Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Jonathan Mourns Chike Offodile And Ade Ajayi

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

President Jonathan Mourns Chike Offodile And Ade Ajayi

STATE HOUSE PRESS RELEASE
PRESIDENT JONATHAN MOURNS  CHIKE OFFODILE, ADE AJAYI
President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has received with sadness, news of the passing away of Chief Chike Offodile (SAN), former Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice.

On behalf of himself and the Federal Government, President Jonathan extends sincere commiserations to Chief Offodile's family, the Obi and people of Onitsha as well as friends and professional colleagues of the former Minister who also served his native community as the Onowu Iyasele of Onitsha.
 The President joins them in giving thanks to God Almighty for Chief Offodile's long and fulfilled life in the course of which he distinguished himself in the legal profession and service to his community and fatherland.
 The nation, President Jonathan believes, will remain eternally grateful for the late Chief Offodile’s commendable service as a member of the Federal Executive Council, and his significant contributions to the development of the legal profession in Nigeria.
The President prays that God Almighty will grant Chief Offodile peaceful rest from his lengthy labours on earth.
 President Jonathan similarly commiserates with the family of Prof. Jacob Festus Adeniyi Ajayi, the renowned historian and former Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos who passed away yesterday.
 The President urges them and Prof. Ade Ajayi's many students, friends, associates in academics and colleagues in the field of Nigerian and African history to take solace in the knowledge that in passing on, he leaves behind a body of significant works that will stand to his eternal credit and assure him of a lasting place of honour among Africa's greatest historians.
 President Jonathan reaffirms the nation's enduring gratitude for Prof. Ajayi's notable contributions over many years to the development of education and educational institutions in Nigeria as a lecturer, Professor, Dean, Deputy Vice Chancellor and Vice Chancellor at Federal universities.
 The President assures Prof. Ajayi's family, relatives, friends and colleagues of the Federal Government's full solidarity and sympathy as they mourn the very eminent historian and 1993 winner of the Distinguished Africanist Award.   
 He also prays that God Almighty will receive Prof. Ajayi's gentle soul and grant him eternal rest.

Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
August 11, 2014

RIP to both men!

29 comments:

1. May their souls rest in peace

2. May their souls RIP in Jesus name

3. R.I.P to them.
    Stella!!!

4. May their soul RIP

5. I swear dis man didn't enjoy his tenure atall so so mourning from da one,fuel subsidy,boko harm,kipnapped gals,plane crash,obj conflict,sanusi kpalaver,rotimi gobe,death of vip peeps,death of celeb,ebola,,well is d name goodluck or good lost ,well am planin to give chizoba firstborn d name goodluck dahs all

1. Can I like your comment?

2. @Alloy wheel, they said you are a homo is this true? Don't doubt it much as u keep hopping from blog to blog like a friggin rabbit!

6. Kai this Stella ehn
    Why you come like this Oga Jona pishure pass food?
    I opened the post with sorrow and a heavy heart but couldn't hold the "Bwaaaaaaaahhh" that escaped my mouth like Obilibi immediately I saw the pix ...hehehe

7. onowu iyasele was a very nice man..a father to many and generous to a fault.very handsome man.always keeping a permanent smile.okwa big burial o.well d kids are capable especially Ndali dats Ernest ndukwe wife.my heart goes to OBIESIE.EMEKA .NNEKA AND CHINEDU.may his gentle soul rest in peace.

1. U r from Onitsha for u to call him Onowu Iyasele. May deir soul rest in peace. Very big burial o.....

2. local teacher dalu o.

3. Onowu .Akukalia .chike Offodile.

8. This pic remains EPIC!
    RIP to 'em.

9. May they RIP, I know an Offodile jus hope they ain't related!

10. He is forever mourning somebody. N.A.T.O president no action talk only.mstwwww. May their soul and the souls of the faithful departed rest in peace thru the mercy of Christ.amen.

11. May der souls Rip

12. RIP to the dead. May their gentle souls rest in peace.

13. CHIKE Ofodile was such a fine and decent gentleman.He was a contented Man.He served under a government which placed high premium on Probity.He remained incorruptible and untainted.He never lobbied for office or recognitition neither did he take advantage of his office like is the norm these days.Ofodile as federal Attorney General was aregular in the Courts.He defended the Government in every important case that she was a party to.He was not an Office or Armchair Attorney General.It is intriguing thatThe Presidency,Senate,Governors and others have been paying Tribute to Ofodile but the office of the Federal Attorney General is yet to Honour their own.Acc to the great ZIK of Africa "NO CONDITION is PERMANENT"