Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Friday Night Gisting Post

Friday, April 19, 2024

Friday Night Gisting Post

Bring the gists and let us gist...
What are you up to this Evening.....

125 comments:

1. Strong men rarely complain! They eat PAIN. When you see a man complain, know that he has been broken within. ,

I came back home on Monday night this week and while I was at the shower, I had a knock on my door. I responded to the person I'm taking my bath. When I was done, I came out to meet my neighbor, a man close to 50. We both relate very well and sometimes I do take him out to eat when I'm buoyant.

He spoke to me in a low tone that hungry wants to kill him. Since morning he hasn't eaten anything. That was the first time ever he was saying this to me over four months I have been living here. I wasn't having much on me so I asked him if he will be okay with tea. He said very well, anything just to eat. I entered inside, brought the bread I had bought that morning and gave to him along side N500 to get sachet milk and Milo.

Happily, he thanked me and dashed out to make his tea.

When I got inside, I was touched.

Now let me share my own experience to you guys. There was a day I was so broke months ago. As in I have exhausted every fund on me and there was no foodstuff left at the kitchen. It was on a Sunday and I decided to stay indoor all through. I didn't come out and I didn't call anyone except those owing me but they all gave excuses that it's weekend.

I didn't taste anything that day not even water till noon the next day. When I finally do, I experienced severe pains on my swallow at the passage of the throat region. I believe it has to do with not taking anything the previous day till noon the next day.

So I understand how that man felt. In fact, on mine I begged to sleep that Sunday night but sleep eluded me. It became a longer night as I prayed for the morning to come.

This life is so unpredictable.

That neighbor of mine used to be a millionaire according to people who knew him very well with over three cars, lands, properties and every good things life brings. He once told me that himself too and how he sold everything to keep his daughter alive against doctor's advice that she won't survive the cancer but as a father, he did his best, sold everything and still lost her. The wife later left him when things took a nosedive.

Such a world!!!!!!

Now I will conclude this piece with the following statement;

When you finally make it in good time, do not ever forget the very things, people and the process that initially brought you pains and sufferings in life. A blink is enough to reverse everything.

Nothing is as worse as falling from Grace to Grass.

Good Evening Guys.

1. writing is a form of therapy...it heals, it helps some find closure......just keep writing and u will be fine..

2. Awww..... Thanks Stella. You're kind. You make loving you so easy. I truly appreciate and love you from the heart.

3. I pray God come through for u honestly, I've been alone, hurt, hungry and sick, so I know how it feels...

4. Thanks for sharing, Teejay. Your words remind me that living in humility is so necessary. How many are suffering in silence? I am so glad your neighbour trusted you enough to bare his vulnerability in his time of need.

I do not know if a community garden planted with veggies can help your community, it may be something to consider. There is so much humans can accomplish when they come together. Even keeping a little chicken coop for eggs. If neighbours pool their money and are in the same mindset of surviving together during the hard times, I am convinced the way will be easier than everyone going in their own direction.

5. Hmmm...you only know how long the night is when you go to bed with an empty stomach, speaking from experience. Thank God for everything.

6. What I'm up to? Your Loveworld Specials πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

7. This your write up takes be back to when Sapa wan finish me. My hubby lost his job and I was doing nysc with a salary of 19,800. I remember wen I couldn't afford #50 for syringe for my baby's immunization. Ha! This life...! Thank You for growth Lord. I'm not where I want to be but God has taken me far from where I used to be. I'm indeed grateful.

8. Awww 😍 Teejay come and take hug.

2. I dey Seme border make I hustle small. I don't even know what is going on again.

1. Baboni you went to seme border to hustle what?

2. Ur location is close to mine..
      What are u selling or buying?

3. May your hustle pay maami πŸ’•

4. Teejay, I've been there. For someone who has been very independent minded and providing for himself since I was 17 and I had enjoyed a very steady income stream for over 15 years, it is funny how everything can seemingly vanish overnight. It was one job I did for one of Nigeria's foremost security outfits. A simple error that no one spotted, not even with endless drafts printed, that sent me spiraling. Worse, a new DG was appointed and the new team he had around, refused to even add money for an error that wasn't from me. I had dared them and hired a lawyer. It was when they went to the family house to arrest my mom that I backed down. I sold most everything. Spent close to 7m in 2015 just to get out of that mess.

