Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - Changes That Come Before And After Childbirth

Saturday, April 13, 2024

Saturday In House Gists - Changes That Come Before And After Childbirth

Being pregnant is not easy but the real deal comes after the baby is birthed..OMG; It comes with changes that shakes a woman to the very core of life....
This post aims to discuss the changes and how some of us are coping....

When a woman is pregnant her body changes but the real change comes after birth.....
From the delivery where she may get a cut down there to post delivery complications where the hormones change, the libido changes, and her body changes......even shoe size changes for some
Does she find time for herself after the birth of her baby?Some women break down from caring for their kids cos they dont know when to stop and rest or care for themselves..
Some even lose their spouses who feel they are no longer as beautiful as they used to be or as tight as they used to be......
I remember someone who was still looking for a solution to her horribly expanded down below after the cut which refused to close up....
I used to be a thin as a stick so it was quite a shock for me when i developed hips and bigger boobs after childbirth, it was so strange to my body and 18 years after, I have not been able to lose that weight...NOT COMPLAINING THOUGH.
What changed about you during and after pregancy and how are you coping with and handling the changes to your body?
You remember how shocked you were (Probably still shocked ) to find out that no one tells you that the journey to being a mum is like this? You find out the hard truth for yourself and learn to deal with it..
Can you share tips on how you cope or manage the changes? Do you hate you body? Stomach refused to get back flat after CS? Please welcome to the club,I couldnt change the changes so i adapted and i love the me that came with motherhood.......
Please Read the post well to understand it and if you are yet to have a baby, ask questions, read the comments and learn.....
if you are ashamed to use your ID cos of trolling, please go anon...
I dont have time to be ashamed, a human being didnt creat me and no one is perfect so excuse me and my big belle....Heheheheheheheheheheheh
Lets gist!

85 comments:

1. My own came with forgetfulness, I became so forgetful after childbirth and sometimes I lose concentration.

1. Me and you on this, God!
      Then add my voice to it. My voice when I sing now isn't the same as before. I will listening to myself singing now and be asking myself if I swallow mortal. Abeg, motherhood is truly the hood of all hoods 😍

2. This is the first thing I came to type!!!!!!!!!!!
      Now I set everything important as an alarm and put a reminder on it so it notifies me hours before the activity, otherwise I won't remember, my husband finds it amusing that I type even foodstuff I plan to buy sometimes later in WhatsApp text to him so I can refer back to that list when I'm at the grocery store but I tell him that's what pregnancy did to me.

3. I added weight that I haven't been able to shed for over 9 years since my last pregnancy. Was weighing 55kg before childbirth and currently weighing 84kg. Bread and snacks will not let me lose this weight.

2. Reading...planning to get pregnant soon so all the tips, experiences and advises are welcome 🙏🏽

3. The change that affected me is not even my body, not much changed, I just added a little weight especially in my hips region. The one that affected me is my movement. I can't go out like I used to, I can't travel conveniently and stay for more than a day.
    Even if I keep her in care of someone like a trusted relative, my mind will not still be at peace. Having a child limits your movement until they become adults.

1. Mercy , that movement own, what shall we do, we need to prioritize our movements now.

After having my two kids, I
      added weight in the right places or so I thought until two years ago, I started blowing up. Jumped from 10 to a size 12 going on to 14. Then I started exercising last year, little changes in weight but my stamina increased. Then from reading comments I started portion control, then added intermittent fasting, now I'm back to size 10. I intend to maintain it.

2. Stella why is your breast still standing?

4. Someone close to me suffered a weakened bladder after having her first child.

5. I'm here to learn

6. I’m going to get a tummy tuck after my next and final pregnancy. I’ve got excess skin that will not go away, and it makes me very self conscious. My nose has also refused to get back to what it was and I’m quite certain I’ll get rihnoplasty too. I’ve lost my confidence, can’t swim in public, can’t wear certain clothes etc. Hubby thinks I’m exaggerating but it’s really not about him or anyone else. I’d just really like to feel confident again.

1. Dat tummy tuck eh!!! I really nid it.that and d fact dat my butt got smaller.am so sad about dat honestly.

2. I still mentioned this tummy tuck yesterday but I know I will never be able to muster enough courage to do it because I too dey fear anything surgical intervention.

