Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Abandoned Two day Old baby, Rescued And Named After Late Chief Okoya-Thomas

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Abandoned Two day Old baby, Rescued And Named After Late Chief Okoya-Thomas

An abandoned two-day old baby found in a kiosk by the roadside on Sunday, has been named after Chief Molade Okoya-Thomas; a late businessman and philanthropist, who recently passed on.

The baby was reportedly seen in a roadside kiosk close to Wema Bank Plc, Marina around 4pm, while onlookers watched and did nothing before he was finally picked up by a Good Samaritan who runs a NGO.

According to Dr. Oscar Odiboh, the man who picked up the baby, who is also the President of Afribaby Initiative, he explained that he got a call and acted promptly to save the baby.

“I got a distress call on Sunday that a baby had been abandoned by the roadside at Marina. I left everything I was doing and rushed to the scene.

“While I was heading for the scene, I contacted the police and some medical personnel to be on standby. On getting there, I discovered that the baby was abandoned inside a kiosk. People were gathered and just watching, cursing the mother. Nobody dared to go near the baby. A few minutes after I got there, the police arrived and I was allowed to carry the baby. We took him to the station and I handed him over to the family support unit of the police at the Adeniji Adele Police Station,” He said.

When asked on how he came about the name Okoya-Thomas for the baby, he said the whole idea was to immortalise the late philanthropist, who was passionate about child support.

He said, “Knowing that the police would transfer the baby to the appropriate government agency, and in order to create an identity for the baby, I decided to name him after Chief Okoya-Thomas.

“Coincidentally, I was wearing one of his burial attires on that day and the baby, who we have adjudged to be about two days old, might have been born the same day our he was buried,” he added.

A police officer in the family support unit of the station, where little Okoya-Thomas was taken to, who identified herself as Idowu, the Child Protection Officer, confirmed to a Punch correspondent  that the baby was brought on Monday and had been handed over to an undisclosed orphanage.

“We have our procedure. Once a child is in government custody, we dont disclose information about that child,” she said. 

Image Credit : Punch/Emeka Obi

52 comments:

1. Awww poor thing! I wonder why people run away from helping abandoned babies?! Like the other baby that died before rescue came.

1. May God bless u MR good samarita.

2. Chai
      God will make a way 4 u little one

3. Wat is wrong with Nigerians dis daz...instead of dem to help dey will either stand to look or start snapping...may God bless d man dat came to rescue dat baby...

4. People are afraid to help because of our good for nothing police men who will arrest them first before hearing their side of the story, and paradventure the child dies in the process, the person will be held liable. It's better to be safe than sorry.

2. Lord have mercy on ua all
    Amen !

1. Thank God he got help.
      Poor poor baby.
      May God continue to bless and protect you, Amen.
      You will be a great person in future, Amen.

May God bless the man who had the courage to save this little angel.

3. Why is it that some ladies are heartless? God I will forever be grtfull to u for making me a mother, the love I share with my son gives me hope, kamsiyochukwu nwa m I love u, I had u single but am very grtfull to God almighty who made it possible for me.

1. God Bless you alot darling at Ify!
      I resPect you more for this.

•Let's Say No to Abortion, you are no different from a murderer if you do!

•Let's Say No to Child-Abandonment, its witch craft in case you don't know!!

•Let's Say No to Pre marital sex, ie if you can't stand the heat, Pls get off from the kitchen

God Bless little Okoye_Thomas and Kamsi. Its Well already!

#YourLegacyLivesOnProfDoraAkunyili*7/6/14
      *Prayer For Nigeria in Distress x10 Daily*

2. God bless you Ify. My story is similar and I love my daughter so much.

4. God bless you Sir. I must confess, I'll be scared to lift the baby too. If ever I see such, I'll call the emergency numbers.

1. Bush people everywhere. You would be scared to lift the baby and at least feed him and wrap him up to be warm while waiting for the police? because it will turn into a lion and eat you? Why can't we just try and be civilized even if it is through western movies at least . That's how the other baby died .

5. What a world! And some are crying and praying for the fruit of the womb for years.

6. God bless this man and I pray the baby grows up to fulfill his destiny in Jesus' Name, amen. Smh at his mom

7. God bless this man and I pray the baby grows up to fulfill his destiny in Jesus' Name, amen. Smh at his mom

8. Wow...God bless this man who rescued the innocent baby. Who knows when the child was last fed. Chai...and people are praying and crying just to hold a child in their arms.
    What an Irony of life...!

