Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Medical kidnap in Texas As CPS Takes Custody Of 19-month-Old Accuses Nigerian Parents Of Medical Neglect

Thursday, May 07, 2015

Medical kidnap in Texas As CPS Takes Custody Of 19-month-Old Accuses Nigerian Parents Of Medical Neglect

''Hi Stella,

Please find below the link for a 19 month old boy that was taken from his Nigerian parents because he has slow development and the mother missed a medical appointment. The story was on Fox News and we will appreciate if you can publish it on your blog to make it go viral so and hopefully create enough awareness so the child can be returned to the parents by the next court hearing stated for May 28....''

“It's just painful it makes no sense,” says Olubunmi Giwa.
The Giwa's are not the kind of parents who come to mind when you think Child Protective Services.
“They're well educated they are hardworking people the mom actually has a PHD in special education dad works for an energy company here in Houston says attorney Jon Parchman.

The couple says they know their 19-month-old son is not developing like he should but say they've never gotten a medical reason for his developmental delays and say they've never denied him medical treatment.
This medical document lists his diagnosis as “failure to thrive lack of normal physiological development.”
The reason?
The document states, “unspecified.”
“It hurts knowing he's that way if we could fix it we would,” Giwa says. “We've done therapy we've seen a lot of doctors.”

In court documents CPS admits the reason for the boy's developmental delays are not known but still that state agency is accusing the parents of medical neglect.
“My clients had taken their children including Ali to the doctor multiple times and followed up with physical therapy for Ali in the United Kingdom.”

While in that country working on her PHD Ali's mom says she had a disagreement with a doctor over when breast feeding should stop and that doctor reported her to social services.
“The social services over there requested to withdraw their case and the judge granted that,”Giwa says.

But in court documents CPS accuses the mom of “moving whenever the child needs follow up testing and left the U.K. with the child without follow up medical treatment.”
But the parents' attorney says CPS offered no specifics in court to back up that allegation.
“They would say oh it's based on a report here or a report there and you never could pin down where they got their facts from or what happened,” says Parchman.
As for the medical neglect the attorney says CPS's only witness in court was a doctor who never saw the boy or talked to the parents.
“The most they really got was the hospital room was a little dirty that was the extent of what they proved in court,” Parchman says. “The judge said so you've proven there's a dirty hospital room that doesn't get us to danger in returning the child home.”
Still the judge ruled in CPS's favor granting them temporary custody and only allowing the parents to see their son for one hour twice a week.
“It's horrible he's never been without us he's my baby the entire family is a mess because of it we can't function,” Giwa said.
“Just let us be in Ali's life,” Ali's father Ahmed Giwa said. “Don't take Ali away from us.”

Story and pic culled from myfoxhouston

OMG....Why are they taking the boy away?this is the time and age he needs his mother the most!

73 comments:

1. Oh dear!!!
    Maka why na?

1. Can I be the voice of reason, this story is not complete in this narrative so I won't bother with the link. It seems like the story started in the United Kingdom then the parents moved to the United States and are based in Houston, Texas. The government would not use a single isolated case to take away your children if you missed a medical appointment for one. That said I pray and hope they return the boy to his parents

2. Very true. The story is incomplete. Missing one appt does not result CPS involvement. The whole storywill soon come out!

3. Of course, people won't tell the entire truth to allow for appeal to pity/ reason. That being said, no good parent deserves the horror of their children being taken away from them. However 'good' parents means there are bad parents. I just pray God to allow His will and best situation of the Lil boy prevail in this matter. Best wishes young man, hang in there!

*** mynameisSkelewu

2. Thats not fair..they should pls return the boy to his mom..

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

3. Thats not fair..they should pls return the boy to his mom..

www.hawtshoes.co.uk

1. Heartbreaking! What I don't get it why take that child away from his parents only to put him in Juvie or something, where he'll end up living and rotating from one home to another till whenever he turns 18! When his parents are begging to take him home! American rules are sometimes crazy and frustrating! Msheww
      A child needs it's mother!