3. Lyrix 🤣
      Sorry I had to laugh. This is the first time I'm hearing that childbirth reduced bumbum. I only know of making it bigger.

7. Hmmm. Story of my life at the moment. Motherhood is a whole lot, it is beyond words honestly. My boobs got bigger, voice got deeper, hairline receded, stress level sky rocketed. My skin is no longer skinning no matter how i try to care for it. I don't even have a break. It's all "mama, mama, mama" in my ears all day. I have just a child and I'm scared to have another. Some days i just break down and cry till I'm satisfied, pick up myself and move again. Alhamdulillah for my kind of husband, he's been very supportive from the onset. He understands me and my rants, helps me where he can.
    How i manage the stress, it's just God. Though I'm looking for a help. And as for my bodily changes, yes i hate my body so much sometimes but I'm learning to stop getting too bothered about it.
    In all, I'll never choose life without my son, never!

1. I'm not here to even console you and say try for another because... Life with 2 kids is too hard!!!!
      If you're already crying with 1, my dear... You will wail with 2😂
      This 2 when I get so... I want to die of frustration, anger, depression, stress etc! The only time I'm happy small is when both are asleep... And it's never for long. Plus I'm mentally angry that they will soon wake up🤦... And then they finally wake up. And the cycle continues. Nobody should dare mention baby number 3 to me ever!!!!

2. Fidel i don't even know if i should laugh now or cry with this info 😂. It is well with all mothers

8. I didn’t change much physically after childbirth. Most people are surprised that I have given birth or even married at all.

The change for me has been more of emotional. I’m more mature and patient. Me that can be irritated at very little things before, and my shout is second to none. Lol

Then my sleep schedule 😭😭😭. I loveee to sleep, still do but my baby took after her daddy! Small sleep like this and they are alright.
    It’s been a year + and I’m still adjusting, things are just settling in for us now. And I want one more baby but scared of starting all over again.

This motherhood can only be experienced. No matter how you read gist and hear stories, it is only through personal experience that you’ll understand what others have been saying.

I won’t trade it for anything else in the world though, that’s the irony !

9. Child birth affected my memory. I hardly remember things. My shoe size changed from 42 to 43/44.

1. Mothers are heroes ❤️

2. Mine jumped from 38 to 43...

3. Hmmmm childbirth. My voice is now like a frog 🐸 croaky and raspy. One day, my son asked me ' mum, why do you sound like the toad in animal & their sounds. Yeepa! Me with my fine singing voice begore

10. Pregnancy is a journey most married women would love to experience. Out of my three kids, the one I will never forget is the experience I had during my daughter's delivery. The labour lasted for only four hours before my baby came out. After my baby's delivery, the placenta failed to come out. I remember how the doctors and nurses took turns inserting their hands into my body trying to pull out the placenta, all.

For several hours after delivery, I was in the labour room waiting for placenta to come out. My husband was restless because the nurses told him it was the first time they were witnessing such delay. I was quietly praying and asking God to take control. From 2 pm after delivery, the placenta eventually came out few minutes to 11 pm. The pain I went through that day cannot be explained. But my joy is that I survived it and came out with my baby. As per changes in body after child birth, my body usually returns to its normal shape once I'm done with breastfeeding.

1. Jesus!!, goose bumps reading the delayed placenta story.

11. Lost my hair, not as strong as I used to be. I became too emotional. Gained a lot of weight 😂😂. Child birth humbled me.

12. My tummy is what's left. I'm trying mennn! It's getting there but not where I want it to be. I've been dieting, every other part is fine,

My hair has been breaking too. I did some research and found out that it's due to stress after child birth.

1. Childbirth ehn, can humble o. All my long full hair has become patches

13. This is the most educative blog i have come across. I have learnt so much here!
    Thank you Sdk🤝💞

14. I have come to learn o like this.
    In-between..I have been a silent BV since 2015. Just got a blog ID.

1. 🙄🙄
      New ID?

2. 🤣🤣O My...
      Like every new blog Id now is a suspect.
      welcome on board !

3. Hmmmmmmm 😄

Sluttychic.

