Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Says He Wont Spare Any Corrupt APC Member

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

President Buhari Says He Wont Spare Any Corrupt APC Member

President Muhammadu Buhari has said that his government will not spare any member of the All Progressives Congress as well as associates found culpable of corruption.

The President, who is currently on a four-day visit to the United States President, Barack Obama, said this during an interview with the CNN anchor, Christiane Amanpour.

“If any of my associates or party member is indicted of corruption, they cannot escape justice. There is not going to be any APC member or any close personality found guilty that would escape justice,” he said.

Buhari reiterated his commitment to ending insurgency in the country, noting that the release of the Chibok girls was a paramount agenda of his government.
“Our main objective as a government is to secure the release of those girls safe and sound, back to their schools and rehabilitate them to go back to their normal lives. So, if we are convinced the girls would be delivered safe and sound, we will negotiate.”

The President said he was not disappointed that President Obama did not choose to visit Nigeria.
He said that he would send a formal invitation to the US President to visit Nigeria.
“I wouldn’t say I was disappointed that President Obama did not choose to visit Nigeria but I wish that he would change his mind and come to Nigeria. Well, I asked him to come and would send a formal invitation,” he said.

Reacting to criticism against his administration, Buhari said it was too early for people to pass judgment on him based on his campaign promises.
He said, “I think I can be held accountable for my promises in the next quarters I have ahead of me. I think it is too early for anybody to pass judment on my campaign promises.”

Responding to a question on whether he would trade the missing Chibok girls for the release of incarcerated members of the Boko Haram sect, Buhari said, “ We have to be very careful about the credibility of various Boko Haram leaders coming out to claim that they can deliver the girls . We have to be very careful indeed and we are taking our time because we want to bring them back safe and sound to their parents.

Buhari said he supported the trial of former Chadian dictator, Hissene Habre, anywhere so far justice prevails.

He said, “Justice is justice, whether it’s done in Africa or anywhere in the world. The most important thing is let justice be done. Whatever evidence that the prosecution has in Senegal, I think it should proceed to make it available to the world and prosecute him according to international law.”

Commenting on whether or not his administration would negotiate with the Boko Haram sect, Buhari insisted that the major objective of his administration was to secure the release of the girls.

He said, “I cannot be against it. I told you that our main objective as a government is to secure those girls safe and sound back to their schools and rehabilitate them to get back to normal life.
So, if we are convinced that the leaders (of Boko Haram) can deliver those girls safe and sound, we wouldn’t fail to negotiate what they want.”

In another development, Buhari said the introduction of the Permanent Voter Cards and card readers by the Independent National Electoral Commission for the last general elections made the difference between the previous elections he had participated in and the last one he won.

Buhari said this in Washington during a meeting he had with the United States Secretary of State, Mr. John Kerry, during his ongoing four-day official visit to the US.
Buhari again thanked the US for its support and assistance to Nigeria ahead of the elections.
He particularly thanked Kerry who visited Nigeria twice before the conduct of the March 28 presidential election when he presented American government’s position on the need for free and fair general elections in Nigeria.
He said Nigeria would remain grateful to the US for exerting pressure on the former government to ensure peaceful and credible elections.

The President said, “The United States’ message sent to the previous administration was clean and clear that the United States would not accept anything extra constitutional and that prepared the minds of Nigerians to make us arrive where we are today.”
Punch reportage.

Hmmmm......I hope/pray he will be able to act on this when reality stares at him in the face.

53 comments:

1. Gov. Amaechi's Girl22 July 2015 at 08:07

Actions speaks louder than words. He talks too much.

1. Gbam! We dey wait...

New post published! Please check my blog and join the debate. Thanks

2. Gov. Amaechi's Girl22 July 2015 at 08:07

Actions speaks louder than words. He talks too much.

1. You're an observer. He talks too much. Some northern APC supporters are saying same thing here in the North.

3. Hmmn! This one go hard o. No matter what & how hard my president is & appears to be, me think there're still sacred cows in this country o. There're pple who the laws don't apply to, whether we like it or yes!
    However, go get the getables general. At all, at all...na im bad pass!

1. Ghanaman if u'r talking about obj,tinubu,atiku,ibb,thing to realise's these pple haven't been in public office in over 8yrs which puts d onus 2 probe dem on d gej-administration n d onus 2 probe d gej-administration on d Buhari-administration

2. My guy, I know he can't get 'em all. So he should get as much as he can. Even with ur analysis sef, there're still some pple that will escape the net from the previous set!