2. Am sure the own wahala started in UK!...

4. Now I understand their system works and all that shii but never freaking take a child from his mother except she's abusing that child... WTH..
    This just annoys me... Who d hell do they think they are? Were they there when she carried him for nine months? Sometimes, we instinctively know what to do about our kids to make them better... It may seem like madness to others but we know what to do as mothers (most of the time). Pls return this baby to his mother ooo

1. If u see how some mothers neglect their kids, you'll understand the need for protection service for kids in any developed country. I'm not attributing neglect in this matter, just saying.

Especially abroad, I have seen irresponsible mothers who lock their kids in the house for hours to attend parties. Yes I've seen them. My aunt was a victim. Or shall I say her kids were victims. She also had a slow child and she didn't take care of that boy very well, even though she got all his benefits from the UK govt. It took the boy's father to fight for that child, else he would have remained in the system without his parents. That boy is 23 today and doing very well.

Anyway this matter seems a bit awkward, considering the fact that it's a carry over from another country to the U.S. I advice that the parent get a very good lawyer and records to substantiate their claim convincingly. If they didn't default before leaving the UK, it shouldn't be hard to prove their case. They can have his case file transcript transferred to the United States for observation. His immunization records and others... Otherwise they can be treated as first time offenders with a stern warning.

5. They are high
    I don't trust Americans for anything, na only for their side person dey see nonsense disease
    They put mercury in the vaccines they give to children thereby causing strange illnesses.
    They should return the boy abeg

1. Does that mean you don't vaccinate your kids? Because that line about vaccine is nothing but propaganda

2. Hmmmmmm! ..go and vaccinate your kids oooo and stop sayings crap you know nothing about.
      Vaccine is there to protect and stop an illness from get complicated.
      Madam brown sugar *Tonge out*...wink!

6. Black man and certificate,what has having a PhD got to do with being a good parent, most of the so called over educated mums don't even have the strength to care for children as much as the women of old who didn't even have PhDs.may God solve their problem and pls let us always focus more on common sense than on certificate

1. Thank you and sometimes we Nigerians think is the way we act in Nigeria we should act outside. I don't know the full story however there is more to it. Wish the family well

2. Very true.

7. Are you sure this is all to the story?

8. Crazy peeps! Abeg give d child back to the mom

1. They are not! They have a system that works unlike Nigeria where thousands of children are neglected by parents, na because we no de talk that's why we don't hear of the evils that go on in our society. No one documents it

9. Is this the whole truth ?!! If yes she needs prayers . Overzealous social workers . I hate them like mad ,where they'll help they won't . I remember when I was pregnant and homeless with a sick child ,they said they'll take my child that I should find my square root !! Bastard lot. Especially Nigerians working among them . Wicked lot .

1. You use style talk true, pregnancy and homeless, where the action take place when bring the good news?

2. How can you be homeless and pregnant at the same time. Must you fuck!

10. why do this to both the parents and the boy

#GODWIN

11. Social services are sometimes horrible. They take people's children from them at will for minor mistakes. I hope the parents get their son back soon.

1. Ehi not true I work as a social worker when you hear the true story you go weep for children

2. Ehi Dear! Not true.
      You need to see the way some parent neglect their kids , you will cry.
      Some don't not even have time to take the kids for dentist appointment or prepare a good healthy meals.
      But can attend all the party every weekend and buy to match for them self.

12. What's all these? That means if my son was there they would have collected him because he is very picky with food.
    Abella

1. No they won't but give you recommendations to ensure his weight is at least safe for his health and I am sure as a caring parent you would do your best for your picky eater

2. No they will not, but sign post you to a nutritionist .

13. They are mad oo, let them not try it. Oya Nigerians make we follow them up.

1. After you get the full.story

2. As in!..
      The parent should tell the full story , the trouble all started in Uk. Am sure is because of this trouble the move to USA. (Pursuing career instead of looking after your kid 1st)
      As far as Uk is concern that child is their responsibility.