4. It's By the Way not in-between pls

15. My voice is now very masculine. 😁😁

16. When I got pregnant,I was expecting the usual symptoms mothers around me talked about but I had none,infact I still wore my old clothes till I entered the third trimester and started wearing flowing gowns.
    I love to read and I read about so many things about my baby,what and what not to do while pregnant but I failed to read about what could happen to me after childbirth.
    Mothers around me often talked about labour pain,stomach that won't be as flat as before,stretch marks and sagging breasts in some women,They also talked about tear and not episiotomy.
    I was so prepared for the labour pain,even though I didn't envisage it to be that painful.I was already at 8cm before getting to the hospital,my labour was really fast, although I went in the morning that I was feeling funny but was sent back by the nurse on duty that my cervix wasn't open and if labour starts,I won't catwalk but walk like a woman in labour.
    The doctors were surprised that a first timer could coperate with them the way I did.I pushed for about 1hour and nothing was coming out,just the baby's head showing,I could hear them saying let's give her Epi,another matron said EPI Le ma fun,that the baby was crowning already,I just heard the first cut,second cut and the third one while another doctor pushed my tommy and my son jumped out.

Time to stitch,they use over an hour that whatever they used to numb the area had worn out,that pain was out of this world.
    Using the toilet for number 2 was painful despite giving me laxatives,nobody told me this.

My night mare started a day after naming,my son wouldn't sleep from 10pm till 4am,despite the episiotomy pain I would stand for those periods just to make him comfortable,no one told me about severe colics,there was no drugs that we didn't use until someone recommended Ogiri that was when I had peace.I lost over 20kg this period(If you are of no use,please stay in your house instead of complaining that a new born has too many wahala and won't let you sleep knowing that the new mother is also going through pain).I was depressed and frustrated.

Six weeks post natal check up,I was told my stitches were not healed or showing signs of healing...I didn't know if I should start crying because I was feeling pain down there.I was sent to do some test May be the wound have been infected,but my result was perfect.
    They gave me plenty antibiotics,was asked to eat more vegetables and fruits,don't carry heavy things,I did all of these but wasn't still healed.I dare not laugh,cough or sit anyhow if not I would start bleeding.

After six month I went to see a consultant gynaecologist and the man said I wasn't properly stitched,I have developed tissue granulation and they can't stitch me again,he sha used something to scratch away those area that didn't heal well and put something on it,I bled a little😭😭😭.
    I was given different types of antibiotics for 7days and still doing sitz bath(I did sitz bath for almost 8month).
    After two weeks of treatment, I felt fine again,it healed well,no on and off bleeding again.

I didn't change much,just a small pouch that is not too noticeable,varicose vein on my leg....still have the same stature and wear my shoe sizes.

Note:For healing of your Episiotomy never sit on hot water no matter what anyone says.Sit inside a warm bath twice daily.
    Use laxative to make number two easy because straining can cause damage to the repair.
    Please rest well,don't let anyone or anything stress you.
    Always seek for another doctors opinion soon enough.
    Always rub your tommy with oil or Shea butter to avoid stretch marks.
    Don't forget to always pray and also pray your baby with their names as soon as you know their sex it's very good.

Grateful to God for this journey.

1. AChai, mothers are indeed heroes.

Yeah, you're right about massaging tommy with oil and Shea butter, you can't tell by my body that I've given birth despite being a size 14, no stretch marks on my Tommy, I always massage with Shea butter during and after pregnancy

2. Nne, sorry ehn...your story touched me as I can relate. What we see as mothers

3. Thank God your episiotomy eventually healed.
      About that stretch mark, genetics has a bigger role to play than what you rub on the skin, rubbing oils can only reduce the severity but won't eliminate it if one is bound to have it.

4. Thank God you are much better.

Your Story gave me a goosebumps

May you live Long(120 years)to reap the fruits of your Labour, Amen

5. Thank God for you. May you enjoy the fruits of your labour in Jesus name

17. This is my first pregnancy. I was quite anxious before because of everything I had read about pregnancy symptoms and experiences of other women. Well, this is month 5 and I have not had the vomits, swellings, cravings, aversions to food or smell, nor pains. Oh, the peeing, I pee a whole lot!

I was so worried I didn't get symptoms until my first scan when I saw my little one moving like a gymnast and the doctor assuring me some women don't get most of the popular pregnancy symptoms. Fingers crossed for the next 4 months. I hope it stays easy.

For now, I am trying not to worry about birth and afterwards.

