Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of A Happily Divorced Woman - Final Part 11

Friday, October 10, 2025

Chronicle Of A Happily Divorced Woman - Final Part 11

After I left the marriage, I blamed myself for a long time.

I wondered why I got into that marriage in the first place, the ‘wotowoto’ I saw…. why I even stayed that long. 

I had tolerated many things that I ordinarily wouldn’t. It was a painful introspection for me. And it made me cry so much that my eyes hurt.

I lost zeal for life, I was like a deflated ball. When I looked at my children, I cried.

All my efforts to make them grow up with both parents was futile. I cried for them. I remembered how I was called a failure, that I couldn’t care for my children and my home. Maybe I was a failure after all.

While the emotional trauma was killing me, it seemed at that period everything was zeroing down on me. My job was not covering our needs, my little businesses were tied down in debt and my kids were always sick.

I had stretched myself so much to fit into this new phase and it was draining me. You see how funny life is? When problems want to come, they come all at once.

I began to fast and pray about my situation. As I prayed, I worked harder and things were beginning to look better. But then, I began to get sickly and my mum advised I see a doctor. 

I did not tell her about the lengthy fasts but I went to the hospital as she advised. There I was told I was almost becoming an ulcer patient. You know those funny hospital doctors…after I did scan and was told about the ulcer stuff, they started asking me if I fast a lot of time. I said yes. 

One smiled and asked if na me kill Jesus and Moses. Lol. Another doctor said I better reduce my fasting, say na person wey dey alive dey fast o. They all told me to halt my fasting for now, eat well and rest. I thanked them and left.

When I recovered, I went back to God for forgiveness. I asked him to forgive my inability to see myself worthy as His child. I had belittled myself to think I was a failure because of my situation and the utterances of a human like me. I forgave myself too. At that instance, my mind saw the word ‘Emmanuel’. I knew then that it was a reassurance from God to me. He has always been with me.

I want to thank you all for going through my stories with love. Writing them brought back sad memories but it was therapeutic.

I believe everyone deserves a second chance at life. If you can leave a bad situation, the better your chances. I also believe LIFE is sacred and should not be taken for granted.
Let me use this opportunity to reassure many out there who may have fears about marriage. I have seen many good marriages celebrate long lovely anniversaries. Marriage was instituted by God Himself so I believe it is worthy, noble and beautiful. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. But you have to do it with the right person and with genuine efforts from both parties.

I pray for all singles who desire a good spouse. Your marriage will be loving, safe, secure, reassuring and all shades of gorgeousness. In Jesus name, Amen.

Thank you for your 9 column Narrative, I pray that you find love again and this time one that will be loving, safe, secure, reassuring and all shades of gorgeousness in Jesus mighty name...AMEN

11 comments:

1. You will never have a reason to sorrow over your children.
    More grace .

2. I want to know if your ex is contributing to the children welfare?

3. OK glad, you found your peace, everything will fall in place at the right time. Stay strong 💪🏽.

4. Sai, sometimes we just go through so much in life and get broken in the process. It's well

5. God will always be there for you and your children. Congratulations!

6. God is always on time,he won't leave nor forsake,it's well with you.

7. Hugs mama. You are amazing and a survivor. I pray you thrive and flourish in everything you do, I pray you find genuine love and peace in Jesus name.

8. You don't sound like you've found peace, more like a woman who loved her husband dearly, worked hard with her spirit,soul and body yet the marriage still collapsed.😭

May God strengthen you and give you another family,if interested.

So sad a chronicle.I'm touched.
    Love and light.

Xhlrted P

9. Oh dear!
    So you actually had more than one child in that marriage where the wotowoto started before you even gave birth to your first?
    I feel sad about your suffering. May God uplift you and your children