Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: World's Oldest Married Couple With Combined Age Of 211 Celebrate Their Birthdays On The Same Day

Saturday, November 29, 2014

World's Oldest Married Couple With Combined Age Of 211 Celebrate Their Birthdays On The Same Day

A husband and wife who claim to be the world's oldest married couple have celebrated their joint birthdays - with a combined age of 211.

Karam Chand celebrated reaching 109 on the same day his wife of nearly 90 years,Kartari, turned 102.
The couple celebrated their birthdays with four generations of their family at their home in Bradford, West Yorkshire, on Sunday.

They claim to be the world's oldest married couple, tying the knot 89 years ago in December 1925 after meeting in India as teenagers.
Their son Paul Chand said he was proud to see his parents celebrate almost a century of married life.

He said: 'It has been a special day for my family and for us all to be able to come together like this. 
'Relatives have flown in from India to be with us.
'People are so impressed by my parents. They always ask me: "What do they eat? What are you feeding them and how do they stay so healthy?"

'I tell them, "If I knew that I would be eating the same thing myself!"
'Everybody asks how they keep healthy and my answer is that for the last 20 years we have given them a stress-free life.'

Mr Chand, who moved to the UK in 1965, has said in the past: 'Eat and drink what you want but in moderation. I have never held back from enjoying my life.'
The retired mill worker smokes one cigarette a day before his evening meal and also drinks a tot of whiskey or brandy three to four times a week.

Mrs Chand said: 'We have always eaten good wholesome food, there's nothing artificial in our diet but things like butter, milk and fresh yoghurt are what we like.
'We know that being married for 86 years is a blessing, but equally we will be ready to go when it's time.
'It's all up to the will of God, but we really have lived a good life.

We just get along with each other and we are family focused, its simple really.' 
Mr and Mrs Chand moved to England 50 years ago with Bradford being their home for more than seven decades.
The couple have eight children, 27 grandchildren and many great grandchildren.

-Dailymail reportage

77 comments:

1. Wow, this is lovely, with the high rate of divorce in Nigeria now. This is refreshing. Stella you well done all that Richard card you were sharing at night like winsh, THERE IS GOD O

1. Yes o, refreshing indeed. When people are now divorcing after 89 days; bless them.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

2. I tap into dis blessings Eledumare

3. Awww the day one dies the other will follow sharply. That's always the case. They look healthy though. Very inspiring

4. Aww, I like this :D

2. Awwwwww!! So sweet. If only all marriages could last like dis. Papa biko send me d bone of my bone oo, and wit long life will u satisfy us.

3. Wondeful
    So like play like play that mingle post passed 500 comments.
    May God protect sdkers oo and Lord let thy will be done.

4. Please I am so sorry to deviate a bit.
    Please can anyone explain to me why 9 out of 10 Igbo girls want to marry an Igbo man. Just the other day I was in a boutique and I over heard two women probably yorubas definitely not Igbos talking of how much she still miss her Ex.... That she has always wanted to marry an Igbo man... So my question is this. What is so unique about Igbo men ?????
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

1. Lol...hope if I tell you why MY Igbo man is unique I will not be targeted for execution on this blog??

Well,i believe individual upbringing makes a man sha..he can be Hausa ooh,Yoruba ooh...Idoma,as long as he is a good man,he is definitely unique!

Who will answer this question well? Lol

2. I'm a yoruba girl but will go for igbo man any day anytime reasons because igbo men always put their women ist, yoruba guys are so vain before a yoruba man buy you a top trust me he already bought 10 for himself they think about their appearance more than anything but an igbo man would rather wear one shirt and buy his wife plenty tops. I might not be right though but that's what I observed for a while now.

3. Igbo men are the worst scum of the earth. Very useless tribe. Stingy men and very diabolic and local. If they manage to marry outside their tribe, the wife dies after about 5years of marriage. She has been used for money rituals. Fradulent people, rapists, thieves, read any robbery and rape story, na igbo men. God punish u all.

4. Our Men are Selfless, married an Ibo Man gush he will so adore u and won't want u to suffer or start sharing money responsibility. He always believe he shd be the Head and provider but u still have viceversa but 5%. pls everyone is entitle to his/her Opinion like u entitle to one Ass hole. Lol. Pls comment and pass

5. Lol...Iphie you no well o.My dear,I honestly can't answer that without being labelled 'tribalistic' but give me an Igbo brother any time any day!!! I'm a very liberal person o,but I really don't think I can compromise on that one

6. @ Paragon,ma dear I don't have strenght to type buh lemme say This....

Good men abound everywhere: Hausa,Ijaw,Erik,Yoruba,If o,Scotland,India et all...