1. I was like you too,no symptoms ,just a growing tommy with an active baby,I didn't even gain much weight.Did shakara till labour set in proper.
      Safe delivery to you.

18. Nothing really changed for me

During my twins pregnancy I only added little weight and after given birth I went back to my small stature with my flat tummy...people hardly believe I had birthed my twins boys

For my baby girl, I ate alots during her pregnancy and I thought I'm gonna have plenty flesh but na lie. After delivery I went back to my lepa shade bur I noticed my hair got fuller and I'm loving it 🤸🤸🤸

19. The most difficult one to adjust to for me is not being able to do things spontaneously, like going out for functions, etc, the fact that I have to plan my every move to coincide with the kids schedule, it was easier when I was in Nigeria because I had only 1 kid, also had a help I could go out with if I needed extra hand with my daughter when we're out but now in the abroad with 2 kids without help, I have no choice than to rough it.
    I've had 4 dental,1 ultrasound, 1 gynae appointments in the last 6 weeks and have had to carry my 3 months old with me to the consulting room all these times, as wet in man go do.
    In all of these, I encourage myself that I can and will do it, I have the best husband who is ever present and supportive so if he's not working, then he's helping out which has been a tremendous relief for us.
    I am still suffering from hair loss like I did for months with my first but I am not bothered, it's just hair and I know it will grow back.
    My digestive system is upside down at the moment, I am hoping it resolves fast,
    was borderline underweight before pregnancy so the extra 10kg I'm currently carrying is a welcome weight gain (minus the tummy sha), if I could keep this weight without the tummy, I would have but then again I know I will naturally drop it by the time breastfeeding is over.
    Having kids is a life changing experience and I have come to the point where I don't blame people who are about protecting their all round health and choosing not to give birth/have kids (call them selfish or whatever), it is a very valid choice and I see no reason why they should be shamed, at times I jokingly tell my husband 'abi ki n sa lo ni (abi make I run away)?'
    I am done done with anything childbirth, hubby and I are okay with these 2, our prayer is for God to continue to keep watch over them and preserve their lives, I am passing the baton to all mothers to be, ire a kari.

20. My tummy return back to it's size but I now have stretch marks on it
    I forget things easily these days
    My boobs are not as perky as before
    I love my body though

1. Use shea butter or and original bio oil on your stomach

21. My tummy has refused to go back. It's like a 7 month pregnant woman. I have tried everything but the gym thing i can't sustain it. My hair which used to be so long about 24 inches is so short and doesn't grow again. I forget too much and I am always tired. I have back ache. My breasts became bigger and fuller and more beautiful which I like and my bumbum is much bigger and firm.

1. You might have Diastetis recti. Doing normal exercises in the gym will only make it worse. Doing the wrong exercises also causes back pain. Go online and search for the right exercises for it. It's everywhere on YouTube and Instagram.

22. 19 years plus, reading all this makes me wonder if I'd go through these processes again. got preggy while I was serving in Ijero Ekiti. Nobody knew until 7th Month. Me that was flying bike upandan, Shuttling Lag every weekend. God really helped Tabolo girl 🙄 like Me. A day to My due date, I told husband Man oya let's be going I'm tired of carrying this and need to offload. Luckily I was admitted and before you say jack the following morning baby geh AV landed. Need to say I had already prepared My mind for the pains and all. read lots of books and know what and what to expect or do.
    Na here we dey today !

23. My own boobs fell flat. I don't even know what to do to make it stand a least a bit

1. Add weight
      A little fat on them will raise them up a little.

24. My boobs fell flat. Don't even know what to do to make it stand a bit

1. There are exercises you can do but will take awhile for the muscles to firm

2. There are exercises you can do but will take awhile for the muscles to firm

25. Had C. S because of HBP,added weight that am still trying to lose, battling with self esteem issues,hate to take pictures but working on the weight gradually,it's really not been easy with the changes though.

26. I'm still going through this journey cos i stay awake every nights breast feeding.i hope to wean once he's 18months,It hasn't been easy.Oftentimes,I wake up late hurrying to quickly take my older child to school.but during this holiday,I am getting enough rest before going out for my daily hustle.
    My body size didn't change much only my boobs that appeared a little much larger now.

