Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Shares Why He Travelled From America To Have His Father Arrested In Nigeria

Monday, August 17, 2026

Nigerian Man Shares Why He Travelled From America To Have His Father Arrested In Nigeria

Can you imagine yourself arresting your parent?
A man travelled all the way from America to do just that and the reason he did it is what some might identify with.......
He did what he did but was he right?

The story goes 

''I Came Back From America to Have My Own Father Arrested

If you had told me five years ago that I would one day fly from America to Nigeria because I wanted my own father arrested, I would have called you crazy.
My father was the one person I trusted without asking questions.
I was living in America, working hard and sending money home because I wanted to build something for myself in Nigeria. I didn't want to spend my entire life abroad and have nothing to show for it back home.
So I decided to invest in property.
I told my father, "Daddy, I want to buy land in Lagos and Port Harcourt. I want to start building gradually. Please help me supervise everything."
He was excited.
"Don't worry, my son. Your money is safe with me. I am your father."
Those words gave me peace.
I started sending money.
Sometimes thousands of dollars at a time.
I would call him and say, "Daddy, this one is for the land in Lagos."
Another time, "Daddy, this is for Port Harcourt."
Another payment would come.
"Daddy, please keep this one. I want to start the foundation when I come."
Over time, I sent him almost **₦150 million**.
One hundred and fifty million naira.
Money I had sweated for in America.
Money I had saved dollar by dollar.
Money I could have used to enjoy my life, but I chose to invest it in Nigeria because I trusted my father.
I thought my father was helping me build my future.
I had no idea he was building other people's futures with my money.
The first thing that started bothering me was how difficult it was to get proper documentation for the properties.
Every time I asked, my father had an excuse.
"Don't worry, I'm handling it."
"These things take time."
"Do you think I will steal your money?"
That last question always made me feel guilty.
So I stopped asking.
Until one day, I came home and decided to investigate everything myself.
That was when my entire world turned upside down.
Out of almost ₦150 million I had sent my father, the only land he had actually bought in my name was one piece of land in our village worth about **₦5 million**.
Five million.
I stared at the documents for what felt like an eternity.
"Where is the rest of the money?"
My father couldn't give me a proper answer.
I started digging.
And that was when I discovered where my money had gone.
My father had been building houses.
Not my houses.
Houses for himself.
Houses for my uncles.
Houses for his brothers.
Houses for my own siblings.
With my money.
The money I had sent him to buy land in Lagos and Port Harcourt had been turned into family projects I never authorized.
I remember sitting down after I discovered everything and just staring at the wall.
I couldn't even cry..
I kept thinking about all those nights I worked overtime.
All the times I told myself, "Don't spend this money. Send it home. Daddy will help you invest it."
I trusted him because he was my father.
Meanwhile, he was apparently distributing my hard-earned money among his children and brothers.
When I confronted him, he didn't even behave like someone who had destroyed my financial plans.
He said something that shocked me.
"My son, everything I did was for the family."
I looked at him.
"Daddy, which family?"
He said, "Your brothers are your family. Your uncles are your family. We are one family."
I laughed.
Not because it was funny.
I laughed because I didn't know whether to cry or scream.
"So I sent you money to build my future, and you used it to build houses for everybody else?"
He became angry.
"Are you saying I did something wrong?"
"Yes, Daddy. You did."
That was when the family meetings started.
One uncle called me.
"Don't disgrace your father."
Another said, "This is a family matter."
My siblings begged me.
"Please don't take Daddy to court."
Someone even told me, "You have money in America. You can make another one."
That sentence broke me.
Because apparently, because I had worked hard enough to earn money in America, my money had become family money.
Nobody asked how long it took me to make it.
Nobody asked how many sacrifices I made.
Nobody asked what I had planned for my life.
They only wanted me to forgive.
I eventually hired a lawyer.
And when my father heard that I was considering legal action, he was shocked.
"You want to arrest your own father?"
I looked at him and said,
"I never wanted to arrest my father. I wanted my father to protect my money."
That is the painful part.
I wasn't trying to punish him because I hated him.
I wanted accountability.
I wanted him to understand that being my father didn't give him permission to take what belonged to me.
But the more I thought about it, the more difficult the decision became.
This is Nigeria.
We grow up being told, *"You don't take your parents to court."*
You are told to respect your elders.
You are told that family is everything.
You are told that whatever happens, you settle things at home.
But what happens when the person who defrauds you is the person who gave birth to you?
What happens when it is your mother?
Your father?
Your brother?
Your sister?
Do you still report them?
Do you take them to court?
Do you have them arrested?
Or do you swallow the pain because they are family?
Because honestly, I don't know if I have the heart to lock up my own father.
I can fight a stranger in court.
I can take a business partner to court.
But my own father?
The man whose name I carried proudly as a child?
The man I trusted with almost ₦150 million?
I don't know.
Maybe this is where my Nigerian upbringing is fighting with the man I have become.
But one thing I know for sure.
Family should not be a license to destroy someone else's future.
And I still have one question.
If your father, mother or direct sibling defrauded you of millions of naira, would you have the courage to report them and let the law take its course?
Or would you forgive them simply because they are family?''