Men, those days where tough. That's when I experienced what fainting from hunger is like. For someone who had never lacked, I felt like a fish out of water. I'm glad for the experience though. It opened my eyes to human character. It is at your low moments people show you who they really are. I don't keep friends anymore. I hardly relate with people beyond formal business. You are up, they envy. You are down, they celebrate and mock. Even though these are people you were very liberal to when the going was good.

5. Dogedity oh! what an experience!! Thank God you are back on your feet now.

3. I'm going out now with a friend. I'm still bloated. Gorgeous Pola please, what do you recommend for this bloating mbok.

1. I think you should follow her on IG and DM her.

2. In Milan. It is so cold here. Eating burger, fries, chicken wings and sipping coke all from Burger King. I no Dey fear say I go fat because na so so trek I Dey trek for here. Right now, my feet hurts.

3. Teejay, please what's her IG handle

4. Pretty girlie her iG handle is gorgeous pola. She so friendly.

4. I will be hanging out with my girl Zara, we plan on enjoying barbecue fish with some blacks ...see me see highness today πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜„,

1. Have fun and bring me take away pack of BBQ fish πŸ˜‰ how do you guys drink that Guinness? It can never me ...very bitter thing,the only time I tried it with malt in 2002 I purge till dawn..never again

2. Paree nwa oma forget, Guinness is bae my friend...well, maybe because i like bitters things like bitters leaf juice alot,very medicinal

3. BV Paris dear, who said Guinness is bitter? Whosai! It has a cultured and well refined taste. I used to love it but had to stop when I found that it was acting like an aphrodisiac in my system. I dey hyper for body already. Don't need anything that will start making me eye the neighborhood goat if you get my drift.
      That said, it really isn't for everyone.

4. Easy with the highness,no go enter gotta πŸ˜‰, enjoy jare

5. TGIF babyπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ

1. Get funky πŸŽ‰
      Get jiggy πŸ₯³
      Get groovy 🎊

No light to do anything πŸ˜• I'm making vegetables sauce with dry catfish I brought from Asaba! I will eat and drink soju to download it πŸ˜‹

2. Vegetable sauce with dry catfish is yum

Are you having it with rice?

Gifty

3. Did you touch down Owerri, Paris?

6. I attended a summit on environmental protection today and I learnt a lot. Here is me also telling us here to endeavor to protect the environment. The thing is, we live in the environment and destroying the environment is destroying ourselves. It is also true that Nigeria has so many environmental laws and policies but as usual, implementation is the challenge. A lot of people are also not aware of measures to take to protect the environment, this is where lack of awareness comes in while some are aware but think they can't be the only ones doing the right thing. Let's do better.

Sort your waste, recycle plastics and other non degradable wastes. Avoid bush and waste burning, replant trees after cutting down, always thrash waste in the bin even if it is a candy wrap. Some people go as far as throwing take-away plates and bottle water cans from a moving vehicle. The government who only make laws without implementation need to do better, we too as individuals need to do better.

Change begins with me and you. The advocacy has began.

1. As long as men still bring out their gbola in broad daylight to pee on walkways and streets, environmental protection still has a looooong way to go in naija

2. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣@ 23:33

3. I'm currently writing my dissertation on this. Built a recycling app that gives incentives to those who recycle!! Proud of myself and you too

4. πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ Anon 23:33 I think more developed countries have public facilities where people go to urinate, reason you won't see people urinating on the road and on streets. Is that the case in Naija? I don't think so

Anon 16:10 wow, such a great move! Way to go. If people are aware of incentives for recycling, I'm sure it will encourage them to carefully sort their wastes and see recycling as a welcome development. If you need collaboration or volunteer for your project, kindly reach out as I'm available to be of assistance.

