Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dealing With Kids During Holidays!

Wednesday, July 06, 2016

Dealing With Kids During Holidays!

The Schools will close for the Summer Holidays on Friday and even though I am excited that the kids can rest and spend time doing their own thing,the thought of having them around all day gives me headache already!

Who has kids and knows what I am talking about?

They stress double,eat double and do everything double..My kids are adventurous so i am the class of those who must seek them out always to know what they are up to if they are not anywhere near me.

Who is looking forward to their kids stay at home Holiday?

80 comments:

1. There is what we call summer lesson, that will help.

1. Me I'll just bundle them to my mom's
      No time for headache
      Just time to spend quality time with hubby.....hehehe
      #belleno5loading
      GOD Forbid!!!!!

2. Mine attends summer club (except when we go away), so i don't have him under my feet all day. Bless him.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

3. Good to know in James voice

4. The thought of it gives me headache,having them around for the 2 days Muslim holidays is already killing,my kids can scatter house for africa,they go from one room to another until they have successfully turn the whole house upside down. Getting them to eat is another war,i ll find a way to deal with though,after all they re blessings

5. Am going thru d same wahala. August pls come so i can get my life back. My kids, 2 boys are out ofsummer for the summer. This july is not running fast @ all. If na dec 31 for don reach since.

6. Am going thru d same wahala. August pls come so i can get my life back. My kids, 2 boys are out ofsummer for the summer. This july is not running fast @ all. If na dec 31 for don reach since.

1. Stella my own kids eh three boys.. . Hmmm

I don tire o God help me.

Isi agbam pop corn

3. None!.,.
    I don't think there are mothers that enjoy their kids being at home...
    In Nigeria,most people send their children to holidays lesson or vacation somewhere else!...

The only joy of it is that you won't be waking up early to prepare them for school...
    Stella,if you have a help,you won't be feeling the whole shit nau...

1. Even with help, that moment the child decides to call mummy 100 times in a minutes is what I'm not looking forward too.. And to think he is calling not because when needs anything, just to disturb you...

Summer lesson is the best thing that happened to parents after school.. Then play dates on. Weekend during vacation will happen. I can't be stressed.

2. The thing do dey fear me sef,as am expecting about 8 children to from my relations to come for holidays,one have landed already,i have been planning in my brain how to handle them and saying no to them will break their heart.God dey shaa

3. Rinda will you 'fly' with your boys to the other continent? Cos this is the period one will have to start looking for your comments with torchlight.

ShanzEmpire

4. Help ke?

I know how many times my daughter bangs on my door screaming My mommy!!!!! Just this Sallah break oooh

Then when I open for her,i see her brother toddling behind...there goes my rest!

Once they know you are around,it is overrrrrrrr.LOL

5. I love summer holidays with my kids, planning what to do the next day etc. Enjoyment dey

6. Lucille, don't do more than yourself. Eight kids are ALOT!

4. Enrol into extra moral classes

1. Mural
      Thank me tomorrow lol 😁

2. #Dead

Amanda,why do you want to give Jamishi the opportunity to shine like this?
      Choiiiiiii.

He will not fail to inform you on how he types "impeccable" English now.
      Jamishi Jamshi nwoke.

3. Amanda don fall jamusi hand ooo... Kikikiki. James the know-it-all

5. D Holidays are here again! Kpele Stella in advance

6. Holiday Classes ti take over. Mbok I no fit shout

7. Thank God for summer school. I'm not even bothered. Summer school starts one week after closing. I can't come and die

8. I am not looking forward to them staying at home biko. I have already laid down plans. I will waybill them to my parents first, then later on to my inlaws. Even their staying at home this sallah break is bringing me headaches. Been talking since yesterday. They don't nap, and even if they do, you will be hearing them screaming and fighting each other in their dreams. This one will shout; Valerie stop touching my teddy. And another will scream leave me aloooone! Lol.

1. Lol...you hv to learn how to manage your kids o. The wahala is normal every mum goes through it and it's one of the joy of mother hood,so don't shy away from it.

