Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Toyin Johnson Cries ''Let Your First Instinct Be To Save A Life Not Snap Photos...''

Friday, July 03, 2015

Toyin Johnson Cries ''Let Your First Instinct Be To Save A Life Not Snap Photos...''

These days when an accident happens,before the person knows what is happening,their pics have hit the social media..

Most times when breaking news happens,you see pics of people snapping away as if they are in a photography contest.....

Now let me ask you...Is it wrong to record a crime going on if you can and load it on the social media?

Is it right to also make pics of an accident scene with victims lying lifeless and helpless and load it on the social media?

Toyin Aimakhu-Johnson says

EDITED FOR CLARITY

''It has come to my attention that people no longer take life seriously and as a concerned citizen, i feel it is high time we started a campaign or raise sort of awareness about the use of technology while others are literally in a life and death situation.

I witnessed a fatal accident between a large vehicle and a tricycle some weeks ago and to my utmost shock, people brought out their mobile phones and began filming the scene of accident. It was such a horrible sight to behold. I had to step out of my vehicle to bring them to an hospital nearby, with the help of others. 
A Similar incident was posted a while back on facebook, and as a concerned citizen, i feel Nigerians are slowly loosing the ability to interact like human beings. Technology and internet is quickly replacing that natural instinct to help others in time of need, especially when we can do something to help in an accident situation...or save lives.

We are Nigerians and are cultured people with the best morals and orientation, we should not, in any way forget our roots, that before mobile phones, internet, ipad etc, there were proper and physical human interaction where our instincts tells us to help people out of a burning fire or from the wreck of collision of vehicles. 

Do not replace life with technology, let us help each other before making videos or taking pictures and together, stand for what is right and cultured.

Let your first instinct be to save a life when you see an SOS situation and not to bring out your phone and start snapping.It is wrong!

Do what is right,please!''

Toyin Aimakhu Johnson.

(@raychelpr Publicist)

149 comments:

1. Well said...its appaling..however madam publicist @raychelpr kindly note: 'a hospital' not 'an hospital' . 'Nigerians losing' not 'loosing' just to mention a few.thank u

1. Toyin, God bless you for this write up.
      Its really sad and it keeps getting worse. Some humans no longer have conscience and their humanity is gone.

Just 3 days ago opposite my shop, two hausa boys were fighting. Serious fight ooo. Me kpakpa be woman and certainly not in a good state to seperate fight. Lo and behold, the other guys around were busy enjoying the fight and never made any attempt to seperate the boys.
      The one that shocked me was an elderly man old enough to birth these boys. This man was busy recording the fight and smiling irritatingly.
      I jejely close my gate and yelled at him: oga you wicked o. Na until this boys kill each other you go seperate them? Wetin you dey video? You wan release movie? Tufiakwa!
      Immediately, he kept his phone in his pocket and moved in the direction of the fighting boys.

That is how bad it is. Most people now find pleasure in the pain and death of their fellow humans instead of rendering help.

Well, as they say, karma is always ready to dish us our own when its time.

Need a yummy Birthday/Wedding cake in Abuja? Home / office delivery. Also send a gift of cake to your loved one in Abuja.Pls click on my ID to see pics and my contact details.

2. SDk release my comment abi you chop winsh??? Lol

3. Hmmm Stella Stella!!!! I take side eye see the small shade oo ' Edited for clarity'. Thank you sha for the editing cuz the sun here too strong and I no want any gbagaun to add to my headache.

4. Welcome to the 21st century..

5. Okija.you and Stella no go kill me

6. Abi naa @who you help!!!

Dunno if the big prik for my dp dey give sdk restlessness!!!

Smtcheeeww!

7. I absolutely love Toyin's hair. Please does anyone know the name and a very ggod place I can get it done?

8. I absolutely love Toyin's hair. Please does anyone know the name and a very ggod place I can get it done?

2. Toyin, it has come to your attention or you have observed? You should not notice, see or experience these things before you writ on it.

