Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Teejay's CORNER

Saturday, September 20, 2025

Teejay's CORNER

Cleanliness shouldn't be just an outward appearance, it should be holistically done inward and outwardly.

Every morning once I wake up from sleep, after my prayers, I tidy up my bed, sweep the rooms and keep the kitchen clean before stepping out. I do this often for myself and sometimes you never can tell who might be coming back home with you when you go out.

One among the things I frown at, I think I'll say it's seeing people soaking their clothes, towel or bedspread with detergent and leaving it for days before wash. The smell that comes from it when not washed quickly, is very heavy

One evening after work, I went with this friend to his place to check up on some electronics he wanted to dispose(sell). On getting to his house, the stench that greeted me when the door was opened could cause one to fall sick. He lives in a self-contained apartment. The house was so messy. The plates he used in eating that morning and the bowl for washing of his hands were still on the floor when we entered the room. Used clothes and boxers unwashed heaped at a corner inside the room.

I could perceive stench of urine oozing out from the bathroom. You know how this self contained are being built. The bathroom very close to the room. I asked him, ''Guy, you no dey perceive this smell for your house?'' He told me it was just that day and he'll tidy it up once he sees me off. I know he lied, for a dirty person is always a dirty person. I managed to hold my spit till I went out.

I can't even imagine going into his bathroom to spit before I will see what wasn't flushed.

A young man not up to 40 can be this dirty inside but when he goes out, he looks neat and scent good from the fragrance he applied on his body. I have always advise young men to take their hygiene very serious. Most of the sickness and infections suffered today are as a result of poor hygiene practice and more also, cleanliness within our home and surrounding .

When you have a cozy home, you'll always wanna go back home quickly when you're done outside.

In your absence at home, can you conveniently give someone your keys to wait for you at home till you're back from work at night? Can you go home with someone after work unplanned?

9 comments:

1. That your guy is a very dirty guy, soaked clothes for days, unwashed bathroom plus dirty clothes and plate scattered all over his house. I pity tye girl that will marry such a person because he will not flush his toilet after use.

Parents should do well to bring up good children both male and female to avoid having poor hygiene spouse.

2. Let me comment like a dirry SDK BV justifying dirtiness- "He might have a mental issue" πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Bomb dey Una head..

Them no go baff dey pour perf for body saying they don't sweat or have body odour..

Their room will be scattered and they'll confidently tell you it's because their woman hasn't visited..

Then for babes, she got off pant like this,. E go be like lawma drive enter your room,. Some will now shamelessly be justifying it that it's ovulation smell abi say na hormone imbalance,. Dirty infectious girl..

Smelling people,. They don't know how disrespectful it is to be smelling up and down

3. This came at the right time.. I don't like dirty toilet,bathroom,talk more of pilling plates ...I mop and wash toilet a d bathroom every Saturday because I love the feeling and how neat it is afterwards..have seen some both gender doing some of the things you listed and I must say hygiene should be for both genders.. God help us all

4. I am messy and can get into clutter but not dirty. My ADHD can make me messy as hell but it also makes me obsessive about having a pristine bathroom and kitchen at all times, clothes can only be worn once and toothbrush must be changed every three weeks or less, right now I have about five different types of toothpastes and bath soaps to use as my mood feels, yeah I know. Most ppl with adhd are clutter bugs, but are equally obsessive about hygiene and personal cleanliness, one I know who loves the clutter must have a shower after every bowel movement. Messy ppl may be a paradox. Anyone keeping a filthy smelly bathroom is plain nasty, if you can’t do nothing else in your home at least clean up the bathroom. If you can live with a nasty bathroom or kitchen you’re no different from a beast in the wild.

That dirty friend of yours will be on the hunt for wife soonπŸ˜‚

1. Having a shower after every bowel movement isn't bad. I wish more people could be accepting of that.

5. Well written Teejay. True, cleanliness is not about soap, scent, how often one takes their bath, or how the world sees you. It is not decoration but discipline - that order you keep when no one is watching. A man who masks filth with fragrance deceives no one but himself, for the stench of neglect always finds its way out.

Dirt in the house often mirrors disorder in the mind; habits formed in private shape the destiny you carry in public. Poverty is no excuse, busyness is no alibi. To sweep a room is to sweep your spirit; to leave filth to rot is to invite sickness of body and soul.

If your home cannot welcome an unplanned guest, neither can your life. Begin within. Clean there first, and the rest will follow. That friend of yours though....

6. I completely agree to your thoughts on cleanliness!πŸ’― a clean space fosters a better mindset. I believe that being tidy gives you a sense of confidence and peace. Kudos for addressing this topic so well—your insights are spot on!

7. I wonder how people live with dirt and clutter scattered around. Personally, I dare not leave my space dirty; otherwise, I would be very disoriented. The clarity that comes with a clean environment is second to none. No matter how overwhelming life is, we must make time to ensure that our environment is clean. One secret is not to pile up chores. Clean as you cook, and do the dishes as soon as you eat. The toilet seat must be washed daily, and the entire bathroom must be washed twice a week (if used by more than 2 people) or once a week (if used by just one person).

8. That your guy is a dirty person, he just lied to you to safe face, I can't imagine how he ferels so comfortable in such dirty room. I just hope he will change because I pity the lady that will end up with him. Cleanliness is next to godliness.