Speaking at the National Conference on Public Accounts and Fiscal Governance on July 9, 2025, Olukoyede said
“Help me pass the Unexplained Wealth Bill. I’ve been begging for the past year. This same bill was thrown out in the last Assembly. If we don’t make individuals accountable for what they own, we’ll never get it right.”
Seems like he's ready to work or I am just over thinking this?
ReplyDeleteAlso expecting unexplained poverty bill to be passed. The level of poverty is getting out of hand. The poor needs to breathe too.
ReplyDeleteOga Olu, they have already passed it, pls read up. How many laws do you want the government to pass, let’s concentrate on enforcement pls.
ReplyDeleteSection 15(3) of the Code of Conduct Bureau and Tribunal Act provides:
“Any property or assets acquired by a public officer after any declaration
required by subsection (1) of this section and which is not fairly attributable
to income, gifts or loan approved by this Act, shall be deemed to have been acquired in breach of this Act unless the contrary is proved.”
The punishment for contravening the Act is ban from holding public office, forfeiture of said properties, vacation of office.
We also have the PocA 2022, we also have the ICPC Act. If i would continue to quote the relevant sections, i’d clog this place.
So oga, pls we don’t need more laws. We should account for the ones we have, what have we done with them? What is the level of enforcement and compliance with these laws?
Read well and comprehend. He didn't specify govt officials.