9. people are heartless

10. Life is funny...some abandon their kids....others r desperately in need of kids....God blesz u baby okoya

11. How sad!
    Poor baby!
    Those casting and biding the spirit of abortion is this better?
    Having the child then abandonin it?
    A stitch in time cul have save this poor child and the mother 99 stress

And U young lady! Yes! U
    Close ur leg!
    If u can't close ur leg then demand for condom
    Enjoying s*x with condom or not is in the head
    If u must gbensh abeg use raincoat
    This is so unfair!
    Poor poor child!

12. hmmmmn.........Thank God the baby is safe
    God bless the good samaritan

13. God bless you sir for picking him up.
    Why do people look and curse rather than help the baby.

14. some ladies can be heartless; if she know you cant birth a baby and takia of him or her;why open ur leg nd av sex witout protection??? I pray the boy lives long to be what God has said he will be; shout out to all the single ladies in d hauz. It isnt easy but by his grace nd mercy; we all will scale tru

15. hmmmmn.........Thank God the baby is safe
    God bless the good samaritan

16. That is so good.
    Please ,they should find out which orphanage .
    I don't trust some Nigerian policemen. Before they will sell the baby.

17. Whn he becomes successful in future now d mum will wanto identify wit him! Wicked ladies everywhere! Smh to both d mum n dad

18. God have mercy! How bad can it get? Thank God he's safe now.

19. God bless the good samaritan who saved baby thomas okoya. Baby okoya by God's grace you will fulfil your glorious destiny.
    I wonder why a woman after all the stress and pains of gestation and delivery would dump her baby, may God have mercy on the mum but I hope nemesis doesn't catch up with her, cos karma is a bitch and strikes when one least expects.

20. This life is a mystery.........it is well!
    God bless the man that came to the lil angel's rescue.
    God will keep you baby Okoya.

21. Dear Lord, Heavenly father, oh daddy, please forgive us all our sins for we know not what we are doing!
    When women are out there crying for a child.....
    I decree upon every woman in need of a child today, that as my father in heaven has already said that none shall be barren, indeed we will all see our children and our children's children in Jesus Name Amen..... My heart bleeds

1. AmenooooooO!!!!!!!! My heart truly bleeds too!

22. Eyah! Okoye Thomas goo like life hare, see how he chose to come back quick quick. He will now live round 2. Fear God oooo

23. Sigh* and some people are seriously wanting to have one. God bless u little one. And the doctor aswell. U will live long to fulfill all purpose in Jesus mighty name.

24. God bless the good samaritan for saving the life of the baby.

25. Oh how i ve missed SDK blog, had my bouncing baby boy abt a week ago! At exactly 40wks my baby came nd i delivered 45mins aft i gt to the hosp just like d hebrew women. Bvs help me thank God for safe delivery oh. Na God say i no go born inside car bcs of lagos traffic! D story long sha but i thank God for everything. Now back this matter, pls how did ds woman go tru labour pains , probably had a tear, carried this cute baby for 38-40wks n decided to abandon in a kiosk? Hnmmmmmm...... Dts all i can say/type

1. He's a Faithful Father!!! Congrats on your bundle of joy+happinesssssss!!! Welcome to motherhood! It Rocks though *winks*

2. Congrats dear

3. Congrats anon 10.08

26. @Ekunie ify...dont know why a woman will carry a baby for 9 months and abandon him. my son is also Kamsiyochukwu.i Love him to the moon and back.so so handsome.

BTW, many mothers are praying to God for such a blessing. my friend's marriage will 10 years in June. God just blessed them 2 days ago with a baby girl. though my friend(husband)is not really joyful cos his actions is very cool, resumes and closes his normal time.i dont want to know whatever means all i know God has blessed his wife.Praise the Lord

27. What others are looking for with, wetting their beds all night with tears... Life is unfair to some people. May God have mercy

28. This is what people are begging God for day and night.God have mercy. Bless you Sir for responding.

Never have a dull moment again rent novel for free,visit cynthiakalubookclub.blogspot.com

29. Thank you Jesus for saving the life of this little one.

30. God bless the kind man for picking him up. God will never abandon him for saving the life of a helpless baby and for those that called too. I pray the baby gets adopted into a beautiful home too.

31. what a world!!! Thank God the baby was found in good health.

32. sorry baby.welcome to a world full of wickedness