7. The person who dropped that shocking chronicle, i will post it tomorrow at chronicle time...I didnt enable it cos u were not anonymous

1. Jesus πŸ’” 😭 πŸ’” 😭
      Na me ohh.
      Thank you for hiding my identity ma'am.
      You are more than a MOTHER.
      Na so I for open my bumbum for Nigerian people ohhh😭😭😭
      God bless you plenty ma'am

2. Stella na badass bloger and very very smart tooπŸ₯° , who deyee breath, They don't come close chase!! Trolls won't like this news πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ bad market for them

8. Cooked ewedu soap today and I remembered an incident that happened when I was young

My cousin was in the kitchen with my grandma cooking ewedu, she mistakenly fell the ewedu soup on the floor, immediately she noticed she ran out of the kitchen, grandma wanted to chase and give her beating, she stepped on the ewedu and she slipped, it wasn't funny that day

I miss the good old days, when we all lived happily even though we had little but we were happy.

1. Chai life with grannys, very eventful. I remember one day my Granny's goat put mouth inside her pot of soup,it was my fault because I left the kitchen door open. When I saw the goat,I chased it away and quitely arranged the pot well and locked the door. Because I wanted to go the market square to watch the masquerade dance,I didn't disclosed what happened to my granny because e mean say I go chop beating and I go prepare another soup for dinner.When they were eating dinner,I refused to eat,told granny that I wasn't hungry,which was unlike me wey like food. I just siddon for one corner dey watch them eat chai

2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      This was me when I woke up one beautiful Sunday afternoon, when everyone was napping and decided to be silly. My mama dey peel yam, Fidelia allowed devil to use herπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      I carry tyre that has been sliced thin, folded it and threw it on my mummy's body dey shout "mummy see snake o see snake o"πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚... My mama fall from chair, land for ground "gboa!!"... I knew I was deadπŸ˜‚
      Omo the mark still dey my knee. See beatingπŸ˜‚
      I don talk this thing before but I just remembered again πŸ˜‚

3. I hope she didn't have any bruise or dislocation, sorry for the soup.

4. Oh my goodness 🀣 Fidel no wonder Andre dey disturb you Wella na you he resemble.

5. Osundi 🀣🀣 you say wetin😫

@Fidel, haaa .

I miss the good old days 😭

@Shady mama no fit stand for days o, she said na my cousin wants kee her

9. About to rain here now yay!!!! Oops, just remember I'm still single😭😭😭

10. I'm just here to rant.... almost 3 months of no light. Transformer blow we stayed almost 2 months in darkness before one politician in the area gave half of the money that is needed to fix the transformer and we contributed the rest and it was fixed. 8 days after fixing the transformer,the transformer blow again,I'm honestly tired. Imagine staying in darkness with no end in sight,no light to charge your phone,see this hot weather.

1. Could someone be tampering with it?

2. That transformer can't fully serve your community. Another transformer needs to be provided and the load shared.

3. The light is breaching somewhere. They should do loaf balancing. That's the remedy.

4. Ha!

In my own case power holding guys have threatened not to give us light till further notice cuz they were beaten this week when they came to collect their money.

We have been begging o, they said they will think about it🀣🀣
      Na now wey we understand why they are called power holding company eh! After government na themπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Gifty

5. Chai this thing can pain very well, sorry please. So your going to be in darkness for long time.

6. Pele dear,you guys have to contribute again,almost same thing happened in my area,two years ago. After transformer blow,contributed money to purchase another,after two weeks of installation,over 60 years old grandma,learning how to drive,from another community,hit the pole close to the transformer. It was hell.

7. Oh I hate this ! Sorry dear you will be fine πŸ₯°

11. Gisting here with my mum. Interesting day so far. Nepa just dey spoil us here with light, for those that needs light I'll transfer through Bluetooth.
    I remember when I was young, I use to call island HISLAND, even if u correct me I will still go back to my default settings because, I believe you're wrong,I am the one that is right.
    Looking back now I just laugh at myself.

