Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: My Divorce Story -2

Friday, January 13, 2017

My Divorce Story -2

What!!!!

Greetings SDK. 

May God reward you for this blog you use in touching lives positively. You see Stella, If the internet had been accessible like it is now, maybe I would not end up like this. My divorce story is long but I will try and summarize it and I hope bvs will bear with me.

I am a 31 year old woman, I grew up with my parents and younger sister. My family was not well to do but we managed to feed and attend government schools.

In my final class in secondary school, my mum fell sick and died. Dad did not re-marry but I did not go further after that because he was a casual worker in a manufacturing company and diabetic, mum was the one supporting. Even my sister went to learn tailoring after secondary. I started working as sales girl in a fashion store to support the home because dad had to buy his drugs. That is where I met my ex husband, he was the younger brother of the owner of the store, he was a businessman.

He started buying food for me in the afternoon. Giving me money, gifts and caring for me. To cut long story short, we dated for six months. His people came to do the traditional marriage and I became his wife. His elder sister who owned the store first objected the marriage but he convinced her because I was a virgin at 22 despite my poor background.

I was determined to make the marriage work because he was our helper, he opened a tailor shop for my sister and renovated our house. I also started a part time programme in Polytechnic.

I could not get pregnant immediately and trouble started. His sister said he should make me stop school that it is because of school stress that I could not conceive. I dropped out of school. 

This man started maltreating me, he will beat me at the slightest provocation, in the morning, he will sleep with me without any romance, most times forcefully and leave for shop, lock me inside and take the key, when he come back he will sleep with me again after getting drunk. I was not allowed to go anywhere not even church, we only went out together if his friend/relative was doing any ceremony.

He will buy anything we need at home when coming back from shop. No money of my own and I was not working, he and his people said I need to rest and get pregnant. I was carrying low-cut hair, no money to make hair or even buy cream. My father could not do anything as he was weak and sick.

With prayers, I later got pregnant after two years and gave birth to a boy, then my dad died after some months. Two years, after I gave birth to a girl. After my dad died, I saw hell. This man will go away for days or weeks, without any trace, he gave me different infections and if I confront him, beating.

He got that black and big high tension wire for beating me and the small wire for beating the kids. 

I was always beaten like a thief.

If I commit an offence like allowing the soup to spoil or miss his call, he will tie me up and put pepper in my private part. 

He would bring women home and sleep with them in the master bedroom where we both sleep. I and the kids will stay in the guest room and not come outside, if I do, he will chase me inside with beating. 

It was 7 yrs of marriage then. I was tired but I had no where to run to. My sister who was also married was struggling with her own too. Her tailoring shop was gone and the husband was giving her problems. Uncles and aunties were always telling me to go back to my husband's house and endure. And also remind me that I don't have parents again. His family too was not helpful.

His mum was old and his dad late, his elder sister was the one controlling the family and she didn't like me. She was even putting fire.
What broke the camel's back was when one of his mistresses who was threatening me went to do juju for me. I fell sick, I was hospitalised for 5weeks, the doctors did not see anything.

My ex husband bundled me and my children and went and dropped us in a church. I was there for six months before I regained my health, my sister was coming to see me there and she told me that my ex called her and told her to warn me not to come back to the house because he has married another wife and she was even pregnant.

My people, I stupidly went back there to see for myself after I was strong and I got the beating of my life. My remaining things were already outside at a corner outside of the house.

Now it is 11months since I packed my remaining loads from that outside and the bride price returned to him, I am still struggling to survive with my two children as he doesn't want to have anything to do with them, squatting with my sister whose husband has already given me ultimatum to move out.

Where I will go from here, I don't know. I pray I find the strength to pull through and testify like that woman of yesterday's Divorce story who has four children. I know since I did not die in that man's house, I am destined to live long. I pray I do for my kids.

Lessons learnt:
1: when you notice the first sign of domestic abuse, correct it or leave the relationship. I noticed he was controlling me when we were dating, but I didn't mind.
2: if your husband says you should not work, don't agree, be doing something secretly like online business. If I was working or have any savings, I would have left long ago.
3 parents should let their girls to learn a skill and set up or get a degree and be working before marriage. It is not easy, but they can try.

Thanks for reading.

