Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: PLUNGING NAIRA – BEFORE YOU BLAME EMEFIELE LOOK AT YOURSELF

Monday, February 22, 2016

PLUNGING NAIRA – BEFORE YOU BLAME EMEFIELE LOOK AT YOURSELF

It is either I do not understand economics and how exchange rates work or a vast majority of us Nigerians still don’t get how we have wrecked our country with our own curious choices. Just this morning I was listening to the radio and the lady on air went on and on about how she thought CBN governor Godwin Emefiele was incompetent and should be sacked because the naira was now exchanging at 309 or so to the USD. 

That view pretty much echoes the sentiments expressed by many people I know and it amazes me that there are Nigerians who actually think there is some magic POLICY that can make the Naira strong in the near term. If my economics and my understanding of the way the world works are right, then that is as far from the truth as Jesus Christ is black.

The simple fact of the matter is that apart from oil that accounts for over 90% of our revenues, we really don’t have much of an economy. We hardly produce anything, we import even toothpicks, so exactly what policy is going to be implemented that will turn Nigeria into a top exporting economy in the near term? Where are our Apples, IBMs, Disneys, GMs, General Electrics, Coca Colas, Empire State buildings, Statues of Liberties, Lockheeds, Citibanks, JP Morgans, ExxonMobils, NBAs, Super Bowls etc? Let me bring that closer home.

There was a time long ago when Nigeria had a truly strong economy and the naira was one to the dollar – even exchanged for higher than the USD, but that Nigeria is not this Nigeria. Sadly that Nigeria was laid by the British, and this Nigeria (if you don’t believe in the nonsensical imperialist conspiracies like me) – fueled by the DAMAGING Indigenisation Decree, has been the creation of us Nigerians. Back then we had a booming economy.

We were either the top, or among the top exporters, of timbre, cocoa, groundnuts, rubber, palm oil, etc, in the world. Nigerians not only holidayed at home in their villages, at Yankari Games Reserve, at Obudu Cattle Ranch, at Oguta Lake, at Ikogosi springs, at Gurara Falls, at Mambilla Platueau, etc, we attracted international tourists who brought in loads of foreign exchange. Even Nigerian schools were foreign exchange earners because they attracted foreign students. We had different car assembly plants – Peugeot, Volkswagen, Anamco etc. Nigerian government officials only bought vehicles assembled in Nigeria for official cars. We had a thriving sports industry.

We were not Man United or Chelsea fans, we were Rangers or IICC fans. We had the Nduka Odizors, people made money from sports. We also had companies like Lennards and Bata producing school shoes in their thousands, we had the thriving Nigerian Airways and the Aviation School in the north that produced some of the best pilots in the world. In those days if you were brilliant you were respected much more than the crass money-miss-road contractors of today. Most of the Aje Butters I knew had fathers who were university dons. Back then it meant something to ‘know book’. Our textile industry was alive and well.

Just recently I watched a news report on the textile industry in Nigeria on CCTV News. Though the main focus was on the comatose status of the industry, I was stunned by the gigantic Kaduna Textile Mill built in 1957. I could go on and on.
Today however, no thanks to our parents (and we must call them out the way Wole Soyinka did his generation) and many of us (and we should be remembered for failing our children if we continue like this), we have destroyed everything. Today for instance Nigerian football (which comes easy to me obviously) doesn’t appeal to us, we have to fly across thousands of miles to watch ‘our’ clubs play. Every year we collectively burn billions of Naira being fans of clubs that give us nothing back, but some ‘entertainment value’ – simple pleasures for which we are ready to destroy the future of our children.

Well people, payback time is here. Even with our ta-she-re money we all want to wear designer clothes and carry designer bags, Armani, Givenchy, Louis Vuitton etc.
We all want to drive jeeps with American specs, our children must now school overseas and acquire the necessary accents to come back home and bamboozle their ‘bush and crass’ contemporaries that they left behind. Who holidays in Nigeria anymore, is there Disneyland here? No one buys made-in-Nigeria school bags for their children, after all no Superman or Incredible Hulk or Cinderella on them.

