Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Daddy Freeze Reacts To Backlash Over Black Outfit To Actor Alexx Ekubo's Service Of Songs.

Sunday, June 14, 2026

Daddy Freeze Reacts To Backlash Over Black Outfit To Actor Alexx Ekubo's Service Of Songs.

Daddy Freeze has responded to criticism over his choice of outfit to Alexx Ekubo’s Service of Songs. While the dress code was white, he and his wife showed up in all black, sparking backlash.
He explained that he didn’t notice the dress code on the invitation card and apologized, saying it wasn’t intentional. Freeze added that in his tradition, black is worn to funerals and insisted he saw no reason for celebration, as Alexx was only 40 years old.

He said

‘I apologize to everyone who felt offended because of what I wore to Alex’s service of songs. I wore black because I didn’t see the invite on IG and we don’t follow each other. The invite that was sent to my phone, I didn’t see the dress code at the bottom. Where I come from, people wear black to mourn. I don’t understand the white. I thought we were mourning a young man who d!ed when it was not yet his time. He d!ed because of Nigeria’s failure and religious influence. I never knew that a service of songs will have dress code

While we were seated, Nathaniel Bassey came up and blew the trumpet. He revealed that he never met Alex but he and his Pastor friend planned to go pray and sing for him on Tuesday but he passed on Monday. He said they still went there on Tuesday to sing and pray. I am surprised they couldn’t perform a miracle on him.

Another Pastor too came up to preach, I don’t understand why we needed a sermon in such a gathering. Despite the sermon of the pastor, someone still stole 4 phones at the event. Later on, Mercy Chinwo climbed the stage and turned the place to a concert. At this point, I got up and went home. Do people understand what a funeral is? They could have just played hymns
To Yul Edochie that blamed Alex for not showing his wife before he d!ed, what is your business with the wife? Do you want to start dating her? Everything is not clout’

Quotes by temilola Sobola

28 comments:

1. The white man so messed with our pysch. Black=Bad but white=Good
    That's why they wear black for mourning and white for happy events like weddings.
    I like that we are changing the narrative, chukwueze's mum they wore white, at my aunt's we wore white, same for my grandma.
    We should stop demonizing black

1. You're not black, you're brown. Na pink men dey, nothing like white man

2. The white signify what? For me oh the black is more even better than that white because it's a painful death.he was still young so why are they wearing white for him.

3. They wore white clothes BECAUSE THEY CHOSE TO❗
      Are you Alex's family to decide or consent to the colour code for his service of songs?

They probably chose white to reflect his lighthearted spirit and playful personality.

2. He knew what he was doing. He wore black, cos he wanted people to talk about him (as ususal). You didnt see the dresscode at the bottom, so you knew it was there. Alex's family chose white to celebrate his life, not mourn. We also wore white when my younger sis passed, so freeze say something else. And Pastors preach at such gatherings, to get people to rethink their life.

1. You're right beautiful Candy. It's so sad,his hatred for the ministry is going to continue,to bring him embarrassment.

2. I believe so too dear. He intentionally wore black to get prople to notice him.

3. He died of cancer not because of Nigeria’s failure and religious influence.

4. He apologized and still back it up with reasons. Sounds like he intentionally did it.
    He made a point about the whole thing turning into praise concert, they too do.

5. Mofe Duncan has responded to the freezer mouth. I love his response.

6. White garments at memorial/funeral services are a Christian thing. White symbolizes purity, hope, and resurrection.

Is Daddy Freeze a Christian? If not, his own tradition or form of worship might mean he should wear black. Before now, black was what Christians wore before it was changed. I don’t see anything wrong with the colour one chooses to wear. Even if we’re going biblical, it should be purple or even black, since the Bible refers to sackcloth and the symbolism of ashes.

What’s the difference if you put on white with a dark heart?

©️ TEEJAY

1. It’s an issue if the family specifically requested a particular dress code! If you can’t abide by it, I’m quite certain it’s not compulsory to attend.

2. I quite agree on that. Just like I said in the other post. Making a mountain out of it was a no for me knowingly he was wrong.

©️ TEEJAY

7. I can still believe Alex has just gone like that, Daddy freeze, respect his family's wish and sit somewhere.

8. Intentional act..
    Daddy freeze did it on purpose..
    He wants to trend

9. Oga that night wasn't about what you like or not, it was about Alex.
    You didn't even adhere to the dress code and who told you he died because of religious influence. That was how you tried to instigate netizens to drag his ex Fancy.
    Who comes to a night of tributes to enjoy?
    And for Yul, what's his business, abi e don dey like her? Since other men's wives are his specialty.

10. The part about the singing and turning funeral to concert i totally agree with him. I am not a Christian but that aspect of their funeral/mourning surprises me. The make up, the dressing, the partying, the whole music and all. So when do people actually mourn their loved ones. Like when Ini Edo buried her dad, the kind of corset dresses and make up and wig all of them wore, were not different from the ones they wear when they are invited to parties.

1. Alex did not die suddenly. He knew he was going. Do you live with them that you know how he asked his family to remember him. Please mind your own business and stop speaking for people you know nothing off. Abeg. Learn to hold your mouth sometimes. Social media has really caused a lot of corpoemesis.

11. You didn’t have to attend!

12. He Got An invite Saw The Invite
    And Did Not See Dresss Code
    Hmmmmm I see
    Alex Darling May God Continue To Rest Your Lovely Soul 🙏

13. Just shush sir, shuuush.
    PS: you're right on the concert thingy. That's quite insensitive.

1. What if that was what the deceased wanted? Don’t forget he had enough time to plan his own funeral.

2. I agree with you @Eka, after I read Mofe Duncan's post. His family knew it'd be something he'd love.
      I pray Alex's soul find rest.

14. I didn't even notice the backlash till he publicised it;Freeze,grow up,agadi na agwo ove

1. SpongeBob, you make a lot of sensible comments on blog posts.💯%👌🏾

15. He should have just apologized and leave the lengthy explanations.

16. From the moment he showed up and saw that everyone else was in white and he in black he should have left. Sign the memorial book if there was one but do not disrupt the event or cause discomfort. Had he not attended nobody would have missed him or said why he wasn’t there. Some ppl overvalue themselves thinking their presence adds something when they wouldn’t even have been a thought to remember.

17. He d!ed because of Nigeria’s failure and religious influence. Really ??? How???

I am surprised they couldn’t perform a miracle on him. Wow! Really? Are they God? are they Christ ? Did they make claims that their praise worship would raise the dead? Why so you so blissfully ignorant and clueless?
    What an ignoramous! You sound so stupid, ifedayo. Your wife should be embarrassed by your shenanigans. Honestly, you are an embarrassment period.