14. They are mad oo, let them not try it. Oya Nigerians make we follow them up.

15. Hmmmmmmm
    I pray they return him asap.
    But is not the parents fault that the baby has slow development.
    They think they are in naija

16. Oyinbo with over sabi self....

1. No be over sabi you don see their case load when na over sabi go make them wan take the child? There is more to the story

17. Na wa for this oyinbo country o.
    What makes them think they can take care of the boy better than the parents?

1. Gross Neglect by a parent

18. Na so there wahala too much.you pick pikin late from school next day na social service go visit you for house.they should just pray they don't take the child away from them.i pray court judge in there favour.

19. Na wa for this oyinbo country o.
    What makes them think they can take care of the boy better than the parents?

20. OMG Stella why are you so biased , you stay abroad and you know these oyinbo people , if they do not have reasons they wouldn't take the child into custody . Just maybe the mum was not doing enough . Who knows. ?????.

1. Thank you
      Make we pray the parents learn and do right

2. Most sensible comment so far. Of course there's more to this story; maybe the parents ignored series of appointments and not just one.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

21. Since d parents cannot produce evidence of dia claim dt boy receive medical treatment, den it's good d child was taking away from dem.

1. Gbam! ...neglect number one!
      PHD oooo for paper. Come apply the sense na wahala.

22. May God help them. You don't want CPS on your case for any reason whatsoever, they don't let go easily.
    With that been said, failure to thrive is not a reason for CPS to get on your case (I believe there is more to it). If the parents are honest and cooperative, they should be good.

23. It's obvious from the write up thst the parents are neglectful

24. The doctor has too much time in his hand.
    E shld com do volunteer work in naija, weda e won't go bald.

probably d woman too was aggressive wen dey were discussing d ish on breastfeeding.
    Over- responsibility go kill american system sha.
    If na naija, wu cares?

1. Careful with words there is more to the story

25. There is smthn fishy going on here. Yes the parents look like responsible people that shld be capable of raising a child. But I have a feeling there is a little bit of neglect going on from d parents part.
    This lady mite be a good mother but perhaps being a working career woman she may not be able to meet up with the specialized care dis boy needs because of his challenges.
    I myself work in a bank and I know how tasking it is. I may have to quit get smthn less demanding when kids come.
    I pray dey get dere son back, becos dis boy needs more special care than most kids,deres a limit to what doctors can do, d parents need to put in time bcos of his challenges.....................FOREVER 16

1. Yea...i agree wit u
      neglect or abuse musnt only be physical or verbally
      Dis might be médical abuse
      She might be à good mom at heart buh den wot Of her responsibilities towards d child.
      esp as dis child in question is not thriving as he should ....

Anyways,may D outcome Of dis case reflect worever God wills....

2. As a matter of fact, sometimes as the case may be, they negotiate with mothers who have kids with special needs by paying them an attractive salary to be a stay at home mom full time to cater for their own kids o. Yes they go that far in some cases. This is how a functional govt ensures that kids are properly cared for. After paying the mom monthly, they still include the allowance due the child. So money is never the issue. Accommodation is never the problem. The only problem is time to look after the child. Which is always the problem with some mothers.

26. Abeg make una return the child to the parents o. which kind yeye be this nah?

Click on the link for instant employment. http://WeeklyFixPay.com/?share=33198. no fuss, no scan! Just work and get paid.

27. I agree with Forever 16, something is amiss in the story..They won't take an infant from the mother if there wasn't an issue..It might just be an issue we as Nigerians would have overlooked but they don't..

When I gave birth to my son, I was just praying make the boy dey healthy o, no issues.. Cos they will test every thing on that baby's body.. Na so so big big grammar..If your baby get Jaundice(Billirubin level high or low..not sure which) just know say na like extra 4k dollars for you be that cos they will keep the baby in intensive care under mercury light... Jaundice wey be say early morning sunlight go cure..