We are no longer top exporters of anything and the demise of oil means we have zilch… zero. A country of 170m fashion-conscious people has no textile industry. We take delight in showing how our made-in-Switzerland Aso Ebi is different class to everyone else’s. When we help our musicians grow and pay them millions, they repay us by immediately shipping the monies overseas to produce their “i-don-dey-different-level”music videos. It makes no difference that distinctly Zulu dancers are dancing to a Nigerian highlife song. As stars concerned they also wed and holiday overseas to impress us all. 

All the musicians who acknowledge their Ajegunle roots now speak in a cocktail of strange accents to symbolise how much they have blown their monies overseas.
Were we a more serious people, the highly popular Kingsway Stores of the past would probably have a thousand outlets pan Nigeria today supporting a massive agriculture industry among others, but today we have the likes of SPAR, Shoprite, dominating the retail industry while Kingsway is dead. And we Nigerians make it a special point to shop from the Oyinbos who have ‘cleaner shops’, ‘better this and better that’. For our personal pleasure we don’t mind them dominating us in our own backyard and shipping proceeds overseas.

I could go on and on, but I don tire. Even as you are reading this, stop for a moment and look around you. What you see will probably explain why we are lucky it is not N1000 to the USD yet. And don’t think for a moment that it cannot get there. Just continue to wear your Armani gear and Swiss-made lace, continue to spend your money on Man United, Arsenal, Chelsea and Barca and encourage your children to do same. (My article tomorrow in my Saturday column in This Day is on the Nigerian champions Enyimba FC – Nigeria’s most successful club – not having a sponsor, yet Nigerian brands pay over N600m to Man United and Arsenal for sponsorship to impress us.) Ehhh, no problem, continue to tell me the NPFL is rubbish or the clubs should clean up their act if they want sponsorship, mo gbo . 

Don’t curtail your interest in choice wines ( we were the number one champagne consumers in the world in 2015), continue to love your American specs, cheer the education ministry for letting schools sink to pitiable levels, don’t fight them to improve our schools, don’t chide them for letting schools drop Nigerian history and embrace British, America and whatever else curricula.

Carry on with your love of French wines and Chinese silk, don’t bother about Jamiu Alli when there is Roger Federer. Stock up on your Italian, American, British products which you cannot live without, including the ‘baby soft’ toilet rolls produced only in that small unique village in England – the days are long gone since you were a broke student who used wet newspapers to wipe your butt. Don’t even consider holidaying in Nigeria, it’s too dangerous – you have to fulfill your dream of being Nigeria’s Henry Ford. Don’t listen to people like me who have a wardrobe full of only cheap adire that is actually cheaper than just one of your Tom Ford blazers. Please keep dressing in fine silk made in some exotic place so you can be addressed accordingly.

Finally keep letting corrupt leaders who have looted your commonwealth and shipped all the monies overseas get away because to attack them does not fit your political narrative. Let us continue with the fine life, let us all continue to work for Oyinbo. But don’t forget that there is payback time and Emefiele is not your problem. Time for us all to look in the mirror and take responsibility.

Culled-heraldng.com

99 comments:

1. In as much as I love reading, I cannot fit read this one. Someone should summarize.

1. You don't love reading, stop deceiving yourself. If you can read an article like this, at a time like this (forex crisis time) then you are not a reader.

2. If u start reading it u wouldn't stop till u get to the end.....

3. Really @ anon, school me no go so how can I read. You know I imagine everything. I am probably imagining that I love reading. Kikikikikikikikiki.

4. Really @ anon, school me no go so how can I read. You know I imagine everything. I am probably imagining that I love reading. Kikikikikikikikiki.

5. So so so so true. We are our own enemies. What's d way forward. SOLUTION OOOOO

6. If. It were celeb gossip you go read am. Olodo

7. Still waiting opioid @ Nwa Amaka.. d Detox plan

8. You couldn't read these few paragraphs? Especially on an interesting topic? And you claim to love reading? Yes, reading only gossip and not anything intellectual. He said, Nigerians should stop being slaves to all things foreign! Because charity or Amaka begins at home! Capische?