1. When I was younger, I used to feel very brilliant🀦
      When I see "To let 2 bedroom flat...", I used to always wonder why people were so dull and could not spell ordinary "toilet"🀦
      "Toilet 2 bedroom flat..."😣

And then I will start wondering why add "toilet" in the first place. I've always been an overthinker😴
      Foolish overthinking 😩

Or how I'll rush and finish all my house chores and run to the toilet to think of my crush. Why the toilet is my favorite place to think then, I don't know🀦

2. I remembered calling it hisland too, God bless my neighbor that year, he was the one that taught me the correct pronunciation

3. Fidel abeg o🀣🀣🀣

12. I did my last exam yesterday for the semester, just chilling today. School is officially over, but I decided to take a Statistics and Spanish courses over the summer so still pushing through, when you ain't young you have no time to waste.

Technically, I should be working but in the slow period, so nutten to do. Just shaking my mouse ever so often. Will make a burger and fries later for dinner, the radler is chilling and I have my movie lined up, a quiet night in while I let my uterus lining flow out.

Have a good weekend Stellz and famz.

13. Yay🀸🀸🀸up NEPA🀸🀸🀸

14. About to eat Beans with pap..

Thank you God, supplier of my oxygen.

15. Please who has gone to gtco food and drink festival before, how is it like cos,I'd really love to attend this year

1. Go to it and get your own experience. Sometimes a great thing comes out of just doing something on the whim with nobody's opinion involved.

16. Abeg what's happening in jos university. Someone should update

17. Just finished making red oil πŸͺ” stew 🍲 with pork meat πŸ–, about to wash some clothes, hoping and praying πŸ™πŸ™ for light as I need to iron my Children's school uniform and Sunday wear for everyone in the house. Will come back and read comments later . Have a nice πŸ‘ weekend guys 🀩🀩🀩😘😘😘

18. Something happened for my area today. There's this woman on my street,she's pregnant with her first baby and there's a nurse leaving in her compound. The nurse advised the preggy woman to register for antenatal in her hospital. The doctor is very good even though say e dey use lamp do operation. He behaves like he has skoin but the man Sabi work especially anything relating to pregnancy and childbirth. So the woman registered and everything was good.
    Close to her delivery date,she invited her mum to come stay with her as per her hubby is always traveling due to his job.
    Mama came. Then this morning labour started,she called aunty nurse and she told her to start coming to the hospital. She and mama went. Doc took her to the delivery room and mama went outside. See baby head but baby isn't coming out. Doctor did all he read in medical school,baby refused to come out. He now asked the woman who she came with,she said her mom. Doc asked where is mama,aunty nurse said mama is outside. Doc went outside and saw mama at the back of the hospital with aju on her head, sitting down. The doctor now scoulded her that what is she doing,your daughter is in there, instead of you to be praying you are here doing rubbish. See we don't do such here o,remove that thing from your head! Mama removed the aju. Before doc will return to the delivery room,the woman has delivered.
    Now this woman wasn't aware of the drama that happened with her mother and the doc but aunty nurse is aware. Now aunty nurse is asking if she should tell the woman. Me I advised her to tell her o. Abi how una see am.

1. This my life when I nor know many things ehnnn🀦
      What is aju and is it a bad thing that the mama put it on her head?

2. Hmmmm, this is serious o. That mama is Wicked,she may end up hurting the baby or the mom if care is not taken. Aunty nurse should safe a life and tell the woman

3. Na kd u Dey Abi and d doctors name is Izu of nebina hospital

19. I supposed to meet my online date today, I just postponed it because I'm having a cold feet, I'm seven years older than him coupled with I'm a single mummy, I told him we should just be friends, he said the kind of feelings that he has for me is not friendship feelings, that if we see each other, we will discuss very well, mind you, he is doing well financially than me, i just like him because he's a great conversationist and not boring.