I learnt one thing here and that never to marry off your child without making sure they are properly educated and can fend for themselves but that isnt even easy with the way Nigeria is structured now......and then what if the man insists that he does not want a working wife?

Meeen it is not easy.I pray God gives you strength to stand strong for your kids.

God bless you!

136 comments:

1. Actresses are coming out to blast Tonto,so she actually called Purity a witch and Mercy a bastard,OMG!.

2. Lolo kee kwanu?

3. this is really traumatic, God will see you through woman.

4. Geez i just wish i could be of help but it's all good. God will wipe your tears

5. U forgot to add that if the family doesn't like u, u should run.

Poster, we r so sorry. May God give u strength to take care of your kids?

6. I wouldn't have believed if not DAT a very similar thing is happening to my neighbour the only diff is that the man is leaving the house for the lady latest this week cos she paid 80k while he paid 40k, he does nothing for her only beating if not for the fish she and her younger sis sell in the market ehn!

2. jeees....so men get mean and wicked heart o....to treat your wife so mean and harsh..

1. Wow! I feel for you my dear. Life can't be easy for you at the moment. My biggest regret about being married is not getting a job before marriage.
      Infact I married in school. I wish I was advised before hand. Now I desperately need a job but non is forthcoming. God help jobless house wives.

1. How can a man be that wicked that he even has cane for his wife and his kids, how can a man even be wicked to his own kids... Nawa all women should learn to shine their eyes never be a mumu in relationships

4. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. Young girl...thats not the way to go...

2. Hhmmmnnn,madam. No this stories ain't fabricated. If I had the courage to post my story like these beautiful women,you will tag me a LIAR!!!! We live by the grace of God. Poster,the Lord is your strength. Stella,you are a blessed woman

3. You must be a fool........block head.

4. stop being stupid

5. If you have nothing positive to say, just keep quiet

6. I know you want to be noticed badly. first, you used bonarios name coz he's popular, secondly you drop nonsense comments.
      omalicha, pretty, fine girl, ugoveen nwa we've noticed you, oya run along, this segment is not for kids, concentrate on your studies.

7. It just maybe true

8. It just maybe true.

9. Hmm. Fabricated story Kwa....inasmuch the opinion is urs, there are some things that can't be overlooked...watch it naima

10. I'm sure something is wrong with you , It's so obvious in your comments..You re going nuts but you don't know yet

11. So it is true that u want to be popular bonario, you are the anon abi? you chose negativity from all the options given to you. I wish u well o.

12. @bonario nnags wife, not everyone lie pls. And don't make mockery of people's stories. U would be causing more depression for them when they are trying to heal from their pains by telling their stories.

Poster, I pray u find a man that will love and cherish u and ur kids.

5. This is the saddest thing I have seen all day..

Thank God you found strength and didn't go back. I agree with you on learning a skill or two before getting married. Thank you for this story.

1. We keep learning everyday, hmmm it's well. Thanks for sharing your story with us, I learnt alot from this. I pray God gives you reasons to smile soonest.

6. where this divorce chronicles will end Stella will not like it.. is this a form of by begging?

1. @anon 12:14 plz go back to the story and tell me where the poster begged.

2. Anon 12:14 i thought thesame too...some jobless ppl might create sob stories and beg subtly. Just be careful SDK

7. Nawa, I often wonder what will make a man that was saying I love you and even begging you to marry him will just turn to a monster when the marriage begins.
    Madam maybe you can go to that Aunty Landa or what do they call her on inspiration FM,Lagos. She has a foundation that deals with such issues, train you for free in vocational studies and help you to start whatever business.
    People should stop marrying just any man that comes to say I love u, I want to marry you. Just because he has small change.
    IT IS WELL.

1. Yeah or she can join hearts of giving on facebook

2. The deep rooted problem is marry marry marry. People marry because whatever. No one wants to understand that marriage is deep. You exchange "I love yous" go to shoprite and hang out at bars and you think it's time to marry. You don't have a job, no ambition, No interests. A colleague told me once, love is not enough. People change. Circumstances change. Prepare yourself. Be financially capable. Have kids you can manage. Be in control of your life. Choose yourself in all this evil circumstances, not your husband. Once you choose yourself, You have chosen for your kids. Choose to be alive.

8. Replies
    1. This is sad. I'm really learning from these stories. So far from the two I've read,poverty kind of pushed them into the marriage.