9. People display their stupidity here. I can tell some people here are semi illiterate. The want to talk about boyfriends all day everyday. They are shallow minds. Stella keep posting meaningful articles. You will get better comments that are not these silly young ladies bickering and calling each other ugly.

10. This write up is just the basic truth.
      We dont have an economy in the real sense cos we depend on import. And we have all it takes be it natural resources, human resources etc

11. Is this not the same thing that Fab Mum and Iphie dearie has been saying here since, yet illiterates and people with tunnel vision approach to basically almost anything will not even stop and be educated for FREE.
      Ignorance is even worse than the sinking Naira.
      Queen and boss, Eka Joy, tony Ihekire please read and be educated.

12. Can't believe I just read this to the end! Reading this made me feel so sad. What have our past leaders done to this country? We really have a very long way to go and somehow I pray their refusal to do something about the crashing naira is for all Nigerians to have a wake up call to the truth of what's really happened to this country.

13. At Amaka it amaze me how u allowed something this informative educating to just pass u by. Something that will actually help change the situation we find ourselves presently.

Pls try as much as u can to read things like this. It might help in an examination or Job interviews or just genaral discussion with friends. Damn it's a pity

I promise as much as I can to start buying made in Nigeria products. It start with u and I. May God help us all.

But this right here is the bitter truth.

14. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

15. Anon 20.55.spill the beans. Stella make sure u approve it

16. Anon19:34 use your ID na. What have they be saying the government ain't aware of. Is it today this look inward campaign began. You guys just expect miracles or manna to fall from the skies. You think it is a military regime where you wake up and make decrees.

The rot covered up by past governments is what we are facing today. So keep shouting agriculture upandan as if most youth are patient enough to invest their energy and will power into a painstaking venture. Keep heaping blames on the federal government when most states are not viable. Ask you governors to look inward and stop spreading propaganda on the pages of newspapers and electronic device.

17. This is the simple truth....we depend on 'oyibo' for everthing .....it's a pity no past leader could invest with our stolen money.

18. I weep for my country.

1. Wow.... this is incredible... the article has said it all.. this is no time to apportion blames

2. You forgot the craze for foreign degree, even if it's from Benin Republic. If you know the huge amount of money Nigeria loose from This foreign educations, you will shout

3. I look forward to when we'd have our own made in Nigeria tooth pick oooo this is so disgraceful...what a shame

1. The writer made so much sense,i wish we can turn back and go back to where we are coming from,but for where?the road too far jare.

4. Na house I dey go so. My comments resumes tomorrow by 11 am close 5pm. If you miss me just holla just Amazing! Just Amazing!!
    Rumoekperikom hold up na die. Yes my spelling is wrong. Emekuku is boring.

1. Just Amazing just Amazing. Omg! Characters full this blog. Na phc babe/guy you be sef.

5. SDK, swear say you read from start to finish
    LOL
    Y'all should always try to make your write-up concise.

1. I read it from top to bottom. And the first thing that came to my mind was, this man will be stingy o. Everything he wrote is true. Very true. But what is the way forward? All these very wealthy people who throw money around should invest it in their own designer bags, shoes, perfumes, clothes of good quality. So Nigerians can wear this quality designer products instead of running to Zanotti, luis, channel, etc. Maybe if government can ban the importation of some of these goods, it will give Nigerians the opportunity to invest in our own stuff i guess.

2. By concise, u mean break your head and put it inside to save you time of readings?

3. Everything he said is accurate, we have to start using our own things, Nigerians should stop blaming leaders and blame themselves too, every Nigerian want to shop abroad and online, so hw can it improve.. by our own products, not everything is fake.. support ur country pls, let's help Nigeria get back on its feet.. by the way this is my first time commenting, I enjoy reading this blog and it is really inspiring too

4. Everything he said is accurate, we have to start using our own things, Nigerians should stop blaming leaders and blame themselves too, every Nigerian want to shop abroad and online, so hw can it improve.. by our own products, not everything is fake.. support ur country pls, let's help Nigeria get back on its feet.. by the way this is my first time commenting, I enjoy reading this blog and it is really inspiring too

6. What a nice write up. #buynaijatogrowthenaira.

7. Who is this one?
    Emefiele is part of our problem.
    When he was releasing dollars to Dasuki and Co, nko?
    Was the money released meant to help the economy?