2. Also I can't even stand my kids with my in-laws or parents throughout summer I feel they stress them and also give them headache.

3. Hahahahaha! Enjoy it jor.

But I thots it's 'valery', at least, that's how my friend spells hers

4. Yes oh!
      Waybill them to my mum
      Thank God my mum is still alive

5. 😂😂😂😂😂😂 waybill them got me rolling on the floor.. We can't die please

6. Lolz. Walahi it's not easy. Jasmine that's the spelling we use oo. But there are others too.

7. LMAO@Waybill.

I can't even sleep if I send mine off. That's another bout of headache on its own.

Maybe when they are a little grown,it will sit well in my mind.

These kids ehn. Still laughing.

9. As I never marry, not to talk of having kids nko ?

10. Over to mothers in the house.

11. Summer class taking over oh, I nor fit shout.

12. It's just day 2 of the public holidays in Naija and I'm already sick and tired of being sick and tired of yelling and spanking and I've just not had any rest so far. Only God knows what this long holiday will be like. Was hoping we could travel but Buhari & dollar no gree person. If we try it, we will be sitting ducks when we get back. Will surely be enrolling them for summer school sha. I hope I get other creatives ideas from this post on how to engage them further. Pheeew😓😢😥

1. Kikikiki
      Creative?

Sneak into your room and lock the door.

The only problem with this tip is that you only get 2minutes rest before they pounce.hahahahhahahaa

Seriously though,Summer school for your Pre-nursery and Nursery.
      Dance and arts school for your teenagers.

13. Baba God please reason my matter..

14. Stella is not an easy task. My head don dey hot already 😬😥😦.

But they are joy of the family.

15. My B.p is already developing. Hahahahaha. No travelling this summer.I trust my hubby,he will remember office meeting this period. Me will look for a summer lesson for them,even two times a week no problem. I pray NEPA to also keep light at least their Dsny and nickjnr can help out. God help us.

1. Let your B.p start coming down ooo.

2. Paw Control
      Wanda and the aliens
      Dora the Explorer
      Ummizummi
      Bubble guppies
      Zack and Quack
      And so many others...that's what rings in my head when I sleep.

3. Iphie, how come you know all these? I have only girls so i'm used to Sophia the first, Dora the explorer and Barbie.

4. Mine are tired of these. Now its youtube supervised videos

5. @Anon It is my daughter oooh.
      Shimmer and shine follow too.
      Dem plenti.

I dey see them for dream sef. LOL

Jumia...These tablets loaded with educative stuff helps too.

6. As in ipbie u jus listed my son's itinery of cartons every day.. I do g really like shimmer and shine tho..

16. I think the best bet is to keep them busy doing fun activities.

These days we have more holiday camps,cookery courses for teens, etc. Let them learn a skill they've also wanted. If you have the money you can also pay for a friend or 2 of theirs, so it'll be more fun.

The important thing is to let them rest and have fun while at it while giving you a couple of stress free hours while at it.

I would look forward to being with them though, these days kids grow so fast, before you blink they're out of the house holding their first job.

Enjoy them while they're here!

1. You are very correct, very very correct.
      I'm enjoying mine too, even when my home is 'turned up side down', I find solace in the fact that soon, very soon they will all be grown and responsible. So I don't wanna 'cage' them. I play, get dirty with them. Lots of cartoons to watch during the day, paintings and artwork, I also read out to them. Once they are up to 5-6years I will enrol them to French Centre. So far, I'm taking it one day @ a time.

17. I'm dreading it but also looking forward to it in some way. Dreading it cos my son will be calling me hundred times at work to ask when I'll get home and that he is bored of being with just my mom all day. And looking forward to it cos I'll get to sleep a bit longer in the mornings without rushing to wake up to prepare him for school before going off to work

18. SDK no be small thinzs oooh! They finish somewhat in two weeks time in Manchester, 3 boys, their mum off to Nigeria a day after they break up for two weeks, me annual leave for two weeks to mind them, not looking forward to it at all. As per chairman na, I just dey do ogboju say we go manage, whalahi after this 2 weeks their computer games skill no go be here. *strolling into a game shop, na me and una*

1. Lmaoo, this cracked me up. You are even lucky you are in a country where nothing like 'up nepa' exists.

Oh Lord My God, remember me. Give me a reason to be a part of this discussion next summer, Amen.