3. She made a valid point. It have been duely noted.
    But this Yorubawood actress should loose some weight first of all. He that comes to equity must come with clean hands.

1. What had weight gain/loss gotten to do with this post?

2. What has weight got to do with wat she's saying? Na wa o

3. Wat weight is she losing ,
      Av u seen her legs?
      Na wa for u oo.

4. What has her weight got to do with what she just stated biko?

5. So you are equating this point she made with something as unimportant as ger weight? So as she's fat, she hasn't come with clean hands? Smh. How shallow

6. You are very foolish. What has her write up got to do with weight. U must be very vain.

7. Ignorance and stupidity 2 u is truly bliss. Stick with it.

8. Pinkshell what has her leg got to do with it lol

9. Pinkshell oooo...

Bwahahahahahahaha.... No chills at all

Hahahahahahahahahahaah

4. She made a valid point. It have been duely noted.
    But this Yorubawood actress should loose some weight first of all. He that comes to equity must come with clean hands.

1. 'It has been' not 'It have been'.Thank me later.

2. Lose some weight? maybe some tummy fat...but some weight? Nah. U don't need to look anorexic to be beautiful. And next time you wanna use that equity maxim, consult the books Cos I see no connection btwn coming to equity with clean hands and weight loss Mr/ Miss Money Maker

3. U seriously are beginning to irritate me,I have no idea d kind of person u wld b in real life,but if u r like dis in real life,u wld irritate d ppl arnd u a hell lot.

4. money maker, plz pardon me for writing this, but you are just so dumb!

5. Is she done hibernating?
    She has a point though.

6. If bloggers also refuse to post these pictures, it might reduce (I hope)

1. True. I see no reason people's lifeless bodies should be shown on social media, to what effect? These are someone's loved ones for crying out loud!

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

7. Well said Toyin, God bless u dear

8. Ara fu mi naa. It's her PR babe.
    Too flawless to be composed by Toyin. Except the "an hospital"
    She's very right though.

1. Lmao.
      E se telorun.
      Human beings are insatiable.

2. I like you sunshine.. will you be my loffa?

9. She's so on point. Saving a dying soul should be the first approach in a bad situation before anything else.
    I hope they'll listen.
    Good morning everyone. Have a blessed day. TGIF

1. Good morning to you too namesake. Have a lovely weekend.

10. I concur...
    I once witnessed a horrific ,heart-wrenching ,bizarre accident situation in Owerri earlier dis year..I couldn't bring myself to come close cos I might just break down in tears at the sight of blood and battered flesh...I just stood on an elevated pavement on the opposite side of the road and watched frm a distance..The sight was too gory abeg..
    People were busy taking photos of dead victims..Kai,my heart broke into pieces...
    No human sympathy anymore...Technology has wiped away the natural instincts in people to help victims of accidents,high way robbery and fire outbreak...These days, na picture taking sure pass...Chukwu mere anyi ebere..

1. You're right. No human sympathy nor empathy. The best way to live in life is to place yourself in other people's predicament. Would you be happy that you're profusely bleeding to death while people are keenly snapping pics of you at that moment? I can't even imagine such pics in my phone

2. Know the truth for the truth shall make you free. Truth is none of you will do what you are all preaching. 'It was heart wrenching, my heart broke down, no human sympathy,bla bla bla). With your human sympathy you climbed a pavement so that 'others' would do something. People who took only photos and published are far better than those who climb a pavement or stand with their hands on their heads shouting ewooo. Truth is when incidents happen what you see is people shouting.. 'Somebody should take them to hospital'. Of course that somebody is anyone but them at the end they say no human sympathy. It is common among women who would stand bye and be saying what are the men doing. So if you don't participate in helping victims and you are running your mouth know it that you are condemning your self. It is a complementary thing. While some are giving first aid some are taking people to hospital while others are passing info. No standing on the pavement or loitering

3. You didn't go close enough to take pictures but you still stood at a distance and watched as humans lay helpless dying. You were no different from those individuals who took pictures. If you did not have the capacity to help, could you have made an effort to call out to those who might have been able to help, or galvanise others into helping?