1. Go on the date and see how it goes. Don't bring him around your child unless it becomes seious. Who cares about all these rules. You being 7 yrs older don't mean shit in this universe. We are all babies in the sight of God. Even living 100 yrs is nothing. Go on the date!

2. Girl you better go get your man
      God be answering our prayers

20. Have been on the system since morning in coding class. I'm not happy though. Why do churches like to owe so much and then drag foot in paying? Imagine owing me since August last year and you pay in peanuts and bits thats if at all. I work for a number of the biggest branches of this particular church and the story is all the same. The most recent one is that knowing that I've done business and delivered and I needed money like oxygen, the pastor of the branch then travelled out of the country. How much is flight ticket? My money is less than a 10th of that amount. Now he is back and posting me again.

I was supposed to attend men's fellowship meeting in church this evening, but I can't go to church with such a heavy heart. Why do churches prey on the talents of people? If not that a client I design for in the US just sent me a token, how would the weekend have been? Abeg, I'm not going to church this sunday.

1. Oh that's not fair. Biko go to church on Sunday and pray that God should touch the heart of the pastor to pay you.

21. This rain should come already

22. I'm back home for more than 2 hrs after a stress free day, I'm cooking coconut rice with pomo and dry fish.
    will be back to read comments.

Licious babe

23. Bonsoir Blogfam ♥️
    Just getting home, what did I miss??? No light, will be back ☺️

24. Phewwww! I thank God for today, thinking wanted to wound me, I have prayed, made declarations.
    We are owing a lot of people money, I hate debt with all my heart but somehow we have become debtors, school will resume next week and my kids are definitely not going because we are owing the school a lot of money.
    Please guys say a word of prayer for my family and i.

Good night

1. There is no shame in going through hard times. We all will be tested in some way in our lifetime. Being a debtor doesn't make you a bad person, the economy is testing many. Do not let the children's education slip though. Keep them up to date.

I will keep you all in my prayers.

2. May God come through speedily for you, Mercy never fails, what you are afraid of will not happen, they will go to school πŸ™ this brought years to my eyes, it is well

3. May God bless you and turn things around speedily πŸ™πŸΎπŸ™πŸΎπŸ™πŸΎ

25. Here missing my children, mostly my son that will disturb sotey I will tell him that I don't want to be a mother to a worrisome son. My boy please i want to fast the days for you to come back and worry me oh.

26. Just came back not quite long, today was very hectic but we move,I have taking my bath about to eat and sleep..there people that once they are back from work they eat before taking there bath,me I must bath before eating ooo..which category do you belong..

1. Depends on the hungerπŸ₯±

2. I must bath then I relax and enjoy my meal.

3. I prefer eating first, then doing the dishes and finally taking my bath.

Enjoy your evening.

27. I'm just here reading comments. I'll soon doze off. I need this sleep jare.

28. Just so tired. Thank God for today.
    Stella thank God for the wisdom to protect that anon's identity o...

29. Cool evening here running around with my boys they just started walking, I’m tire of arranging house every minute and talking. In all motherhood rock.

My fellow bv pls how authentic is this gist. A friend was telling me today about one annoymous of Facebook that predicted the death of JP so many others and that this said annoymouse give game number that you can bet and win in millions depending on how much you bet. That there’s a lot of testimonies from people but you will pay before he can give you the game number. I told her not to risk her little money on something that she’s not sure of that I will bring the matter here to find out if it’s real.
    I beg who done try this anonymous game and won?

1. Lol, don't you think if it's true the anonymous will be too busy cashing out himself than to bother with little change from Facebook people? Abi his head no carry to win in millions for himself instead of collecting change on Facebook

30. My client gavr me monry gp buy her goods. I bought them but they were stolen , I tracked them and got them back all except 10 pieces, this man is raising hell… I gave him 7 out of 10 for peace to reign , this man has dragged himself and not me before police that I must produce the remaining 3 cloths left.
    Na wa ohh
    People Dey oh

1. Take it to the lord in prayer.

31. This weekend i am free from work. Please can someone tell me how to clear blocked nose?? I can't breathe even to sleep na wahala. I have just been sneezing and having running nose! I just tire.

