Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Will Limit Probe To Jonathan’s Govt —Presidency

Friday, July 24, 2015

Buhari Will Limit Probe To Jonathan’s Govt —Presidency

President Muhammadu Buhari will not extend his corruption probe beyond the administration of former President Goodluck Jonathan, the Presidency has said.
According to a report by Premium Times, Buhari, who just returned from a four-day official visit to the United States, has consistently vowed to investigate and bring to book, persons who looted the country’s funds.

The President said on Tuesday in the US that he would arrest and prosecute past ministers and other officials who stole Nigeria’s oil and diverted government’s money into personal accounts.

But the President’s Special Adviser on Media and Public Affairs to Femi Adesina, said the President will limit his anti-corruption war to the immediate past administration in the country.
He said Buhari will not waste time in probing the administrations of former President Olusegun Obasanjo, Abdulsalam Abubakar, Sani Abacha and Ibrahim Babangida.
He said even before he was inaugurated on May 29, the President had categorically stated that he would not extend his corruption probe beyond the Jonathan government.
“If you recall, that was already settled before he got inaugurated as President. He has said he will not waste time digging into the far past,” Adesina said.
“The far past will include Obasanjo and others. But the President has said he will not waste time to go that far.”
Before leaving office, Jonathan had said any probe by the new government would be seen as a “witch-hunt” if it fails to go beyond his administration.
Speaking on criticisms over President Buhari’s decision to travel to the US. with his son, Yusuf, the presidential spokesperson said the President did not breach any rule.
He said it was a normal practice for presidents to travel with members of their families, citing the example of American presidents who travelled abroad with their wives and children.
“There is absolutely nothing wrong with the President travelling with one of his sons. It is an acceptable and standard practice. He could go with up to four members of his family.
“Don’t forget that when former President Bill Clinton visited Nigeria while he was in office, he came with his daughter, Chelsea.
“President Barak Obama travels with his children and so the President of Nigeria can travel out with three or four of his children. The late President Umaru Yar’Adua used to travel with two of his sons and one of his grandchildren,” he said.
Adesina described the outcome of the President’s official visit to the US as “a roaring success on every side.”
“There are good returns. It is an investment that will yield very handsome returns,” he said.

73 comments:

1. Probe gist is what wakes us up every morning on SDK

2. Hmmm Nigerians tho! Why can't he travel with his son abeg? We can too do

3. He's claiming to be a saint nw. Probe this,probe that.i just hope Nigeria would be better

Less talk,more action!

4. This is the highest of hight of irresponsibility and vindictivness on the part of Buhari.

1. Stella, shebi you said one of the benefits of sex is a calm and relaxed mind?

5. Wike should cease from probing Amechi! Don't you know what this is?

6. I know that Buhari is very wicked, heartless and shameless man. But I expected it to be so brazen.
    So, what exactly is this old foolish man saying?
    That it is ok for his friends : Obasanjo, Sani Abacha, Abdusalami Abubakar, Babangida and Co to loot the country dry? And they will have his support and protection. But Goodluck Jonathan and his team will not be allowed to have peace.

1. One comment per post na, haba!

2. It's obvious Buhari has personal beef with Jonathan cuz he knows he is calm and harmless. I just laugh, please who can show me Nigeria past president that did not steal? Buhari now appears to me as a coward, if he is man enough he should probe others...

3. Go and have sex, so you can calm down. Or are you "team no sex before maariage"?

4. It is your homeless father that is foolish.

7. Well it will be crazy if he spends his entire term chasing corrupt officials from ages ago.... he should just concentrate on Jonathan's government Cuz that's d government he took over from.

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Pls lock his ass..... I cant even believe that jonah was once our president i swear....

