Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section

Sunday, May 31, 2015

Doctors In House Section

This doesnt sound good at all!

SICK WEAK FATHER

Hi Stella ,

My dad is in his mid seventies and very weak. We have persuaded him to allow us take him to the hospital but he said NO. He doesn't like visiting the hospital at all. All the treatments we've been giving were all done in the house. 

This illness started 5 years ago when he slumped in the bathroom but thank God he survived it, it was even a miracle that it didn't lead to stroke (according to the doctor). 

Ever since, he hasn't been able to walk well and he's now so weak and very slow. This morning he pee in his pants, he's unable to stand up right and walks very very slowly. His feet are swollen but he says he's not feeling any pain. He doesn't sleep well too, his blood pressure is sometimes high and a lot of time average. Am really worried but he keeps saying nothing is wrong with him.

What can I do? please help me. I don't want to lose him now.

46 comments:

1. Force him to go to the hospital! Home remedies are not so sure.

1. Slumping in the bathroom then was prolly transient ischaemic attack.... With his persistent high blood pressure and swollen legs he may just be coming down with heart failure or kidney compromise which are all complications of poorly treated/managed hypertension...

Sweetie try and cajole him to present at the hospital or better still get your family doctor to pay him a visit at home after examination and presenting the examination findings to your dad..coming from a professional he may be more obliged to present at the hospital....

If this doesn't work I think it's best you respect his wishes you can't really force someone you know...

2. Grab him and force him inside a car and drive to hospital immediately.

3. Go and invite the doctor, the old man will give up if u try to force him

Between John Mikel Obi and Nnenna Nwosu, The Spiritual Wedding(SEE HERE)

4. Orela!! God bless ya hun.

2. If you guys are buoyant enough try getting a private doctor for him at home.
    I mean 247 medical care at home.
    Am not sure but I think it's diabetes.

3. Old age comes with a lot of health issues

4. God is the great healer n physician.take it to him in prayers

5. He said you guys shouldn't take him to the hospital and y'all sit down there, nodded in approval and watch his helpless state?
    If you can't bundle him to the hospital for a good check up why nnot invite the doctor over to the house to take a good look at him?
    Na wa for una oh!
    I no sure say una llove this una papa at all.

6. He is above 50, he needs to go for test! In the hospital, why wait for 5years??

7. @ 70 u can't rily force him to do anytin the best tin is make him as comfortable as possible pending wen he agrees to go with u for medical check up.

8. May the God heal ur Dad in Jesus name. Amen

ThanksGivingMode

9. Baba God d great healer we call on u to fix it. Ur father is well by his power. Amen

10. Please tell your dad going to the hospital is no longer his decision to make
    Most men are very stubborn esp the aged ones...he needs proper medical check up.
    So sorry dear..God is in control

11. Sounds to me like ur dad is a very courageous man & he's seeing his end & embracing it.... I suggest u gradually come to terms with that, and cherish evry moment u spend with him, I lost mine recently to cardiac arrest.

1. Oh dear!
      Be strong for the rest of your folks.
      May his soul rest in peace.

12. Is there anything else you guys can do to persuade him to go to the hospital/clinic?
    The geriatric client is very complicated just like the pediatric client and you don't want any misdiagnosis with information on a blog.
    He needs lab work to be done biko. Any doctor who can make house call? Goodluck

13. You should hurry and call other family members

14. What he suffered was Transient Ischaemic Attack. Its a mini-stroke. He's diabetic and hypertensive. I hope he has been on anti-hypertensive drugs? If no, pls get a doctor to see him at home and prescribe drugs for him, else he might suffer a recurrent stroke which will be fatal. Also make sure he's very compliant with his drugs. You can also involve a physiotherapist. He's an old man and there's not much you can do for geriartric conditions. Old age comes with sickness most times

15. Some people don't go to the hospital because they don't like the stench of the hospital. Like me, I don't visit the hospital, when I'm ill (which I praise God that have never suffered from any serious sickness apart from malaria), our family doctor comes to the house to treat me.
    When my sis had a minor operation (appendicitis), I went to the hospital to check on her, when I got there I fainted, When my eldest sis birthed her baby, immediately I stepped foot inside the ward my sis was recuperating with her son, I fainted, the nurses had to rush in with the stretcher to carry me out and try to revive me, they called the doctor immediately to come and check me. My sis had to tell the doc that each time I visit the hospital that I always have this occurence. The doc told her that there are people like that who can't stand the smell of drugs and other chemicals in the hospital so whenever they come to the hospital it affects them and the next thing is for them to loose breath. Since then, I stay away from hospital, my parents don't even allow me to visit anyone in the hospital.
    You guys should bring home a doctor to check him since he doesn't like the hospital, by that, the doctor will be able to diagnose the ailment he has in his body. The only thing is that, you will pay heavily for a private consultant who will have to leave his hospital to your house to treat your dad. I pray your dad gets well.

1. Where will you give birth?

2. Hahahahahahaaah precious ask am oh 4 house with private doctor shm

3. @precious ibik some people actually have normal vaginal birth at home..
      If you think I'm lying just ask all these hausa /fulani sisters that have their babies at home (though some have complications too)

4. Asin precious, e reach to ask mehhn.... I bow to this Kind fainting spells....we all are all wired differently.

5. At home with the help of a private dr Or u want her to 2 to the hospital and faint?
      Funny precious

16. Get a doctor to come run some test on him, from ur description I suspect liver syrosis or diabetes. My dad died of dsame ailment few years ago. U need to get help for him asap.

1. Syrosis kwa?

2. Syrosis? Really? If your Pa actually died from the ailment the least you should have done was research and know more about it... its liver cirrhosis dear.

17. Help me Lord

18. If Muhammad refuse to go to d mountain, d. Mountain will go to Muhammad, so bring a doctor home. Asap!

19. Nawa o but how does Buhari do it?

I think you need to invite the doctor over. I wish him good health! He has tried...

1. How does buhari do what?

Just saying... Buhari would out live some who think he is very sick and would soon park up

20. Who's in love with me?.Thanks boo

21. You need to force him to hospital or invite doctor over...or it's better you go and get other family members

22. God help u people...please convince him to go to the hospital

23. God will lay his hand on your dad

24. God will heal him but please force him to the hospital

25. Your father needs immediate medical attention. Nobody likes the hospital, but it is there for a reason. Take your father to see a doctor whether he likes it or not. I cannot stand stubborn people who let others endure unnecessary pain because they insist on having their way. Now he is one foot in the grave and still cannot come to seeking medical help..mtscheew.