Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Government Seals off Tony Rapu’s church

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Lagos State Government Seals off Tony Rapu’s church

The Lagos State Government has approved the sealing of a Lekki-based Church, This Present House, for violating building regulations.

The church, christened ‘The Dome’ is on Freedom Way, Lekki Phase 1, Lagos. It belongs to a popular pastor, Dr. Tony Rapu.

According to a statement, the owners of the church contravened the Lagos State Regional and Urban Planning Law 2010 by building without title documents and requisite building permit.

The statement by the Commissioner for Physical Planning and Urban Development, Anifowoshe Abiola, stated that the government would not fold its arms and watch a brazen contravention of the law that could endanger lives and property of residents.

The commissioner explained that the said church has no Planning Permit to embark on such a massive construction without due process.

Besides, he said the church fence was standing in the Right of Way of Freedom Road (currently under construction) and also directly under the high-tension wires.

The statement reads: “While government appreciates citizens’ rights to freedom of worship, the law stipulates a minimum of 15meter setback from the high tension wire to the property line. This church neglected and has refused to comply with the Statutory Notice served, as such the State Government must protect its citizens in order to mitigate against avoidable disasters.”

It reiterated the government’s position against illegal development and warned owners or developers against building without planning approval.

The statement further said that the government has given a 30-day ultimatum to owners/developers of buildings without planning permit to comply with the state planning laws to avoid sanction.

The commissioner urged Lagosians to show understanding and cooperation as the implementation of the planning laws would benefit every resident.

The Nation

21 comments:

1. They didn't do the right by building where they are not meant to build. The government should settle the case amicably. That's my take this morning. Commenting from www.techbmc.com

2. Who is after TPH? The high tension wire has been of concern to me sha.

As for the fence, I don't agree with them. Thy have finished construction on that road since last year but they didn't demolish it?

3. Lie lie govt n the same govt is building Isolo market (along Aye rd) under high tension. Govt make una fear god in all dis lies ur are sharing
    Godwin Alex

4. The truth is that their fence is too close to the road. If you go to where the church is to park conveniently on the service lane and vehicles to be moving on the road is very difficult. My boss is a pastor in that church old mama youngie sleeping with small small boys. This woman is 70 year old o,she go put on jeans do makeup wear armless top climb altar to preach. Even Tony rapu is not an exception. Stella you need to do a post on this lekki women. It is well

1. Lol.I agree stella please do a post on lekki women we promise not to mention names.

2. Lekki women prostituting should now be a topic? Is it not their lives? Is there a law that forbids it? Abeg find another thing to talk

3. God will continue to punish you for this comment you just posted.

We have no 70 year old female pastor.

How do you know she sleeps with young boys? Was you there?

as for wearing jeans and sleeveless tops. No comment. You have clearly shown the caliber of your thinking.

Pastor Tony is one of the greatest pastors Nigeria has today. He is a true man of God and I suggest you watch your words.

This is a clear sabotage and shake down. The church has been there for years. Why does lagos state decide to diligently do their job now. Total fabrications but the devil has already lost.

4. TPH is opened for service! Oya goan die with your comment! Do you know who Pastor T is????

No one can shake House Of Freedom!

5. Pastor Tony is a good man I am sure they have settled with lasg cos the church was open for service this evening.

5. Na wa ooo. End time lagos state. Tony Rapu dont worry the God that you serve will not put you to shame.

6. Move rd Lagos n u wld be wondering if Lagos state has ever had a commissioner of housing cos pple build anyhow d like
    Godwin Alex

7. End time lagos state. Tony Rapu the God that you serve will fight for you.

hahahhahaha anon 8:42 chai

8. Oh The dome very close to that place they are demolishing(Itedo) What will Ini Edo do now(Yes that is where she worships) But if........what am i even saying #IMustCommentSyndromeIsDoingMe. But i still make sense.

9. Abeg they should leave my church o! Kilode!

10. Well i hope LASG is not just after the church using regulations in disguise to bring down a place of worship. I haven't been to that church but if what is said is true then i believe the church should follow the law

11. Ha, my MD's church. So where does government want him to worship now

12. Where was Lagos state when tph was repairing that bad road? Na wa...

13. The comments here show why our nation is in the state it is. What does it matter if it is a church, hospital or disco? A pastor, imam or juju priest? Everyone has to abide by the law and be sanctioned if they don't. Even the Bible says give unto Ceaser what is Ceasers!