Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ramsey,Rita, DKD And IB Tour Cinemas As 76 Heads To Number 1

Tuesday, December 06, 2016

Ramsey,Rita, DKD And IB Tour Cinemas As 76 Heads To Number 1

The hotly anticipated movie. 76, the first Nollywood film to get an international sales and distribution deal is out with a bang in cinemas and in its second week since its release, it is still topping the charts and selling out audiences. 

People waiting till weekends to watch the film have been left dissappointed as many arrived cinemas to find the movie completely sold out.

Some say it is the quality of the film that is generating the buzz as it has left audiences wowed by the high production standards it has set. Others say it is the acting, as Rita Dominic and Ramsey Nouah put up such stellar performances that they have not only given their fans another reason to celebrate them, they have won over a new legion of movie enthusiasts.

Many who never watched Nigerian films before, have been converted after watching 76. It is not the usual comedy or Nollywood film but it has all the moments of laughter, action, pain, tears and downright edge of your seat excitement all wrapped into one. No matter the theory on the success of 76, what is clear though is that its impressive numbers can not be removed from the commitment the cast and the crew are showing to the film.

As of the last count, 13 cinemas had seen Rita, Ramsey, DKD and Ib Fiberesima behind the counter selling tickets, interacting with fans, taking selfies and conducting audience reactions. This is from Ajah to Abuja, from Palms in Lekki to Palms in Ibadan and from Cedi Plaza in Abuja to Filmhouse in Surulere. Turning up without warning and making cinema goer's day.

It's Director, Izu Ojukwu, famously described as the "Steven Spielberg" of Nigerian cinema is notorious for being a lot more comfortable behind the camera. But even he was on tour and had this to say for his film. "I have done my part. Now it’s time for audiences to do theirs and assess if we did our part well. Initial responses are encouraging I must say. Going on tour has helped me see where next I should take my art of filmmaking.

When quizzed on the next steps, the Executive Producer of the movie, Tonye T.J.T Princewill said that "having been recognised by Hollywood, Toronto and London, we thought that being recognised back home may be asking too much. But what we are seeing here is simply mind blowing. Selling out shows is one thing but selling them out when they are overlapping, I have never seen done before. There is no place like home. None.

Put on top of that, the fact that 76 just won four awards for best Script, best Actor, best Director and best overall Film at the recent African Film Festival and you could not have asked for more. Commercial and artistic success is hard to achieve together. Usually you will do well to achieve either. We will continue to tour the country to engage with the fans and surprise Nigerians at their local cinemas through the holidays and into the new year.

Next stop we head to Kano, Owerri, Benin, Asaba, Warri and my beloved PH. We have already made our money back with our Hollywood deal, but the best reward for us is a chance to see Nigerian eyes light up when they feel the impact of 76.”

Many fans emerged from the screenings with overwhelming excitement. One of the fans flew in from Accra just to watch the film, another drove from Ibadan to come and watch it only to find out it was also showing in all the 3 cinemas there. 76 is showing now all over Nigeria. Click on the video below to capture some of the audience reactions and see pictures of the tour

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2-RAAjEkXK8&feature=em-share_video_user

21 comments:

1. All I see is Ramsey's sexy smile. Nothing else to see.

2. This movie is the all n all. Best I've seen in weeks. Saw it last Saturday when i left the mainland market.

3. Lovely pictures.

Reedee always bailing🙌🙌🙌🙌

4. This Daniel too fine abeg wetin be this naa man just Sexy like this?

5. Fantastically done is the least to describe the movie.
    Movies on my list in 2016
    '76
    Dinner
    Arbitration

6. hahahaha one man's meat is another man's poison. Goodluck to them.

I dont know the year i went to a cinema. Chai

7. The movie will be interesting.

God Bless Everyone.

8. Yes I have watched 76 and yes I enjoyed it, weldone to my Riri and Ramsey and also the crew

9. Ramsey Nouah,After you na you biko.Show them how it's done.

10. I hv seen d movie.yes I enjoyed it.Btw Ramsey Noah is fresh omg.He was friendly though cos we had a lil chat since he was @d counter selling d tickets. Such a nice and hot looking guy.

11. I haven't watched it so I can't comment on the movie

12. The movie was just wow.loved it so much.was glued to my seat from the beginning to the end.its a must watch.Everyone should see it

13. Oh yes, the movie deserves the awards ,if na only the costume alone sef.baddest !!! And again Ramsey is a fantastic actor ,even his walking step looked like that of a soldier in the movie .mercy Johnson would have done riri's part better but then it was all good . The movie is the best of nollywood .Emotional,suspense filled and history related . content is 100percent .

1. Rita Dominic is a very talented versatile actress and she was phenomenal in dat role. Remove hate from your eye make you see well. Shior!

14. Queen Ree Dee! Tuale for you!👑