Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fashion Designer Veekee James Reveals Advice Her Mum Gave Her That Helped Shape Her Path To Success

Thursday, July 23, 2026

Fashion Designer Veekee James Reveals Advice Her Mum Gave Her That Helped Shape Her Path To Success

Nigerian fashion designer, Veekee James recently spoke about how her mother raised her and her brothers alone after their father died.

Veekee said she lost her dad when she was about five years old and Her mother decided not to remarry or date anyone but focused completely on taking care of her children. Veekee said she never saw her mom with any man and the only time her mom did not sleep at home was when she attended church night vigils.

She said her mother worked very hard as a tailor in Ajegunle, Lagos and sewed clothes to feed and support the family and even taught Veekee how to sew. Veekee James said this skill and her mom’s advice that she should not follow men but stay focused, shaped her into the successful woman she is today.

16 comments:

1. Wow! Such a devoted and lovely mum,may God continue to bless her for you Amen🙏
    When you train them well you enjoy at last but if not...
    May God help all our parents anyways beacause sometimes it's not easy sef

2. Good mothers know the value of instilling discipline in their children.
    One thing is being advised, another thing is taking the advice. I’m glad she listened to good counsel.

©️ TEEJAY

3. This story is a reminder that sacrifice, hard work, and godly values can leave a lasting legacy.
    Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it. (Proverbs 22:6)

4. She may have had one or two or more men after their dad's death but decided to keep them away from her children. They may have met only during the day and kept it a secret.
    It was her choice and it was okay, at least it saved the children from seeing different "fathers"👍
    I don't believe she stayed without a man for over 25yrs cos Vicky is over 30 now

As for Vicky not following men, did she forget some of her old posts?
    There was one post where she lamented how she worked and gave money to a boyfriend to set himself up in a new location where he got a job, only for him to dump her when he got to his new location.

1. People that knew her back then have replied her in the comment section of posts like this

2. I don’t know about Veekee/her mother’s past but from my experience, my aunt divorced and chose to be without a man for more than 30 yrs and counting.. I’m still a virgin in a “hard to believe its true” age..I have been principled enough to stay that way over the years even though guys have been coming with their temptations..I have chosen this path for me until when I’m married.. so it’s very very possible to be without a man for more than 30 years.🙂

3. Following men in this case means dating for money.

5. Haba Oga/ Madame! How can just sit in your comfort zone and know what a widow did. ( inu na ulo mara ihe Ekeoha zuru).

You think because s** is food for you , that it is like that for everyone else? Don’t you know that there are people who don’t even think about it as soon as they lose their partner.

Let me tell you, I have an aunt that her husband is Imp. She doesn’t get it outside either. They did an IVF and have 2 lovely children. They are born again Christian and she has never cheated on him and never told anyone.

It was on his sick bed, when he was about to die that he told his/her family the secret. The woman is well respected everywhere. She said she avoided totally because of the spiritual implications of indulging in it, especially with someone that is not your husband.

1. The example you gave was not a widow. Meanwhile, how are you sure that she didn't cheat? Were you inside her heart? A woman knows how to hide cheating more than a man does.
      Meanwhile, you cannot say for sure that Vicky James mother did not knack for that long after her husband died

6. The way people talk carelessly ehh! May God forgive all of us. How can you suggest that for a woman whose husband died? Na wah ooo for some people.

7. Sex is not something some women indulge in when they lose their husband or become divorce.....
    They just shift their attention.

God bless your mom.

8. God Bless Her
    Nne Veekee Is Soo Beautiful

9. There are many women with stories like this, and my mum is one of them. I lost my father when I was just 9 years old. There are five of us, and my mum was only 29 when she became a widow. Life changed overnight, but she refused to give up.

She worked tirelessly to make sure we survived. She would buy goods for us to sell, and we hawked them before school in the mornings and again in the evenings. That was our little contribution to helping the family. Through all the struggles, she single-handedly paid for my education from JSS 1 until I earned my HND.

What made it even more painful was that my father left behind 23 hectares of oil palm plantation and four rental houses. Those assets could have taken care of the family, but my father's first son took control of everything while we struggled to survive.

Despite all the hardship, my mum never remarried. She chose to focus on raising her children and giving us the future she never had. She sacrificed her youth, her comfort, and so many opportunities just to see us succeed.

Today, she is reaping the rewards of her labour. Many people may not understand what it took for her to get here, but I do. She has achieved what many thought was impossible, and today, she is a proud Canadian citizen. Her story reminds me that the sacrifices made for our children are never wasted. They may take years to bear fruit, but they do.

My prayer is for every woman who has poured her life into raising her children with love, integrity, and sacrifice: may you live long enough to enjoy the harvest of your labour. May you reap the rewards not in sickness or sorrow, but in good health, peace, and joy. Amen.