9. It's well o. That man will reap the fruit of his acts.

10. Hmnnn...let me judge this on your account. Should a rejoinder come in, I will judge again based on that account.

So here goes...

I don't see how anything is your fault.
    You did everything you did in that marriage including quitting your job out of love, respect and gratitude. Afterall, He was there for you and your family before you both tied the knot. Unfortunately he changed when the pressure of a child came.

Though, I can safely say he must have hidden some traits from you initially during your courting days.

Just be hopeful. Dust yourself up and live for yourself and your kids.

Try to get a job no matter how menial. There is light at the end of the tunnel; hopefully it ain't gonna be a train this time around as you've been hit by the previous (your husband or rather ex(?)).
    And remember, be prayerful especially since there's a diabolic woman in the picture already.

All the best.

11. I am sorry if I am not supposed to post this here... But I have to create awareness before pple falls victim.. It is real...it happens to me 2 hours ago.
    Beware of this kind of scam Nigerians are using to take advantage of people, i received a call from one Engineer Samuel who claimed that he is working with Etisalat before he got transferred, he said knew me that he came for my sister's court wedding which I knew I wasn't around then before I could say jack, he had mentioned my name, my sister's name and her hubby's name. So i knew something was wrong, so i played along and eventually he said he had relocated to bayelsa but needed someone in lagos to buy products from a particular company. Immediately he gave me all the below details, he said if I am interested I should call him back, so I decided to turn a detective on this matter.
    Lo and behold, I searched for the company's name online and I was directed to nairaland. That was where I found that many people has fallen victim to this scam.

details:

Item: indicator power booster,
    Model: - s en
    Serial number: 1.8
    company name: Suntex Engineering Company, Ipaja, ayobo
    store keepers name: elder Francis oga
    Phone no: 09053553134
    his own phone no: 07040823874

He said i would deliver it and when the profit comes i would get 40% while the remaining 60% is his. PLEASE THIS IS A SCAM and it all happened 2 hours ago

1. Got a similar call sometime last year, na ojukokoro smbdy go fall fr ds kain scam,unless black magic is involved

2. These scammers are everywhere and one should be careful.
      Back to the matter- our young girl(s) should always insist on doing something before getting married when the right suitor comes. As time changes, some guys change too.
      Do not get married just because you want to run away from sufferings. Struggle to get a business at hand before marriage.

3. You were directed to nairaland where you found other victims who have fallen for the scam.

You are still asking if it's a scam. No it is not a scam, it's a macs, ode.

4. This particular people called me too but am too smart for this. What baffles me is how they know my past because they described my family and even called my name in full.

5. I got the call mid December but I try small collect recharge card 200h from the idiot

12. This section may soon turn to beggy beggy section o. Madam im happy for u that u r out of that sham of a marriage. Complete ur divorce and may God help u to stand on ur two feet soon.

13. Quite a touching story. I can't believe that a man will put pepper in his wife private but it's obvious that some harden criminals in d name of husband do it as reflected from dis story and d other. May God help ur situation madam.

14. Na wah. Some stories look unreal and an opportunity to beg.Just saying

15. Nna ehh! Men dey for this world o. God have mercy on us.

Krix signing out via iPhone 7+

1. IPhone 7+ now? Bros abeg dash ur iPhone naa!! Please

16. hmmmmmm very painful reading. This kind divorce stories is just making someone head to spin. May God Almighty comfort you all who are passing through this ish.

17. The issue is, why will a man not allow his wife to work.. If u dont want her to work then open up a shop for her with goods worth of thpusands of naira.

Cuz u should always remember that tinz can fall apert one day and she might be the one to help.

Back to the main issue,

Am really sad now.. God will be with u woman. But there is nothing like i love him when u notice domestic violence in embryo. There is notin he is my helper and he has bin good to wen u notice he is a dog n can bite u anytime.

As for the ladiesalways have sometin doi g secretly even if he says u shouldnt work. As for the guys to become a father in advance, learn to love ur wife, respect her, adore her, treat her like ir mother, ur sister, ur helper n no ur slave.

If u truly love ur mother n treat her like a queen then u wipl respect n love ur wife too..

God, am begin u in advance, i dont eva want to beat my wife, teeat her like a slave but need u Lors to give me all i need to treat her like a queen.