Nobody is to be blamed because people didn't know better.
    Even the writer claiming to wear adire. What material is the adire made of? Is it produced locally?

Tueh, everybody suddenly seems to have an opinion.

1. The level of your ignorance is 3much and the worse part is you don't know yet that you are ignorance of events and happenings around you....

2. Yes,it is. Thank me later

The writer nailed it I could agree less on the Emefiele exemption,pffft.

3. I agree with Gbogbo, he is part of the problem. And everyone is allowed to have an opinion. Pls highlight anything he has done to help the situation?

4. Those funds were released on the order of GEJ. There were no check and balances to curtail the activities of d past regime. Our past Govt from 1999 to 2014 is the bane of our struggles today.

8. Beautiful write up.. U made a lot of sense. Apart from Thieves in the govt house. I think somehow we re also the cause of our problem.

9. Hmmmmmm.....oro di hmm, oro pesi je.

1. 14 paragraphs and the only thing you can say is hmmmmm.

Why won't the economy be dead.

10. For we all Nigerians have sinned, and we are beginning to reap the consequences of our luxurious taste for foreign good #Buymadeinnaija to grew the Naira. Emefiele is not the problem

1. How can u include all Nigerians when the dollar never even reach me? The rich and politicians have messed up this country for us and funny enough, its the poor who's left to suffer it!

11. Best piece have read so far! Abati and Charles novia and the other guy forgotten his name where Una own write up.

1. Yeah, good wright up so far.

12. *applauds*

Whomever you are, you made a whole lot of sense in this write-up.
    A trailer load of sense.

The change we seek, begins with us.

You'll see someone wearing a gown.

'Is it Aba?'

And they reply,'God forbid. I dey craze? '

So, why are we complaining?

Let's keep patronising other countries, as we are not 'good enough ' to produce nada.

Look at Ghana of yesterday. Just negodu Ghana.

This bed, we go lie on am, anyhow wey we make am. Simple!

Ahhh, I remember Anamco. And Bata. Memories, memories.

You don't think we can go back to those days?
    We can if we want to. Sadly, we don't want to.

So, let's all stop whining and maybe, get used to it for now....lol.

1. Exactly. We are part of our problems.

2. We can go back to those days if the government give us steady power..

That will get a lot of manufacturing companies running smoothly..

Government shouldn't give high terrif either because if tarrif are high, production cost will be high

Before any change starts let there be constant power

You would be thrilled at the things that would happen from then..

I import things to sell in naija in large quantities. I do that because what I import to sell is made in Nigeria but very very expensive than what I want. And secondly the quality isn't up to what I import. Nigerians like cheap and quality things. If I sell What is made here, number one I'll be running at a lose.

But if they cut cost of production, I would buy what is made here and sell. It's as easy as that

3. Thank you White Diamond for this comment. It's amazing how people have refused to read this insightful piece. We can do it if we want to but we look down on everything made in this country. It's so sad the way we are going...

4. Anony 18:26, you are right, we know we should "buy Naija", but without important things being fixed or provided, we are wasting our time. Number one, power, power, power. This will encourage production and reduce joblessness. Then transport, we need good roads in this country. Then security, without which, the risks of business would be too high. Then other things. So it's not about chanting. Emefiele appears clueless to me. That is my opinion, you can come and menstruate under, mtcheeew.

13. Did Emefiele pay this person? Guy or babe na today naija begin drink champagne, abi na today Kingsway, all the Textile companies and indeed all the manufacturing companies in naija fold up? Abeg go and sit on a log, Emefiele is so confused that he cannot fix what he, Dasuki and all the PDTHIEVES spoilt, they emptied our treasury! True we are part of our problem but deeper truth is that these politicians finished us and topped it off with a clueless CBN Governor.