Dr S.

4. What makes u different from the pple taking pictures? U claim that u can't stand going close to them cos u might break down but u were able to stand from afar and watch dem. If u were one of the victims, wouldn't u have needed any help u can get? If u were really touched by the accident and couldn't stand seeing them, u would have left the scene. The world is a dangerous place not becos of pple that do evil but becos of pple who look on and say nothing,

5. Hypocrite, why u no go help?

6. My own is that the average Nigerian should be lectured on how to give first aid. Truth is there are some situations that first aid can save until the professionals get there. Many have died from not the incidents or accidents, but from being mis handled by those who made their matters worse by not doing the right thing. There are some who when they are involved in accidents shouldn't be moved in a certain way, else it gets more complicated. Someone like me for ex, I cannot save anyone who prolly needs mouth to mouth resuscitation to stay alive until he gets to the hospital.. nor do I know how to handle someone who's got their bone twisted as a result of a fall, and would need to be carried a certain way to avoid spinal injury etc.

So I think we should be educated on giving first aid to save some situations while we wait for help. At least if not for the sake of strangers, we should learn it for the sake of our own immediate friends and family. That way we won't be at loss of what to do when we see strangers who need help.

Nonetheless taking pics of incidents shouldn't be the first instinct during emergencies. It's plainly stupid

7. What was I supposed to do @ dat point in time @ Young man,Dr S and anon...I am nt a doctor neither do I go abt with a first aid kit...I only stated my experience /observation in response to Toyin...-I had a fone with me too buh didn't snap like some oda ignorant people did....
      Sisi Eko 's comment, I love...

11. Trust Nigerians they would wanna snap away their life.

12. She hired a publicist. No way this is Toyins writing. May be her thoughts though... Kudos Toy in, pls tell dem... Its appalling when people do that.

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    The only thing people value this days is hw many numbers LIKES and RETWEET, nothing else and that act alone is pathetic... Thanks for this though but hw many people will listen.....

14. Toyin is absolutely right on this. When an incident occur,people derive pleasure in snapping rather than find solution the problem on ground.

15. I can't even stand d sight of blood, not to talk of an accident scene. Thanks Toyin. Will pass d message on.

16. True.
    The craze to snap away is too much.

17. Pls tell them o. People even post selfies before committing suicide nowadays. Social media craze.

18. Toyin have come again! Which one is 'an hospital'
    But i got the message she's trying to pass anyway.

1. Toyin can come again by saying an hospital which is because Yoruba call the letter h 'e' and the letter e 'h'. They call head 'ed' and call eat 'hit'. But you said toyin 'have' come instead of 'has' come

19. She is very right....i have seen several videos and people are so interested in getting the whole incident on video,...it's really heartbreaking, technology is slowly making people go gaga...

20. I've always wondered about the craziness sha.
    Someone is bleeding and dying and they are busy taking pictures.

1. I could be very squirmish. I hate pain, hate the sight of blood, it takes a whole lot for me to view "graphic" photos on the Internet. I wonder how people are able to stand still and take photos of broken limbs, pieces of battered flesh, gouged out eyes, gray matter spilling outta the brain, to mention a few.

*shivers*

21. I cant even imagine myslf taking pictures at the scene of accident, when I never even cry finish sef...

22. Thats the world of today, people rejoice over others mishap all in the name of social media. I can't deal

23. I for fear.
    Toyin's diction no reach that level.
    Noted tho.

24. Exactly. People no longer care about saving victims all they are about is to snap, then put the blame on the government.