And bad men are everywhere too...even among The "exalted" Igbos...Lol

The makings of a good or a bad man depends on his immediate family,him as a person,genetic make-up(oh yes)witches and wizards in one's village or even in one's city...LMAO

Personal decision,God's Grace,environment,friends et all....

Buh Paragon ma dear,there is SOMETHING,just SOMETHING about Igbo Men....

An average Igbo man is LOVING,nurturing,in charge,SELFLESS,Ambitious,Loves GoD even if dey don't attend Church,Caring,Kind(dem get wicked ones o) and above all,Doesn't JOKE with his WIFE!!!
      His No 1 Goal in Life is to make more money than you the wife can deplete...LMAO

Chai,I am already having euphoric orgasms thinking of my General.....hahahahhaha

Lemme go and try and do ma tummy work out.wil be back...dats wen and If I wake up from my fainting spree..LMAO

I just don't dig working out! At all,at all....

7. Igbo men are said to take good care of their wives. So I heard. I'm not married to an Igbo man sha though I'm igbo

8. Paragon, i equally saw that from the mingle post but my dear, u dont blame them.

It still boils down to individual differences and upbringing...Everyone is unique but i will alw choose Igbo guy ova another tribe irrespective of his state but i will still prefere one from my state thou,not disregarding other nuerous reasons i cant seem to list out here, i just want someone i share the same value, and culture with.

9. Most Igbo men take care of their wives, they believe their wealth can be seen and measured by the appearance of their wives.
      They do not joke with their wives unlike some tribes where the woman would be the breadwinner and the man will shamefully relax and lounge at home.

A typical igbo man is egoistic and cannot live off his woman and will work his ass off to fend for his family.

10. right@ whirlwind. it doesnt still mean they dont cheat on their wives

11. @Whirlwind Gbamest!!! Iji ya.

12. Anon 8:35 give us an example, popsy abi?...I'l not blame u,I can imagine d kinda yoruba men u r surrounded with... I was just laffing wen I was readin d single post,one lady even said 'anambra to b specific',I said to myslf,dis one go tey for her papa house

13. Chei I don miss so many gist, how am I gonna catch up all madam Stella amebo wey I don miss?

Anyway, Igbo men like showing off their wealth through their wives.

You can hardly see an Igbo man whose wife is the bread winner, they believe so much in providing for their family.

14. GW!
      U no get power to type?
      See as u type full ground!
      If u com get power nko? Na encyclopedia oo.

15. Ahhhhh all of u saying igbo men luv their wives pls check very well u will find out that d wife is also igbo buh if d wife is another tribe he won't tak care of her ooo and after sometime she will die and he will still go back and marry his own igbo lady.

16. igbo men take care of their wives. he'd rather take a bike and give his wife his car...He knows that's where his pride lies. ..I'm igbo, but never been lucky with igbo guys. The ones I've met are something else. But I know a higher percentage of igbo guys are caring....

5. Wow..... wat a fulfilled life, happy birthday

6. Thank God for their life.

Stella and BVs how are u guyz doing? I know I've missed plenty. This sickness don tire me. Been vomiting non-stop for the past four days. Test says typhoid and Maleria. I don tire. The kind of energy I put in to vomit can be deliver a baby. I'm sooo tired. Pls who knows how I can stop it. The injection and avomine tablets are just passing without working.
    *crying
    I want my life back. Feel so miserable.

1. Pele. You will be fine.
      Did you do a PT too?

2. So sorry dear...you don do Pregnancy test?*winks* Since the oral drugs are not been absorbed,get admitted and let IV medications be used,you should be much better afterwards.Take care!

3. Sorry dear, try and visit the hospital n dnt forget to eat solid tnz eg agege bread n fufu.
      Ehe as for the couple, dts d kind of news I like reading. Marry the one u love n value as in God's gift n enjoy the rest of ur days.

4. Na my curses dey affect you so. I told you to choke and die...it's happening already.
      Mtcheeeew!!!

5. Thanks ladies. I'm not sexually active and the test also says negative to pregnancy.
      Queen Amy, agege bread is not in Minna. The fufu I took yesterday refused to stay down too. Lol.
      Spicy, the doctor I saw suggested admission too, but I can't stand it (can't explain).
      I just need a natural means to stop the vomiting. Even water refuse to stay down.
      I know I'll be fine. I can't wait to be fine (already looking like kpanla fish).

6. You will be fine. Get well soon okay.

7. Get well soon classy woman....Thanks for ignoring that mad local breed....

7. Wow this is real love, congrats to them. I hope the rate of divorce will reduce after reading this, people should learn that it takes more than love to sustain a relationship. ANGELRAY just got a new goggle ID

8. Beautiful,Beautiful I must say.U cn see d calmness&peacefulness in their eyes. Indeed true love is a beautiful tin. Wishing dem more yrs

1. It might not really be true love like u said maybe, just maybe they just decided to tolerate each other's excesses and persevered.. they just made it work!!
      God i pray in ur infinite mercy, u will grant me this type of grace in my marriage!! Imagine seein their 4th generation! God have mercy, N Jesus name, Amen.