9. Bunch of noise makers........
    Start already, make person hear word.

10. Mr President please start "WORKING WORKING AND STOP TALKING TALKING". We understand you can not spend your term trying to probe all past government, but it's unacceptable when you probe Jonathan's government alone. If you are to probe Jonathan we also expect your government to probe Yar Adua's government because both government put us in the mess we face today and our money is still fresh with them. We know Jonathan administration stole a lot, but such stealing started from Yar Adua's kitchen cabinets "YES SIR"we still remember all. Probing Jonathan administration alone will result to witch hunting as most people will say. Start your probe with Jonathan and Yar Adua's government for now but open your corruption to all past government. People like Mrs Yar Adua still have our money but Jonathan administration was too afraid to probe her others are Mahmud Yayale Ahmed, Baba Gana Kingibe, Abba Sayyadi Ruma(Worst rogue) Achike Udenwa( another Rogue) Godwin Abbe, Aliyu Modibbo Umar, (Worst rogue) Adamu Alero ( rogue) Michael Aondoakaa (Worst rogue) Diezani Madueke (Her stealing started from Yar Adua's government), Ufot Ekaette, late Lukman Rilwanu and family(rogue) and others.
    Even OBJ stole but he worked, Abubakar stole a lot but he used handover to democratically elected government to blind Nigerians, now he is an innocent smart hero for doing so (Smart man). Now tell us does it mean if you find our money hidden somewhere by former ministers in OBJ government you let them keep our fund? No Mr president your approach is unacceptable.

1. Jaymore, so u have finally seen the light. What happened to your blind support for Alh Buhari?

2. Nnaa u made a lot of sense. Spot on!

3. Oh jay Moore, kisses to u! Plenty kisses to u! In fact, what's is ur house address so I'll personally deliver ur kisses? U just spoke like a true intelligent man. Buhari is just being hypocritical. He doesn't want to probe beyond Jonathan's govt cos he doesn't want to offend his friends obasanjo and co. Mr president continue oh, just continue, but just know that u can't fool every Nigerian, it's just a matter of time.

4. Jaymoore,if y'all are screaming he should start d work of reforming the country and still u are saying he should extend his probe to back in time,then his whole tenure will be spent in probing!d whole country will be in disarray, and u should be aware dat going back in time might be a bloody waste of time cos they will hardly find evidence to pin anyone!the perpetrators would have destroyed every evidence.u think these thieves are not smart?c'mon!Buhari is delaying setting up cabinet today for a reason,which is to be able to gather evidence against d immediate past admin,cos without it,he has nothing on anyone even if he goes to the Hague.
      This is a lesson to every Jonathan and other govt to come:Probe ur immediate past govt so u can start with a clean slate and be responsible for only ur actions!btw didn't Obama ask this Jona to probe Obj regime?but because he wanted to hide under the same corrupt umbrella to continue looting,he refused.now he's gonna carry the cross alone.
      Na God catch Jonathan abeg.he will be wiser and more honest in his next life!#mtceew.

5. Money maker, seriously, calm down. I was gonna applaud him for being dis objective despite his support to pmb. Shows he's not a biased supporter. Try reason am na.

6. So he wants only Gejs goveenment probed abi? Ride on dem no dey tell blind man sey rain dey fall, when ee start you go no. Gej inherited a very corrupt n decaying system and that accounts for why all his efforts where not noticed so probing once him will amount to gross injustice n severe witch hunting. In as much as Gej is from the minority, the world is watching and pls Usa n Britain re not the only world powers ooooh since buhari is very comfortable with them also this is 21st century faaa.

7. Money maker,this comment doesn't change the fact that he supports president Buhari.He is just calling a spade a spade..
      What all you TANs cannot do,GEJ does no wrong in your eyes..
      Mr jay Moore,my likeness for you just increased with this comment of yours,you would sure make an impartial judge..

8. Money maker he go and die, move on already , buhari is now preside. GEJ has loSt and moved on, stop dwelling on the past. Go form ur own country and let GEJ preside and good luck on that.

9. He might as well probe Lord Luggard's administration while he's at it. Jaymoore you got it wrong this time. Each administration has d prerogative of probing it's predecessor. If they choose not to, our tough luck. Secondly and most importantly, PMB's not probing cos he wants to see fine boys and chics in jail. He's probing cos NIGERIA NEEDS THE MONEY NOW. Our revenue from crude oil has dwindled and will decline further. If he can get just $150bn from d past administration then he can do all he needs to as Prez.

