Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Today's National Newspaper Headlines/News - 22/4/2015

Good Morning....
Newspaper headlines...

PUNCH

*I DONT NEED YOUR PRAISE, TINUBU TELLS KASHAMU

The national leader of the All Progressives Congress, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, has rejected the praises showered on him by Ogun-East senator-elect, Buruji Kashamu.

Kashamu, who is the Chairman of the Organisation and Mobilisation Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party in the South-West, had last week, described Tinubu as his role model and the architect of modern Nigeria.

However, Tinubu, in a statement by his media adviser, Mr. Sunday Dare, described Kashamu as a pretender.

The former governor of Lagos State said there was no basis for comparison between himself and Kashamu, adding that he felt insulted by the open letter addressed to him by Kashamu.

He said, “The days of false adulation are gone in Nigerian politics. Fake praise singers like Kashamu will find that their particular craft is no longer in vogue. During this election cycle, their practice has dramatically turned from the way things are to how things used to be.

“Politicians will no longer be able to change direction and loyalties as if they were changing clothes. Those in politics must know that responsibility and accountability shall now follow them. One can no longer walk both sides of the street at the same time. In case Kashamu has not noticed, the politics of principle defeated the politics of posturing.”

Tinubu said it was ironic that Kashamu could praise him after conspiring with other PDP leaders to produce and broadcast a hate documentary against him.

He said Kashamu’s actions and lifestyle showed that President Goodluck Jonathan and the leader of the PDP in Lagos, Chief Bode George, were his true role models.

Tinubu said Kashamu, who was rude to elders like former President Olusegun Obsanjo could not be his political son

He said, “Kashamu may be prodigal but he is no political son of Tinubu. Kashamu’s political lineage tracks to people like Bode George and President Jonathan. He should direct his encomiums to these men who are his true role models. They need his contrived affections more than Tinubu does.

ONDO lAWMAKERS ISSUE IMPEACHMENT NOTICE AGAINST DEPUTY GOV

The Ondo State House of Assembly on Tuesday issued an impeachment notice against the Deputy Governor of the state, Alhaji Ali Olanusi.

The seven-count notice of impeachment issued against Olanusi was endorsed by 20 out of the 26 lawmakers in the House.

The legislators said the notice was pursuant to Section 188 of the Constitution.

The Speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly, Jumoke Akindele, directed that the notice should be served personally on the deputy governor through his office or pasted at his residence or advertised in a national daily.

Offences the lawmakers are levelling against Olanusi range from gross misconduct to financial misappropriation and absence from official duties.

The House also alleged that the deputy governor engaged in activities that resulted in political disaffection within the Governor Olusegun Mimiko’s cabinet.

The impeachment move against Olanusi came barely three weeks after he defected from the Peoples Democratic Party to the All Progressives Congress, few hours to the March 28 presidential election.

The lawmakers said Olanusi acted “to undermine the office of the governor by causing political disaffection and deliberately working at cross purposes with the governor and the executive council of the state with a view to destabilising the state government.”

*GUNMEN KILL EL-RUFAI'S CAMPAIGN COORDINATOR

Markus Ishaya, a campaign coordinator to the Kaduna State Governor-elect, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, was on Tuesday killed by unknown gunmen.

Ishaya was said to have been trailed by the gunmen to his house in the Atuku Kasa area of Jema’am Local Governor Area of the state.

He was a local campaign coordinator of the governor-elect at the Atuku Ward.

According to the spokesman for the All Progressives Congress Kaduna Campaign Council, Mr. Samuel Aruwan, the coordinator was shot severally by the yet-to-be identified gunmen.

A statement by Aruwan said the APC in the state was notified of the death by the deceased’s family.

The statement said the killing of Ishaya had brought to 10 the number of members of the APC that had been killed in the state before, during and after the elections.

A family source said the men, two in numbers, who were heavily armed, stormed the residence of the APC chieftain and shot him severally, adding that “they didn’t pick any property in his residence except carrying out the ungodly act.”