Mc pinky

18. It shall be well. You'll see.

19. Chai nawaoo
    God will help you to pull through with your kids

20. This is a sad story,am so sorry about what you went through in your marriage, Madam, nothing good comes easy, you have children and you have to fend for them, start doing something no matter how small just so you can be able to put food on the table for those innocent children, if you were able to endure all that abuse for seven years, then am sure you can endure any hardship, Oh yes it won't be easy but you must make an effort, trust me things will definitely get better albeit how long it takes, God bless u and good luck.

21. what did i just read?
    what is the world turning into?
    i don't even know what to say.
    Lord have mercy please

empressitta

22. People are going through hell all in the name of marriage! Thank God for your life, a living dog is better than a dead lion... I pray you are able to pull through for yourself and your children

23. Mary (most highly favored lady)13 January 2017 at 12:38

may God see you through these trying times. Hold on to Him.

24. alot of the recurring statements i see with divorce or dv cases is that they stay and continue until the man throws them out then they cry wolf.
    I am sorry this happened to you woman but you would have known at some point that this man wasnt going to change.
    Women, learn to love yourselves because if you dont love and value yourself NO ONE will.
    also learn to have a fall back position either income/job/skill if shit hits the fan.

Look at tonto, after making fun of working married women, with what has happened i am sure she will soon start appearing on tv screens again bcos her cashcow is gone

25. Nne, no looking back, it's forward ever. Pack your tears and be strong. Get a business doing like selling food, it's lucrative. Start small and see yourself grow in leaps.
    I see you making it big time, don't worry, your husband will come back and beg you but my advise, focus on your children and give them the very best. After all, there is no marriage in heaven. No be by force and he certainly is not your God.

26. Madam I wept reading your story. May God send help to you. I have heard from a church member where a husband gave his wife sour soup to eat and treat her like a slave, so I don't doubt you. Some men treat their wives like slaves. We mothers need to pray to God on behalf of our children that they should choose well. It is well with you and your children and I pray you look back in years to come and give praises to God.

27. IT IS WELL WITH YOU POSTER, GOD WILL STRENGTHEN YOU AND SEND HELP TO YOU.

28. But men that treat women like this, are they usually high on something or what? Do they do it with clear eyes? If the woman committed an offence you cannot forgive, send her packing instead of keeping her and treating her like trash. It shall end in praise poster.

29. But men that treat women like this, are they usually high on something or what? Do they do it with clear eyes? If the woman committed an offence you cannot forgive, send her packing instead of keeping her and treating her like trash. It shall end in praise poster.

1. They treat women like that because she lets them. If a woman learns to say no to such treatment at the first sign of it, then the man will be careful. How do you say "No"? Stop listening to stories like Go back to your husband etc..Its never going to stop. Be bold. Be strong.Set your boundaries. Some men do not respect women who do not bring anything to the table. So a woman needs to be self sufficient

30. Hmmmm..it's well alot of women are going through lots and pls don't tag people beggars ..stories are told so we all learn from it .if you can help why not If you can't atleast pray for them ....proverb/you don't know the pains of child labour till you experience one

31. Those that are saying it is a lie, if all married wome come out and say their own, you will open your mouth and not close it again. Women are suffering and smiling. Imagine keeping wire for flogging wife and putting pepper in vaginal.

32. Hmmnnn...some marriages simply make me wanna puke! Further hope this divorce story segment will not gradually turn to "beggy beggy" segment. It's snowballing already.

*Miss Tee...that's not a problem just ask him to pay money into your bank account to help him purchase the goods...shey be he wants someone to help him buy the goods.

Next time just tell the person to pay into your account. Bastard 419ers!!!

1. Don't bring your negativity here pls! There's nothing wrong with helping pple in need and I'm sure Stella is wise enough to know how to filter what she will post and not post whatever seems and looks suspicious

33. Point number one caught my attention. If u notice any sign at all,either u tame it or just walk away. I treated my dh f up cos he was trying to be controlling. Left him for 4good months and after that incident, i gained my respect from him. Some ladies need to show their other side at times. Don't just be a mugu to any man. Let him know u can do without him,don't make him see himself as an helper to you. Don't let him feel he did u a favour marrying u.