14. Amen. I been saying it for a while now, all these ppl running to Dubai to vacation or host parties. Buying European designers day in day out, you never see them feature any Nigerian designers or craftsppl. Every vacation has to be in the ME, Europe or America, you never see them vacationing in Nigeria or elsewhere in Africa. They take all their money building up already built up nations and economies instead of their own. All competing for social media fame and exclusivity while their nation's economy tank and then they blame the govt. Uselessness and wasted opportunities in these ppl is sickening.

15. Need I say more?

I read everything and I know WE are all guilty of some with our "Tachere" money.

Emiefele is not our problem!

16. Gbam!!! Hit the nail on the head. We are all guilty... we are still helping the free fall of the Naira in one way or the other... I don't think any1 will die if they don't eat imported rice.... we'll only get used to the Abakiliki rice and eventually join the exporters... point is we'll survive if sterner policies are put in place to help us all... #buynaijatogrowthenaira

17. Well said Stella, Nigerians are the problems of Nigeria.

18. My country person who wrote this article you are so right. To those who can't read it I weep for you as I weep for Nigeria. Our longer throat is too much. Even moet was too small at a point. It had to be crystal or DP. God help us.

19. Abeg make I hear word for this toothpick matter, you way you write u no be Nigerian? Why u no produce toothpick abi you no like money? Fools so CBN governor work na to sitdun shop? Or e think say na to count money alone na e be banker work. Make una dey the live life of management me I get money and I dey overseas. By the time una Comot for una cave make una hola!

20. Hmmmm it is well,the government has a big role to play in encouraging our local industries.the government should do something about electricity and also encourage banks to give to small and medium scale enterprises loans to encourage them.NYSC introduced one skill acquisition programme called SEAD but do you know is Corp members that will pay for what ever skill you choose.and they claim they want to empower us.Nigeria has a long way go concerning this issue of discouraging importation of foreign goods.

21. The writer simply hit the nail on the head. The innoson jeeps that were manufactured here in Nigerian,are our lawmakers ready to ditch their 'prados','Hondas' fot it?
    The CBN governor is a major cuplrit in this because Nigeria was bad when he came but the niara didn't depreciate to this level so what happened? Weren't people using 'gucci bags and the likes den?
    He should come up a fast and better solution to save us from this mess we are in.
    God bless Nigeria.

22. The most annoying is this football thing, what is the use of it...just entertainment and millions are been wasted everyday. Its amazing and annoying to note the rate at which the younger generation will suffer should steps not taken to curb some wayward and show of frivolity activities. There are some people I have met in this Nigeria that if you tell them.. maybe a phone for example is bought for #2500 THEY will not touch as if it will infest them with poverty. The truth be told, most things we use in naija , we are not ripe for it yet.

23. What truly amazes me is that, the corrupt people that steal from the treasury cannot establish a manufacturing company to create employment or go into Merchandised farming, or clothes making. But be vacating abroad, buying designers and throwing parties. The writer is right, it is PAY BACK TIME!

24. Tell them oh. Nigerians living in lala land

25. I read from the beginning to the last and I must applaud whomever you are that wrote this beautiful piece.

It's quiet a pity we find ourselves in this poor state today as a nation..

We must all United together as a nation to rebuild our economy..

26. Will be back 2moro to deal with some bvs here most especially those commenting iranu using Anono........

*Just Amazing,,just amazing,,just amazing..*lol*gum dey ur head

Mc Pinky

27. This write up make sense die.

28. Uwa Amaka and Co who don't like to read/won't read this short article are part of the problems Nigeria faces today. If you can't read this how can you read chapters in your text books and understand anything? This is really unfortunate. Reading never killed anyone before. No one had died from it. Surprise that brain of yours that it's still functioning please. After they will say they are leaders of tomorrow.
    Mchewww
    -Babydee

29. Excuse me. Direct this your rant at Dangote, who has free access to Dollars to go an open cement factory in other countries.
    Direct your rant at th government, who kill local industries and business. You pay taxes, tenement rate........ yet you have your own power generating set, borehole, security guy, asides all this, local government will come and collect 60k fro you for TV license and useless
    charges, Lawma will show up with frivolous bill, IKEJA DISCO will bring 100k estimted bill, police will show up an lock up your office because someone is not satisfied with your service, area boys will come and demand different things from you...... how won't we import ehn? Importation cuts of all this unnecessary processes.

