Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Jonathan Congratulates Onobrakpeya On Being Honoured By Museum Of African

Monday, November 10, 2014

President Jonathan Congratulates Onobrakpeya On Being Honoured By Museum Of African

STATE HOUSE PRESS RELEASE

PRESIDENT JONATHAN CONGRATULATES ONOBRAKPEYA ON BEING HONOURED BY MUSEUM OF AFRICAN ARTS

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has applauded the honour conferred on Bruce Onobrakpeya, one of Nigeria’s most renowned artists, by the Smithsonian National Museum of African Arts in Washington DC on Friday.

In a congratulatory letter to the world-famous 82 years old sculptor, painter and print-maker who was named the Artist Honouree on the occasion of the Museum’s 50th Anniversary celebrations, President Jonathan said that Prof.
Onobrakpeya’s outstanding and remarkable portfolio of works over several decades made him very worthy of the recognition by one of the most distinguished art institutions in the world.

"You are indeed a Living Treasure of Nigeria. From your first, decisive intervention as a member of the Zaria Art Society when you and your colleagues fused colonial art practice with traditional art-forms and philosophy, you have been the consummate artist.

“Indeed, there is hardly any individual more deserving of recognition at the Smithsonian’s celebration of 50 years of African art and culture. You have been a catalyst as well as a mentor and inspiration to generations of artists.

“I note that the Washington programme at which you were honoured included an event tagged, ‘Conversations: African and African American Artworks in Dialogue’. This too is apt, for you continue to be at the forefront of dialogue between artistic traditions in Nigeria and around the world.

“Closer to home, your works in the State House Art Collection have given me many moments of meaningful reflection, as I am sure they have done for many visitors to the Presidential Villa,” President Jonathan wrote to Prof. Onobrakpeya who received the UNESCO Living Human Treasure Award in 2006.

Declaring that the celebrated  artist’s works have been “a high point of beauty and dignity” in the lives of Nigerians, the President prayed that Prof. Onobrakpeya will continue to ennoble the country’s cultural space for many more years.

Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)

November 9, 2014

12 comments:

1. Congrats sir an honour over deserved. You've been a source of inspiration to my dearest hubby and many others, even at your age you're working. Thank you sir.

2. Indeed a living legend. Congrats Papa

3. CONGRATULATIONS SIR FOR A WELL DESERVED HONOUR.

4. A living legend.
    Didn't know he was still alive.
    Awww.those fine art days!
    Ladi Kwali, Mbari Mbayo, Susan Venger n co!
    These people should be immortalised here in Nigeria

**Bonaparte NN

5. Proudly Urhobo! Proudly Agbarotor! ! May your days be long!!!

6. Wow, so this is Chief Bruce Onobrakpeya, his artworks are breathtaking, great guy you are sir, God bless you much more

7. The Picasso of naija

www.lifeforyankee.blogspot.com