27. Oh Motherhood? Na who go dey know... I mean to think that I lived with my elder sis growing up and literally watched her birth all four kids and help raise them still didn't do anything to prepare me for the HOOD.
    It's worth every bit of the Ride and I pray that every woman who desires, be blessed with those humans that completely change our lives.

28. Motherhood is no child's play.After the birth of my first child,I'm always looking stressed,became forgetful (some people thought this is intentional).

29. I have always had stressful pregnancies, ie severe cases of morning sickness till labour day. However, God compensated me with very shirt and painless labour and delivery. In fact, my last pregnancy, I was 8cm and it felt like only a bad case of menstrual cramps. My kids always came out in less than a hour.

My body has changed a lot oo. I went from a size 8 to a size 12/14. My shoe size went from size 40 to size 42. I have also become more emotional. Before I could watch movies like the Titanic and The Notebook and remain stone faced, but now small hug for film and I am shedding tears. My complexion too has suffered. I could get away with using any lotion on my face without reacting to it but now, I am deeply into skincare routines that still isn't giving me what I want. I also have a deeper voice than before. My memory isn't as sharp as it used to be. Everyday seems like I spend 27 hours in 24 hours; no time for myself. My son especially is clingy and can't do without calling mummy's name 599 times a day.

Omo! I am tired. 😪😫

30. Having a baby was favourable to my body. After the pains of C.S, I m glad I did it, my Veejay is intact 😁. There is this confidence that comes with knowing that your tight puna is still tight after all these years 🤸. If I get pregnant again, I may consider C.S again.
    My tummy is flat, went down few weeks after delivery, body differs I guess.

The one I love most is my body size. I was a size 8 before delivery, now I'm a size 12 with good hips and moderate boobs. The boobs own sweet me pass, they were like #50 oranges before marriage 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.
    When I finished weaning my baby, they were facing down for a few years, I was a size 10. Now I have added weight and they increased in size and they are no longer looking down 🤣🤣🤣. Even if they look down, I sha love the increase in the size. My clothes now fit better.
    One downside of my giving birth is that childbirth brought out skin tags on my face and neck. It was during pregnancy that they started appearing. I used razor blade to cut them off sha, my face is now clear, remaining the tiny ones on my neck and chest. Let them grow bigger, I will cut them off. Shege jagwa!

31. I slimed down after giving birth and I don't like it ,I wish to go back to the size I was before I got pregnant.

32. I used to think I'd have lots of children. I got married, pregnant and had my child.
    Honestly, there is no better child in the world for me but if I could reverse time, I'd never get married or have a child.
    No time for rest. Always something child-related to be done. Day and night.
    Very intelligent but emotional child with extra tear ducts. Crying is a hobby.
    No sleep as naps are tabboo to baby.
    I am told 'look at me' or 'mummy see' a billion times a day till I want to scream 'go away!'.
    There are moments of joy and thrills that outweigh the stress but still, leave me to breathe ffs!
    Forget self-esteem, the touching body and every minute 'mummy I want' was so much I had to tell baby that mommy needed to rest sometimes or I would hate being around anyone.
    I became hairier, fuller and forgetful. Still a calm person but bottling all this stress has made me resolute to NEVER conceive a child again. Fuck this!

1. God bless you and your family. This made me 😂😂😂

2. Amen. Thank you.

3. 🤣🤣🤣🤣sorry for laughing. On my way to drop my 4 yo daughter off at nursery I told her all i hear all day from her (4) and her 4 months old brother is "mommmmmyyyy" "waaa waaaa waaaa 😭😭"

33. Lulu Lee, I hope you have laughed till you cry to see that you are not alone Sis. This motherhood journey is like a bake of okirika; you never know what will be till you enter it.
    I had an uneventful pregnancy and childbirth (except almost miscarrying my darling).
    After childbirth, my child refused to be weaned & had allergies an hospital admission + surgery where the Dr's were happy that breastmilk was still flowing.
    My munchkin is a giant among her peers & very intelligent. Very loving too and intuitive at such a young age. Sometimes she acts like a re-incarnation.
    Now, the late nights from her birth till now, picky-eating habits, love of putting things in her mouth leading to infections and shyness to poo is another chapter. Sometimes, she will be farting & be holding the poo hostage till it dehydrated and takes days to come out. Other times, she just goes easy if she is distracted. She drinks a ton of water.
    My shoe size increased to 42.5, my breSt sagged a bit due to the endless nursing, my energy level plummeted and for almost 6 years, no exercise zeal. But I am going to take exercises serious now. Skincare too.
    It does get better Lulu. It will all pass with ease & you will be happy again. Engage your partner and helping hands more; no shame in asking for help & no medal for dying of stress.
    Thank you Stella for this post ❤️

1. My sister thanks alot, I had a laugh reading all through though I know I'm not the only one going through this but this one overwhemed me. I look forward for better days when things will turn around and the kids helping out with chores.