1. Dissolve a little menthol crystals in hot water and inhale the steam. It’s not nice but it works.

2. Take a pm pill

32. Life no easy here ooo! I have been facing racism and discrimination at work but I am a Nigerian and we die here! Nobody can make me feel inferior or put me down just because I am a brown skin person. I have one technique I use here at work when I notice you treat me badly or talk to me anyhow I just Ghost the person oo no time to take nonsense we MOVEEE!!

1. We have to keep living and push on

33. School runs about to resume 😁
    Maybe the stress of it will help me shed some weight...

34. Ever since they announced this yeye Band ABC abi 123,Nepa has stopped giving us light...I dnt understand what is going on...

1. Same thing in my area, we used to have close to 18 -20 hours, since this band nonsense, they bring it all through the night and take it around 10am

35. Hubby is not back , NEPA don change am for us ,our estate wey dey get steady light dey suffer to see light now anyway we still dey see 10hrs light on a daily make we use that one hold body.
    The rate pple are dying this year is scary ,God abeg ooo burial here and there ,I can't even sleep,fear just dey catch me .This junior Pope own sef still dey scare me , as in someone I don't even know personally .. Aaaaarh God abeg oooo 😭😭😭😭 .

1. Girl, don’t even talk about the deaths and it’s mostly young ppl. We in the period of signs and wonders

36. Smh for my niece, somebody that will be writing JAMB next week pressing phone deceiving herself that she is looking things up on google. I expect that by now she ought to have rounded up with reading.God knows this night when she is asleep, she go look for phone tire. Who has money to be dashing JAMB..hisses

37. Hmmm
    Children are "over sensitive", adults especially family members have to b careful when doing or saying things around them.

There was an aunt of mine i dnt really like because of what happened 30yearsI ago. She caused a serious fight btw my mum n dad dat led to domestic violence. This caused a serious trauma for me. Funny enuff, my aunt later became a friend to my mum and i was nt comfortable with it. It was dis week i spoke with my mum abt d issue and how i hated my aunty.
    My mum was shocked wen i narrated wat happened btw my dad n mum dat night they fought and how it was caused by my aunt cos i oberheard her blackmailing my mum to my dad...

My mum was shocked to her bone marrow wen i told her. She cried as she listened to me
    She asked me to forgive my aunt because she is d closest ti my mum now. And she cant do anything without telling my mum

I hav forgoven sha
    But it really affected me...

1. Meddling relatives always causing problems for happy homes. Thank God that aunt as grown and matured. I am sure she has to live with the guilt from her actions. Your mom is right, you have to part with the hate. You don’t have to become friends with her, just let the hate go.

2. @Anon 1:15
      Thnk uπŸ€—πŸ€—

38. Na wa for Lagos oh lol
    See as fake yansh and nipples just full everywhere
    which kind wahala be this naπŸ˜‚

But I dey enjoy am,. I can live my night life without feeling guilty like I'm the only one doing it

1. We know say you dey patronise them.

39. I am just here thinking of how I will survive till the end of the month...no food at home...God I trust you to always come through for me..

1. Get a blog ID and enter for a giveaway through the blog. Check with a charity or NGO and see where you can get help. Is there assistance for low-income earners in your community through the govt? Do you belong to a religious community? Seek, knock and ask, someone will answer your call.

40. Atimes one is overwhelmed, tonight is one of such, to sleep sef come hard as plenty things dey my mind. Oluwa saanu oo

41. Good morning blog fam , happy weekend to us I saw aproko doctors post on scented candles ,this took my mind to people that always complain of catarrh and cough, pls go to his page and read more of you re using scented candles/ humidifiers ,
    People on his page said there is oil and there ordinary ones just check pls.
    Cheers to a fabulous weekend πŸ₯°πŸ₯°