeria is beginning to become a sane country where those who still can be remanded in prison. Mosquitoes enjoy your meals tonight the blood you're about feeding on na scarce blood. EFFC has awoken from slumber.
    Madam SDK, abeg post my for sale na

12. Wow this is the very first time a politician is facing penalty for his crime, FCT minister Bala and his son should be next biko.

13. Hmmn! Issue dey o! The presiding judge must have got some huge balls. These are the kind of things we should be hearing. I hope they're kept in the same prisons like the man who stole yam & goat, recharge cards or table salt!

Ghanaman signing out!

14. Okwa unu ahula! This is really embarrassing, if this is true, then let JUSTICE rule.

15. Good he started with his fellow hausa man,hand go meet all of them one by one

16. Father and son's facing charges family greed. Our northern brothers and sisters need to start fighting their elites because those set of people are very WICKED one family looted fund meant for ordinary citizens. While they are stealing the brainwashed are killing the poor and innocent in the name of religion fighting your fellow muslims and christians, time meant for prayers and fasting are channelled into killing the innocent. Very sad.

17. More to come I hope. Little wonder he didn't support Buhari.

18. I love this...

I think all these corrupt policians should be put in the same prison with boko haram members.

19. It seems this one is not well connected or the judge is simply incorruptible. Whatever the case maybe,that one is their own cup of fura..

1. The judge is the real MVP after Jega.
      He has guts, and I like.

20. Very good

Jesus will not fix this one.... Una.must suffer am

21. How the mighty has fallen

22. Anuty Stella, what do you mean by "what an embarrassment?"

23. Them get luck say no be me be judge!

24. If you see exotic cars this goat(mustapha) buys with people money ehn!

25. E don dey happen. *whistling*

26. A big shame!
    Our politicians are just too greedy or heartless. How do they feel after stealing so much money, while millions of people are hungry and poor???

They send their kids to the best universities in Europe while they abandon the facilities at their state universities to rot.

you can imagine a state as poor as Jigawa and Imo... smh

27. They were just unlucky else so many have stolen govt money nd hvnt bin caught

1. So, they shouldn't have been caught ?
      Please reread what you wrote, and enlighten me more.

28. Period of impunity are over and every government official have to be financially prudent. Anyway it won't be only you and your children, more are still coming to join you soon.

Uthman saheed's blog

29. Lamido is very connected leave that side, his time is up. We are happy they are starting with Northerners before you Easterners start shouting that your people are being targeted, you will see that we are making examples of our people. More Northern thieves will be taken down because they have destroyed the north with their greed. They have messed up the place so much that it is easy to recruit uneducated boys into Boko Haram because the Schools are not developed enough. You know how you on the other side of the country turn to your pastors for everything and those without enlightenment subject children (who are wrongly accused of witchcraft) to such wickedness?, that is how the uneducated Northern Muslim without exposure would follow teachings without doing proper research. So many minds used to kill instead of developing them. These boys just want a fair chance at life but our leaders use religion to keep us down. I am so glad they are being dealt with now.

1billion naira would have changed his State but instead he took it and so much more. You will be surprised to know Lamido is even one of the better ones...I pray they get the others. If you steal and work like Kwankwaso people will fight for you...but even with that they are coming for Kwankwaso. They should do him like Ohakim and make him pay. Thank God for this...gaskiya we are happy here in the North.

1. Hmmmm. Coincidentally I'm watching the news recap about the case. They'll be there for 2 months Kai. Very good.

2. Ahh ah. And the EFCC says they do not have space in their holding cell, so they will be remanded in a kano cell where they'll NOT enjoy any luxury. Very good again

3. Anon 10 July 04:19: gbam.

4. Anonymous 4:19, your perspective adds that much needed sense of fresh air bcos it is steeped in facts and objective. Naija needs more compatriots like you from each region/sector, free from tribal and religious strongholds to bear the fruits or dividends of democracy for the masses.

30. olori western union10 July 2015 at 08:39

Shit just got real