2. Lulu Lee I'm glad you got to read this. When they grow older, you will look back and smile.
      Mine is just 11 yrs old but I'm smiling already. This girl runs errands like what. I now rest more and I'm adding weight.
      She sweeps,mops, does the dishes, boil water, peels beans and blends it, blends pepper, uses hand blender sef if there's no light, loosens my hair, area , cleans the windows and furniture, etc. She washes her to wash under garments, socks and other small things, I don't allow her to wash bigger clothes yet as there's no washing machine.

34. Motherhood gave me big stomach. I was size 16 before i am now size 13. For my shoes, i used to wear size 42 but now i wear size 43/44.

35. I didn't really change during my first pregnancy, but my second pregnancy which produce twins came with some complications, i had haemorrhoids that last throughout the pregnancy and three years after, had CS because of hbp, my shoe size move from 38 to 40 and my stomach didnt go back to its normal size.
    My twins will be four this year though, and i wont trade all i went through for anything in the world

36. Story of my life is here........ Motherhood changed me in and out, from childbirth to raising the kids .
    Even though I was preparing to face the new phase but I wasn't told is this tough. The most painful one is that no one remembers me again as per who has kids now and has everything at ease, I'm not finding it easy at all, body changes, social life cancelled, mental health no, spiritual life zero (this is height of it all)my zeal for christ and church activities dropped. I hope as days go by i will be able to find

37. It's well
    I never born so I am here to learn

38. Lol I didn't change much, my Tomy is still flat after three kids, though my nipples became bigger 🙈🙈🙈
    I still wear the same clothes size now that I have stopped breastfeeding 3 years ago.

39. God bless all mothers and may we not die untimely leaving our child(ren) in Jesus' name!

Melo melo
    Melo melo lafe wi.......

1. Amen. I receive the blessings of this prayer in Jesus name, amen.

40. The only change motherhood did to me is increase in my tummy. And the fact I have to consider and involve him in almost everything I do most especially when I want to go out or when I want to prepare food because he is a picky. At times I had to cooked his food separately from ours.

41. God bless all mothers and their children.

42. Ooooooh!!! My respect for mothers is always up there.. You guys rock.. Not an easy adventure going through those nine months.. God strengthen Y'all.

Dibia Arusi

43. I gained about 5kg while pregnant and that wasn't until my 3rd trimester. I didn't have morning sickness or any issues like that. Pregnancy definitely was the easiest part. I lost all of my pregnancy weight by 6 weeks after birth and was even 8kg smaller than my pre-pregnancy weight. I loved it. Suddenly, I started to gain it all back and still struggling to lose some.
    Labour was not funny at all. It took 3 days of serious pain. I pushed for 2 hrs but they could only see the baby's head. I eventually got a cut and my baby came shortly after.
    I found it very hard to hold my pee in those early days. If I didn't get to the toilet within a minute of feeling pressed, it would be another story entirely. Number 2? Forget it.
    I live abroad so I didn't have much help, must be why I lost so much weight initially. I started gaining it back when my mum came and I had some relief.
    My hair was so lush in the first few months but now, I'm losing hair in droves. Skin has not agreed to shine, still got a tummy, boots got larger.
    It's been 9 months and my baby still does not sleep through the night and would breastfeed multiple times before morning.
    While I am grateful to be blessed to be a mum, it's a lot of work.
    Many times, I'm just so upset as I have no time for myself. I do wish I had a more supportive husband but well...
    Despite all, motherhood is great, very challenging but also rewarding.

44. I had to combine work, pregnancy,and nursing babies. I wasn't easy, now my bones are not strong again, i have to avoid any soda drink and white sugar too. Still have a big tummy but once I do intermittent fasting and avoid night snacks everything will go back to normal. Mothers are heroes.