Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Minister Of Health Prof.Isaac Adewole Says ''Nigeria is one of the worst places to deliver in the world"

Sunday, February 21, 2016

Minister Of Health Prof.Isaac Adewole Says ''Nigeria is one of the worst places to deliver in the world"

The Government has finally admitted to it’s citizens that they have failed us. Take a look at what the Honourable Minister of Health said about giving birth in Nigeria. 

"Nigeria is one of the worst places to deliver in the world. We are rank and pair with some war torn countries like Sierra Leone, Afghanistan and so on, and this ought not to be. Under the new health agenda that we want to put in place, Nigerians and  pregnant women particularly at primary level will enjoy free antenatal care and free delivery services." ..

32 comments:

1. It's one of the worst places oh. I won't deny it. I kno what I went through.

2. So he didn't know this before?? And btw, many pregnant mothers who go general hospitals or health centres already enjoy free ante natal and delivery services in some states. The problem is the hospitals giving the free health care services to them are so badly maintained. I witnessed a case where one woman went into Labour, there was no light, hospital had no gen so they had to use kerosine lamp. I was shocked beyond words

3. Stella this isn't a lie. And we have been ranked this bad for many years.in the military days, people from other countries came to Nigeria to give birth, now we fly to smaller African countries to give birth.

4. Mr. Minister I'm sorry to say you are confused and directionless. It's not about free healthcare it's about quality of healthcare. These are two different issues but I see you can't differentiate.

1. Really? Yet everyday you all attack hospitals that ask for down payment before admission. Shut up and accept your problems! Do you work in the healthcare system? Do you know how many women that claim they can't afford 100naira to run urine test and eventually won't even register for antenatal.
      LOOK at you demanding quality, what occupation are you involved in and how qualified are you? Isn't those health care personnel product of the low quality educational system? All of a sudden you want them to be brighter than their future, how many hospitals can boast of 12hrs electricity or you think sickness is based on when there is light or not?
      If they can provide free health care for these women, commend it and hope things get better.
      Everything can't be done at the same time afterall, we had government whn oil oil was booming and yet nothing was free. Please shut up and commend what is good. He even accepted the system is bad, how many government officials do that? They will go and show documentary of the good part and keep deceiving people. When someone is saying the truth dats when you all will come out like "I know it all". Yet people like you build substandard houses that will collapse and then you turn around and blame hospitals for not having 20 MRI machines for treating the victim of your stupidity.
      Check yourselves before you cast stone. That is the only way forward for Nigeria. What did I study? Can I stand my foreign counterparts? What can I do to improve myself and my country!

5. He should go nd sit down.. We are tired of too much talks without action. #Successful

6. Enough of this constant empty talks already. What is the new govt doing about it?

7. That is so true. I remember the trauma I went through last August during the birth of my son. Even the so called private hospital are not better. I am yet to get myself after the whole experience . My son is 6months now and I still dey fear to service DH because of the psychological trauma. next time it is straight to Jand

1. 6months ke? Please pity d man or do you have health issues?

8. Oga minister sir....free ante natal will not solve the dilapidated health care services in this country .

1. Speaking for my self. I want quality not free.I am working and by God's grace can afford my bills but giving birth in Nigeria is very traumatic . I have been there. For my next pregnancy I must jand

9. This country no be am at all. I hate it here.

10. This is why hubby wants me to deliver outside this country but money matter dey form. God please bless us oooooooo. This info is enough to scare pregnant women.

1. If you can't afford abroad Pls do not strain yourself. Look for a good hospital and use their private ward

11. What about quality health care........... free rubbish care does not help the situation or anyone

12. Yes, we know. The question is, what is he going to do about it?

13. Even government workers do not free/easy access to healthcare or hmm especially those tagged agency eggs Lirs

14. We have heard, wat next? What's he planning to do about it?

15. I loved the hospital I gave birth in
    I'll use them over and over again
    They were so nice and polite. They had quality breakfast, lunch and dinner for new mom's until you are discharged

And hospital charges wasn't too much
    And the nurses weren't behaving like the Nigerian nurses I have heard about.. Once the light goes off, the Gen comes on almost immediately. Everything was working fine

But that can't be said for other hospitals

I don't think people really want free amenities. But quality service. I have read in blogs, newspapers and so on how some people post their relatives because of poor service and light issues. Some can't even purchase good generator set knowing they have people using oxygen in the hospital. It's a shame

16. This man professor adewole singlehandledly sourced for grants and revamped the O&G deparment, theatre and wards in UCH. It was a total mess before and he wasnt even the medical director. I dnt knw what his achievement will be as a whole in this tenure but in the area of maternal and female healthcare he will perform

17. This man professor adewole singlehandledly sourced for grants and revamped the O&G deparment, theatre and wards in UCH. It was a total mess before and he wasnt even the medical director. I dnt knw what his achievement will be as a whole in this tenure but in the area of maternal and female healthcare he will perform

18. i had my children in the UK and i dont regret it one bit....there is a huge difference in the kind of care and from what i had during antenatal in LUTH..lol....i thank God we could afford the medical bills. now we use a children's hospital in ikeja and there is a whole difference in the care but i thank God we have never gone for any serious ailment since i had them. we should all just pray for good health and long life cos our health care system still has a long way to go...

19. My first pikin, na UK the second na NAIJA. Oh my! The difference is very clear. My God, I experienced HARD LABOUR. and to think this was one of the "best " private hospitals. Na a a, won't try this again. No Tens machine, no ice, no big ball etc. Oooh. .. This labour was short but traumatic. If u can afford it go abroad.

20. It's good the health minister is honest about the deadly healthcare pregnant women risk their lives in Nigeria. Maybe he can finally bring some good change. This matter is what Toyin Saraki the Senate President's wife has alerted for long years, in fact the previous governments hated that woman for exposing it. Nigeria go better

21. He is sitting at the helm. Has been there for almost a year. Mr man, what have you done that we can point to?

22. He was nominated to the job to do something about it, simple Lassa fever, he hasn't got a handle of. Actions at the top, will trickle down.

Check out my site at konnie-moments.blogspot.com

You will be glad you did

23. Nigeria clinic are no for me again whenever am pregnant again.

24. His private hospital in ibadan is the worst place you can deliver.