The US House of Representatives has passed a resolution to sue President Barack Obama for allegedly exceeding his constitutional powers.
The 225-201 vote along party lines means House lawyers will now draft legal documents to launch a lawsuit.
Its supporters say Mr Obama exceeded his powers when he delayed an insurance deadline in his healthcare law.
The president himself has dismissed it as a waste of time. "Everyone sees this as a political stunt," he said.
"If they're not going to do anything, we'll do what we can on our own," the president added.And we've taken more than 40 actions aimed at helping hardworking families like yours. That's when we act - when your Congress won't."
The action is reportedly the first time either the House or Senate has brought legal action against a president over the legality of his powers, although members of Congress have sued the president before.
Republicans in Congress have complained that Mr Obama has exceeded his constitutional authority on numerous occasions, in order to bypass Congress by issuing executive orders.
They object, for instance, to his order unilaterally easing deportations of some young illegal immigrants, and the prison exchange that won the release of a US soldier held captive for five years by the Taliban.
Congressman Pete Sessions of Texas sponsored the resolution
"This isn't about Republicans or Democrats. It's about defending the Constitution we swore an oath to," Speaker John Boehner said during an impassioned debate in the House on Wednesday evening.
"Are you willing to let any president choose what laws to execute and what laws to change?"
At issue was Mr Obama's decision to twice delay requirements in his 2010 healthcare overhaul that businesses over a certain size provide their workers with health insurance.
Mr Obama has been forthright about his intentions to circumvent the gridlocked Congress when possible, noting frequently that the Republican-controlled House of Representatives has declined even to hold votes on Senate-passed bills on topics from immigration reform to gay rights.BBC
*Hmmm to sue a sitting president isnt a bad idea of the case is valid...hmmmm!
Thought he had immunity
ReplyDeleteAbeg leave my president alone o. Huh
DeleteNonsense!!!they should allow the man to do his job. Is it because he said that his government will support Ukraine against Russia at the on going crisis? Oh problem here and there
ReplyDeleteThe Republicans never liked him.
ReplyDeleteRepublicans just dont like obama,no matter what he does
ReplyDeleteWay t go, no one is above d law if found guilty nt even d President!
ReplyDelete"If" u mean @stella.....
ReplyDeleteHeard the house is dominated mostly by the Republicans, so Obama should expect anything...
These republicans have got no chills, always frustrating Barack's efforts. They shud give us Obama and take Jona abeg!!
ReplyDeleteIf Obama were to be Nigerian President, he would have committed suicide or run away...you can't ever please Nigerians... But when Jonah finish his tenure, people will now praise him...uneasy lies d head that wears the crown...ilesanmi dun Joye lo
DeleteIt's everywhere then,not only naija.Now,president Jonathan will come and say we should stop insulting him when no one is bold enough to sue him yet. Kmt
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteTheir nsogbu..
ReplyDeleteNot my
*BBC don't bother
This isn't about Republicans or Democrats. It's about defending the Constitution we swore an oath to," Speaker John Boehner said during an impassioned debate in the House on Wednesday evening.
ReplyDeleteThe above is my best in the whole write up...if only we can drop pdp, apc,new pdp and be passionate about what is right not just how everything would be for our own personal gain but for the gain of all Nigerians without prejudice despite our seemingly religious and ethnic differences
Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown.
ReplyDeleteThey should have some Tea
ReplyDelete*Yawning*
ReplyDeleteThey should have some Tea