Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Abuja School Shut Down Over Shocking Bullying Viral Video + How Student Was Slapped Multiple Times

Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Abuja School Shut Down Over Shocking Bullying Viral Video + How Student Was Slapped Multiple Times

Lead British International School Abuja, which has been in the eye of the storm over viral videos of bullying involving some of its students, has been shut for three days. The shutdown order was issued on Tuesday by the Minister of Women Affairs, Uju Kennedy-Ohaneye.

In one of the videos, the victim, was captured being slapped continuously by several hands while she was asked...
"Who Is the boy? What is the boy's name? Who broke my heart?".
In the second video, the victim was seen seated next to a male classmate, who was heard saying:
"I spoilt her relationship", while she interrogated and slapped continuously ....

The whole event took a dramatic turn the next day being Tuesday as a parent was seen landing a hot slap on the face of the student who allegedly carried out the Bullying,after she arrived in the school premises, accompained by some group of parents who had emerged to resolve the situation.
The bully appeared to mutter some inaudible word and the enraged parent responded with a slap before another parent moved in to douse the situation.meanwhile the student who was slapped went down on her knees.

The management of the school confirmed the incident at a press briefing attended by parents in the school premises on Tuesday.
They also confirmed that they had reached out to the families of both the perpetrator and the victim and offerred them the right counselling and disciplinary measures as appropriate.

39 comments:

1. There another video of a male student being bullied in the same school.

2. How do u shut down a whole school because of bullying? Are there no guidelines for how to deal with things like this. The culprits should be fished out and punished accordingly. This will send a serious warning to the rest of the students and most people will start treading more carefully. But shutting down the entire school that will affect the entire students, both the innocent and the guilty is what I don’t understand

1. I believe it's to douse the tension and prevent the issue from escalating.

2. I agree with you.

3. I think it was done because students came out to say teachers were incentivized to look the other way.

My own is there was another girl in that video. Why isn’t she being dragged like this one. The other children who laughed and cheered while it was happening should also be paraded. Let them know that supporting wickedness has its consequences.

4. Eka, it's for 3 days.

People were trooping to the school and it was becoming chaotic.

5. All of them na spoilt kids being funded from stolen public wealth of Nigeria. I know the owner of the school. He is in the House of Reps - one of the longest serving and biggest thieves in NASS and Nigeria - been in the House of Reps since 1999. He-is the eternal Chairman House Committee on Appropriation and other "Special" Adhoc Committees- the NASS treasurer and chief harasser of govt agencies for money.

6. NK, you are an experienced and well trained teacher as well as a potentially excellent school administrator. Not that one that is always straight-jacketed and aggressive in her thoughts and attitude. See sensible narration!

3. The bullying was just too much on that poor girl. These rich kids can very mean o.

1. Being mean is not an exclusive right of the rich my dear.
      I went to a federal government girls school that had mostly children from below average to average parents at most, and there were students much more worse than this in my school.
      I remember not being able to report one of such continuous bullying by my senior Bunkie to my guardian for fear of being punished by her in proxy (her friends would have done the indirect punishment).
      Woo, e plenty, it was the absolute ghetto.

2. Nigeria is country full of bullies! They pick on people; who they assume are weak! Then they find themselves in serious trouble; when they discover; that who they thought was weak, was actually a silent warrior minding their business!!!

3. Dainty T - you for tell your parent na.
      I have lost count the number of times I have followed my siblings to go beat up bullies in her school after I disfigured the face of the one that thought she could bully me.
      The mark is still on her face 20 years later - any time she looks at that mark - she remembers me.

4. Very disturbing video. She apologised yesterday.

5. Big man school, big man wahala. O chim o...

1. Gwarimpa is not a big man area - the school is just there.

2. Really? Gwarinpa is not a big man area?

3. Gwarinpa is not even in the top 5, so NO it is not a big man area. It is for the middle class.

6. This Bullying happens more in " Expensive Paying Schools",I had my own fair share of Reporting my 1st Daughter's Classmates to the School Authority For Bullying.
    God!!! She hated Primary School and Dropping her every Morning was Torture 4 both of Us
    Then we paid for Ballet classes / STEM Sciences Classes for Her, Nobody told Us,We borrowed brain and Put her and her Siblings for Taewando classes,
    Who pink Tutu help???
    Now my Kids can stand up for themselves.
    Except its Necessary i hardly report to the Management,and i Sleep well at Night.

7. We won't leave here if people start unboxing the level of bullying that went on during their secondary school days.
    One thing I know is, this has to stop, there has to be a way around it, schools should stop being lenient with bullies, once a bully is caught, they should be expelled straight.

1. Bullying now starts from Primary Schools, it Amazes me when Parents pretends not to notice Bullying traits in Thier children.
      Putting my Children in Taewando class,Has helped us all.
      God plssss

2. Marie, you're right. My nephew complained about a particular biy taking his pencil during lunch break, and "teasing" him. Said the boy hut him once. I asked if he told his teacher, he said yes, but the teacher said the other boy was just playing. Really. Ok. I told him the next time the boy hits him, he should hit him back.