9. Replies
    1. See who is back!

Pipi Leee!!!

Missed U Bae! Howdy?

2. Pipi Lee how are u? Long time.

Wow God bless I and DH to stay alive long like this Amen.

3. Pipi lee! Stop going MIA na!,
      Btw, hope ur good.

10. Sorry, God will grant you good health,strong mind and body, pray inside water and drink

11. So sweet! HBD to the couple, 90yrs of marriage is not a joke at all, so many ups and downs and they are still together mine is just 8yrs I pray to celebrate 70yrs of marriage in grand style too IJN (Amen)

12. Hmmm. I love love . I like that they were able to keep together. Wish me and hubby will stay this long but his excesses are so much. I have been trying and God knows I'm not perfect but then I try my best. Everyone around me knows I'm trying bit happiness is far from me. I am scared I will wake up one day and regret not leaving him. I'm so scared that I'm loosing out on love because the word love is far from my home. He doesn't cheat but his character no be here. God help me

1. Do you pray about it or you just complain about it? See my dear marriage is not just about the love, you have to learn how to work thinks through. Commmunicaton is lacking in most Nigerian marriage.

2. I get that feeling when ones love is not being reciprocated, it can be exhausting emotionally. Just keep praying, have a heart to heart talk with him when he is in a good mood and see were that goes. It's well with u darling. The way I love love ehn, I just pray my future hubby will love me as much or even more than how I will love him *smiles*. PrettyWitty

13. Stella said I can no longer post 2 comments on any post again..3D is watching.

14. Replies
    1. Na by tapping?...palmwine tappers,don't work on ur marriages n be tapping o,una hear?

15. Nice

#girlnextdoor#

16. Make I test my blog ID....
    Happy b'day Papa nd Bibi Ji. Now thats the true definition of till death do us part up dere.
    Pele Beautiful, by his stripes u're healed, welcome back Pipi lee.

17. Awwwwwww so cool this day's it won't happen too many materials

18. wow! congrats 2 dem.I wish my parents wil get 2 d stage.AMEN.
    #Nazzylicious

19. They are Indians, i'm not surprised.
    Anything is possible in India.

1. Hahahhahahhhahha!! Afi anytin is possible in India!!

20. Wow,this is how it should be.Doesn't mean one should die in a bad marriage though.

21. Wonderful! I wish them good health and peace.

22. Please how do I download SDk to android phone, missing the blog

23. Oh lovely. Wishing them gud health.

24. Awwww!!!! So sweet, I love couples like dis.

25. Congrats to them,dear Lord may I grow old with my spouse amen

26. Aww.
    But my question is, are they still...errm...gbenshing?

In other news, I'm looking for Bunny.

1. I've warned her to stay away from u...hehehehehehe.so stop looking for her

27. Wow 89 years of being together this amazing.

28. Igbo men are known to take care of their families very well but not all of them ooo lolz. Thing is, Igbo gals would rather prefer to marry an Igbo man as that would be our very first choice, if we have a choice. Its just how it is.

29. Pheeew! That is one long marriage. HBD.

30. Mine will last this like long through God's help. We love each other like tomorrow no dey.
    To think I for bail out before gives me goosepimples.
    Ndidi amaka o!

31. I am not married to a Nigerian but this is what i have seen talking from the ones i know. The Igbo men take very good care of their wives unlike the yorubas, the women i know that are married to Igbo men ehn you have to see them, their husbands are ready to wear one tee shirt and trouser the whole year but come see their wives. I see the yoruba men dressing to kill, go to parties and spray money any how while their wives are starving at home. I am not saying all Igbo men are good husbands or all yoruba men are bad husbands, i am talking of the ones i know.

32. Wow,datz reali nice menh!

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

33. You have a point there

34. i am a yoruba girl but would take an ibo man 10x any yoruba guy any day. therez just something about yoruba men i just cant stand!!! bin dating this ibo guy a yr and half, he doesnt have everything but this chap can sell his shirt just to make sure i am ok and comfortable even though i never ask for a dime, but all d yoruba men i have met, a month is too much before i get fed up n irritated with their antics, God knows i try to c if sometin can work with a yoruba man But we dont just ever agree or click... my parents are saying i MUST marry a yoruba guy hahhahahaah STORY 4D gods#olamide's voice... i will just show up wit one lesbo chic and say dis is d one 4me, bcoz dey say any tribe but ibo. HIAN!!! D yoruba sef i cannot speak. mtchewwww... mbok had to rant small