10. Queen Bee
      One question still begs to be answered,If Nigerian funds are found in Obj's pocket or one of his ministers(which am 100percent sure is possible) are they going to look the other way?

Jaymoore very objective analysis... Unbiased is politics.
      Come back lets serve our father's land oooh.

11. Iphie,finding d money in their pocket is not hard,but providing evidence dat it's looted money is the problem, and dats my point!
      Dat notwithstanding,u and I know Buhari is unbiased and will not spare anyone found guilty.yall should give dis old man a chance.!

11. Where are all the foolish Buhari supporter?
    They should come out and defend their evil father once again.

12. Where are all the foolish Buhari supporters?
    They should come out and defend their evil father once again.

1. Oga, it was GEJ's duty to probe the govts before him but chose not to, because he was okay with what he met. That is his business! Buhari is only concerned with the immediate past govt. GEJ should have grown some balls!

2. What is ur problem?
      R u going crazy or something?
      Shouting like a mad man up and down.

I hope u've eaten sha...

3. Money maker you are such a hungry ass hole. Oya kill yourself.

4. Na konji dey worry money maker. Hehehe. Go and have some sex. Hypertension is real and it kills.

13. It will be irresponsible of the Presidency not to probe the last government.

The stories emanating from Jonathan's government is too smelly. At least it will put everybody on their toes.

14. So the Presidency actually takes cognisance of everything people suggest online or wherever? I thought people were just being funny when they suggested that he probed the OBJ and IBB administration too.. so they took it this serious? Waoo.. wouldn't have imagined. It doesn't make sense anyway. That'll mean Buhari is just president to be probing and probing. GEj's being the most recent would suffice. At least the records are still fresh.

15. What Buhari is saying in layman's term is :
    It is ok for my friends and family to rob banks with dynamites and machine guns but any of my political opponents is not allowed to steal biscuits from a provision store.
    I am not even surprised. Any man that lose and election and saw nothing wrong in calling out his hausa fulani muslim brothers to start slaughtering innocent Christians, youth corpers and non natives all over the north is capable of doing anything no matter how repulsive it seems to other people.

1. Ain't u tired of commenting mora than twice on any post that has to do with Buhari? Ur comments are always filled with so much hatred and u always allow sentiments to becloud ur sense of judgement. Stop giving urself head ache over things u can't change. Even if u make 100 comments on Buhari related posts abusing him, it doesn't change the fact that he is the president and GEJ can not go back to that seat now. I am not saying that u shldn't criticize the government, criticize with a view to correct and quit ranting. U end up not passing any message at all with ur comments.

2. At least you agree that GEJ's govt stole, albeit it's "ordinary biscuit" as you put it? Ehn, tief na tief. So as thieves they shoud face justice and give us back our "biscuit".

3. Money Maker,quick suggestion,
      Why not click on your drop down(where you have reply) so you can line up your comments under your own tread. It will look tidier that way.

16. If he limits to GEJ Administration only it is Witch hunt. at the same time if he can locate the $150Billion bring it to Nigeria it will boost our Economy

1. Speaking from both sides of ur mouth? "At the same time..."? Choose a hustle sista.

17. Replies
    1. Obi,
      An anonymous is crushing on you,keep scrolling.Lol

18. Probe d probe and let me hear word jare, I still love and understand yo but my friends who supported gej no dey let me hear word, d dissing is getting out of hand, baba u need to do something dat will help back up my stands.... Am tired of saying he will......