25. Dat is most Nigeria's mentality now,instead of saving their fellow human life wat dey do is to snap and upload it in Internet which is not good at all.we all should remember dat no one knows tomorrow.

26. She is on point!

That madness needs to stop. Someone can actually be unconscious but still alive. They don't check the person's pulse or at least try to administer CPR. ....rather as soon as the accident occurs everybody is rushing to record it in order to proudly say I WAS THERE WHEN IT HAPPENED.

But to what end I ask. I really hope this idea of creating awareness doesn't end with just talks. Action is needed.

1. Gone are the days when people try to resuscitate a dying human. When dem never snap finish?
      Check pulse ke. It only happens in foreign movies o.

27. That's very true. Technology has replaced our sympathy. A lot of innocent pple have been killed because for most pple d first response is to video tape. Take the case of the Aluu 4, most of the onlookers were busy filming their murder instead of stopping their assailants. May God change our new mentality with technology positively. Have a wonderful weekend and ramadan mubarak to all muslims.

28. Tell them,una don hear? Same with that video that one animal that will try to refer to himself as animal was beating a girl with a stick and no one did anything to stop him,instead they video it,I still feel sick to my stomach till now,such horrible horrible ****

29. Well said but its not like people just start taking pics while d person is lying down helpless. People only take pics while others work at helping d victims. So don't make it seem like no one does anything to help.

30. She's very right. Last week wednesday on my way from work somewhere along the agege and iju road a car hit a man and run off speeding. Right before my eyes where passers-by walking past the man,some were even snapping the dying man. The corpse was later moved by policemen. The man died right there as nobody even made any effort to save his life.... I implore people to help instead snapping pictures to put up on social networks.

1. I think its high time Radio and Television houses start a sensitization programe on this issue.

People need to be informed that it is wrong on all levels to be taking pictures of dieing victims instead of helping them.

Stella, i think you can start it. Yes, you are known for doing and saying the right thing. Biko preach it on your blog. People need to be informed.

It is well.

2. Its cos of police wahala,
      Dats y ppl don't help accident victims.
      I wish a law can be passed or smthg cld be done abt it.
      Cos I av witnessed one before, n u need to see d way cars were parting ways for d woman wu layed still on d express road.
      Every1 tot she was dead, even the molue dat hit her ran away.
      All of a sudden she stood up her sef, tank God for a man wu ran to d middle of d road to carry.
      I was a teenager wen I witnessed dis, n I prayed dat day never to be a victim of motor accident in naija.

3. What cause most of this thing is that there is no emergency number to call to come to the rescue, no insurance from both side to cover the bill and nobody want police wahala.
      Abroad people still video after call the emergency line. Even helping them could affect them negatively, but when expert comes they know the best way to lift them due to how severe their accident was.

31. You couldn't hv said it any better
    Our technology age be affecting us all technologically

32. She has bin off the media for sometime...
    Guess she's back!
    Nice write-up tho.

33. she's right.. the craze for social media abi cameras is turning to smtn else. Let us rather be quicker to save than to snap.

34. Gbam Toyayin has spoken!!!!

35. Well said my sister, that was how one man that was jogging sometime ago died. He slumped only for people to gather around him and start taking his pictures, nobody cares to take him to the hospital, too bad.

36. She just spoke ma mind...
    * Julibel Emerald Oliodu * * *

37. True,I have witnessed it several times people want to be the first to break the news. They upload lifeless pics of people on facebook I find it disheartening and gross, it should stop.
    Accident victims need immediate help and air not a crowd of paparazzi trying to get the best shot.

38. True talk though.. very spot on everyone just wants to be the first to break the news to bloggers.

39. Thank God u've got urself a good pr! Nice write up and we will try to do our best always as Nigerians!

40. Yea I love this. Its heart breaking atimes.

41. @ Nigerians being "BEST MORALS & ORIENTATION" NOPE maybe POOR MORALS & ORIENTATION" not the best. We all know we are bad in both but cultured YES then again our culture drag us unto being too tribalistic.
    Nice message thou.
    We always abuse anything we copy from the western world how can someone leave accident victims for photo or video that's wrong. By the way how do you expect people to help victims when 95% of citizens lack FIRST AID knowledge. First awareness should start with genuine
    and serious (MANDATORY )first aid courses for new/old drivers and students on how to help accident victims.

