Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ex Queen Regina Askia Interview.

Thursday, April 04, 2013

Ex Queen Regina Askia Interview.

I asked her one question and her Unedited Response is below,It is a Loooooong but very Interesting Read.Regina certainly has brains.....Enjoy.

Life as a beauty Queen in Nigeria and life as a nurse in America. Which one rocks and why?

''Alright…..this took a minute but I finally got to it. I made a quip on face book sometime back, musing over my life in America and my life back home and unintentionally unleashed a firestorm of opinions and counter opinions . The meat of my musings was, even though I am excited by the many opportunities my life in America brings to me, I’m am sick and tired of being boxed in a class of people and treated with the same expectations and prejudices extended to that class of people.

I want to be able to have my achievements over my life span recognized and appreciated. 
Don’t snort at me and tell me I am having delusions of grandeur because “most” African American females are not expected to have ever accomplished such. 

I’m not going to sugar coat anything here but the general perception and expectation of an African American female is get pregnant, drop out of school, several baby daddies, whore out to make end s meet, become a hip hop video star shaking what your mama gave you, single mother matriarch, more babies, welfare queen , get older, disillusioned, string out on drugs , downward spiral, HIV ………the end.

The vicious cycle of poverty continues, welfare mothers beget welfare children. The societal construct sometimes perpetuates the problem where the African American faces systemic obstacles that thwart his progress.

So most baby daddies end up in prison, baby mamas trying to cut it alone……Be that as it may, there are often some success stories. The sweet victory in this says despite all intent and purpose to put me down and out …I made it. These success stories are too few and far between. We need to see more.

Enter the African immigrant. A certain level of  xenophobia has expectations of the African immigrant at the bottom of the scale.

These expectations fueled by media and pop culture continue to put the African immigrant at the bottom of the food chain. A comment by a distraught Red Cross mayor in the popular flick “Hotel Rwanda “ who was trying to explain why France wouldn’t send troops to help stop the genocide at that time put in succinctly…He said…”You aint even a nigger, you are African”. Organizations fall over each other running millions of advertisement to raise money for pets, endangered animals and Africans. Then here comes some African female with her “Mutombo accent” 

talking about having lived in a mansion and having had a maid and a driver….hahaha … Naa.. girl …not today (Motombo commercial voice)…..
home girl is delusional. Girl you need to go take care of “what’s that disease again” …malaria…
haha I hear it messes with your brains….., if it was soooo good back there Miss Thing what the hell are you doing out here …. Quit talking smack and get with the program.

I don’t give a flying f##k what you imagine you w.e..r..e.., you aint that no more. Welcome to America honey…read my lips. Walking around here acting white, reading all kinds of bullshit books, tryna hide that food stamps card when you go to Western beef….….girl I see you . You stupid. You ran away from your home claiming you hubby got rough on you, couldn’t hit him back….Motombo, couldn’t you kick the mo’fucker out and live in there with your kids…
see what Im saying …….girl you stupid.

Sometime later after I became a nurse, I ran into my African American girlfriend.
Hey Motombo…whats up? Did you just say RN….hahaha, you amaze me child, you mean nurse assistant, passing out the band aids and mopping up shit….…haha. You serious. …let me see that id… ( snatches at my id…)
Haaa okay, girl you did gooodd…..care to cut a sister some slack …..spare a buck or two..……no?
Not today (in that accent)?...
F##k you Motombo…..

The above exchange is to show a difference in the African American mentality and the African immigrant mentality. Demographic and psychographics research show that most African immigrants in America especially Nigerians are at the top of their game including the 419 ers .

The immigrants are either Doctors, Lawyers, Engineers …professional or successful business entrepreneurs. These people are always working hard to improve themselves. It was quite unfortunate that CNN chose to do a documentary on the Nigerian letter…the crooks , rather than the distinct work ethics, brilliance, dedication to duty and success stories achieved by the immigrant continually, ….Our distinct fashion, - cant compete with the “gele”,- our foods, our music, not to mention our brilliant children. The immigrant is quieter, industrious, talented, hardworking, dignified and respectful.

You will not see one indulge in such an exchange as above with someone they hardly know….that is not to say that there aren’t any bad apples amongst them. There are and we hear it every now and then……Its amazing to note how successful Nigerians become once they make it to “Obodo Oyibo”. So my African American sister in that respect is right, IF IT WAS SO GOOD OUT THERE THEN WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING OUT HERE.

Enter the KORKUS
• Now if you guys follow tabloid wars you will know for sure that no one in their right minds want to tango with the KORKUS…y’all know her as Stella…Im not hating on you Stella but you know what I mean. All my shackles rose when I got a question from the Korkus asking about life as a beauty Queen in Nigeria and life as a nurse in America.
Which one rocked and why? I was amazed though…she wasn’t asking who my lover was, not asking if Big Rudy and I had killed each other yet …I said hallelujah…there is hope yet , a great opportunity to vent and this is just starters.