8. That's what you see mostly in expensive schools
    Big man/rich man schools is full of wahala.
    She apologised yesterday,I hope she learns and stop bullying no gain in it.
    Na wah ooo

9. The slaps were a lot, and that girl is calm, cos what! God knows I will slap you back. She apologized, and didn't sound remorseful. People are condemning the woman that slapped her. I applaud her.

10. I was bullied in school by both genders and I bullied them back. In fact I got into fights because of it. I slapped our headgirl because of it sef

11. Teachers has a lot to do in school I swear . At the same time, parents also needs to help in joining hands in making things right in the life of their children. They should stop leaving everything to the teachers. They are not God abeg.

The bullies should be severely dealt with and sent away from that school

12. That's how they grow up to become cultist and what not. Mannerless things.
    The video was so disturbing I couldn't finish watching thinking something worse happened....

13. Say no to bullying, who is to blame here is it the parents of the girl or the girl is just been very wicked on her own? Which ever if that child were to be my child I will not lay my hands of that girl me and her parents will finish the fight.

14. All my children will learn how to defend themselves incase of this kind of situation,that video that I watched was not nice at all they really gave her to much hot slaps on her face..well the school should just make sure they resolve the matter well..

15. This one was caught on camera. Big school aside, go to boarding houses of average schools and see worst treatments that happen there which wasn't caught on camera. Most of the damaged adults we have today in society were bullied in school and introduced into a lot of rubbish lifestyle that's manifesting in their adult life.

You see that girl that was bullied in that video, her silence shock me. Was she guilty? was she afraid? Why didn't she fight back or say something. It was really sad to watch. As for the bully, hmmm. The parent need to do so much work on her.

16. Her apology is not just enough. She and her accomplices should be expelled.

Who has watched "cold as Ice" a Nollywood movie. You will see what bullying turned the lead actor into even after leaving school.

17. The school authority should made a law and punishment for any students caught bullying.

18. Bulling is an evil that exists in secondary schools especially. My son went to a FGC in Abuja. He was bullied so badly that I went to school to fight the stupid seniors! Is it the seniors in SS3 that collect the provisions and beverages of the junior ones?Or it the fact that the teachers and silent and look away when it is happening? My son was made to wash bedsheets and clothes of a particular senior student with his soap. My son was more afraid of what they would do to him in School when I drop him off at school. My son favorite football club is Manchester United I bought a pillow case with MU logo with bedsheets while my son was sleeping at night the lifted him off the bed and placed him on the floor and stole the bedsheets and pillow case with his mattress he woke up on the bare floor! Or is it the one that they went to the dining hall for breakfast of akara and akamu the dining perfect poured hot akamu on my son because they were pushing him from behind. The incidents are many I had to remove before they kill him for me. When I gist with my son and we go down memory lane we just laugh about it but it is not funny!

1. Haa, you are a strong woman oh.
      Parent's train your children.
      I have a hot temper.
      If your child touches my child, that will be the worst mistake of his / her life.
      I will deal with the situation spiritually - that child will become a weakling
      I will tied your child, put the spirit in a bottle and dump in the middle of the forest or ocean.
      Parent train you children, a word is enough for the wise.

2. Nah, this made me very angry!! I will fight everybody in that school and burn it! What rubbish!
      That's how most kids in warri are bullies o, when we went for my mum's burial. Everybody was just beating my son left and right. Ph here, na ajebo kids na. Andre come be ajebo. In my mind... "I don fuck up! Na my pikin dem de use shine?"
      I will be teaching Andre to fight back, that one go dey cry anyhow! Ah God!🤦🤦

Months later, warri gang came to spend this holiday here in ph. They didn't know Andre has changed. Me sef shock. Slap Andre one, he'll give you 10😂. Their mums now be like "mummy Andre, ah! Andre come dey like fight o. Andre it's enough!"😂
      Me too be like "Andre common stop that!!"... Very weakly😂
      Make I hear say I nor dey proud of my son. Dem wan kill my pikin for me. I'm just glad that the whole bullying then made him start standing up for himself

3. Fidel it can never be my daughter oh, that girl hold her own for strength mehn, bully her ke, Abi na she go be the bully.
      I'm being very very firm with her upbringing make that girl no go dey bully her classmates in the near future because e get as e be, this Canada that everybody is gentle and always minding their business.

19. Big Man school with big wahala. That is how they killed that boy Sylvester Oromoni. The bully's parent should be very worried. See her talking about boy and heartbreak.

1. That boy"s death breaks my heart. Chai💔😭 Sylvester Oromoni continue to rest in peace 😭 what a lost. What's really happening in our schools this days, bullying is now the other of the day. That girl needs to be disciplined with some hard labour.

Licious babe

20. That girl is a very wicked girl, imagine slapping your fellow human being continuously, they should give her and her fellow bullies that were present there and did nothing to stop it great punishment.

21. Bullies are just Evil Beings.

The Main Bully, Assistant Bully
    , The Slap Countee,
    The Gaslighters
    All should be expelled from the school.

All school should have an Anti-Bullying Department that should be opened during school hours and also with a reachable phone Numbers. The School should be a Safe space for every child.

Most bullies take it a higher notch and migrate to Full blown CULTIST.

All this could be prevented if it was nipped in the bud