42. I believe you madam,u r absolutely right...

43. Toyin, even though I know u didn't write this article by yourself, I totally support u. Nigerians are degrading in mentality every day. Imagine an accident scene, instead of people to save lives and rush d injured to d hospital, they'll rather snap pictures to dia satisfaction than helping victims. It's really terrible. I wonder when we became this inhumane in Nigeria. Pls stop and save lives, it's more important than any silly picture u want to take!

1. Apart form that, the one that annoys me is when someone puts a pic of an accident on their BlackBerry DP... the way and manner others who don't even know what happened will quickly copy and use the DP, with outrageous exclamations like..."OMG, Jesus, see dead people" etc...without knowing the details oh. Then just ask one of them what the pic is about, you'll start hearing long story...misinformation and fabrication of lies.. something they don't know but just copied from someone else, they'll carry it on their head and start to spread lies. This is the one that irritates me the most. The funniest are those who'll just say... "my sister I don't know what happened oh, I just copied the pic from someone"....jeeezzzz....so u don't know the victims or what happened, but u just love the sight of blood that u had to use it as ur DP, so people can be asking u what happened? Lol. I tire

44. She's on Point!

45. Toyin you dont need to blame people blame technology that made people to misbehave anyhow. When robbers are shooting, you will see them running for their lives but when it is an accident, idiots will bring out phones to snap and be sending to SDK and co.

46. For the first time she made sense

True that!!...I don't understand.people with "selfie" nonsense..... Accident scenes u see.people taking.pictures as if that's their priority in life....

The most annoying.part is that...they start to TAG u on Facebook

47. Toyin good you put your PR's name Cs I know na she write am, Olodo rabata

1. U just a dumb asshole

2. Toyin is that you? Lmao stop fighting for yourself... Ntoi

48. True talk!!...kudos to Toyin..

49. Let your first instinct be to save a life when you see an SOS situation and not to bring out your phone and start snapping.It is wrong! Yes it is wrong to struggle with your camera phone than to struggle to save life!

50. Thoughtful but that instinct can be in everyone. It's a fact. Professionally, as a journalist ur 1st instinct is NEWS. Notepad, recorders, cameras re daily kits journalist move around wit n not 1st aid box. As a gossip ur 1st instinct is 2 ask questions n find sometin 2 gossip about or send 2 Stella's blog b4 saving life, as a careful/careless citizen ur 1st instinct is walk away b4 d police arrives. Etc.

So Toyin nor even boda 2 sweat it, it is wat it is. Let's leave d life saving 4 good samarithans and reasonable doctors whose 1st instinct is 2 save lives. We can only pray that when we fall victims this 2 professional life savers will b near n willing. Amen!

1. So before the advent of social media and technology, what was the first instinct when such happened??
      My dear, let me tell u ehn, social media/tech has made almost everyone lazy and a bit repulsively irresponsible. Myself inclusive.. yep. Things we did manually have been taken over by our gadgets.. for example, I no longer write notes in church again.. unlike before that I had a notepad for reference. Everyone has become a journalist, and besides, most of what journalists circulate are not always first hand info.. they get them from ordinary citizens like u and I, who prolly recorded the event as eye witnesses. How many journalists are always present when incidents happen these days? Na everybody don turn amebo jare.

51. Well said.... Technology has taken over us that sometimes, when one needs an emergency help, people there will be prefer to take pix or videos instead of rendering help.

It pisses me off, let's learn to do the right thing at the right time.

