Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Finds Senator Natasha Akpoti Guilty Of Contempt And Fines Her N5million

Friday, July 04, 2025

Court Finds Senator Natasha Akpoti Guilty Of Contempt And Fines Her N5million

The Federal High Court sitting in Abuja, on Friday July 4, 2025 found suspended lawmaker Senator Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan, guilty of contempt.
The court, in a ruling delivered by Justice Binta Nyako, noted that the embattled lawmaker went against its order by publishing a satirical apology to the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio.

It held that the said apology, which she published on her Facebook page on April 7, 2025 made a mockery of a gag order that had been placed on the parties by the court.

Consequently, the court ordered Senator Akpoti-Uduaghan to publish an apology to it in two national dailies and also on her Facebook page within 7 days.

The court equally ordered her to pay a N5 million fine, stressing that her contempt was in a civil proceeding.

from dailypost

19 comments:

1. Oh my. After every every, and all the money spent, including the international trip to plead her cause?
    I feel so so.rry for her

1. Are you sure you know how life works at all
      What is 5 million yo make you feel sorry for a Nigerian senator

2. The court also offered that she be recalled back to the senate.

In my learned opinion, this is a mature way of "settling and saving" all the aggrieve parties.

1. If so, that's fair enough

Adunni

3. Money na water, 5m is a chicken change to her.

4. So it's just the issues regarding the apology that took them to court? I was expecting something else.

1. No they suspended her
      The court has ordered her recalled
      She won that

Now they give her contempt order

Everyone gets something so all good

5. Isn't the fine too much? After all these months she was not on seat 🥹
    My prayers are with you Mrs Natasha, you'll overcome 👏

Adunni

1. She's to blame for this one. Case is in court with a gag order to desist from speaking publicly about the case. In her wisdom, she decided to fluant the order. So let her enjoy the consequences.

2. *flaunt*... not " fluant"... @19:23

I guess it was a typo.

3. @19:23 - "fluant"
      @19:47 - "flaunt"
      @dictionary checked - "flout"

She flouted (disobeyed) the court's order because the finest woman Senator who sued in court should not respect the court's order she dislikes. Yet she wants the Senate to follow a non-existent law.

#Yinmu

4. Anony 20:50
      Hahaha

Are you a lawyer?
      You sound serious.
      Cool down for bvs biko.

6. *******ordered

7. Na the sexual harassment judgement we are waiting for.

1. That's the case that will test the integrity of the Judiciary based on the evidence before the court.

2. Na her evidence and Sandra Duru evidence we dey wait for

8. I like the judgment of Solomon. The court let both parties know that they are both wrong.