Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos At 50 Recognises Maryam Elisha

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Lagos At 50 Recognises Maryam Elisha

As Lagos State celebrates its 50th anniversary, more people are being recognised for their contribution to various sectors of the Lagos economy and one of them is Maryam Elisha, CEO of Rikaoto by ME, top designer of red carpet and pageant dresses and serial entrepreneur.

Since becoming a fashion designer shortly after her reign as Miss Valentine, the Rikaoto by ME brand has clothed lots of celebrities and beauty pageant contestants, helping to promote the patronage of made in Nigeria brands.

The ex-model who wasn’t expecting such recognition from the Lagos State Government, was indeed shocked. “I had no idea I was even being considered,” she said. “When I saw it on the Third Mainland Bridge, I had to look twice to be sure it was me.”

It isn’t the first time Miss Elisha would be associated with the Lagos state government. Under the Fashola administration, she was named an Environmental Ambassador during the campaign for people living with HIV, AIDS.

“I feel very honoured to be recognised by the Lagos State Government, especially seeing my face among those top personalities who I always look up to. It definitely shows how Lagos truly is a land for all irrespective of whether you are super big or upcoming.”

The designer who was named Best Designer of the Year, 2016 by Qhue Concepts, believes she wouldn’t have achieved ten percent of all she has achieved so far, if she hadn’t been in Lagos.
“Of course being in Lagos contributed to getting me to where I am today,” she said. “Though I am from Kebbi state, it is Lagos that has paved the way for my businesses. There are lots of business opportunities here and when it comes to entertainment, Lagos is just the place to be.”

Miss Elisha also runs an NGO ‘Save Tomorrow Today’, which has been involved in mentoring and sponsoring street children to school here in Lagos State since 2006.

Lagos State was created on May 27th, 1967 by the General Yakubu Gowon’s government.

10 comments:

1. Nice one

Na me and sound city today. #unlimited videos #collision

Do you know where I enjoy or what I like my about BALLERZ is the beginning part where they said "Maleek Berry " I always wish I can rewind there. ..lol

1. Stella, so this adverts inbtw comments is here to stay?

2. #You're one mindset shift away from living the life you want. Shift your thoughts from lack and limitations and watch the blessings come in*

3. And Lagos didn't deem it fit to recognise Dr. Stella Adadevoh? The lady u paid wit her life to save Nigeria??? Hmmm Lagos at 50 indeed. mtchew

4. Well done Maryam you deserve it God bless you more

5. Well done Maryam you deserve it God bless you more

6. OK I remember she is the designer whose G wagon exploded on eko bridge 2 months ago due to petrol leak in the engine
    well kudos to her after almost losing her life

7. I heard about the car make them go check data Base to see who owns it maybe na former gov nor fashola since she has worked foe him both officially and unofficially .. Anyway congrats government pikin