PRESIDENTIAL RUN-OFF WOULD HAVE LED TO CRISIS –JEGA

The Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Attahiru Jega, said on Tuesday that a presidential run-off would have led to a crisis in the country.

Jega, in his first public comment on the March 28 and April elections, predicated his assertion on what he called many lacunas in the amended Electoral Act.

He suggested during a   dialogue session with the Nigeria Civil Society Situation Room in Abuja, an amendment to the electoral law since it provides for only seven days after the first election to hold a run-off.

He   said the   incoming administration of Muhammadu Buhari should not wait till 2019 general elections before reviewing the Electoral Act.

Jega disclosed that he was happy when the March 28 presidential poll produced a clear winner.

He said there was no way that INEC could have successfully conducted a run-off election within seven days as provided for in both the 1999 Constitution and the Electoral Act.

The INEC boss said, “I heaved a heavy sigh of relief when the election did not result to a run-off. That would have occasioned a big constitutional crisis.

“This is in view of the fact that the 1999 Constitution only made provision for seven days for such poll. You and I know that there was no way we would have been able to conduct a run-off within seven days.

“This is why I emphasise that amendments to the electoral laws should be done in good time. We could have further sanitised the electoral process if we had got some of the amendments we required in the Electoral Act.”

*Jonathan fires IG Abba over polls …names Arase in acting capacity

*APC asks ICC, NHRC to prosecute Fayose

*S’Africa must punish perpetrators –ECOWAS

*UNILAG students, Enugu youths protest

*FG must recall High Commissioner –Agbakoba

*Polls: Ghanaian President lauds Jonathan’s maturity

*Court registrar aided Ajudua to defraud me – Bamaiyi

*Speaker: PDP Reps warn APC against imposition of candidates

*Egyptian president greets Buhari

*Senate President: Gemade backs Akume’s ambition

*Chukwumerije, a pan-Africanist – Chime, Akume

*Power: NERC seeks review of gas supply agreements

*Lagos IPP reduces energy cost by 40% —Fashola

*NCAA lifts ban on Discovery Air

*Jonathan signs biosafety bill into law

*NBC to license free view TV channels

THIS DAY

*Fighting Partisanship, Jonathan Removes IG, Suleiman Abba

*Buhari Sues for Legislative Harmony

*Operators Push for Gwarzo's Confirmation as DG of SEC

*Xenophobic Attacks: Culprits Must Face Justice, Says ECOWAS

*Biden: Jonathan Has Set an Example for Africa

*Buhari Lobbies for Adesina as AfDB President

*PDP NWC, Govs, Senators-elect Accuse APC of Plotting One Party State

*Bamaiyi: How Court Registrar, Ajudua Swindled Me of $330,000

*We Openly Worked against PDP in Plateau, Says Tapgun

*Jega: We Have No Proof of Irregularities in Rivers’ Governorship Election

*Gunmen Kill El-Rufai’s Campaign Coordinator in Kaduna

*Ondo Assembly Serves Impeachment Notice on Deputy Governor, Olanusi

*Afenifere: Work against Lagos Interest, Be Swallowed by the Lagoon

*FG to Enact New National Peace Policy

*Race for Speaker: PDP Members Mull Voting for APC Aspirant

*Fashola: Climate Change Sparked Eko Atlantic City Initiative

*House Mourns Chukwumerije, Adjourns Plenary Till Today

*Oshiomhole Tasks Labour to Engage Buhari on Sensible Industrial Policy

VANGUARD

*EFCC arraigns suspected hacker for N68bn theft

*Senate presidency: PDP plots against APC

*Dickson blames PDP’s loss in presidential poll on disloyalty

*Sen Adeyemi drags Melaye to Election Petitions Tribunal

*Ikokwu tasks Jonathan, NASS on restructuring, anti-graft bill

*Jonathan’s defeat is God-sent avenue to recreate PDP — Ndoma-Egba

*Accept defeat, Uduaghan tells Emerhor

*Afrinvest gives stock investors management power with mobile app

*Nigeria generated 4,226 jobs last three months of 2014 —NBS