19. Of course,he can't prove the ex generals, all thanks to camaraderie!

20. @Danny fisiye..so much admire u.ave bin postin so many times abt u..bt u neva had d time to review my post

21. Money maker, shut up and stop ranting everywhere like an illiterate that lacks common sense.. haba

1. Where is the common sense in this your comment? Ode

22. Keep probing, your tenure will soon finish.

23. We need fuel in this country. I was told they sell fuel at N110 in Lagos.

1. Hmmm, I bought for 87.00 today sha at Conoil. Been wondering where people have been buying theirs.
      Back to the matter. People shouldn't see this as a strong witch-hunt cos so many things went terribly bad under Jona. But the thing is that as they are probing, it will gradually link with other past administrations. The corruption didn't just start from the past one. Abeg anything wey dem wan do, make dem dey hurry up and give us a better Nigeria.

24. All this probing and EFCC investigations are really about crippling any opposition sponsors. They want to suffocate any potential challengers early on. If you're going to probe the last administration, please be sure to probe ALL governors and commissioners as well. Starting with SDK's boo. They all contributed to this mess we're in and I'm quite sure that the funds collectively looted by governors and their cabinets far exceeds the Jonatharians.

25. Obasanjo was as corrupt as corruption itself. Yes he worked, but his working didn't match his embezzlement. Ask him what he did with most of d monies he made from privatisation of govt properties, ask him where he got d money he shared to the then senators and house of rep members when he wanted to amend the constitution to run for a 3rd term. He gave senators such as Ararume and d late chukwumerije over a billion naira to buy over other senators to pass d constitution amend bill for 3rd term, and that's where Ararume got d bulk of his money to start his exclusive stores, where did obasanjo get over 1billion naira, from his personal account? What happened when yaradua was sick and out of d country, and his wife and her cohorts took over government? They robbed Nigeria blind. Mrs yaradua stole through the ministry of federal capital territory and there's evidence to buttress this point. That woman acquired almost all the lands and buildings in abj. In places like katampe, jahi, asokoro, and gwarimpa side, she practically owns almost all lands there, where did she get d money to buy them? What about aondooaka, the then minister of justice? What about d other ministers during yaradua's govt? I have no problem with buhari probing Jonathan's govt, cos d truth is there was massive corruption, but to say he won't go further than his govt is mere pretence and witch hunting. If he's going 6yrs deep, then he can as well go 12 to 16 yrs deep. D same strength and time he'll use to gather evidence during Jonathan's regime, he can as well use it to also gather evidence from obasanjo and yaradua's regime. Stolen money is stolen money. Mr president should do d right thing. If u want to help us get our money back, Pls get all. No half measures.

1. Your head dey there. Yaradua's wife did wonders and no one is talking abt it as they love covering their dirty deals. Jona no reach that woman. No agenda of what he want to achieve only - I will fight corruption. Let him start we are watching.

2. Very apt response. Indeed, this is what PMB needs to do in the spirit of equity, fairness and good governance for the country. This probe must be comprehensive and not selective.

3. @nikkybaby wow. So all these info are available. Pray tell, what did Jonathan do about it as president??????

26. mumu maker you don receive your first gold medal this morning, i trust you. Why didn't jonathan probe the government before him. Why are you blaming PMB for jona's incompetence. You are such a big fool.

27. Every now and then probe
    GEJ is far better than you
    Wicked man

1. GEJ is better than PMB cos he didn't probe thieves that stole our wealth? Yours and mine o! Think small before you type Efe.

28. If Buhari wants to clear evil in the land,let him do it completely. Just like former Ghana president did. Let him not leave anybody out of it,unless he wants to save some people.

29. Tribalistic man anytime anyday. Hard to forgive n forget human being. Only Jona's regime messed this nation up whereas the person that headed NNPC for 8yrs didn't touch cash abi, even 'Yar-adua's wife that torchlight cash no one is saying anything abt it. Jona's Ministers that you wanna probe were shown how to steal by their Perm secs bcos a Minister can't just enter and start stealing. Probe perm secs, obj, abdulsalam, yaradua,etc.

30. Shebi na Nigeria courts him go use, Mr Bubu start.

31. But why didn't Jonathan probe the government before him?? ??

Because I believed if he had, he wouldn't be in so much problem now

I don't see this as with hunting tho. You can't ask him to probe all those who have ruled. He can only do past government. Another government that will come after him will problem him also and not bother with Jonathan.