• I’m hoping to address my African American sisters and my African immigrant sisters as well as my home girls, Nollywood, the Nigerian society, our governors and if my nerves will allow…ASO ROCK. ……Im going to tell it like it is in my trademark brutally honest way. I am not trying to overturn carts or hurt people feelings but its about time we all quit faking a funk and do something about the drift and drain. Let everyone reading this who relocated from Nigeria or Africa to a foreign country ask themselves…..IF IT WAS SO GOOD BACK HOME WHY THE HELL ARE YOU OUT HERE?''

Regina Askia is still Married to Rudie and they have three children(The eldest one from Reginas previous relationship)

20 comments:

1. I am so so proud of you Regina for speaking not just your mind, but the truth. I feel ya sista, and have definetly experienced what you just expressed, mine was even from fellow church members, smh. It's crazy out here, its almost like one is stuck between the devil and the deep blue sea.Thanks once again, would love to talk to hear from u even more.

2. Hmmmmmmm, Leaving your comfort zone to go and suffer?

I still dont understand why she'll quit the glam life to become a nurse and shut that side of her...

She better get her acts right...not too late...

She can sponsor or produce a movie and be the lead actor, premiers it on silverbird and the hype goes round...

Just my 2 cents!!!

3. MILLION DOLLAR QUESTION indeed.
    If life was so good back home, why the brain drain?

Oh well, some of us have had enough of obodo oyibo anyway, thus the reason we working or returning back to the motherland! The people there that are making it [against all odds] no get 2 heads! Abi? Na de same Bata shoe store we all buy cortina shoes for childhood. And well watched 'Tales by moonlight' as kids Naija no dey carry last! No way!

~ Estella

4. MILLION DOLLAR QUESTION indeed.
    If life was so good back home, why the brain drain?

Oh well, some of us have had enough of obodo oyibo anyway, thus the reason we working on returning back to the motherland! The people there that are making it [against all odds] no get 2 heads! Abi? Na de same Bata shoe store we all buy cortina shoes for childhood. And we all watched 'Tales by moonlight' as kids.

We drank the same bournvita and battled mosquitoes and NEPA gan!

Naija no dey carry last! No way!

~ Estella

5. Its not alway about light,camera action,for some pple there is dat desire to be impactful,to affect pples lives,life as oftenly criticised and probed second rate nollywood actress would not avail her that,lifes as a nurse,though not glamorous is however impactful...she as shown u and everybody..and mostly every woman,there's nufin u cannot do,there's no scarifice u cannot make,imagine if she was still in nigeria?..the publicity on her marriage,kids,herself,?....abeg,d babe don pay her dues,and she's old enof....let's give her,the R.E.S.P.E.C.T

1. Her husband no too hold money. Shikena#

6. Whew! Well all I gat to say is dat hv missed seeing Regina on d screen

7. Sapele Babe in Lagos4 April 2013 at 08:41

Hmmmmmm......Regina is one lucky chic,IMHO she's had a fantastic life and if she chooses to come back home to Naija,she will still be BIG,if she puts her acts together well,she would be BIGGER and if,just if,she's able to pull the right strings,she could be the BIGGEST,hopefully she's from Akpabio's state(?). Btw,Reggie,your stories could make a hit in Nollywood you know

8. I remember not being too impressed with Regina Askia as an actress. I judged her at face value and classified her as a bimbo who couldn't really act and had a fake accent but my opinion and respect for her went up several notches when I first read that she had become a registered nurse in America and reading this interview of hers gives me a bit of an insight to her deep intellect. I have a new found level of respect for her and wish her all the best in her endeavours. I am also quite pleased that she is still with Rudy. God bless them.

9. She seems to be in the news a lot these days. I guess she is relaunching herself and is now planning a comeback.
    Good for her.

10. Leaving your comfort zone to go and suffer?
    Marriage changed her location and off she went.

11. Regina #respect dz all I have for u.Sm1 with ur beauty,intelligence,confidence and carriage knows she's not in competition with any1 cos am one of those that believes that if u want that life back again,u will claw it back within a fraction of a second.So u aren't missing out on anything,its just that priorities have changed and nollywood is there when u r ready.heart u loads.

12. Thank gudnez, shows u can achieve whateva u set ur mind to do, not minding any circumstances.
    May God Almighty uphold ur home in IJN, amen.
    EIS

13. regina askia...her movie "most wanted" rocked that year

14. REGINA ASKIA!!!!!! PLEASE COME BACK!!!!!!!!!!! I MISS YOU ON MY TV SCREEN AND I'M SURE I SPEAK FOR A LOT OF PEOPLE BACK HOME! NSIDODOH!??? MBOK NYONG DI!

15. YOU HAVE TO LIVE/ OR HAVE LIVED IN THE WESTERN WORLD AS AN AFRICAN TO *FULLY* UNDERSTAND THE SCOPE OF WHAT SHE HAS SPOKEN ON. AS AN EASTERN NIGERIAN WHO HAD IT GOOD AT HOME AND YET CONSCIOUSLY MADE THE DECISION TO COME HERE, IT'S AS IF I WAS THE ONE THAT WROTE THE ABOVE ARTICLE!