2. Oga if you have a park close to you, take them for a few hours a day so they run around and tired themselves out. Whilst they are playing, they will hardly disturb you which leaves you with plenty of time for your phone. Don't forget to pack some snacks and plenty of water for them o. Good luck.

19. I enrolled my kids for 'sommerferien'. I need to enjoy the break too cos by September it's work and school for me. I need fresh air small.

20. My own was to be loosing any electronics i had in sight,whether its in good condition or not..kikiki

My mum will shout and shout then eehh,kai! Now if i remember those days i just laugh it off..

I remember the day i was toying with the TV at home back then;and i was thinking my mum went far,only for her to enter the house and next was one wonderful flogging of my life...that woman eehh!! She too like cane..kikikikiki

@MARTINS ABOY

1. Lol @ she too like cane. I bet if she didn't you wouldn't have turned out right.. Mumsies rock jor

21. #Don't lie to someone who believes you*

22. Hahahhaa parenting!

23. Stella,I can imagine! I have 3 boys and the thought of that holiday is killing men Imagine my hubby telling me that the sister's kids are coming,all boys too o.When I give am side eye he maintained himself.abeg o they should not kill me before my time.lmao

1. Lmao...Hope say you give am better side eye?? If they insist on coming, let them come with their own Help/minder.

24. Stella,I can imagine! I have 3 boys and the thought of that holiday is killing men Imagine my hubby telling me that the sister's kids are coming,all boys too o.When I give am side eye he maintained himself.abeg o they should not kill me before my time.lmao

25. Summer camp is the answer Stella.they have been on summer holiday since June 23 till mid sept. The headache was too much oh. Na so I enroll dem for camp. Adventure camp, now I get peace for myself. Lol

26. Lol... Summer lesson will be a good option for the kids.

27. You all should be grateful and thankful to teachers. Now you can see why our profession is the most important one in the world

28. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂,dis reminds me of d song some v food but cannot eat.....D ones dat dont v children r begging God for a miracle....d ones dat v r being troubled by dem....Anyways its one of doz things, can't wait to v mine....I will so bundle them home to ma mum too....for me to v peace of mind.

29. My boy is still young, but I have plans for when my kids will be on break. I already told hubby that I will send them to language school o. By the time they become teenagers, they will be able to speak a second language aside English.

30. Am gonna pack my kids to my MIL.. Afterwards, I will come back and gbensh the house down with DH..

Adaugo Mukosolu

31. Am gonna pack my kids to my MIL.. Afterwards, I will come back and gbensh the house down with DH..

Adaugo Mukosolu

32. Stella, don't you have a village or mother in-law?
    There is also summer-camp, i expect you to have some in Germany. Send them to summer-camping, if there is no village or maybe your mother in-law is too busy.
    It can really be stressful having your kids at home throughout the summer holidays, my lady friend has already sent her two boys to her mother in-law in the village immediately they returned from one week summer camp. They live by the sea, so, they go for swimming everyday.

33. Adventure mood will be activated in 3 weeks when they are back from summer trip from school. Chai am not looking forward to it ooooo...

34. Looking forward to the holiday. Atleast I won't have to wake up early to prepare them for school.

35. Really dreading the holidays.

36. When parents complain about their kids,I just laugh..Dats to tell u d stress teachers pass tru to be with dis kids in school..

37. My 2 kids, my sister's 3 kids ( from Lagos), my other sister's 2 kids ( from PH) and my brother in law's son ( lagos) will be coming, my other brother in law's 2 kids are in the same town so im sure theyll be around most days too

I've already planned the summer schools for the different ages. I have 2 helps and y other sisters help will come with them too

I love having them around like them during summer even though I know my house keeping money will be like triple the sum at the end of the holidays but I love my kids getting to know heir cousins...

I have perfected the act of locking my room door when I'm back from work or at home for any reason. 😀😀😀😀😀