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. My style exactly. Don't ever make a man believe that he's your ALL. I always tell them that it's not a do-or-die relationship. I can be VERY patient in a relationship but I also leave as fast as lighting when I'm being taken for granted, I don't care about your status in society or your wealth. That's why it's always good to depend on no one but God and yourself.

34. I am battling with depression.i need help please😢😥😢💔

1. @ xoxoxo-Talk to a trusted friend or see a counselllor ...

2. What us the matter? Go to anyone who u know will listen to u and ask for help Befr it is too late. Depression kills o

35. I want God to lead me to the right path...Am 23 and considering divorce.... All my family ar supportive but am not financially buoyant... Am want to register for WEAC now ...Lord I need u

1. Its not too late to register, dont wait another second to empower your life. Make hay while d sun shine. Stop the excuses, goodluck to you.

2. Huh? *clears my eyes
      23 considering divorce? When did you get married? What happened?

Poster, It's for a short while, things will get better.

3. @great lady, pple like u are the reason why pple stay and die in abusive marriages. This young girl just told u she is considering divorce and her whole family is supportive, does that not show u that she's going through extreme physical and emotional abuse for her family to even be supportive. Why are u telling her it's for a short while and things will get better. An abusive spouse never gets better. It will only get worse until they kill u.
      @pretty dimple, do what is best for u. Get out of the situation now that u are young so that u can start afresh. U are too young for such

36. I really feel for this poster. If her parents were able to train her to the university level at least, nothing would have made her fall for this shop owner.

Wives should always have a source of income. Sometimes I get tired of waking up early to go to work but when I think of the alternative, I just stay put and enjoy my small salary while applying for better jobs. The other day, I went to shop for underwear and makeup, prices had doubled. I wasn't happy at all but I was still able to maintain the quality of the brands I liked. And that was because I had a job.

Imagine if I had to beg Hubby for money for these personal items. Before you know it, insults would come.

May God continue to provide for working wives. E no easy

37. Why is your English so clean?

1. mumu...why is your brain so watery?

2. Chai world people!
      If she writes bad English they will say she wants to gain pity. Now she writes good English wahala. Let me tell you, most of my mates in secondary school back then used to correct teachers when they write notes on the board. This poster finished and even entered higher institution.

38. Why is your English so clean?

39. Why is your English so clean?

1. Because if u go to a good secondary school, and form the habit of reading books, u will learn good grammar. English is not learnt in the university, unless u take it as course of study. That is why some graduates cant write good grammar, cos the foundation is faulty.

2. Even if you still take it as a course of study they wount still teach you the basics,university has nothing to do with with speaking good English and writing it...u learn all that in nursery,primary and secondary (1-3)

3. As at when I was done with secondary school, my English was already almost as fluent as it is now. Your ability to speak English stems from ur foundation I.e primary and secondary school. If u attend a good primary school, ur English for life is good to go

40. Lord have mercy!!!!
    Thank God you're alive to tell your story....

41. The good Lord will see your through and send help your way. It is well

42. Men should send in their own stories!
    Of course 85% of most divorces are cause by men.

43. Poster, how about your father's house that was renovated? Can't you live there? For the time being?

44. It's well. Divorce stories are always sad.
    Poster, the Lord will be your strength, thank God you read that woman's story yesterday and saw how she survived, no matter how bad the situation gets, always remind yourself that if that woman can scale through with four kids, you can.

With regards to working and refusing to be a house wife. It's not totally the fault of the women who find themselves in that situation. Some of them can't help it, advice always sound easy when you are not the person in the mess.
    My Aunt was working before she got married but after the wedding proper,her husband refused that she should work, his reason was that he's too big for his wife to answer anybody 'Sir' in the office. Since he was only a politician and has no company of his own, my aunt became a house wife, my grandma cried of how she sold her wrappers to send her to the university only for this man to toss the certificate, but the man said he will be paying both the wife and mother monthly allowances, she should stay home and take care of his home.
    it wasn't easy for my Aunt cause she wanted to build a career but at a time it was causing trouble and family started advising her to agree, cause you see when a woman try to fight for her own, they will say she's not being submissive to the man.
    Some of them it's even when they know you are independent and ambitious that they want to suppress you and strip you of all you can boast of.
    Honestly this thing called marriage ehhhh, you can never be too careful. It's just trying your best and praying to God to take control.