TO DRIVE THE MATTER HOME, WHENEVER I CALL MY DAD, OUR CALL IS INTERRUPTED BY HIM INSTRUCTING THE GATEMAN TO SWITCH ON/OFF THE GENERATOR... TO WHICH I SAY TO HIM, IF NEPA WAS NIGERIA'S PROBLEM, THEN YOU GUYS DO NOT HAVE A PROBLEM AT ALL! THEN I BEGIN TO WHINE ABOUT WHAT WE GO THROUGH HERE[as aptly summarized by Regina]. BUT TO ANSWER THE QUESTION OF 'THEN WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE? I'D SAY THAT IF AFRICANS WHO HAD AN AVERAGE LIFE IN AFRICAN BEFORE LEAVING HAD BEEN SHOWN WHAT THEY WILL GO THROUGH BEFORE THEY BECOME SUCCESFUL [that is of they ever do... as not everyone makes it] THEY WOULD HAVE SAT FIRMLY AT HOME AND STRUGGLED! AND WHEN THEY COME OUT HERE, THE LONGER THEY STAY, THE HARDER IT IS TO GET UP AND GO HOME TO AN EXPECTANT FAMILY/FRIENDS/AND SOCIETY [without having achieved what it was you come out to] . AS MY IN-LAW WOULD SAY "Nigeria aburo obele ewu e ji obele mmaa ako oko na onu!" WHICH LITERALLY TRASLATES AS [Nigeria is not a small goat whose neck you can scratch with a small knife!]That means that you cannot as a Nigerian, return from the western world empty handed... its not accepted in Naija... if you try it, you will the object of ridicule and scorn... AS A RESULT, MANY NIGERIANS ARE STRANDED OVER HERE OUT OF SHAME AND DISSAPPOINTMENT.

FINALLY, WHENEVER WE HEAR ANOTHER NAGERIAN IS RELOCATING, THE FIRST EMOTION THAT COMES TO MIND IS PITY, THEN A SMILE... and under your breath, you mutter: "HE DOESNT KNOW WHAT IS WAITING FOR HIM...POOR MAN!"

p/s. as for the single women who relocate to the western world, especially UK, in their late 20's and 30's, just forget about marriage {unless you are ready to eventually house and feed the men I have described above!]... There are a lot of single African professionals here, privately living in total disbelief of the quality of men available to be picked from... This is bearing in mind that the good quality African men almost always pick a bride from home ... during the xmas celebrations...

It can be a vicious circle. In any case these good ones can also be mercenary when they insist that their prospective spouse MUST be a doctor or nurse, or someone studying to be so...

I can go one forever!

16. HER FILM SUICIDE MISSION [on youtube] WAS ONE OF THE BEST FILMS EVER MADE IN NIGERIA, AND HER MAD WOMAN ACT IN THAT FILM IS BY FAR THE BEST!

17. After being in relationship with him for 3 years,he broke up with me,
    I did everything possible to bring him back but all was in vain, I wanted
    him back so much because of the love I have for him, I begged him with
    everything, I made promises but he refused. I explained my problem to
    someone online and she suggested that I should rather contact a spell
    caster that could help me cast a spell to bring him back but I am the type
    that never believed in spell, I had no choice than to try it, I mailed the
    spell caster, and he told me there was no problem that everything will be
    okay before three days, that my ex will return to me before three days, he
    cast the spell and surprisingly in the second day, it was around 4pm. My ex
    called me, I was so surprised, I answered the call and all he said was that
    he was so sorry for everything that happened, that he wanted me to return
    to him, that he loves me so much. I was so happy and went to him, that was
    how we started living together happily again. Since then, I have made
    promise that anybody I know that have a relationship problem or child problem I would be of
    help to such person by referring him or her to the only real and powerful
    spell caster who helped me with my own problem and who is different from
    all the fake ones out there. Anybody could need the help of the spell
    caster, his email is
    shankikispelltemple222@gmail.com go and test the good work of these man. I am maryhnline

18. My name is Diana stroot, and I base in USA...My life is back!!! After 2 years of Broken marriage, my husband left me with two kids . I felt like my life was about to end i almost committed suicide, i was emotionally down for a very long time. Thanks to a spell caster called Dr SHARP MIRACLE, which i met online. On one faithful day, as I was browsing through the internet,I came across allot of testimonies about this particular spell caster. Some people testified that he brought their Ex lover back, some testified that he restores womb,cure cancer,and other sickness, some testified that he can cast a spell to stop divorce and so on. i also come across one particular testimony,it was about a woman called riley,she testified about how he brought back her Ex lover in less than 2 days, and at the end of her testimony she dropped Dr SHARP's e-mail address. After reading all these,I decided to give it a try. I contacted him via email and explained my problem to him. In just 48hours, my husband came back to me. We solved our issues, and we are even happier than before Dr SHARP, is really a gifted man and i will not stop publishing him because he is a wonderful man... If you have a problem and you are looking for a real and genuine spell caster to solve all your problems for you. Try High solutiongroundhere@gmail.com anytime, he might be the answer to your problems. Here's his contact: solutiongroundhere@gmail.com

19. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.solution how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. solution on his email: solutionwhitmagicspell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr solution the great spell caster on his email addresses solutionwhitmagicspell@gmail.com