Try getting getting license from Nafdac for allied processing then you understan what I mean.

Naija businesses can't cope, so quality o products is less...... it can't compete. Will you use ur hard earned money to buy an inferior product when with extra N200, you can get a foreign brand?
    Abeg miss me with this stupid post of yours, it's not my fault I like foreign products. I like good quality.
    Try using local Pampers for your baby and come back and explain to me why I won buy huggies

1. All I can say to you anony 20:39 is thank you. The writer thinks it is all about chanting "buy Naija". Without the appropriate systems, processes, resources and brains put in place, we are wasting time chanting. Emefiele is not entirely to blame, but believe me, he has his portion of blame. Don't expect me to go for poor quality, if I can afford to get better, it's not just a matter of taste, but of life and death as well. Have you seen what fake products have done to people? Fake drugs, fake building materials, fake electrical appliances, fake cosmetics, fake shoes, fake this, fake that. We Nigerians will even import fake things so we can get rich quick. A whole lot of stuff produced in Naija are so poor, other countries won't consider importing them. Let us face reality abeg, mtcheeew.

2. I agree with the writer in terms of consumers and Nigerians patronising Nigerian brands and us been more producers of our own goods, however, some strict policy and some outdated laws have to change.

The government need to provide adequate policies for people who want to do business in Nigeria, not that one will start and charges from different parasites will pop up.

I am looking at myself and promise to buy more Nigerian product. This change we seek starts with you and I .

3. Thank you for this response! First let me say I work hard and I have a right to spend my earnings as it pleases me! That is the honest truth!
      Secondly, absolving Emefiele from the current woes is very wrong! As the CBN gov, he has a duty to protect the naira with the right policies, so far he's been clueless and only dancing to the tune of the president's stand of not devaluing the naira, absolute crass!
      Taste for foreign product is only because local options are either not available or poor in standard do there is a gap that needs to be plugged by the govt. Capacity, standards, skills and will gaps needs to be plugged.
      To heap the blame on Nigerians for the freefall of the naira is not only simplistic it is also unfair..we have a part of the share but the govt needs to provide the basics to support local content.

30. Well, hmmm, it is a pitiable situation. It could get worse. It is not rocket science, I laugh when I hear people put blame on Godwin or buhari. Our currency doesn't even need to be devalued anymore cos we re not producing nothing apart from crude. The crude, we cant even set the price nor the quantity. Approximately 15 dollars to explore, then 26 dollars to export, totalling 31 dollars per barrel. Nawhaa o! How we wan make gain for this kin condition.

1. We all know the problem, but what is the solution.

31. Thank you so much for this article.

32. I didn't want this interesting article to end.
    But I felt SAD!
    CHAI!

33. I'm simply going to concentrate on the message and not the messanger.we always say here that he who comes to equity comes with clean hands. he.I can bet this man doesn't wear anything made in Nigeria, he has sent his children abroad to school and 95% of the things you will find in his house are not made in Nigeria. The major problem we have in this country is we have too much talkative.pls we need to start doing more and talking less. Implementation lo matter.Oga let's start with you please give me all the foreign things you have and start to buy Naija.

34. This is an eye opener ,I weep for my country.

35. Maybe if we had light more industries can spring up and stay up

36. How can u ppl defend d statement d naira is dropping in value as correct. Though d insult olodo is not necessary,but it's value is rising abeg. Dropping means decreasing,rising is appreciating na. Pls let us not lick her ass unnecessarily.

37. We are part of our problems but our main problem is the government. Let there be constant light and a moderate tarrif and give us a year GBMMMM we wl bounce back. Naija sabi struggle

38. The most intelligent piece I've ever read on this blog so far!

39. The most intelligent piece I've read on this blog so far