Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Yemi Solade Apologises To Movie Production Manager For Slapping Him 20 Years Ago

Monday, July 14, 2025

Actor Yemi Solade Apologises To Movie Production Manager For Slapping Him 20 Years Ago

Actor Yemi solade has tendered an apology to movie production manager Afeez Abiodun for slapping him on a movie set 20 years ago

‎"let me apologize to afeez Abiodun, I slapped him once. He was production manager of a movie I can't recall the exact year. We were filming in Oyo state, outskirt of Ibadan.

‎After shooting, we returned to the village and everywhere was pitch black. When you hear 'blackout' in a village that's the real blackout. In a normal town, you could still see car lights or something but there? You couldn't even see unless you were wearing white.

‎Naturally, in a situation like that all the complaints and frustration falls on the production manager and Afeez wasn't really taking me seriously at that point so I got infuriated and that slap came from nowhere in the dark, I didn't like that.

‎The next morning, he was gone. He left the location, we just woke up and didn't see him again.
‎So Afeez... please don't be angry with me it's been a long time I'm truly sorry. It's been a long time it could as been as long as 20 years ago"

‎from African A-list

So he waited 20 years to apologise?

18 comments:

1. Wow. It took you 20years to apologise.

2. An apology after 20 years. If he was late nko??🙄

1. Oh ooo.....what happened all these yrs? And they're in the same industry.

3. After 20 years, am sure he was in hot demand back then.

4. Hmmmm, Well, it's never too late to make amends, I commend him for that.

5. There is a kind of slap that cures madness. Many don't hear word.

6. Guilty conscience? 🙄🙁🤔. Plus you should have reached out to him personally not on social media. 🙄🙄🙄

7. After 20 years and you couldn't reach out to him personally ummmm

8. And you don't know his Instagram handle at least to tender your apology to him privately bah? I'm sure you looked down on him then cos you were at your peak during that time but let's thank God man no be God today

9. It is never too late to apologise, weldone Mr Solade for making amends.

10. So this Afeez, Mide Martins hubby has been in movie production since as far as 20yrs ago? Yet he doesn't have any personal blockbuster movie on Netflix, Prime or even in local cinemas?
    Small children that started 10yrs ago are making waves

1. No be by block buster some of these cinema/ netflix movies turned out to be bad investment. Just a few that made it. We know the successful ones

2. No be by block buster some of these cinema/ netflix movies turned out to be bad investment. Just a few that made it. We know the successful ones

11. I like Mr Afeez and Mide they seem contented and it's a great quality to have they are not included competition with anyone. Even when Mercy and Mide were really close back then a line was drawn. Kudos to them.

12. I thank God that Afeez is in the kind of position where he can pay not just his own bills but that of Yemi Solade as well.

Many of the movies in his earlier days that would have made him stand out were frustrated by marketers and the military governments of the day .

Despite his humble beginnings with little education as an aso oke craftsman, he has used his craft to build an international brand and with the advent of virtual publishing, he is able to lead a comfortable life with his family using social media.

It is interesting that Yemi Solade is apologizing publicly now. I hope he has done so privately before now.. I recall reading an interview about a time he also jacked Elesho's clothes in public I think at national theatre years ago due to being owed money - even when you are in the right, there's a way to do things.