I just hope they get their baby back cos I can't imagine the mother's pain right now...

28. Oyibo people with their wahala, what is their business with the baby growth, oya make them come Naija come see how some parent abandon their child because of down syndrome.

29. All I will say is God take control

30. Na God save me recently .my child ran out of a store leaving me looking for her helter skelter . I ran out of the shop screaming someone told me she'd run into kfc ,went in shaking they said she's with them and they've already called the police ,I started screaming noooooo cos of this social ppl wahala,when I came out wanting to do Ben Johnson two police cars where already outside see race .i decided to stop and face the consequences as God may have it a very nice officer took pity on me and said I should talk to my child telling her she was wrong running off and that was it . I'm sure I pissed in my pants that day .

1. Put hand lea on her wrist and tie it to yours! Because of next time.

2. Lol@ anon 13:22

@ 11:38, there was no need for the panic actually. They (kfc) did wat they were expected/supposed to do by informing the police n as for the officers, the highest they'd hav done had u not showed up on time's carry the pikin untill the parent/guardian shows up.
      Unless ur file for police don full or u r illegal

31. Social service,hmmmmmmmm.they always look for mistakes caused by parents

32. when you are in Rome behave like the Romans.

Madam i hope you will get your son back. very wrong to take away child from a parent.

you can see how animals in their kingdom protect their young ones so it is with Human beings. Oyibo give the woman her child before i count 2

33. Am very sure there more to this story.
    The social service I know will not just wake up and take the kid like that without evidence , because I know they would have tried all they can to help the parent.
    I pray this parent get their kid back !!..

34. What most people fail to realize is that in America, the government is the voice of the children if the parents refuses to do the right thing. Children height, weight and psychological development should be in line with their age. Those things are assessed on Every appointment. There is no way a 19 month old should know his name or some body parts. They little things we ignore in Africa are part of the growth process in children. I'm sorry for whatever happened but your source needs to say the real story. I've seen parents go to jail because they refuse medical checkup for their child and he died. The state had to be the voice of that child because the parents felt they knew too much.

35. The child may be autistic

36. Ali is a twin and the twin sister is fine. His slow development is not the parents fault

37. Aftr all said and done I still stand by the fact that this is injustice I kw this couple closely. Ali is not their only child infact Ali is a twin they also av a first child b4 the twins so aw na aw on earth ar dey claiming negligence aw ar they bad parents on one child this tins happen pray to God for healthy children as smtims it beyond us as parents..the parents are good people law Abiding citizens..this same body is currently being sued aftr doin same to another child you can't love Ali more than the family it's not as if this children are being kept in a mansion with willing maids tking care of them NO!!! OTI!!! NMBA!!! They are in welfare oms stucked with pple who dnt kw dem but av to tk kia of them bcos they nid to mk a living So return Ali to his siblings and parent we are begging we ar begging not bcos we ar at fault but bcos when a body as powerful as CPS is holding your child you beg!! You beg bcos in no man's land that is all uve got beg!!! Pls return Ali home his parent are swt pple love religious people this isn't right.

38. This happens in the U.S. http://www.rickwells.us/texas-cps-steals-another-child-no-parental-wrong-doing-no-justification-its-just-what-they-do/

39. This is sad. But the truth is that CPS will not take a child away without investigation.

Medical appointments can be rescheduled to suit the parents time, because they know people are sourcing for their livelihood.

And employers will always excuse an employee if he tells them his child has a doctor's appointment.

So there is much we don't know it. I pray he is returned back to his family, I can imagine what his parents are going through.
    Nitty

40. We Nigerian can be ignorant here what a lawyer said about the agency taking children from their parents.

http://www.fox26houston.com/news/7657261-story

CPS is an adoption mill more interested in money than kids. When it comes to protecting children the state agency in charge of that has financial incentives to take kids away from their parents.

“For every child that’s taken into custody for at least 6 months is covering 25 peoples’ paychecks,” says veteran family law attorney Julie Ketterman.