Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NAFDAC Approves Production Of Chloroquine For Clinical Trial Against Coronavirus

Friday, March 20, 2020

NAFDAC Approves Production Of Chloroquine For Clinical Trial Against Coronavirus

The National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) has approved the production of Chloroquine for clinical trials in the search for a cure for COVID-19.

Director-General of the agency, Mojisola Adeyeye, made the announcement on Friday at the NAFDAC headquarters in Lagos.

She, however, pointed out that NAFDAC is not approving Chloroquine for the treatment of COVID-19 but for clinical trials to find treatment for the pandemic.

“In the case of Chloroquine, it has been demonstrated in the literature and with clinical research which is still ongoing, that Chloroquine is superior to the Placebo.

“NAFDAC is not approving Chloroquine as a product that has can be used for Coronavirus because there is no submission to us for registration but because it is under clinical trials, NAFDAC approves medicines meant for clinical trials.

“Therefore the medicine is being approved just for the clinical trials,” Adeyeye said.

She called on experts and researchers that are interested in doing a clinical trial on Chloroquine to approach approved outlets.

from the willnigeria

9 comments:

1. Madam Moji
    Chloroquine full shop for Naija na, with or without Nafdac approval.

2. Trust them na.
    Expert all them Coronaquin, Chinaquin, Hyper-quinin extra.

3. I can never forget the itching i experienced in the hands of chloroquin, damn! Disgraced me in public... its not the kind of itch you can endure & it goes away, lai lai, you must scratch, very wicked drug. The itchy areas are centered under your feet, inside your nyash, palm, arm pit etc.... and if you think having your bath will make it go away, you clearly dont know your blood group!
    Only Piriton would subside the itch.

1. GBAM!!! you get am. all those unreachable places dem.

2. Funny enough, it doesn't itch me. Its Fansidar that itches me just a little.

@AGELESS T

3. Macbeth, please don't remind me of chloroquin o. That headline alone just brought back horror.

4. I can never take that medicine gen if doctor prescribed it for me
    That medicine suffered me in this works, I don't want to see it again in life.

5. What is the difference between hydrochloroquinne and chloroquine? Heard someone saying its actually the former drug that fights off COVID-19 virus; abeg, dokitas in the house, which one is it?