THE NATION

*Boko Haram kills two soldiers in Baga rocket attack

*Buhari backs Adesina for ADB President

*How Indians perpetrated N32b bank fraud, by EFCC

*Tinubu rejects Kashamu’s overtures

*ECOWAS seeks punishment for perpetrators of attacks

*NANS, youth groups protest in Abuja

*Jega: INEC helpless on Rivers election results

*Threats should be taken serious, says Ogunsakin

*South Africa deploys army to end violence

*Transporters fault Akpabio on donation of buses

*Tam David-West cautions against reprisal attacks

*Buhari advises politicians to keep in touch with base

*Agbakoba wants Nigeria’s High Commissioner to South Africa recalled

*South Africa closes Lagos consulate

*Kashamu: I only congratulated APC leaders

*PENGASSAN condemns attacks

*DSS arrests 16 Imo INEC officials for electoral fraud

21 comments:

1. Jagaban accept his congratulations and move on.

1. From what I read, jagaban or whatever he's called wasn't going on about his congratulations but his adulation and him being kash wetin dem call am role model. Jagaban is kinda right. People should stop all these nonsense annoying eye service already. Why is he licking Tinubu's a**? Maybe he's hoping to suck up to him but these politicians ain't loyal fa.
      Una sanu o

2. Tinubu now sees himself as a god.
    Pride goes before a fall.

Dollars should come down to N1.00 that is what i am waiting for.

El-Rufai man's could not harvest want he planted as his life is cut short. RIP man.

I hope you are clean before God's judgement.

3. First time am opening dis segment, I didn't know it's always fully loaded like dis, sometimes needs to be done with d way gunmen are killing APC strong supporter in Kaduna, I love dat Tinubu's picture, it's epic. Kashamu sef suppose follow for the personal non-grata list oh

4. Stella,thank you for this updates...

So these people are still on Fayose's case...

Tinubu is now feeling like a god...*yinmu...

1. Don't mind god idiot....he should be feeling like god to d gorillas!! Jagaban of chimpazees!!!

ND oh Geja shut d fuck up with dat ur stinking Toto mouth!! U think we don't know the wuruwuru u did in favor of d sharia master??? Taa..oloshi

Smtcheeeeerwwww!!!

5. I wonder what tinubu is feeling like.....Jonathan made his success easy ,he should stop feeling like one magician..........Stella u must enjoy me

6. This man oooo buh him pocket na fine boi

7. issorait juicy headlines

#GODWIN

8. All politics.
    I don't meddle with African politics cos its dirty and greasy.
    Here we are waiting to cast our votes come this may in GREAT BRITAIN.
    Great Britain is heaven
    Heaven is my home
    Amen!

1. Loool!!! M-amie, you must have been really mischievous as a toddler and a teen! The things you say always crack me up because you deliberately look for quarrels with your "go and die" comments, true. Enjoy your heavenly PVC my dear. Anybody wey dey vex for M-amie dey tear pant for nothing.

2. As in!!!

9. Ok next
    Apc with orubebeous character

10. All Politics.
    Same old shits.

11. The only news wey sweet my belle na the disgrace response to Kashamu from Jagaban.

**I dock my head in my hands and cover face in shame**

Chai see finishing... Buruji u sef, why the famzing? See how they finished u. This is a 2015 epic disgrace of all time . Chai Jagaban ain't playing o

12. South Africa closes lagos consulate,that's good.i hope the army they deploy will put an end to this violence in SA

13. Tinubu's eyes is naturally epic, looks like boiled egg inside water. #confusionhamadi

14. Tinubu is so feeling like a superstar...

15. So APC in Ekiti are still in Fayose case,anyway few days from now you all will be gone like the wind
    Tinubu is feeling a god or what old cricket

16. I cant wait for May 29th so dat d News headline will change. Jega luv,what ever u say or do it's ok by me.Lol!