Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Inaugurates 8 Man Judicial Panel Of Inquiry Into Police Brutality In The State.

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Lagos State Inaugurates 8 Man Judicial Panel Of Inquiry Into Police Brutality In The State.

Lagos state governor Babajide Sanwao Olu Tweeted and posted on Instagram that an 8 man Judicial panel of Inquiry has been inaugurated in Lagos state to investigate complaints of Police Brutality.....

As we move to end police brutality, by virtue of Section 5 of Tribunals of Inquiry Law, Laws of Lagos State, 2015, I inaugurated an 8-man Judicial Panel of Inquiry and Restitution which will receive and investigate complaints of police brutality in Lagos.

'The panel will in the next 24 hours be joined by 2 youth representatives and a member of the National Human Rights Commission as we look to provide restitution while following due process.

In Lagos, beyond setting up this panel which we hope will serve as a representation of our broader interests, we have established a N200 million fund for compensation to families and individuals who have been victimized by officers of the disbanded SARS.

Orderly room trials of erring policemen resulting in dismissals, demotions and more severe punishment for human rights violations have begun. We have also started engaging with protesters and all sides affected in all this.

We have witnessed the protests of our youth against police brutality. The pain of this generation has been felt in various parts of our state and country, as well as in the diaspora, all speaking with one voice against the unbridled violation of their rights and lives

I am on the side of the young people out there. I understand your pain and I know your concerns are legitimate. I must reiterate that while we were able to immediately acquiesce to some of your demands, some will require time: we ask you to bear with us as we work on them.

I will like to renew my appeal to you to suspend the protests and create an atmosphere for the resolution of all pending demands. I encourage everyone brutalized by the disbanded SARS including the families of those who have died to present their cases before this Panel''.

9 comments:

1. Does it mean if the youth didn't protest the LASG won't have set up a panel for police brutality?? Our voices still needs to be heard.

2. Seems all the states are setting up panels but we know some states will yield nothing including mine. Another avenue to eat more money. Useless government we have.

3. We didn't not tell you we need a 5panel if we want we will appoint people by ourselves not you gathering old people as 5panel for us

1. What is this one saying?

2. Anon, e really reach to ask🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

4. Yes I agree that panels will be set up, but All we want is quick action, no plenty stories.

All the evidences and materials needed for quick action are already on ground.

Thanks as you people comply

5. They have to wait for protest before they could do the right thing, insensitive government. Where is President Buhari sef? Is this not the same man that was gallivanting from one State to the others during the election campaigns? Now to come out and address the same people that elected him has now become an herculean task.

6. Na wah. All this is just giving them new jobs and ways to chop money. It is well