Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DOGS Corner

Sunday, November 30, 2025

DOGS Corner

Tomorrow marks the beginning of the holiday season in earnest. I can even feel the Christmas spirit in the air already.

The year has wound down and some measure of stock taking and retrospective thinking is to be expected. While we may not have achieved everything we hoped for this year, it is important to appreciate the steps we took, the efforts we made and indeed to appreciate the journey while still keeping the destination in mind. Yes, it is time to stop and smell the roses.

The baby may not have come this year as hoped for but that’s still okay. He didn’t propose or the marriage didn’t happen and that’s still okay. Business didn’t take off as expected and a number of financial targets remained unmet, hey! That’s not world ending. It is very okay. You got to try and you will still get the chance to try again but this time with even more wind behind your back than usual. You are still here and that is all that matters.

So prepare to let your hair down. Prepare to enjoy you being you. Immerse yourself in the Christmas experience as much as you can. Remember the magic Christmas held for you as a child. Picture it again and try to recreate it. This is not a season to worry. This is a season to be thankful, to love, make yourself open to be loved and a season to be happy and stay happy.

Every day from tomorrow is the beginning of a Christmas journey and I intend to make all of it count for my family and I. We’ve already picked out some Christmas themed wears for the kids. A hat here, Santa’s outfit there… the works. Some Christmas lights and décor for the living room too will make a nice touch. The plan is to get the kids fully involved in the Christmas spirit and to make it something of a tradition for our family. We are not breaking the bank, we are keeping it simple and sweet with some black Friday Christmas deals we thought too good to pass up on. A family treat isn’t so bad. Santa isn’t real but I’ll not be the one to tell the kids now will I?

We celebrate because we know through thick and thin that family is all that matters. We celebrate because we know that another Christmas is a gift. A gift a whole number of people this year will never get to see. We are thankful.

We are 24 days to Christmas! 24 days to celebrate in different ways and 24 days to prepare. Make each day count. Reflect if you will but don’t be too hard on yourself. There will be time enough for that later. So from me to you and yours, have a most excellent and splendid Christmas season and may this Christmas be one of the most memorable you have ever had.

12 comments:

1. Good for you Dogg! Christmas spirit where you dey? If I can't escape the dungeon I'm in, the holidays will be bleak. Doing my best to keep it all together. Another year going by.

2. This is a good time to say Merry Christmas in advance.

3. This would be my first Christmas without my mum. Lost her in August and then her only surviving sibling this November.

1. Accept my condolences. May God be with you and may the souls of the departed rest in peace.

4. Merry Christmas in advance. 25 days to go I believe. Yes, leave wahala for now it no dey finish. Just enjoy.

5. Stella this is dogs corner you come put cat 🤣🤣

Ah ah

1. Gifty na de same tin wey dey my mind
      How is a cat in a dog’s corner?
      Or the cat and dog are friends?

6. Merry Christmas in advance 🎉🎉🎉

7. I smell Christmas with this your write up. Thank you for taking me back in the day. The joy, the frenzy, the excitement were all worth it then.

8. So true,decorations are beginning to go up in some malls🌲
    Christmas is always a special time.

9. Thanks. Wishing you and yours a very happy Christmas in advance.