52. God bless you my dear Toyin, this is exactly what i had in mind.Instead them to assist the victims they will be busy taking photos and video i wonder what they will gain from that. May God restore our value for human life.

53. The thing tire person!
    Black man, black mentality!

54. seriously!...she just took words outa my mouth. just yesterday a guy fell on d middle of d road somewere around admiralty rd n was convulsing around say 10.30/11pm n cars hav bin passing him by..if no b as i stop 2 help wit my friends b4 drunk idiot crush am 2death b4 ppl started gathering n mopping..trust lagos lookers. b4 dem go touch d guy sef na problem. who we go blame? a country were 911 sef no de function. just sad.

55. Very well said dear - thanks ever so much for this!

56. Stella edited the write up for clarity.. She stated it at the beginning of the article. Well done Stella Kork and true talk Mrs Aimakhu-Johnson

57. She is so on point. Its been long we heard from her

58. You ignorants should shut the hell up and get a life....she is right to say "an hospital". In English language, a or an is used for anything beginning with an H. Go and research well. Awon ode buruku.

1. An is only used for words with d h' silent, so its a hospital cos d h isn't silent. Who's d olodo now???

2. U must be mad to call me olodo....silly twart. Wonder who this illiterate is. Ode.

59. You ignorants should shut the hell up and get a life....she is right to say "an hospital". In English language, a or an is used for anything beginning with an H. Go and research well. Awon ode buruku.

60. You ignorants should shut the hell up and get a life....she is right to say "an hospital". In English language, a or an is used for anything beginning with an H. Go and research well. Awon ode buruku.

1. And u typed dis nonsense thrice

2. U are sick. Bloody hater. Low life idiat. Common, go and hug transformer. Bad belle.

61. I understand where Toyin is coming from,very valid point. It's just in present day Nigeria, it's so hard to help ppl. I definitely wont take pics if I see an accident,at the same time I have to say im not sure if I can do more than calling attention of authorities to the scene.
    Anythn you report, police is ready to arrest you. You can imagine taking a victim you know from nowe'r to the clinic. Nxt thing police and family think ur the culprit that hit the victim. Na cell be that, family go even say make you pay for burial sef. I'm sure that's why Nigerians are scared to help. But pls instead of videoing, you can go to nearest police station and report.
    I see ppl standing in bus stop during heavy downfall, my heart wants to help and give lift, but when you hear how you can be robbed or kidnapped allowing a stranger into ur car. You go just cool down and drive pass.
    Even to give begger money dey scare me, AND THATS REALLY SAD. It's what Nigeria has become.

62. Yeah....you have said it all

63. Whether she hired someone or not,she said it as it is. Learn from what she wrote and stop yarning dust biko

64. True talk. The attitude is becoming very annoying. As if social media is a course to Nigerians. Snapping everything just to be d first to Carry the news. Mtcheeew

65. Well said.
    Let's be our brothers' keeper.

66. Blog visitors wont kill person. anything person speak, una go pick hole inside, tell us d difference between a and an. still na una dey do beggy beggy for this blog.

i just noticed that money making say make she reduced weight .. all the fat fat people come dey yarn dust for here. make una reduce una weight joo. na una type no the shift for person inside bus.

1. Lol @loveme jeje, you wan kill me with laff.No mind them.
      It don't cost anything to lose excess FAT. Just regular exercise like jogging will do the magic. But laziness will not allow them.

67. BV's got no chill.
    She aired her opinion.

68. For example an house, an husband, and an horse. Lol, I know fit laugh o.

69. @money maker, @loveme jeje keep showing your stupidity. Imbeciles.

70. Someone should tell Linda Ikeji who keeps publishing pictures of people who have died from car accidents. It's an awful invasion of d familys' privacy and akin to desecration of a dead body in my opinion. Who would like to see their family or friend's dead body displayed for the world to see?
    I say we stop commenting on such stories to show our disapproval and respect for the deceased.