45. Men too come out with ur own part of ur story o.it is not only women dat suffer in marriages.Some women are Devil.

1. Yep they should come with their stories, but just remember it most likely will be a tall tale.

46. Poster, so sorry for your ordeal! Don't worry, God will send helpers your way.

May I advise, you look for any Catholic church around you, go ask for help there.
    There are different organizations/groups/societies thatrenders help.
    One group am so sure of (because I was a member), is Saint Vincent De Paul.
    May you find the help you need.

1. yes st Vincent De Paul helps in this kind of cases. i dont think i would be reading this divorce stories. God knows o dont have the stomach for it

47. God! Things they happen!
    Thank God you left that bastard, may God see you through

Long live SDK

48. Lady T/ am worth more than a thousand dollars13 January 2017 at 15:00

The thing with this divorce is that it comes with a spirit of devastation. More so for ladies/ men who are not financially independent. It leaves In. Its wake a devastation that it takes both partners sometime to readjust. Its just the way it is. There are difficulties that are associated with this especially if young children are involved. If only it was avoidable. There are a lot of issues in life that does not prepare one enough for the outcome of tomorrow. May God help you Lady as you try to pick the pieces of your life. May God raise helpers for you until you can stand on your feet. I believe that the poster of yesterday had her on share of lack. But with divorce this is unavoidable.

49. I'm a guy o, but I tell my female friends..Don't ever think you can change a man, a man that has had a bad habit for maybe 29 years, how do you think you can change him in a year...In essence, the first time you see a sign....RUN!!!!!

50. #Be sure to taste your words before you spit them out*

51. Marriage of nowadays is scary

52. Poster where are you presently? Please respond

53. This woman need Santa in her life ASAP to fend for herself and her kids. Biko, help.

54. Dear poster, the lord is your strength.

55. That ex of yours is from the pit of hell, how do humans become so so wicked. Mehn!!!

56. I fear marriage of these, my question is how will u know a man that will take care of u ,I tire oh ...miss hottie

57. I fear marriage of these days my question is how will u know a man that will take care of u ,I tire oh ...miss hottie

58. Dear Poster, all will be well in Jesus name. Amen. Your story took me back to a time I never ever want to remember. I and my children went through hell and back, but we survived. You will too. Help will come soon, just hold on. Just like you, I was orphaned at a very young age and got married when I was in Uni. I suffered so much because I did not have any parents or family to stand up for me. I will send in my story one day.

59. Dear Poster, all will be well in Jesus name. Amen. Your story took me back to a time I never ever want to remember. I and my children went through hell and back, but we survived. You will too. Help will come soon, just hold on. Just like you, I was orphaned at a very young age and got married when I was in Uni. I suffered so much because I did not have any parents or family to stand up for me. I will send in my story one day.

60. it takes two to have a bad marriage. There is the law of cause and effect. It's the little things like low self esteem, desperation, greed, that undermine relationships. Women always blame men but never address what they contribute to the breakdown. Bcos men don't talk about their own sufferings in the hand of women does not make them less of victims. Marriage is not a trophy. Marriage is the coming together of two friends who have the similar values, similar vision, goals and heading to the same destination. People should wake up and change their mentality!

1. Lie! Lie! Nigerian men are selfish biko, but I believe that will change very soon as women are getting more and more enlightened. They will see that if they do not compromise they will be very lonely in their old age.

61. STELLA PLEASE IS THERE A WAY YOU CAN VERIFY THIS???

62. IF THIS IS TRUE, I'LL HELP

63. I got pregnant for my boyfriend following the series of why he have not come out to marry me is that I have never told him that I missed my period. I talk to a few friends whom I yield to their adives and I stop taking drugs and I got pregnant, just for me to tell my hopeful habby to b that I'm pregnant for him and I was expecting the good news of marriage rather what I got from him was that he is not the father of my baby that I have been sleeping with different men while he was away. In fact to cut story short I have aborted the baby and I moved on with my life . single ladies pls b careful before saying yes

64. Hmmmm, my own story is still unraveling, not ripe enough to be told. But I know it will surely end in praises.

65. Poster is well
    For pple thinking that she is lying I sorry for una men can be wicked esp when they don't have respect for you . I don't mind getting married 3times provided am happy cos I can't tie my umbilical cord to any man's penis biko.