1. What about corrupt politicians from yesteryears who are now APC members?

5. Now that is quite HEAVY!
    Way to go Sai!

1. Has anyone noticed that he sends his signals mostly when he's interviewed outside the country? Perhaps it's because those who interview him there always ask direct and pertinent questions. Thus, giving them direct answers that hits the marrows of those concerned at home. Lol

6. Thank You Mr. President!
    Stella, abeg park well.
    We should all pray God grants him wisdom to tackle problems when the reality catches up with him

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. Story for the gods.
    He should tell that to the 3 year olds.
    Who on earth truly expect him to go after Tinubu and Amaechi after they" invested "heavily in his campaign?

9. Story for the gods.
    He should tell that to the 3 year olds.
    Who on earth truly expect him to go after Tinubu and Amaechi after they" invested "heavily in his campaign?

10. Talk less n act more!
    We will hold you by your words.

11. Stella if only he can perform when reality stares at him. Eg: Stella's Boo, Tinubu, Baba Iyabo, Atiku, OshioBaba, Rochas. etc

1. He specifically stated 'if they are indicted...' If he doesn't prosecute those mentioned above they'll never be indicted. I don't think he'll bite the fingers that fed him. The right thing would be to prosecute all of them but we know that would never happen. The scale of justice in Nigeria is tilted in favour of those in power.

12. Seem Buubuu wants to use his 4 yrs to fight corruption ,truth is he can nt win any corruptn case with the current structure of Nigeria constitution .Nigeria will first have to build an institution that will help our judiciary to prosecute any corrupt case , using EFCC to arrest these people, court will bail them the following day .
    Nig govt will use the money which is suppose to be used to build roads and other basic amenities to try to prosecute those cabals (cabals= IBB,TINUBU,ABUSALAMI,ROCHAS e.t.c),then the cabals will pay the best lawyers and advocates , they will drag the case to the next four years and des cabals will make sure Buhari dont run a second tenure . New govt will free the cabals and nothing will be achieved, the poor masses . With the current structure of Nigeria institution, conviction of any TOP govt official is almost impossible!

1. My dear, God bless you.

2. You're right but I don't think it's impossible. The judicial system here takes too long and that's the major problem. If they could fast track such high profile cases it'll be easier to get a conviction.

3. Very true. But not impossible, like Nicole rightly said. But I think the judicial system is getting back on track. As per speeding up with cases and trials

13. Even the ones wey follow you travel? Cos they're all around you and with you! The country itself is corrupt btw we are waiting.

14. Hehe!so Tinubu and co and co' will be handcuffed strait to kirikiri?i am trying to figure out how the scene will be:
    Breaking news:Obama crowns Baba with title of Mr Integrity!..yes dats big deal..
    #sai Baba

1. Tinubu hasn't been in public office since 2007,y didn't jolantern probe him?

2. Anonymous thank u. I keep saying this.. anyone who thinks OBJ, tinubu and co have looted or mismanaged anything should have probed them. If u didn't do anything when u were in power, why ask a completely new administration to probe those who left power some 8years ago? Jonathan should have done that if he wanted to. Even right now, if u have ur evidences u can still write a petition against them and send to EFCC.

15. Yes, let him put all into actions when the time comes.

Good interview!

16. Hope he's sure of what he's saying? Hnmmm throwing stones when living in a glass house is a mistake o.

17. Na So! I said dis ysday. He shudnt just mentioned it,but act on it. I'm sure wen d likes of Obj,Ameachi,jagaban&others pants wud av bn hot on their seats as dey heard him say it to Christine Amaepour live on cnn. Nigeria is bigger dan any individual,whoeva is guilty of corruption shud go in for it.

1. Buhari is just making noise, he can't do anything. Why are u all talking like you are strangers. They will just murder this man.

2. @mumu obama househelp u want corruption eradicate but u abuse buhari yesterday and also supported gordon same man who took money meant for ur upkeep.

18. So he will negotiate with terrorists??? One thing d Americans didn't teach him

U will probe APC members but Rochas and amaechi are members of ur delegates. Mtsheeeeeeew

Oshisco!

1. Amaechi, Rochas, Tinubu, Obasanjo, Ajimobi, Oshiomole how he wan do am? How? How? How?

19. Thank you oga bubu, go get em.

20. Too much talk to please American. He cannot do that to his financiers. Them plenty. Lets see if he will still be there when he wants to break the backbones. NOT POSSIBLE

1. Thank you very much!!...
      He should start with Thiefnubu first before I will start taking him serious...

2. Doubt he's losing any sleep over ur not taking him serious

21. I voted for buhari not because I liked him but because I believe he is not a politician who favours his party members and neglects his country and the masses that voted him. I believe him when he made that comment. Call it whatever u want to call it. I still have the next three days before I pass my judgment.but for now I will keep believing and taking him by his word. Mind u I don't even have voters card.

1. You don't have a voters card so how did you vote? Election malpractice. .....I see.

22. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    This guy death don dey near shah....

23. His heart is stone. We're watching

24. Actions speaks louder than words
    Start with your party members now