Princess Janet

25 comments:

1. The man’s name is Princess Janet?

2. This is so painful.

Why will a father do this to his son.

This is a bitter pill to swallow.

3. This is so painful.

Why will a father do this to his son.

This is a bitter pill to swallow.

4. Hmmmm big one..... money divided the love already!!!
    Greediness !!!!!!

5. Omo..
    Can you imagine?

He shouldn't be judged because all his years in America has been wasted because those properties built in his siblings name will amount to nothing.

I pray I do not experience this level of betrayal and if I do, Omo, na court go settle the case ooo

6. Abeg this story doesn't seem real to me

7. The Father is a very useless Man. What happens to those agbayas making their own money, and why using someone else's money without his authorization?

I will advise for him not to arrest his Father, but to use the court to retrieve all the homes he built with his Money.

Rubbish!

DOZZYBEST.

8. What a father?😞😞😞

9. “Cursed is the man who trusts in man” The Bible has said it all.

10. Family betrayal can kill.
    This is sad

11. Is this for real?
    I trust my papa sha......

12. ChatGPT be generating different fabu stories for content creators.
    We are in trouble 😵‍💫

1. I have seen someone this type of thing happened to. He almost killed his father. So, it may not be a fabu. It's really a tough one. I know how stressful it is here working overtime, especially night shift, for someone to come and do this! Tough, tough decision.

13. Some outsiders are better than relatives. Let all the properties be sold and the money returned back to the rightful owner.

14. A lady abroad had a similar experience with her own mother and half-siblings but her saving grace was that the properties (house and shops) are i. Her name.
    Her lawyer handled it by telling her to allow him handled it legally without her getting emotionally involved because he was shocked that the her mother was actually her biological mother yet she betrayed her terribly!

She got her family off her properties and distanced herself from them.

15. I know someone whose mother used his own money to enjoy with her boyfriend... Shit dey happen really.

16. I hope nobody does this type of betrayal to me because, I don't what my reaction would be because, I can never do this to anyone

17. Got my parents arrested in 2004 for trespassing.

A friend who stayed with me for a few days was attacked in my house by my parents. They alleged he was useless when he lived briefly with them. (I was in the United States at the time)..

My parents were shocked when I returned home with a police officer to arrest them.

They were told straight up to leave me alone. The DPO said "this young man is not one of us; he has no regard for culture."

Back story
    1. My father did not send funds to me in America (August 1995) to register for courses. I forgave him and sought God for help.

2. I made a lot of money in 2002 and sent them (parents) money to bid for Government land at Ajoda New Town in 2002. Father collected the money from a family friend who was supposed to get the land. (I forgave them).

3. They delayed my marriage for eight years and frustrated my wife (then a fiancee) simply because they expected me to marry an oyinbo/akata whom they planned to flaunt before their useless friends.

4. My father was fetish who believed and worshipped Satan. He was very proud of his god. (I showed him the true power beforehand demons killed him).

Long story about my travails at the hands of ungodly father.

Everything I post online is deliberate and for a purpose.

Moral
    1. Learn to respect people and their choices.

2. Know your limits and do not break the law.

3. Treat people the way you want to be treated.

4. Do not regard people's opinions about your life if you live within the ambit of the law.

18. 4. My father was fetish who believed and worshipped Satan. He was very proud of his god. (I showed him the true power before he was his demons killed him).

Long story about my travails at the hands of an ungodly father.

19. I don't care, if any parents, siblings or family try this shit with me, they go collect.

20. No father would do such a thing unless he is on colos.